DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said central arm” should be changed to “said central clipping arm.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “tappers” should be changed to “tapers.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “curved” is repeated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said central arm” should be changed to “said central clipping arm.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16-19, 23-25, 30-31, and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPAP 2021/0338418 (Feld).
Regarding claim 1: Feld discloses an obstructing device mountable on a heart valve cusp or leaflet, in a valve lumen having a flow axis between an upstream direction and a downstream direction, comprising:
a hollow tubular member (6) comprising:
an attachment element (frame; Fig. 2B; [0074]) configured to trap said leaflet or cusp comprising:
a peripheral frame (14, 15, and 16) having a distal end, a proximal end (at opening 12), and two side arms (longitudinal wire elements 13 [0075]; Figure 2B; [0075]);
a central clipping arm (grasping arm 20) extending distally from said proximal end (at proximal opening 12), located between said side arms (see marked up figure below showing clipping arm 20 between two longitudinal side arms) and having a free end [0076] (see clipping arm 20 between two side arms in Figure 6B), so that said cusp or leaflet can be trapped between said frame and said clipping arm;
wherein said hollow tubular member (membrane; [0068]) is attached to said peripheral frame [0074];
wherein said peripheral frame (14, 15 and 16) and said central arm (20) are each elastically deformable (see description of elastic materials at [0082]) and have a preferred bending plane to apply clamping force towards said leaflet or cusp when said leaflet or cusp is trapped therebetween ([0076]; the peripheral frame and clamping arm 20 are biased towards one another [0096]);
and wherein said peripheral frame and said central arm are each curved in their respective preferred bending plane (Figure 5 indicates both the frame and clipping arm are curved in a “preferred bending plane”, which is given its broadest reasonable interpretation that encompasses the plane in which the elements are biased towards one another to the closed shape). The curved shape of the device follows the natural curved shape of a valve leaflet.
Regarding claim 2, Figure 8A shows the device in a straightened state within a catheter, and Figures 5 and 7 show the peripheral frame and said central arm have assumed a curved arc shape in a resting state thereof (shape memory configuration).
Regarding claim 3, Feld discloses the hollow tubular member (membrane) is attached to the peripheral frame at the exterior side of the arc shape thereof (membrane covers entire exterior of frame; [0074]).
Regarding claim 4, Feld illustrates the arc shape of said frame extends from said proximal end to said distal end thereof and wherein said arc shape of said clipping arm extends from a proximal end to a distal end (see especially Figure 5, 7, 8M and 8N).
Regarding claim 5, Feld discloses said tubular member (membrane covering frame) is elongate and has an axis and wherein said attachment element is elongate and has an axis and wherein said elongate hollow tubular member is attached to said peripheral frame such that when said elongate attachment element is mounted on a cusp so that said axis points in a downstream direction, said elongate hollow tubular member also points in a downstream direction, and wherein said hollow tubular member comprises a proximal opening (12) at its proximal end, a substantially tubular surface extending distally from said proximal opening and a distal end closed or comprising a small orifice [0035].
Regarding claim 7, the two sides arms are attached to the proximal and distal ends of the frame, and the clipping arm (see arm 20 in Figure 6B having a terminal end 75 that does not extend to the distal end 72 of the frame [0095-0096]).
Regarding claim 10, the clipping arm (20) comprises a plurality of protrusions (25) adapted to engage cusp tissue and extending in a direction away from said preferred bending plane [0077].
Regarding claim 11, each one of the side arms comprises a plurality of protrusions (26) adapted to engage cusp tissue and extending in a direction towards the other side arm (Fig. 2B-C; [0078]).
Regarding claim 13, the hollow tubular member comprises a membrane [0068].
Regarding claim 14, the membrane is self-expandable [0019]; [0070].
Regarding claim 16, the hollow tubular member tapers distally in a downstream direction (away from opening 12).
Regarding claim 17, the peripheral frame comprises one or more apertures (frame defining aperture 12; spaces between circumferential elements 14/15/16).
Regarding claim 18, the attachment element is made of a super-elastic or shape memory material [0082].
Regarding claim 19, the attachment element (frame) comprises connecting elements (26) configured to engage cusp material.
Regarding claim 23: Feld discloses the obstructing device according to claim 1 and a delivery system having a body (64) [0095] with a capsule (60) defining a recess (inner lumen) for receiving the obstructing device ([0110]; Fig. 8A-8L). The delivery device further includes a distal holder that holds a distal part of the obstructing device (portion of inner sheath 62 passing through distal loop 72 of obstructing device; Fig 6B, Fig 8A; [0109]), and a proximal holder (portion of inner sheath 62 passing through proximal loop 71 of the obstructing device; Fig 6B, Fig 8A; [0109]).
The proximal holder and distal holder (inner sheath passing through loops 71 and 72) are moveable to two positions, wherein in a first position a portion of the obstructing device is exposed from an outer sheath (60) so that it can elastically extend away from the capsule (expand) (see Figure 8C) and a second position wherein the proximal and distal ends of the obstructing device are released from being held (a string 66 connecting the inner sheath to the obstructing device is released from the device (Fig. 8H-K; [0114]).
Regarding claim 24, Feld discloses the string (66/166) coupling the inner sheath (162) to proximal and distal ends of the obstructing device can be made of elastic material nitinol [0114]; [0138], which meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “spring”, wherein the inner sheath (162) and string (66) function to push the obstructing device away from the capsule when released [0095\; [0123].
Regarding claim 25, Feld discloses the obstructing device has a curved resting state (deployed configuration of Figures 5 and 7), wherein said capsule holds said frame to prevent said curved frame from being at said curved resting state (see Figure 8A illustrating the device in a straightened compressed state within the delivery device 60).
Regarding claim 30: Feld discloses a method for implanting an obstructing device on a heart valve cusp or leaflet, comprising:
advancing passing a delivery catheter system (Figure 8A) having an obstructing device (10) mounted therein, until the distal portion of the catheter arrives near a target heart valve cusp or leaflet (Figure 8B);
releasing a clipping arm (20) of said obstructing device to extend radially away from said delivery catheter system and define a gap therebetween (Figure 8D);
positioning said cusp or leaflet within said gap (Figure 8G);
and further releasing at least a further part of said obstructing device comprising a frame with two side arms (see longitudinal elements 13 in Figure 2B and marked up Figure 6B above) to elastically extend away from said delivery catheter system so that said gap is closed and said cusp or leaflet is trapped
In regard to claim 31, the obstructing device comprises an elastic shape memory material such that it is deployed and released from the delivery device using elastic recoil [0082]. Releasing the device from the delivery system comprises releasing both the frame and clipping arm (20). The presence of a valve cusp between the clip arm and frame prevents the obstructing device from reaching a position on an opposite side (ventricular side) of the cusp or leaflet (see Figure 8G).
Regarding claim 35, the elastically deformable frame is allowed to reach a curved resting position upon release, such that the frame and clipping arm are curved in the same direction following the contours of a native valve leaflet (see Figure 8H-N).
Regarding claim 36, the frame and clipping arm are curved in the same direction following the contours of a native valve leaflet (see Figure 8H-N).
Regarding claim 37, the membrane is collapsible and expandable due to blood pressure [0069] and/or when entire device collapses to a delivery state [0095].
Regarding claim 38: Feld discloses a delivery system having a body (64) [0095] with a capsule (60) at the distal end defining a recess (inner lumen) for receiving the obstructing device ([0110]; Fig. 8A-8L). The delivery device further includes a distal holder that holds a distal part of the obstructing device (portion of inner sheath 62 passing through distal loop 72 of obstructing device; Fig 6B, Fig 8A; [0109]), and a proximal holder (portion of inner sheath 62 passing through proximal loop 71 of the obstructing device; Fig 6B, Fig 8A; [0109]).
The proximal holder and distal holder (inner sheath passing through loops 71 and 72) are moveable to two positions, wherein in a first position a portion of the obstructing device is exposed from an outer sheath (60) so that it can elastically extend away from the capsule (expand) (see Figure 8C) and a second position wherein the proximal and distal ends of the obstructing device are released from being held (a string 66 connecting the inner sheath to the obstructing device is released from the device (Fig. 8H-K; [0114]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following generally disclose device that grasp a valve leaflet:
USPAP 2023/0142064 – clip with central arm – fig. 36-37
USPAP 2020/0138569
USPAP 2018/0185154
USPAP 2016/0331523 – Fig 120C – central clipping arm
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774