DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 16-17, 19, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inukai et al. (JP 2000-303020) in view of Takahashi (US 2020/0239686).
Note: citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘020 mailed on 5/12/2026.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 19:
Inukai JP ‘020 discloses a coating composition for the inner surfaces of a can (package) [abstract; 0001; 0004-0005]. The composition comprises a polyamideimide, an organic solvent, and additives selected from a group including epoxy resin and a polyfunctional isocyanate compound [abstract; 0004-0006; 0016-0017]. Although Inukai teaches the solvent may be N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, the reference teaches the use of other solvents, including dimethylacetamide, dimethylformamide, dimethylsulfoxide, butyrolactone, etc. [0005; 0016].
Although Inukai does not explicitly disclose a specific composition falling within the scope of the present claim, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the disclosed components for their disclosed purposes, including polyamideimide, polyfunctional isocyanate, an epoxy resin, and a solvent other than a pyrrolidone solvent, to provide a composition in accordance with Inukai’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Inukai is silent with regard to the acid value of the polyamideimide.
Values within the claimed range were known in the art to have utility. For example, Takahashi discloses a coating composition comprising polyamideimide, an epoxy compound, and an isocyanate compound [abstract; 0001; 0014; 0069-0073]. The polyamideimide preferably has an acid value in the range of 10-80 mg KOH/g to provide desirable solubility properties while being resistant to gelling [0027].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the acid value of Inukai’s polymer, including over values falling within the presently claimed range, to provide a polymer in accordance with Takashi’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 16-17:
Inukai discloses Example 2 of a polyamideimide formed from 101 g (0.5 mol) of sebacate, 52 g (0.3 mol) of 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylate, 38 g (0.2 mol) trimellitic anhydride, 131 g (0.5 mol) of dicyclohexylmethane-4,4’-diisocyanate, and 111 g (0.5 mol) of isophorone diisocyanate [0022]. Trimellitic anhydride provides 1 mol of imide forming groups per 1 mol of the monomer, and it is the limiting reagent for the formation of imide linkages. Therefore, 0.2 mol of imide linkages are formed overall. Trimellitic anhydride provides 1 mol of amide forming groups per 1 mol of monomer, and sebacic acid and cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid each provide 2 mol of amide forming groups per 1 mol of monomer. Therefore, there are 1.8 mol of amide linkages formed overall (1.8=0.2+2*0.5+2*0.3). Accordingly, the polymer has 10 mol% of imide linkages and 90 mol% of amide linkages relative to the total moles of imide and amide linkages (10%=100%*0.2/(0.2+1.8)).
Regarding claim 10:
Inukai teaches the composition comprises solvent (i.e., it is liquid). Additionally, the present claim is drawn to a final product. The examiner submits the final product of the prior art would be indistinguishable from the final product of the present claim.
Regarding claim 24:
Inukai discloses using epoxy and isocyanate compounds [0017]. Takahashi also discloses the use of a mixture of epoxy and isocyanate compounds [0069]. Although the references are silent with regard to a relative weight ratio of the compounds, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the compounds were used as crosslinking agents and therefore would expect similar crosslinking properties across a range of relative weights. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the relative amounts of each compound, including over values falling within the claimed range, to provide a mixture of such compounds capable of crosslinking the coating composition, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 25:
Inukai discloses using epoxy and isocyanate compounds [0017]. The reference is silent with regard to the claimed compounds. Takahashi, however, discloses various epoxy compounds which are glycidyl ether compounds as well as polyisocyanates including hexamethylene diisocyanate as curing compounds [0071; 0073]. Although Takahashi does not explicitly disclose its polyisocyanate compounds are blocked, the reference does teach it was known in the art to block isocyanate groups as needed [0044]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known curing compounds as taught by Takahashi, including those falling within the scope of the claimed invention, to provide a cured composition as suggested by the prior art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inukai et al. (JP 2000-303020) in view of Takahashi (US 2020/0239686) as applied above, and further in view of Tada (US 5,750,223).
Regarding claim 11:
As previously explained, Inukai JP ‘020 teaches a can (package or container) coated with a composition.
Inukai is silent with regard to a monobloc aerosol can.
Such cans were known in the art to have utility. For example, Tada discloses polyamideimide coatings for aerosol containers (abstract; 1:5+). Suitable containers include metal monoblock cans, which provide a seamless container (4:25-39; 8:66-9:46).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a monobloc aerosol can with Inukai’s invention given that it was known in the art to be useful as a seamless aerosol can.
Claim(s) 1-10 and 16-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saotome (JP 2007-291334) in view of Takahashi (US 2020/0239686).
Note: citations refer to the machine translation of JP ‘334 mailed on 5/12/2026.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 19:
Saotome discloses a coating composition for the inner surfaces of a can or tube (package) [abstract; 0001; 0008-0009]. The composition comprises a polyamideimide, an organic solvent, and one or more curing agents selected from a group including epoxy resin and an isocyanate compound [0008; 0015-0016; 0054; 0056]. Although Saotome teaches the solvent may be N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, the reference teaches the use of other solvents, including dimethylacetamide, dimethylformamide, dimethylsulfoxide, butyrolactone, etc. [0054].
Although Saotome does not explicitly disclose a specific composition falling within the scope of the present claim, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the disclosed components for their disclosed purposes, including polyamideimide, polyfunctional isocyanate, an epoxy resin, and a solvent other than a pyrrolidone solvent, to provide a composition in accordance with Saotome’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Saotome is silent with regard to the acid value of the polyamideimide.
Values within the claimed range were known in the art to have utility. For example, Takahashi discloses a coating composition comprising polyamideimide, an epoxy compound, and an isocyanate compound [abstract; 0001; 0014; 0069-0073]. The polyamideimide preferably has an acid value in the range of 10-80 mg KOH/g to provide desirable solubility properties while being resistant to gelling [0027].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the acid value of Saotome’s polymer, including over values falling within the presently claimed range, to provide a polymer in accordance with Takashi’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 16-17:
Saotome discloses Example 2 of a polyamideimide formed from 0.2 mol of tolidine diisocyanate, 0.8 mol of 4,4’-diphenylmethane diisocyanate, 0.5 mol of trimellitic anhydride, 0.4 mol of sebacic acid, and 0.1 mol of an aliphatic polycarbonate diol [0063]. Trimellitic anhydride provides 1 mol of imide forming groups per 1 mol of the monomer, and it is the limiting reagent for the formation of imide linkages. Therefore, 0.5 mol of imide linkages are formed overall. Trimellitic anhydride provides 1 mol of amide forming groups per 1 mol of monomer, and sebacic acid provides 2 mol of amide forming groups per 1 mol of monomer. Therefore, there are 1.3 mol of amide linkages formed overall (1.8=0.5+2*0.4). Accordingly, the polymer has 28 mol% of imide linkages and 72 mol% of amide linkages relative to the total moles of imide and amide linkages (28%=100%*0.5/(0.5+1.3)). Similar calculations can be done for other Examples, demonstrating mole percentages within the claimed ranges [0063-0065].
Regarding claims 4 and 18:
Saotome teaches the polyamideimide has a number-average molecular weight of 5,000-50,000 [0052]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the molecular weight of the polymer, including over values falling within the claimed range, to provide a polymer in accordance with Saotome’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 6-9 and 20-23:
Saotome teaches the composition comprises 1-100 parts by weight of curing agents per 100 parts by weight of polyamideimide [0015]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of the polyamideimide, epoxy resin, and isocyanate compound, including over amounts falling within the presently claimed ranges, to provide a composition in accordance with Saotome’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10:
Saotome teaches the composition comprises solvent (i.e., it is liquid). Additionally, the present claim is drawn to a final product. The examiner submits the final product of the prior art would be indistinguishable from the final product of the present claim.
Regarding claim 24:
Saotome discloses using epoxy and isocyanate compounds [0056]. Takahashi also discloses the use of a mixture of epoxy and isocyanate compounds [0069]. Although the references are silent with regard to a relative weight ratio of the compounds, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the compounds were used as crosslinking agents and therefore would expect similar crosslinking properties across a range of relative weights. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the relative amounts of each compound, including over values falling within the claimed range, to provide a mixture of such compounds capable of crosslinking the coating composition, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 25:
Saotome discloses using epoxy and isocyanate compounds [0056]. The epoxy compounds include those that are glycidyl ether compounds [0057]. The reference is silent with regard to the claimed diisocyanate compounds. Takahashi, however, discloses various epoxy compounds which are glycidyl ether compounds as well as polyisocyanates including hexamethylene diisocyanate as curing compounds [0071; 0073]. Although Takahashi does not explicitly disclose its polyisocyanate compounds are blocked, the reference does teach it was known in the art to block isocyanate groups as needed [0044]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known curing compounds as taught by Takahashi, including those falling within the scope of the claimed invention, to provide a cured composition as suggested by the prior art.
Regarding claim 26:
Saotome discloses the polyamideimide is formed from a diisocyanate compound, an anhydride, and a diol [0026-0027].
Regarding claim 27:
Saotome discloses trimellitic anhydride and other cyclic anhydrides [0037-0039]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a combination of trimellitic anhydride and another cyclic anhydride to provide a polyamideimide resin in accordance with Saotome’s teaching, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saotome (JP 2007-291334) in view of Takahashi (US 2020/0239686) as applied above, and further in view of Tada (US 5,750,223).
Regarding claim 11:
As previously explained, Saotome teaches a can (package or container) coated with a composition, wherein the cans can be for aerosols [0001; 0003; 0006; 0008].
Saotome is silent with regard to a monobloc aerosol can.
Such cans were known in the art to have utility. For example, Tada discloses polyamideimide coatings for aerosol containers (abstract; 1:5+). Suitable containers include monoblock cans, which provide a seamless container (4:25-39; 8:66-9:46).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a monobloc aerosol can with Saotome’s invention given that it was known in the art to be useful as a seamless aerosol can.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous objections and rejections under 35 USC 112.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 to newly require the PAI resin to have an acid value in the range of 25-100 mg KOH/g overcomes previous rejections based on Inukai (JP H07-292319). As explained in paragraph 18 of the previous Non-Final Rejection, Inukai teaches polyamideimides having an acid number of 50-400 equivalents per 106 g which provides a corresponding range of 2.8- 22.4 mg KOH/g polymer [0009]. Therefore, the reference teaches away from the claimed feature.
Although Inukai (JP 2000-303020) and Saotome (JP 2007-291334) are silent with regard to an acid value of their polyamideimide resins, the claimed values were known in the art to have utility as demonstrated by newly cited Takahashi (US 2020/0239686) as applied above. Therefore, the examiner maintains the current rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787