DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following claim(s) is/are pending in this office action: 1-20
The following claim(s) is/are amended: 1, 3-11, 18-20
The following claim(s) is/are cancelled: -
The following claim(s) is/are new: -
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 10/8/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s Invention as Claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US Pub. 2016/0233912) in view of Nguyen (US Pub. 2019/0268087) and further in view of Franceschini (US Pub. 2009/0097531).
With respect to Claim 1, Thomas teaches a data protection system for use with an associated electronic device including at least one of wi-fi, Bluetooth and NFC communication modules and respective one or more antennas, (Fig. 1, para. 339; privacy/security enclosure that envelops a device that includes an RF transceiver that uses NFC. Para. 343; enclosure can stop WiFi and Bluetooth signals. Para. 442; enclosure prevents WiFi and Bluetooth signals. Para. 482; enclosure of a cell phone with Wifi/BT antennas.)
the data protection system comprising: one or more signal blocking antennas arranged in a predetermined arrangement corresponding to an arrangement of the respective one or more antennas of said associated electronic device; (para. 376; internal antenna. paras. 440-442; active attenuation using a RF jammer. Para. 445-446, 458; parasitic antenna/signals that is placed near the phone’s antenna. See also Nguyen, para. 31; user-specific jamming based on targeting a location temporally.)
and a control circuit (para. 451; enclosure can be controlled to partially or fully disable communication in one or more frequencies. Interference can be turned off or on. Frequency selection can be used to control passage of frequencies.)
wherein: said one or more signal blocking antennas are positioned to face the respective one or more antennas of said associated electronic device; (para. 442; blocking/interfering signal can be inside or outside of the privacy enclosure. Para. 481; internal facing antenna with Wifi and Bluetooth.)
But Thomas does not explicitly teach blocking on communication channels.
Nguyen, however, does teach comprising a signal generator, a controller, and a memory storing (para. 38; jamming controller identifies channels used for communications and uses antenna to transmit jamming signals. Para. 44; jamming signal generated. Paras. 21-22; memory.)
a channel-switching pattern, being a predetermined, random, or pseudo-random pattern, and computer-readable instructions executable by the controller; (para. 19; software. paras. 4-5, 31-34; system defeats a frequency hopping signal by tracking the hopping and jamming the signal. Para. 5; Bluetooth hops 1600 times per second using a pseudo-random hopping pattern, which means the jammer would similarly hop at the same rate in a same pseudo-random pattern. Therefore, tracking and jamming a signal suggests a periodic change based on the hopping frequency. Paras. 1-5, 33, 37; rather than wide-band jamming, system identifies communication channels in use and jams on those particular channels, which is a predetermined or pseudo-random pattern for transmission. Para. 32; strategy decisions in software. Further, a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that one could simply jam using a standard frequency hopping protocol without being reactive to improve latency, see Nguyen, para. 5 and MPEP 2144.04(II)(A).)
said signal generator is connected to operate said one or more signal blocking antennas and is configured to generate electrical signals corresponding to a selected signal pattern and to transmit said electrical signals to said one or more signal blocking antennas, to thereby cause said one or more signal blocking antennas to transmit said selected signal pattern in one or more communication channels for blocking communication to or from the respective antennas of the associated electronic device; (paras. 33, 37-38; system determines which channels to block and blocks those channels. para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
and said controller is configured to operate said signal generator to periodically change a transmission channel of said selected signal pattern according to said channel-switching pattern stored in said memory, to thereby block communication in a plurality of communication channels. (paras. 4-5, 31-34; system defeats a frequency hopping signal by tracking the hopping and jamming the signal. Para. 5; Bluetooth hops 1600 times per second using a pseudo-random hopping pattern, which means the jammer would similarly hop at the same rate in a same pseudo-random pattern. Therefore, tracking and jamming a signal suggests a periodic change based on the hopping frequency. Paras. 1-5, 33, 37; rather than wide-band jamming, system identifies communication channels in use and jams on those particular channels, which is a predetermined or pseudo-random pattern for transmission. Para. 32; strategy decisions in software. Further, a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that one could simply jam using a standard frequency hopping protocol without being reactive to improve latency, see Nguyen, para. 5 and MPEP 2144.04(II)(A).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of Thomas and the blocking in one or more communication channels in Nguyen in order to reduce power requirements by not having to block an entire band. (Nguyen, para. 2)
But modified Thomas does not explicitly teach random or pseudo-random parameters of switching periods.
Franceschini, however, does teach at switching periods of T+δ, wherein T is a selected period and δ is a random or pseudo-random parameter having expected value of zero (paras. 19-20, 25, 27, 40; A jammer can use look-through intervals synchronized to a dwell time of a frequency hopping pattern to defeat a frequency hopping pattern. System prevents jamming by using an aperiodic hop timing with pseudo-random variable dwell times that either add or subtract to a dwell time period.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of modified Thomas and the pseudo-random switching periods in order to attempt to jam a system that uses aperiodic hop timing.
With respect to Claim 2, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Nguyen also teaches wherein said selected signal pattern comprises high frequency noise pattern. (para. 5, 10, 38-42; noise signal sent in Bluetooth, which is a high-frequency band.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 3, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Thomas also teaches wherein said electronic device comprises a Wi-Fi communication module comprising one or more wi-fi antennas; (Fig. 1, para. 339; privacy/security enclosure that envelops a device that includes an RF transceiver that uses NFC. Para. 482; enclosure of a cell phone with Wifi/BT antennas.)
said at least one or more signal blocking antennas comprise at least one wi-fi signal blocking antenna positioned to face respective one of said one or more wi-fi antennas of the device; (para. 376; internal antenna. paras. 440-442; active attenuation using a RF jammer. Para. 442; blocking of Wifi signal.)
and Nguyen also teaches said control circuit is configured and operable to operate said at least one wi-fi signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern in one or more wi-fi communication channels, thereby blocking wi-fi communication to and from said electronic device. (paras. 33, 37-38; system determines which channels to block and blocks those channels. para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 4, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 3, and Nguyen also teaches wherein said control circuit is configured to operate said at least one wi-fi signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern (para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
and for periodically changing transmission channel, to thereby block wi-fi communication in a plurality of communication channels. (paras. 4-5, 31-34; system defeats a frequency hopping signal by tracking the hopping and jamming the signal. Para. 5; Bluetooth hops 1600 times per second, which means the jammer would similarly hop at the same rate.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 5, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Thomas also teaches wherein said electronic device comprises a Bluetooth communication module comprising one or more Bluetooth antennas; (Fig. 1, para. 339; privacy/security enclosure that envelops a device that includes an RF transceiver that uses NFC. Para. 482; enclosure of a cell phone with Wifi/BT antennas.)
said at least one or more signal blocking antennas comprise at least one Bluetooth signal blocking antenna positioned to face respective one of said one or more Bluetooth antennas of the device; (para. 376; internal antenna. paras. 440-442; active attenuation using a RF jammer. Para. 442; blocking of Bluetooth signal.)
and Nguyen also teaches said control circuit is configured and operable to operate said at least one Bluetooth signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern in one or more Bluetooth communication channels, thereby blocking Bluetooth communication to and from said electronic device. (paras. 33, 37-38; system determines which channels to block and blocks those channels. para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 6, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 5, and Nguyen also teaches wherein said control circuit is configured to operate said at least one Bluetooth signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern (para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
and for periodically changing transmission channel, to thereby block Bluetooth communication in a plurality of communication channels. (paras. 4-5, 31-34; system defeats a frequency hopping signal by tracking the hopping and jamming the signal. Para. 5; Bluetooth hops 1600 times per second, which means the jammer would similarly hop at the same rate.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 7, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Thomas also teaches wherein said electronic device comprises a near field communication (NFC) module comprising one or more NFC antennas; (Fig. 1, para. 339; privacy/security enclosure that envelops a device that includes an RF transceiver that uses NFC.)
said at least one or more signal blocking antennas comprise at least one NFC signal blocking antenna positioned to face respective one of said one or more NFC antennas of the device; (para. 376; internal antenna. paras. 440-442; active attenuation using a RF jammer. Para. 479, 912; selective blocking of NFC.)
and Nguyen also teaches said control circuit is configured and operable to operate said at least one NFC signal blocking antenna for transmitting selected said signal pattern in one or more NFC channels, thereby blocking NFC communication to and from said electronic device. (paras. 33, 37-38; system determines which channels to block and blocks those channels. para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 8, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 7, and Nguyen also teaches wherein said control circuit is configured to operate said at least one NFC signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern (para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
and for periodically changing transmission channel, to thereby block NFC communication in a plurality of communication channels. (paras. 4-5, 31-34; system defeats a frequency hopping signal by tracking the hopping and jamming the signal. Para. 5; Bluetooth hops 1600 times per second, which means the jammer would similarly hop at the same rate.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 9, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Thomas also teaches wherein said electronic device comprises a positioning system communication module comprising one or more positioning system antennas; (Fig. 1, para. 339; privacy/security enclosure that envelops a device that includes an RF transceiver. para. 442; interfering with GPS signals)
said at least one or more signal blocking antennas comprise at least one positioning signal blocking antenna positioned to face respective one of said one or more positioning system antennas of the device; (para. 376; internal antenna. paras. 440-442; active attenuation using a RF jammer. Para. 479, 912; selective blocking of NFC.)
and Nguyen also teaches said control circuit is configured and operable to operate said at least one positioning signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern in one or more positioning system communication channels, thereby blocking positioning system communication to and from said electronic device. (paras. 33, 37-38; system determines which channels to block and blocks those channels. para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 10, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 9, and Nguyen also teaches wherein said control circuit is configured to operate said at least one positioning signal blocking antenna for transmitting said selected signal pattern (para. 38; jamming controller jams identified channels using either a repeat attack signal or a noise signal, which are signal patterns.)
and for periodically changing transmission channel, to thereby block positioning system communication in a plurality of communication channels. (paras. 4-5, 31-34; system defeats a frequency hopping signal by tracking the hopping and jamming the signal. Para. 5; Bluetooth hops 1600 times per second, which means the jammer would similarly hop at the same rate.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 12, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Nguyen also teaches wherein said selected signal pattern comprises variation in at least one of signal strength and signal frequency. (para. 44; jamming signal may be shifted in frequency to remain in the center of a band. See also Thomas, para. 451; variation in frequency.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 13, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, and Thomas also teaches configured as a case for an electronic device. (para. 338; enclosure can be a chamber, cover, case or sleeve.)
With respect to Claim 14, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 13, and Thomas also teaches configured as a case for smartphone or tablet device. (para. 338; enclosure can be a chamber, cover, case or sleeve. Para. 339; devices protected can include a smartphone or tablet.)
With respect to Claim 15, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 13, and Thomas also teaches configured as a laptop cover. (para. 338; enclosure can be a chamber, cover, case or sleeve. Para. 339; devices protected can include a laptop.)
With respect to Claim 18, it is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the device of Thomas and the signal patterns in order to attenuate or amplify a communication as needed.
With respect to Claim 19, it is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the case of Thomas and the signal patterns in order to attenuate or amplify a communication as needed.
With respect to Claim 20, modified Thomas teaches the case of claim 19, and Thomas also teaches further comprising a power storage unit configured to provide electrical power to said one or more signal blocking antenna units and said control circuit. (para. 438; battery)
Claims 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thomas (US Pub. 2016/0233912) in view of Nguyen (US Pub. 2019/0268087), in view of Franceschini (US Pub. 2009/0097531) and further in view of Nordin (US Pub. 2012/0098664).
With respect to Claim 11, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a flex printed circuit board antenna unit.
Nordin, however, does teach wherein said one or more signal blocking antennas comprise one or more flex printed circuit board antenna units. (paras. 9, 42; flex printed board with antenna.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of modified Thomas and the flex printed circuit board antenna unit in order to allow for RFID functionality. (Nordin, para. 6)
With respect to Claim 17, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach an electronic circuit.
Nordin, however, does teach configured as an electronic circuit integrated in said electronic device. (paras. 9, 37, 43; integrated circuit with antenna.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of modified Thomas and the integrated electronic circuit in order to provide for a single device which could ensure privacy. Further, simple combination for predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Thomas (US Pub. 2016/0233912) in view of Nguyen (US Pub. 2019/0268087), in view of Franceschini (US Pub. 2009/0097531) and further in view of Harris (WO 02/33939 A2).
With respect to Claim 16, modified Thomas teaches the data protection system of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach an add-on.
Harris, however, does teach configured as an electronic module being an add-on for said electronic device. (pg. 6; jammer module attached using attachment clips.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of modified Thomas and the add-on to allow a user to affix the jammer to the device to allow for easier transportation of both.
Alternate Grounds
Claims 1-10, 12-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US Pub. 2016/0233912) in view of Nguyen (US Pub. 2019/0268087) in view of Franceschini (US Pub. 2009/0097531) and further in view of Kuhne (US Pub. 2018/0351690).
With respect to Claim 1, Thomas, Nguyen, and Franceschini teach as above, but under this ground of rejection do not teach and to periodically change a transmission channel, according to a predetermined, random, or pseudo-random pattern.
Kuhne, however, does teach and to periodically change a transmission channel, according to a predetermined, random, or pseudo-random pattern. (paras. 4-7, 10-14, 18, 46, 78, 125-126; system jams a FHSS signal by determining a channel hop sequence and hop rate of an emitting device and jamming the channels.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the system of modified Thomas and the periodic changing of transmission channel to jam FHSS signals with reduced effort and reduced influence on other wireless signals. (Kuhne, paras. 19-22)
The same teaching would apply, mutatis mutandis, to all other claims.
Remarks
Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 8-10 that the 112b in view of f should be withdrawn. The antenna unit functionality has been transferred to the signal generator and the controller. A signal generator configured to generate particular signals may invoke means-plus. A controller configured to perform channel-switching at a time period may invoke means-plus. However, in both situations Examiner questions the third prong of the analysis – whether the claim itself contains structure for performing the function. Elsewhere in the claim the signals are defined as corresponding to a selected signal pattern, which is so broad as to read about any signal generation. Similarly, the claim also claims “a channel switching pattern, being a predetermined, random or pseudo-random pattern” and the switching period is also particularly defined. Applicant clearly argues for a non-means plus interpretation, and the issue is at least murky, so Examiner is content to construe the claims outside of means-plus and withdraw the 112b in view of f.
Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 10-11 that the “a channel-switching pattern, being a predetermined, random, or pseudo-random pattern,” limitation is not taught.
Applicant seems to agree that Nguyen teaches Bluetooth frequency hopping, which is transmission according to a predetermined or pseudo-random manner. Nguyen textually teaches the jammer tracking this movement, which would result in jamming according to a predetermined or pseudo-random manner. In other words, the fact that the Nguyen jammer is predetermined to track some other emitter does not change the fact that its channel switching pattern is predetermined, because the code for the channel switching does not change during runtime.
Beyond that, Examiner made a finding that because Bluetooth transmits in a predetermined or pseudo-random manner, that evidences that the art was capable of performing predetermined or pseudo-random transmission, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to simply engage in pseudo-random jamming. Applicant fights the obvious contention that Bluetooth evidences the exact type of transmission Applicant argues for by stating that the detection/reaction is the core feature of Nguyen. Examiner agrees that Nguyen’s effort is to engage complicated means in order to track and jam on frequencies being used, but Applicant does not dispute that (1) a person of ordinary skill was enabled to emit a jamming signal in a pseudo-random manner just like a Bluetooth signal is emitted, and (2) that one of skill would have recognized that doing so would have the expected benefit of being useful to jam some frequencies that Bluetooth may be using. Notably, Nguyen contemplates using an “Ettus Universal Software Radio Peripheral USRP x300/x310, capable of detecting a hop and applying energy on that frequency quickly enough to disrupt the Bluetooth communications.” (Nguyen, para. 5) Nguyen itself notes that the system disclosed requires hardware capable of reacting quickly enough to track the signal and jam it. A person of ordinary skill reading Nguyen without similar hardware would have recognized that even if their system was not quick enough to detect a hop and jam on the new frequency that partial jamming could occur by simply emitting over the Bluetooth frequencies in order to collide. Consequently, even if one construed tracking and reaction to pseudo-random emission as not being pseudo-random emission itself (which makes little sense to Examiner) there is clear evidence that a person of ordinary skill had a motivation to not limit themselves to jamming scheme used in Nguyen, and predetermined or pseudo-random transmission schemes were known to the art and one of skill was motivated to use them.
Applicant further argues the feature in the Alternative Ground, which cited Kuhne. Applicant’s description of Kuhne is “The exciters are configured according to the determined channel hop sequence, synchronized by correlation with a detected burst, and continually reconfigured according to the determined channel hop sequence and timing. Kuhne stresses that the hop timing must be known.” That sounds to Examiner to be proving the point. Kuhne discloses an analysis mode and an active jamming mode. In the analysis mode, the system determines characteristic properties of the signals to be blocked, such as the timing and the channel sequence. In the active jamming mode, the system outputs a jamming trigger signal in response to detecting the start of the channel sequence. (Kuhne, para. 77-78) As Applicant appears to acknowledge, Kuhne recognizes that the hop timing must be known. As an example, in analysis mode the system may determine the hop timing and the channel sequence of 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 3, 7, 6, 4. In jamming mode, as soon as the system sees 1, 2 (or perhaps even 1) the system begins emitting in it’s predetermined fashion according to 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 3, 7, 6, 4. In other words, Kuhne does not wait for channel 5 to be detected, it preemptively broadcasts on 5 once the hop time for channel 2 has ended. It does not need to react to each channel change because by the time the system has entered the active jamming mode it has a predetermined emission schedule that it learned in the analysis mode by observing the previous emission sequence.
Applicant’s argument misreads “predetermined” as “non-reactive,” (i.e. it is premised on the notion that a reactive jamming inherently cannot be predetermined) but the instant invention posits reactive jamming. The support for the claimed feature is found in Spec-as-published para. 52, which relevantly states: “Further, as the communication protocols (such as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth) include channel hoping between orthogonal channels within the same frequency range, The present technique may further operate to transmit the signal pattern within various channels. More specifically, the signal pattern is transmitted within one channel, and within a selected periodicity (or pseudo periodicity) the transmission channel is changes to another channel. Typically, channel switching is directed at blocking communication within a plurality of channels and overcoming channel hoping feature of the communication protocol. To this end the present technique may operate to switch channels according to a predetermined, random or pseudo random pattern, within a period timescale of the order of milliseconds.” (Emphasis Examiner’s) The instant invention, just like Kuhne, recognizes that emissions may occur in a channel hopping manner, and the instant invention seeks to overcome the channel hopping feature of the communication protocol being used. The instant invention posits reactive jamming because it also requires recognizing the channel hopping signal being used and seeks to switch channels to overcome it in a predetermined, random, or pseudo-random manner.
At Remarks, pg. 12, Applicant argues that the new limitation of a switching period with a random or pseudo-random parameter is not taught by the references. Examiner cites Franceschini and the argument is moot.
All claims are rejected.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449