DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the elastic deformation" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the contacts" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1, line 6, the limitation “a mounting hole” does not tie in with any structural limitations in the claims. For example, it is unclear as to what assemblies the mounting hole belong to. Is it belong to a PCB or an alignment bar or a slide-fit offsetting action element or a mounting bracket ??? because the specification and the claims do not clearly disclose the structure location of the mounting hole. (NOTE: for purpose of examination, Examiner interprets as “a mounting hole of a mounting bracket”).
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the body" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the protective cover" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the cover" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the cover" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the cover" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the cover" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 4538866 A).
In regard to claims 1, 4, Johnson discloses a slide-fit electrical contact termination offsetting assembly (fig. 1) comprising an electrical connector 14 having a plurality of contact terminations 25 placed into a corresponding footprint on a PCB 10; the slide-fit electrical contact termination offsetting assembly is characterized by:
an alignment bar 26 positioned on the PCB 10 having a corresponding plurality of holes 30 housing spaces to allow for the elastic deformation of the contact terminations 25,
a slide-fit offsetting action element 38 mounted in offset position over a mounting hole 42, wherein the slide-fit offsetting action element 38 is in contact with the alignment bar 26, and
a mounting mechanism 36, 24, 22 to retain the connector 14 in position on the PCB 10, wherein the mounting mechanism interacts with the slide-fit offsetting action element 38; and
wherein the mounting mechanism displaces laterally the slide-fit offsetting action element 38, which subsequently forces the alignment bar 26 to slide forcing the contact terminations 25 to jam into the PCB footprint, and the contact terminations are elastically deformed in the holes 30 within the alignment bar 26, to achieve effective electromechanical connection between the contact terminations 25 and the PCB 10.
However, Johnson discloses the holes 30 in the alignment bar 26 are not chamfered but are wide enough to allow certain deformation. The housing cavities of the connector, however, in contact with the alignment bar are chamfered/tapered holes 44 and these align the deformation of the contact terminations 25 when the contact terminations 25 are inserted into the PCB footprint (see Fig. 5).
Therefore, it appears that the chamfered holes in the alignment bar 26 are one of several straight forward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of inventive skill, in order to solve the problem posed.
In regard to claim 2, Johnson discloses the contact terminations are 90° bent (see fig. 1, 2).
In regard to claim 3, Johnson discloses the contact terminations 25 are solid pin contacts or terminations with a round cross-section, and the footprint is a plurality of plated or metalized through holes in the PCB 10 or any other cylindrical socket/female contact (col. 2, lines 16-20 and 42-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson.
In regard to claim 6, Johnson discloses a slide-fit electrical contact termination offsetting assembly comprising an electrical connector 14 having at least one plurality of pin contacts 25 placed into a corresponding footprint on a PCB 10 with zero insertion force; the slide-fit electrical contact termination offsetting assembly is characterized by:
a locking mechanism 36, 24, 22 to align the pin contacts 25 with the footprint and allow the insertion into the footprint with zero insertion force,
a slide-fit offsetting action element 38 configured into the locking mechanism, and the pin contacts 25 are attached to a support element 46, 26 that comprises a corresponding plurality of cavities 30 aside each pin contact; and
wherein the locking mechanism retain the connector 14 on the PCB 10, and subsequently forces the slide-fit offsetting action element 38 to displace laterally against the PCB 10 forcing the pin contacts 25 to jam into the PCB footprint, and the pin contacts 25 are elastically deformed in the cavity 30 within the support element 26, to achieve effective electromechanical connection between the contact terminations 25 and the PCB 10.
In regard to claim 7, Johnson discloses the connector 14 is a single-piece connector having on both sides of the connector at right angle orientation to each other.
In regard to claim 8, Johnson discloses the PCB 10.
The recitation that “the PCB is a daughter card PCB” has not given a significant patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
In regard to claim 9, Johnson discloses the cavities 30 allow the pin contacts 25 to deform elastically without shear (col. 2, line 56, col. 3, line 3)..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regard to claim 5, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the mounting mechanism is a screw to retain the connector in position through a mounting bracket secured to the body of the connector. In regard to claim 10, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the locking mechanism is a guiding lock tab that locks in place on the PCB via a lock lid. In regard to claim 12, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the protective cover retracts towards the connector and the pin contacts protrude through the cover into the PCB footprint while the offsetting guide pins interact with the inner side of the protective guiding cover and cause the offsetting action to laterally deform the pin contacts into the cavities of the cover.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
6/21/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834