DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1is objected to because of the following informalities: “select from … and…” is not a proper Markush group or conventional alternative limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al (CN 110922926, of record, ‘926 hereafter, paragraph citation please see original document in Chinese).
Regarding claims 1-6, 10-11, 15 and 19 , ‘926 discloses a single component epoxy adhesive composition and a method of making the same, comprising 48.3% by weight of an epoxy resin without a benzene ring structure (Table 1, and Comparative Example 2 as in Table 3); 45% by weight of a polymercaptan, which can be trimethylolpropane tri(3-mercaptopropionate) ([0010], Comparative Example 2); and 4.5% by weight of an initiator selected from one or more of latent amine initiators or imidazole initiators, satisfying present claims 1, 11 and 19 ([0011], Comparative Example 2, PN-23J is an amine-based initiator from Ajinomoto and EH-4070S is imidazole-based initiator from ADEKA). The composition of ‘926 does not contain a solvent, satisfying present claim 17. ‘926 also discloses that the epoxy resin has cyclohexane structure and two epoxy functionality and molecular weight satisfying present claims 2-6 and 15 (Table 1, TTA-21), and the polymercaptan can be pentaerythritol tetra-3-mercaptopropionate), satisfying present claim 10 ([[0010]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abe et al (US 2020/0407486, of record, ‘486 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-19, ‘486 discloses a single component epoxy adhesive composition and a method of making the same, comprising 30 to 60% by weight of an epoxy resin without a benzene ring structure being hydrogenated bisphenol-A diglycidyl ether with molecular weight being 410 gram per mole ([0014]-[0015], [0023], [0039], around 60% in Examples 1 and 4, Table 1), satisfying present claims 1-7, 16 and 18; 0.5 to 1.5 times by weight of polymercaptan to total weigh of epoxy in the composition, which can be pentaerythritol tetra-3-mercaptopropionate), satisfying present claims 1 and 10 ([0017]-[0019], [0024], [0040], 33% by weight in Examples 1 and 4); and 0.5 to 10% by weight of an initiator selected from one or more of latent amine initiators or imidazole initiators, satisfying present claims 1, 11 and 19 ([0022], [0025]). The composition of ‘486 does not contain a solvent, satisfying present claim 17 but may further include a stabilizer and silane coupling agent ([0030]), satisfying present claims 12 and 14 (less than 2.8% or 0.6% could be 0%, thus these components are optional in the presently claimed composition).
Claims 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Abe et al (US 2020/0407486, of record, ‘486 hereafter) in view of Sano et al (US 2018/0022862, ‘862 hereafter).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 20, ‘486 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘486 also discloses that the epoxy composition may further include a boric acid ester being a stabilizer, but does not specifically name a stabilizer being dineopentyl glycol metaborate. However, it is known in the art that boric acid ester include L-07N, a commercial product of dineopentyl glycol metaborate, can be used in an epoxy composition to improve and balance storage stability and curing speed of the epoxy composition ([0012], [0017], [0047]-[0051]), wherein the content of the stabilizer can be in a preferred range of 0.2 to 4% by weight ([0052]), as evidenced by ‘862. In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the stabilizer as taught by ‘862, including dineopentyl glycol metaborate, to modify the epoxy composition, in order to render an epoxy composition having desired stability.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Oka et al (US 2020/0148847, of record). Oka discloses an epoxy composition comprising an aliphatic epoxy resin having cyclohexane ring and a polymercaptan compound being one of the polymercaptan as presently claimed ([0017]-[0034], [0043]-[0052]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782