DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 05/30/2024. Claims 4, 10, 16, 19, and 20 are amended in the preliminary amendments filed on 05/30/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being unpatentable subject matter.
Regarding claims 7-12, the claims are determined to be directed to software per se based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claims as a whole. The apparatus claims as a whole appear to lack sufficient structure since the apparatus is merely various modules that are applied to a network device (i.e. the network device is not part of the apparatus), and the specification does not specify that the modules are strictly hardware. Software per se is not directed to one of the four statutory categories, i.e. non-statutory and not patentable, as established in Gottschalk v. Benson. Refer to MPEP 2106(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being unpatentable subject matter.
Regarding claim 19, “A machine-readable storage medium having stored thereon machine executable instructions” as recited in the claim (line 1) is not limited in the specification to exclude transitory forms of signal transmission. The aforementioned medium can therefore be interpreted to be directed to transitory forms of signal transmission. Transitory forms of signal transmission are not directed to one of the four statutory categories, i.e. non-statutory and not patentable, as established in In re Nuijten. Refer to MPEP 2106(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 7 and 13), the claim recites “if the destination address is a locally configured proxy SID, sending a second service message on the forwarding path, and sending the original service message to a Service Function (SF) node” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear as to whether “sending the original service message to a Service Function (SF) node” is conditional to “if the destination address is a locally configured proxy SID”, which makes the metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. For clarity, Examiner suggests Applicant to consider (1) removing the comma by amending “path, and” to “path and” if the phrase is conditional or (2) reciting the phrase in a separate line if the phrase is not conditional, in order to clearly overcome the rejection.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 7 and 13), the claim recites “a first in-situ flow detection option” which renders the claim indefinite. The term “in-situ flow detection” does not appear to be a term of art, and although the second in-situ flow detection seems to suggest association with replication flag information, it is not definite as to what the first in-situ flow detection option would exactly entail without further details. Examiner suggests Applicant to consider further clarifying the first in-situ flow detection option and the utilization thereof in the forwarding process (e.g., incorporating claim 2) in order to clearly overcome the rejection.
Regarding claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-20, which claim dependency from claims 1, 7, and 13, they are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 7, and 13 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (US 2022/0191138 A1, hereinafter “Dong”) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0263758 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 7, 13, 19, and 20), Dong discloses:
A method for message sending, which is applied to a network device, comprising:
receiving a first service message, which comprises a destination address, receiving service packet comprising destination address and SRH with SID list indicating forwarding path, Dong: [0045], [0053]);
if the destination address is a locally configured proxy SID, sending a second service message on the forwarding path (forwarding service packet through forwarding path based on local SID table and SRH including routing type and flags fields, Dong: [0042], [0045], [0056]).
Dong does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a first service message, which comprises a first in-situ flow detection option,
sending the original service message to a Service Function (SF) node;
wherein, the second service message comprises a second in-situ flow detection option, which comprises replication flag information for indicating that the second service message is a replication message of the first service message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches:
receiving a first service message, which comprises a first in-situ flow detection option (receiving first packet with copy flag field comprising copy flag, Zhang: [0229]),
sending the original service message to a Service Function (SF) node (node receiving first packet to store SRH of first packet, Zhang: [0229]);
wherein, the second service message comprises a second in-situ flow detection option, which comprises replication flag information for indicating that the second service message is a replication message of the first service message (copy flag field comprising copy flag indicating that second packet is copy of first packet, Zhang: [0229]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong in view of Zhang in order to further modify the method of forwarding service packet comprising destination address and SRH from the teachings of Dong with the method of utilizing copy flag field in message forwarding from the teachings of Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved network reliability, transmission reliability, and SRH synchronization reliability (Zhang: [0172], [0177], [0322]).
Regarding claim 6, Dong-Zhang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Dong-Zhang further discloses:
wherein the in-situ flow detection option of the second service message comprises a reserved field carrying the replication flag information (copy flag field comprising copy flag: Zhang: [0229]).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 6. Therefore, claims 12 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Zhang et al. (US 2022/0263758 A1: Packet Transmission Method, Proxy Node, and Storage Medium), Li et al. (US 2020/0389391 A1: Packet Processing Method and Apparatus), Zhang et al. (US 2021/0377173 A1: Data Forwarding Method and Related Apparatus), and Nainar et al. (US 10812378 B2: System and Method for Improved Service Chaining).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446