DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-15 are pending and are rejected.
Priority
Foreign priority:
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to application no. EP21211664.4 filled on 12/01/2021. The certified copy has been received.
PCT:
The current application is a 371 of the PCT application no. PCT/IB2022/061643 filled on 12/01/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) filled on 11/21/2025 and 05/30/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 05/30/2024 are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Preliminary Amendments
Preliminary claim amendments filed on 05/30/2024 are acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are amended and are being fully considered by the examiner.
Amendments to Specification and Abstract filled on 05/30/2024 are acknowledged and are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 10:
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control unit” in claim 10.
The claim limitations as described above uses generic placeholders for performing the claimed function such that the generic placeholders are modified by functional language as discussed below, in claim 1 -
the generic placeholder “a control unit” is modified by the functional language “configured to control operations of the work machine.”.
“a control unit” being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure the processor 110 described in the specification paragraph 22: “In the example of FIG. 1 , the processor 110 is a control unit operatively connected to read from and write to the memory 160. The processor 110 may also be configured to receive control signals received via an input interface and/or the processor 110 may be configured to output control signals via an output interface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-15 (amended) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reed (US20190112792A1) [hereinafter Reed].
Regarding claim 1:
Reed discloses, An apparatus associated with a work machine, [¶20: FIG. 1. The machine 10 may be an excavator… control station 20 housing various controls for facilitating control of systems and components of the machine 10, including, …implement assembly 18…
¶21: The implement assembly 18,…generally comprises…a work tool 26.…
¶22: The work tool 26 may support a short-range wireless device 30,...
¶25: The short-range wireless device 30 may be part of a short-range wireless system 42… the short-range wireless device 30, the short-range wireless system 42 may also include a short-range wireless scanner 44 of the machine 10…. the short-range wireless scanner 44, which may be located at the machine 10, may communicate with one or more of a controller 48 and an operator display 50 on the machine 10,];
the apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: [¶31: the controller 48 may include a processing component and a data storage component, with the processing component configured to execute computer readable program code, which may be stored using the data storage component];
receive information on an operational context of the work machine, the information including data describing operation of the work machine in a particular context; [¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10];
detect at least one beacon signal provided by a beacon associated with equipment attachable to the work machine, the at least one beacon signal including a radio signal broadcasted by the beacon; [¶22: The short-range wireless device 30 may include a wireless technology circuit 34, such as,…a Bluetooth circuit,…. the wireless technology circuit 34 and the internal antenna 36, may have a broadcast range…
¶29: the communication module 230 may be configured to receive radio signals from a device and/or transmit radio signals to the device.
¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10];
determine, based on the at least one beacon signal, a proximity status of the equipment, the proximity status relating to a proximity of the equipment to the work machine; [¶26: The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area,];
determine, based on the information on the operational context of the work machine, at least one criterion relating to the proximity status of the equipment; and [¶26: the short-range wireless device 30 may be configured to transmit data 46 at a first signal strength, receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10, change the first signal strength to a second signal strength in response to the indication, and set an active flag in the data 46 in response to the indication…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.
Examiner notes that, Reed teaches, as described above, based on the operational information such as work tool being active, the work tool is monitored to determine if it is in surrounding area];
determine, in response to determining that the at least one criterion for the proximity status of the equipment is fulfilled, that the equipment is attached to the work machine. [¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.]
Examiner notes that, Reed teaches, as described above, when the work tool is in the surrounding area such that it fulfills the requirement of being proximate, the work tool is being identified as attached work tool].
Regarding claim 2:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the at least one beacon signal includes a Bluetooth low energy signal or a Zigbee signal. [¶22: the short-range wireless device 30 may include a processor 32 for processing instructions that control operation of the short-range wireless device 30. The short-range wireless device 30 may include a wireless technology circuit 34, such as, for example, a Bluetooth circuit, for providing short-range wireless communications… The utilization of short-range wireless communications may conserve energy, which may be useful in applications where it is difficult to charge or replace the battery.].
Regarding claim 3:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to
determine the proximity status based on a strength of the at least one beacon signal. [¶28: the short-range wireless device 30 may be configured to transmit data 46 at a first signal strength, receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10, change the first signal strength to a second signal strength in response to the indication, and set an active flag in the data 46 in response to the indication. The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area,].
Regarding claim 4:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, information on the operational context includes information provided by at least one of the following: a sensor, a transceiver, an imaging device or a clock. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the elements separated by or and only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Accordingly, Reed discloses, context includes information provided by sensor, as described below:
¶23: The short-range wireless device 30 may also include a movement detection device 40, such as an accelerometer, measuring acceleration forces…the short-range wireless device 30 may include a gyro sensor, barometer, or other device for detecting movement…
¶24: the movement detection device 40 may detect acceleration that occurs when the work tool 26 is picked up by the machine 10. This information may be transmitted to the machine 10 and used for connected work tool identification,…
¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.].
Regarding claim 6:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the operational context of the work machine includes a duration of operation by the work machine and the at least one criterion includes a predetermined duration of operation by the work machine while the proximity status is maintained. [¶31: processor 32 of each of the “active” work tools 26, 72 and 76 may also include a timer 90,…capable of measuring time, initiated in response to the indication of a coupled configuration and configured to measure lapsed time….timer 90 may begin to increment as soon as one of the work tools 26, 68, 70, 72, 74, 76 and 78 moves from an “inactive” to an “active” state…the timer 90 may be configured to measure the amount of time that has passed since a work tool was picked up….the “active” work tool 26, 72 and 76 most recently picked up will likely have the smallest amount of time that has lapsed, as indicated by the timer 90. As a result, machine 10 detects work tool 26; machine 62 detects work tool 72; and machine 66 detects work tool 76. More specifically, machine 10 may identify work tool 26 as the connected work tool.
Examiner notes that, the limitation “while the proximity status is maintained” is broad, and in broadest reasonable interpretation, i. proximity in the proximity status can mean “any” proximity/distance, and ii. maintaining the proximity status means that the status that describes “any” proximity of the equipment to the work machine since parent claim broadly recites, the proximity status “relating to” a proximity of the equipment to the work machine.].
Regarding claim 7:
Reed discloses, The apparatus according to claim 1,
Reed further discloses, wherein the operational context of the work machine includes a plurality of detected beacon signals by the work machine and the at least one criterion includes a reduced number of detected beacon signals while the proximity status is maintained. [¶26: If the “active” work tool 26, 72 and 76 is flagged as “active,” the short-range data transmission component 38 of each “active” work tool 26, 72 and 76 may automatically reduce the transmission power to a level that will help isolate it from other work tools, such as work tools 68, 70, 74 and 78, that are also communicating wirelessly.
Examiner notes that, the limitation “while the proximity status is maintained” is broad, and in broadest reasonable interpretation, i. proximity in the proximity status can mean “any” proximity/distance, and ii. maintaining the proximity status means that the status that describes “any” proximity of the equipment to the work machine since parent claim broadly states, “the proximity status relating to a proximity of the equipment to the work machine”];
Regarding claim 8:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the equipment attachable to the work machine includes at least one of the following: a bucket, a breaking hammer, a rock drilling machine, a rock bolting machine, transmission, an engine, a pump, a battery, a head, a truck tub or differentials. [ ¶31: The implement assembly 18,..comprises a lift arm assembly 22, a tilt linkage 24, and a work tool 26…the work tool 26 is illustrated as a bucket, the machine 10 may support any of a variety of different work tools, such as, for example, blades, forks, and the like for performing various work operations.
¶20: The machine 10 may be an excavator,…machine 10 also includes…the ground-engaging elements 14 and the implement assembly 18.
Examiner notes that, equipment such as the work tool 26 attachable to the work machine 10 includes at least one of a bucket].
Regarding claim 9:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the at least one beacon signal includes identification data identifying the beacon. [¶22: The work tool 26 may support a short-range wireless device 30, shown in FIG. 3, for connected work tool identification.
¶26: The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.].
Regarding claim 10:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the apparatus includes a control unit configured to control operations of the work machine. [¶31: the controller 48 may include a processing component and a data storage component, with the processing component configured to execute computer readable program code, which may be stored using the data storage component
Examiner notes that claim interpretations of “control unit” as set forth in the current office action].
Regarding claim 11:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to with the at least one processor, [¶25: the controller 48 may include a processing component and a data storage component, with the processing component configured to execute computer readable program code, which may be stored using the data storage component.
Examiner notes that claim interpretations of “control unit” as set forth in the current office action];
cause the apparatus to listen for beacon signals continuously. [¶25: The short-range wireless scanner 44, which may be a Bluetooth scanner, may be configured to scan for and/or detect short-range wireless devices, such as the short-range wireless device 30, in a surrounding area, which includes a broadcast area of the short-range wireless devices. In addition, the short-range wireless scanner 44, which may be located at the machine 10, may communicate with one or more of a controller 48].
Regarding claim 12:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, wherein the work machine includes a load haul dump (LHD) machine, a breaker, a drilling rig, a rock bolter, or a dump truck. [¶20: The machine 10 may be an excavator, as shown, or any other off-highway machine or on-highway machine.].
Regarding claim 13:
Reed disclose, The apparatus according to claim 1, and
Reed further discloses, A work machine comprising an apparatus according to claim 1. [¶20: The machine 10 may be an excavator, as shown, or any other off-highway machine or on-highway machine.
¶25: The short-range wireless device 30 may be part of a short-range wireless system 42… the short-range wireless device 30, the short-range wireless system 42 may also include a short-range wireless scanner 44 of the machine 10…. the short-range wireless scanner 44, which may be located at the machine 10, may communicate with one or more of a controller 48 and an operator display 50 on the machine 10,].
Regarding claim 14:
Reed discloses, A method comprising: [¶6: the method includes detecting short-range wireless devices in a surrounding area using a short-range wireless scanner located at the machine, detecting the active flag in the data transmitted at the second signal strength using the short-range wireless scanner, and identifying the first work tool as a connected work tool of the machine based in part on the active flag.];
receiving information on an operational context of a work machine, the information including data describing operation of the work machine in a particular context; [¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10];
detecting at least one beacon signal provided by a beacon associated with equipment attachable to the work machine, the at least one beacon signal including a radio signal broadcasted by the beacon; [¶22: The short-range wireless device 30 may include a wireless technology circuit 34, such as,…a Bluetooth circuit,…. the wireless technology circuit 34 and the internal antenna 36, may have a broadcast range…
¶29: the communication module 230 may be configured to receive radio signals from a device and/or transmit radio signals to the device.
¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10];
determining, based on the at least one beacon signal, a proximity status of the equipment, the proximity status relating to a proximity of the equipment to the work machine; [¶26: The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area,];
determining, based on the operational context of the work machine, at least one criterion for the proximity status of the equipment; [¶26: the short-range wireless device 30 may be configured to transmit data 46 at a first signal strength, receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10, change the first signal strength to a second signal strength in response to the indication, and set an active flag in the data 46 in response to the indication…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.
Examiner notes that, Reed teaches, as described above, based on the operational information such as work tool being active, the work tool is monitored to determine if it is in surrounding area];
determining, in response to determining that the at least one criterion for the proximity status of the equipment is fulfilled, that the equipment is attached to the work machine. [¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.]
Examiner notes that, Reed teaches, as described above, when the work tool is in the surrounding area such that it fulfills the requirement of being proximate, the work tool is being identified as attached work tool;].
Regarding claim 15:
Reed discloses, A computer program including instructions for causing an apparatus to perform at least the following: [¶25: controller 48 may include a processing component and a data storage component, with the processing component configured to execute computer readable program code, which may be stored using the data storage component…
¶6: the method includes detecting short-range wireless devices in a surrounding area using a short-range wireless scanner located at the machine, detecting the active flag in the data transmitted at the second signal strength using the short-range wireless scanner, and identifying the first work tool as a connected work tool of the machine based in part on the active flag.];
receiving information on an operational context of a work machine, the information including data describing operation of the work machine in a particular context; [¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10];
detecting at least one beacon signal provided by a beacon associated with equipment attachable to the work machine, the at least one beacon signal including a radio signal broadcasted by the beacon; [¶22: The short-range wireless device 30 may include a wireless technology circuit 34, such as,…a Bluetooth circuit,…. the wireless technology circuit 34 and the internal antenna 36, may have a broadcast range…
¶29: the communication module 230 may be configured to receive radio signals from a device and/or transmit radio signals to the device.
¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10];
determining, based on the at least one beacon signal, a proximity status of the equipment, the proximity status relating to a proximity of the equipment to the work machine; [¶26: The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area,];
determining, based on the operational context of the work machine, at least one criterion for the proximity status of the equipment; [¶26: the short-range wireless device 30 may be configured to transmit data 46 at a first signal strength, receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10, change the first signal strength to a second signal strength in response to the indication, and set an active flag in the data 46 in response to the indication…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.
Examiner notes that, Reed teaches, as described above, based on the operational information such as work tool being active, the work tool is monitored to determine if it is in surrounding area];
determining, in response to determining that the at least one criterion for the proximity status of the equipment is fulfilled, that the equipment is attached to the work machine. [¶26: receive an indication from the movement detection device 40 that the work tool 26 is in a coupled configuration with the machine 10…The short-range wireless scanner 44 may be configured to detect short-range wireless devices in the surrounding area, detect the active flag in the data 46, and identify the work tool 26 as the connected work tool based in part on the active flag.]
Examiner notes that, Reed teaches, as described above, when the work tool is in the surrounding area such that it fulfills the requirement of being proximate, the work tool is being identified as attached work tool;].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 5 (amended) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed and further in view of Wang et al. (US20160312432A1) [hereinafter WANG].
Regarding claim 5:
Reed discloses, The apparatus according to claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
WANG discloses, wherein the operational context of the work machine includes a distance travelled by the work machine [¶68: determining a relative distance between the machine 102 and the attachment coupler 106];
and the at least one criterion includes a predetermined distance travelled by the work machine while the proximity status is maintained. [¶68: determining a relative distance between the machine 102 and the attachment coupler 106 starting, for example, with the third three-dimensional location 122 of the attachment coupler 106. As the machine 102 moves toward the work tool 104, the processor 506 applies computer-vision based on image information about the work tool 104 and the attachment coupler 106 from the database 512 to accurately track the work tool 104 and/or the attachment coupler 106 to adjust and control the motion of the machine 102…
Examiner notes that, the limitation “while the proximity status is maintained” is broad, and in broadest reasonable interpretation, i. proximity in the proximity status can mean “any” proximity/distance, and ii. maintaining the proximity status means that the status that describes “any” proximity of the equipment to the work machine since parent claim broadly states, “the proximity status relating to a proximity of the equipment to the work machine”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the operational context of the work machine includes a distance travelled by the work machine and the at least one criterion includes a predetermined distance travelled by the work machine while the proximity status is maintained in order to provide the advantage of accurate and continuous monitoring of the relative movement of the work tool and machine to accurately monitor the proximity, attachment status, and use of the work tool taught by WANG with the system taught by Reed as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to provide the advantage of accurate and continuous monitoring of the relative movement of the work tool and machine to accurately monitor the proximity, attachment status, and use of the work tool [WANG, ¶68: the processor 506 may continuously track the work tool 104 and the attachment coupler 106 of the work tool 104… accurately track the work tool 104 and/or the attachment coupler 106 to adjust and control the motion of the machine 102.].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
DARLINGTON et al. (US20190284784A1) - Attachment status monitoring of ground engaging tools (get) at heavy machinery
¶6: monitoring system for monitoring a status of attachment of a ground engaging tool (GET)…output a status of attachment of the GET at the heavy machinery in real-time (i.e., as the machinery is in use).
Harmon et al. (US20210132588A1) - Wireless mobile work machine component detection and control system:
¶10: A mobile work machine includes a wireless communication system configured to receive a wireless communication signal from a transmitter corresponding to a machine component on the mobile work machine, machine component identification logic configured to obtain a machine component identifier, that uniquely identifies the machine component, based on the wireless communication signal, operation detection logic configured to detect a machine operation associated with the machine component and to generate component performance data correlated to the machine component based on the machine operation, and control signal generator logic configured to generate a control signal that controls the mobile work machine based on the component performance data.
Arshad et al. (US20200256039A1) - A working machine having an attachment device and a system for monitoring attachment status of an attachment device:
¶25: the second sensor element may recognize e.g. the presence of, or position in relation to, or distance to, the first sensor element (and/or vice versa) of the same sensor pair, as long as the first sensor element is within a predetermined distance from the second sensor element. Such predetermined distance is preferably adapted to represent a condition in which the attachment device is attached to the attachment device carrying equipment.
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116