DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the length” in line 8 should read “a length” and “the axial” in line 9 should read “an axial”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the distance” in line 1 should read “a distance”, “the cable” in line 2 should read “a cable”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the distance” in line 1 should read “a distance”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the stiffness” in line 1 should read “a stiffness”, “the distance” in line 2 should read “a distance”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the relative” in line 2 should read “a relative”, “the stiffness” should read “a stiffness”, “the distance” in line 3 should read “a distance”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the operating” should read “an operating”. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is invited to correct any other grammatical issues.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a helical path as claimed.
The closest relevant prior art of record, Yokokawa et al. (U.S. Patent # 6,757,465 B1), fails to teach or suggest a helical path as claimed.
Thus, with no teaching from the prior art, and without the benefit of applicant's teachings, there is no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine/modify the prior art of record in a manner so as to create the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 15, and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokokawa et al. (U.S. Patent # 6,757,465 B1).
In Re claim 1, ‘465 teaches a fibre optic cable structure comprising: a cable core (13) comprising at least a first optical fibre (6); and a longitudinal strength member (8); wherein the cable core is fixedly coupled with respect to the longitudinal strength member at periodic fixed coupling points (14), such that at the fixed coupling points the cable core has a substantially fixed position with respect to the longitudinal strength member and between the fixed coupling points the cable core is free to move with respect to the strength member (col. 5, lines 56 – 59, and since the material of the cable is plyable to some degree the cable is capable of moving through an applied force radially, toward 12); and wherein, for an operating range of tensile load and pressure, the length of the cable core between any two adjacent fixed coupling points is greater than the axial distance along the fibre optic cable structure between the fixed anchoring points (col. 5, lines 56 – 59, col. 6, lines 39 – 43, figs. 2A, 2B).
In Re claim 2, ‘465 teaches wherein the longitudinal strength member comprises at least one elongate member (8).
In Re claim 3, ‘465 teaches wherein the longitudinal strength member comprises at least one multi-stranded cable (col. 5, lines 43 – 44).
In Re claim 4, ‘465 teaches where the distance between adjacent fixed coupling points is at least five times the cable core diameter (col. 6, lines 21 – 24, 37 – 39).
In Re claim 5, ‘465 teaches where the distance between adjacent fixed coupling points is no greater than 5 metres (500mm, col. 6lines 37 – 39).
In Re claims 6, 7, 10, 15 and 17, the patentability of an apparatus depends only on the claimed structural limitations. ‘465 teaches a structure that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the ‘465 device does not possess these functional characteristics. See MPEP 2112.01.
In Re claim 8, ‘465 teaches wherein the relative location of the first optical fibre with respect to longitudinal strength member is configured to vary along the length of the fibre optic cable structure (fig. 2A).
In Re claim 11, ‘465 teaches wherein the cable core comprises at least one layer of a buffer material (7 or 10).
In Re claim 12, ‘465 teaches wherein the cable core further comprises a deformable strain transformer (7) configured to convert a radial force acting on the fibre optic cable structure into a longitudinal force on the first optical fibre (col. 5, lines 5 – 11, 32 – 38).
In Re claim 13, ‘465 teaches wherein the strain transformer comprises at least one of a helical, coiled or braided element running along the length of the cable core (col. 5, lines 32 – 37).
In Re claim 14, ‘465 teaches wherein the longitudinal strength member is coupled (indirectly via 14) to the strain transformer at said fixed coupling points (7 is along entire cable).
In Re claim 18, ‘465 teaches a fibre optic cable structure comprising: a cable core (13) comprising at least a first optical fibre (6); and a longitudinal strength member (8); wherein the cable core is fixedly coupled with respect to the longitudinal strength member at periodic fixed coupling points (14), such that a tensile load applied to the fibre optic cable structure results in a tensile load in the longitudinal strength member without a tensile load being applied to the cable core (col. 5, lines 55 – 60).
In Re claim 19, ‘465 teaches a fibre optic cable structure comprising: a cable core (13) comprising at least a first optical fibre (6); and a longitudinal strength member (8); wherein the cable core is fixedly coupled with respect to the longitudinal strength member at periodic fixed coupling points (14), and wherein for an operating range of temperature and pressure the length of the cable core between any two adjacent fixed coupling points is greater than the axial distance along the fibre optic cable structure between the fixed anchoring points (col. 5, lines 52 – 56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokokawa et al. (U.S. Patent # 6,757,465 B1) in view of Godfrey (U.S. PG Pub. # 2017/0292862 A1).
‘465 teaches the structure of claim 1, but is silent to a fibre optic sensing interrogator unit as claimed.
‘862 teaches a fibre optic sensing interrogator unit (106) to detect strain along the optical fiber (300) (par. 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of ‘465 to use a interrogator unit as taught by ‘862 so as to measure erroneous strain along the fiber thus ensuring the integrity of the cable as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874