DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2024/0418691 (“Patel”).
Claim 16
Patel discloses a core-shell particle including a diacetylene compound according to Formula I,
wherein R1 and R2 are each independently selected from the group consisting of a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted aralkyl group (paragraph [0100-0101]).
Claim 17
Patel discloses the core-shell particle of claim 16, wherein the diacetylene compound has a chemical structure according to Formula II,
wherein R3 is selected from the group consisting of a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted aralkyl group; R4 is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted aralkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkaryl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted aryl or heteroaryl group; X and Y are each independently selected from the group consisting of an oxygen atom, a sulfur atom, and N-H; n is an integer from 2 to 16; and m is 0 or 1 (paragraph [0100-0104]).
Claim 18
Patel discloses the core-shell particle of claim 16, wherein the diacetylene compound has a chemical structure according to Formula III,
wherein Rs is selected from the group consisting of a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted aralkyl group; R6 is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted aralkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkaryl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted aryl or heteroaryl group; X is selected from the group consisting of an oxygen atom, a sulfur atom, and N-H; and n is an integer from 2 to 16 (paragraph [0100-0104]).
Claim 19
Patel discloses the core-shell particle of claim 16, wherein the diacetylene compound has a chemical structure according to Formula IV,
wherein R7 is selected from the group consisting of a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted alkynyl group, and a substituted or unsubstituted aralkyl group; and n is an integer from 2 to 16 (paragraph [0100-0104]).
Claim 20
Patel discloses the core-shell particle of claim 16, wherein the core-shell particle has an average particle size, as measured by dynamic laser diffraction, from 0.05 to 2 µm (paragraph [0267]).
Claim 21
Patel discloses the core-shell particle of claim 16, prepared by interfacial polymerization (paragraph [0100-0104]).
Examiner note: the language directed to the preparation is considered product by process language and is accorded limited patentable weight.
Claim 22
Patel discloses an inkjet ink comprising a core-shell particle as defined in claim 16 (paragraph [0076-0077, 0131]).
Claim 23
Patel discloses the inkjet ink of claim 22, wherein the amount of the core-shell particle is from 5 to 25 wt%, based on the total weight of the inkjet ink (paragraph [0131]).
Claim 24
Patel discloses the inkjet ink of claim 22, further comprising at least one component selected from the group consisting of a humectant, a co-solvent, a penetrant, a wetting agent, a viscosity regulator, a resin, and a pigment dispersion (paragraph [0207]).
Claim 25
Patel discloses a method of providing a Time Temperature Indicator (TTI) on a packaging material comprising the steps of: a) jetting and drying an inkjet ink as defined in claim 22 on at least part of a packaging material (paragraph [0271]); and b) exposing the jetted and dried inkjet ink to UV radiation (paragraph [0270]).
Claim 26
Patel discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the jetted and dried inkjet ink is cooled down before exposing it to UV radiation (paragraph [0074]).
Claim 27
Patel discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the jetted and dried inkjet ink is cooled down to at least 10 °C before exposing it to UV radiation (paragraph [0074]).
Claim 28
Patel discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the UV radiation has a wavelength from 220 to 300 nm (paragraph [0211]).
Claim 29
Patel discloses a packaging material including a TTI prepared according to claim 25 (paragraph [0275]).
Claim 30
Patel discloses a packaging material of claim 29 for use in packaging food, pharmaceutical, or medical products (paragraph [0275]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853