EXAMINER’S NOTE: The claims have been reviewed and considered under the new guidance pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG 2019) issued January 7, 2019.
This communication is in response to Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 30 May 2024. Claims 1-16 have been amended. Claims 1-16 remain pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements respectfully submitted on 30 May 2024 and 16 December 2024 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 15, and 16 recites the steps of storing, generating, and matching information that could reasonably be categorized as mental steps. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the step of storing template information generated by performing encoding, the step of generating test information, and the step of matching template information is merely collecting data, gathering the collected data, and saving the data in a mental capacity to determine a match is deemed as extra solution activity that amounts to generic computer functionality. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above, the steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply which cannot provide an inventive concept. Claims recite various circuitry performing the steps which is well known and generic computer that merely requires receiving and transmitting. The claims do not impose any limits on how the data is output or require any particular components. Dependent claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 USC 101, because they do not cure the deficiencies of independent claims 1, 15, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata et al. (Pub No. 2009/0007257).
Referring to the rejection of claim 1, Hirata et al. discloses an information processing system comprising:
at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; (See Hirata et al., para. 52, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 includes a storage device, a CPU, and a memory)
and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: (See Hirata et al., para. 52, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 includes a storage device, a CPU, and a memory)
store, in a storage unit, template information generated by performing an encoding processing using an encoding parameter, on first confidential information;(See Hirata et al., para. 68-78, i.e., a cancelable finger vein authentication system, wherein: in a registration management flow, a client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount F(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "first confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, item 110, transforms the feature amount F(x,y) using a user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) to an authentication server, item 100, and the authentication server registers (corresponding to "storing”) the received transformation feature amount KF(x,y) in a database, DB, item 104 as a template)
generate test information, by performing the encoding processing using the encoding parameter, on second confidential information; (See Hirata et al., para. 80-84, i.e., in an authentication processing flow, the client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount G(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "second confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, transforms the feature amount G(x,y) using the user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KG(x,y) (corresponding to the "test information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) to the authentication server, item 100)
and match the template information with the test information. (See Hirata et al., para. 85, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 matches the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) and the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") that is registered in the database, DB, item 104 to determine if the user is authenticated)
Referring to the rejection of claim 15, Hirata et al. discloses an information processing method comprising:
storing, in a storage unit, template information generated by performing an encoding processing using an encoding parameter, on first confidential information; generating test information, (See Hirata et al., para. 68-78, i.e., a cancelable finger vein authentication system, wherein: in a registration management flow, a client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount F(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "first confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, item 110, transforms the feature amount F(x,y) using a user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) to an authentication server, item 100, and the authentication server registers (corresponding to "storing”) the received transformation feature amount KF(x,y) in a database, DB, item 104 as a template)
by performing the encoding processing using the encoding parameter, on second confidential information; (See Hirata et al., para. 80-84, i.e., in an authentication processing flow, the client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount G(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "second confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, transforms the feature amount G(x,y) using the user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KG(x,y) (corresponding to the "test information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) to the authentication server, item 100)
and matching the template information with the test information. (See Hirata et al., para. 85, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 matches the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) and the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") that is registered in the database, DB, item 104 to determine if the user is authenticated)
Referring to the rejection of claim 16, Hirata et al. discloses a non-transitory recording medium on which a computer program that allows a computer to execute an information processing method is recorded, the information processing method including:
storing, in a storage unit, template information generated by performing an encoding processing using an encoding parameter, on first confidential information; generating test information, (See Hirata et al., para. 68-78, i.e., a cancelable finger vein authentication system, wherein: in a registration management flow, a client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount F(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "first confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, item 110, transforms the feature amount F(x,y) using a user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) to an authentication server, item 100, and the authentication server registers (corresponding to "storing”) the received transformation feature amount KF(x,y) in a database, DB, item 104 as a template)
by performing the encoding processing using the encoding parameter, on second confidential information; (See Hirata et al., para. 80-84, i.e., in an authentication processing flow, the client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount G(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "second confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, transforms the feature amount G(x,y) using the user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KG(x,y) (corresponding to the "test information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) to the authentication server, item 100)
and matching the template information with the test information. (See Hirata et al., para. 85, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 matches the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) and the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") that is registered in the database, DB, item 104 to determine if the user is authenticated)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (Pub No. 2009/0007257) in view of Masaki (JP-2021-129147) English translation attached.
Referring to the rejection of claim 2, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the information processing system includes an edge server and a cloud server, the edge server comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; the cloud server comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one second processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: (See Hirata et al., para. 44-45 and 52, i.e., the cancelable finger vein authentication system includes a parameter management server, item 140, and the parameter management server, item 140 ("corresponding to the cloud server") generates the user parameter K(x,y) and transmits the user parameter K(x,y) to the client terminal, item 110 ("corresponding to the edge server")
and transmit the first encoded information to the cloud server as the first confidential information, (See Hirata et al., para. 68-78, i.e., a cancelable finger vein authentication system, wherein: in a registration management flow, a client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount F(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "first confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, item 110, transforms the feature amount F(x,y) using a user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) to an authentication server, item 100, and the authentication server registers (corresponding to "storing”) the received transformation feature amount KF(x,y) in a database, DB, item 104 as a template)
generate the test information, by performing the encoding processing using the encoding parameter, on the second confidential information; (See Hirata et al., para. 80-84, i.e., in an authentication processing flow, the client terminal, item 110 generates a feature amount G(x,y) from a finger vein image (corresponding to the "second confidential information") that is acquired by the client terminal, transforms the feature amount G(x,y) using the user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "encoding parameter"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KG(x,y) (corresponding to the "test information") and transmitting the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) to the authentication server, item 100)
and match the template information with the test information. (See Hirata et al., para. 85, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 matches the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) and the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") that is registered in the database, DB, item 104 to determine if the user is authenticated)
However, Hirata et al. fail to explicitly disclose and at least one first processor that is configured to execute the instructions to generate first encoded information, by performing a first encoding processing using a first encoding parameter, on third confidential information.
Masaki discloses a biometric authentication system for reducing the leakage of biometric information stored in a server.
Masaki discloses and at least one first processor that is configured to execute the instructions to generate first encoded information, by performing a first encoding processing using a first encoding parameter, on third confidential information and store, in the storage unit, the template information generated by performing a second encoding processing using a second encoding parameter that is different from the first encoding parameter, on the first encoded information transmitted from the edge server as the first confidential information; (See Masaki, para. 15-17, 26-31, and 42-46, i.e., a biometric authentication system including a client terminal, item 1 and a biometric authentication server, item 2, wherein: the client terminal acquires an image of biological information ("corresponding to the third confidential information") by using a biometric sensor, item 3, encrypts ("corresponding to the first encoding process") a biological information template converted from the acquired biological information by using a secure key ("corresponding to the first encoding parameter") to generate registration information ("corresponding to the first encoding information"), and transmits the registration information to the biometric authentication server; and the biometric authentication server receives the transmitted registration information, decrypts the registration information using the secure key, extracts the biological information template and a client cryptographic key ("corresponding to the second encoding parameter") from the registration information, encrypts ("corresponding to the second encoding process") the extracted biological information template by using the client cryptographic key, and saves the encrypted biological information template in a storage device, item 204)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to combine Hirata et al.’s cancelable finger-vein authentication method and system modified with Masaki’s biometric authentication system for reducing the leakage of biometric information stored in a server.
Motivation for such an implementation would enable encryption/decryption of biometric information, storing the encrypted biometric information and discarding the encryption key which prevents leakage of the user’s stored biometric information. (See Masaki, Abstract)
Referring to the rejection of claim 5, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the second encoding processing includes a cancelable transformation processing. (See Hirata et al., para. 43 and 80-84, i.e., a cancelable finger-vein authentication system in which a parameter which acts as a key used for subjecting biological information (a finger vein, for example) to a transformation process by a newly provided parameter manage server, a user ID provided for a user and a finger vein image are input through a client terminal and the finger vein is matched while keeping the feature of the finger vein secret by an authentication server, wherein transforms the feature amount G(x,y) using the user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "second encoding process"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KG(x,y)
Referring to the rejection of claim 6, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the first encoding processing includes a cancelable transformation processing. (See Hirata et al., para. 43 and 68-78, i.e., a cancelable finger-vein authentication system in which a parameter which acts as a key used for subjecting biological information (a finger vein, for example) to a transformation process by a newly provided parameter manage server, a user ID provided for a user and a finger vein image are input through a client terminal and the finger vein is matched while keeping the feature of the finger vein secret by an authentication server, wherein transforms the feature amount F(x,y) using a user parameter K(x,y) (corresponding to the "first encoding process"), thereby generating a transformation feature amount KF(x,y)
Referring to the rejection of claim 7, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the second encoding processing includes an encoding processing using the second encoding parameter and the first encoding parameter. (See Masaki, para. 15-17, 26-31, and 42-46, i.e., a biometric authentication system including a client terminal, item 1 and a biometric authentication server, item 2, wherein: the client terminal acquires an image of biological information ("corresponding to the third confidential information") by using a biometric sensor, item 3, encrypts ("corresponding to the first encoding process") a biological information template converted from the acquired biological information by using a secure key ("corresponding to the first encoding parameter") to generate registration information ("corresponding to the first encoding information"), and transmits the registration information to the biometric authentication server; and the biometric authentication server receives the transmitted registration information, decrypts the registration information using the secure key, extracts the biological information template and a client cryptographic key ("corresponding to the second encoding parameter") from the registration information, encrypts ("corresponding to the second encoding process") the extracted biological information template by using the client cryptographic key, and saves the encrypted biological information template in a storage device, item 204)
The rationale for combining Hirata et al. in view of Masaki is the same as claim 2.
Referring to the rejection of claim 8, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the at least one first processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate the first encoding parameter. (See Hirata et al., para. 57, i.e., the client terminal, item 110 includes a storage device, a CPU, and a memory)
Referring to the rejection of claim 9, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the at least one second processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate the second encoding parameter. (See Hirata et al., para. 60, i.e., the parameter manage server, item 140 includes a storage device, a CPU, and a memory)
Referring to the rejection of claim 10, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the information processing system includes an edge server and a cloud server, the edge server comprising: (See Hirata et al., para. 44-45 and 52, i.e., the cancelable finger vein authentication system includes a parameter management server, item 140, and the parameter management server, item 140 ("corresponding to the cloud server") generates the user parameter K(x,y) and transmits the user parameter K(x,y) to the client terminal, item 110 ("corresponding to the edge server")
the storage unit; (See Hirata et al., para. 53, i.e., the authentication server registers (corresponding to "storing”) the received transformation feature amount KF(x,y) in a database, DB, item 104 as a template)
at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; (See Hirata et al., para. 52, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 includes a storage device, a CPU, and a memory)
and at least one first processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: (See Hirata et al., para. 52, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 includes a storage device, a CPU, and a memory)
perform secure computation while keeping information encrypted, (See Hirata et al., para. 43 and 85, i.e., the cancelable finger-vein authentication is performed using registered information wherein the biometric information of the user is kept secret by an authentication server, therefore, if the registered information is leaked, the leaked registered information is deemed not authenticated (corresponds to “perform secure computation while keeping information encrypted”)
However, Hirata et al. fail to explicitly disclose store a third encoding parameter received from the cloud server, and perform a third encoding processing using the third encoding parameter; generate the test information by performing the third encoding processing on the second confidential information, by using the secret computation unit; and match the template information with the test information, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: store, in the storage unit, the template information generated by performing the third encoding processing on the first confidential information.
Masaki discloses a biometric authentication system for reducing the leakage of biometric information stored in a server.
Masaki discloses store a third encoding parameter received from the cloud server, and perform a third encoding processing using the third encoding parameter; generate the test information by performing the third encoding processing on the second confidential information, by using the secret computation unit; and match the template information with the test information, the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: store, in the storage unit, the template information generated by performing the third encoding processing on the first confidential information. (See Masaki, para. 15-17, 26-31, and 42-46, i.e., a biometric authentication system including a client terminal, item 1 and a biometric authentication server, item 2, wherein: the client terminal acquires an image of biological information ("corresponding to the third confidential information") by using a biometric sensor, item 3, encrypts ("corresponding to the first encoding process") a biological information template converted from the acquired biological information by using a secure key ("corresponding to the first encoding parameter") to generate registration information ("corresponding to the first encoding information"), and transmits the registration information to the biometric authentication server; and the biometric authentication server receives the transmitted registration information, decrypts the registration information using the secure key, extracts the biological information template and a client cryptographic key ("corresponding to the second encoding parameter") from the registration information, encrypts ("corresponding to the second encoding process") the extracted biological information template by using the client cryptographic key, and saves the encrypted biological information template in a storage device, item 204)
The rationale for combining Hirata et al. in view of Masaki is the same as claim 2.
Referring to the rejection of claim 11, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the information processing system includes a plurality of edge servers, and each of the plurality of edge servers comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one first processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: perform matching by using the template information stored by the same storage unit. (See Hirata et al., para. 85, i.e., the authentication server, item 100 matches the transformation feature amount K¹G(x,y) and the transformation feature amount KF(x,y) (corresponding to the "template information") that is registered in the database, DB, item 104 to determine if the user is authenticated)
Referring to the rejection of claim 12, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the cloud server comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one second processor that is configured to execute the instructions to store, in the storage unit, the template information generated by performing the third encoding processing on the first confidential information. (See Masaki, para. 15-17, 26-31, and 42-46, i.e., a biometric authentication system including a client terminal, item 1 and a biometric authentication server, item 2, wherein: the client terminal acquires an image of biological information ("corresponding to the third confidential information") by using a biometric sensor, item 3, encrypts ("corresponding to the first encoding process") a biological information template converted from the acquired biological information by using a secure key ("corresponding to the first encoding parameter") to generate registration information ("corresponding to the first encoding information"), and transmits the registration information to the biometric authentication server; and the biometric authentication server receives the transmitted registration information, decrypts the registration information using the secure key, extracts the biological information template and a client cryptographic key ("corresponding to the second encoding parameter") from the registration information, encrypts ("corresponding to the second encoding process") the extracted biological information template by using the client cryptographic key, and saves the encrypted biological information template in a storage device, item 204)
The rationale for combining Hirata et al. in view of Masaki is the same as claim 2.
Referring to the rejection of claim 13, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the at least one first processor is configured to execute the instructions to store in the storage unit, the template information generated by performing the third encoding processing on the first confidential information, by performing the secure computation. (See Masaki, para. 15-17, 26-31, and 42-46, i.e., a biometric authentication system including a client terminal, item 1 and a biometric authentication server, item 2, wherein: the client terminal acquires an image of biological information ("corresponding to the third confidential information") by using a biometric sensor, item 3, encrypts ("corresponding to the first encoding process") a biological information template converted from the acquired biological information by using a secure key ("corresponding to the first encoding parameter") to generate registration information ("corresponding to the first encoding information"), and transmits the registration information to the biometric authentication server; and the biometric authentication server receives the transmitted registration information, decrypts the registration information using the secure key, extracts the biological information template and a client cryptographic key ("corresponding to the second encoding parameter") from the registration information, encrypts ("corresponding to the second encoding process") the extracted biological information template by using the client cryptographic key, and saves the encrypted biological information template in a storage device, item 204)
The rationale for combining Hirata et al. in view of Masaki is the same as claim 2.
Referring to the rejection of claim 14, (Hirata et al. modified by Masaki) discloses wherein the at least one second processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate the third encoding parameter. (See Masaki, para. 15-17, 26-31, and 42-46, i.e., a biometric authentication system including a client terminal, item 1 and a biometric authentication server, item 2, wherein: the client terminal acquires an image of biological information ("corresponding to the third confidential information") by using a biometric sensor, item 3, encrypts ("corresponding to the first encoding process") a biological information template converted from the acquired biological information by using a secure key ("corresponding to the first encoding parameter") to generate registration information ("corresponding to the first encoding information"), and transmits the registration information to the biometric authentication server; and the biometric authentication server receives the transmitted registration information, decrypts the registration information using the secure key, extracts the biological information template and a client cryptographic key ("corresponding to the second encoding parameter") from the registration information, encrypts ("corresponding to the second encoding process") the extracted biological information template by using the client cryptographic key, and saves the encrypted biological information template in a storage device, item 204)
The rationale for combining Hirata et al. in view of Masaki is the same as claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Griffin (Pub No. 2010/0205658) discloses a system, method and program product for generating a cancelable biometric reference template on demand.
/COURTNEY D FIELDS/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 December 20, 2025
/FATOUMATA TRAORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436