DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 contains the limitation “wherein each of the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte comprises at least two types of ions, and at least three types of ions are comprised in the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte”. This limitation is indefinite as it is unclear if the three types of ions are comprises in each of the first and second electrolytes or if applicant is claiming at least three ions total between the first and second electrolytes. Additionally, applicant claims at least two types of ions and then further claims three types of ions so the phrasing is indefinite and requires clarification. Examiner will interpret the claims to be that each of the first and second electrolyte has two ions and the overall system has at least three different ions. Claims 2-10 and 12-13 are rejected for depending upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (KR 20190082606 A).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an electricity generation device, comprising:
A first electrolyte, selectively permeable membrane, and a second electrolyte in a chamber thereof ([0007-0011] first polymer electrolyte layer, an ion exchange layer and a second polymer electrolyte layer; ion selective films),
Wherein each of the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte comprises at least two types of ions, and at least three types of ions are comprised in the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte ([0014] electrolyte may include NaCl, KCl,CaCl2, Na2HPO4 and thus ions of Cl, Na K, HPO4),
The selectively permeable membrane selectively permeates at least one type of ions among the at least three types of ions to cause Donnan effect between the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte ([0007-0013,0024] device may form a Donnan potential across the ion exchange layer by selectively passing ions through the ion exchange layer).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein at least one type of ions, which permeate the selectively permeable membrane, among at least three types of ions comprised in the first electrolyte and second electrolyte are present at different concentrations in the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte ([0008-0014] concentrations differences exists in the electrolytes and thus concentration differences lead to the Donnan potential).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 3. Choi further discloses wherein, with regard to the different concentrations between the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte, a ratio of a concentration of at least one type of ions, which permeate the selectivity permeable membrane, comprised in an electrolyte in which at least one type of ions permeating the selectively permeable membrane is comprised in a relatively small content to the concentration of at least one type of ions, which permeate the selectively permeable membrane, comprised in an electrolyte in which at least one type of ions permeating the selectively permeable membrane are contained in a relatively large amount of 0 to 0.1 ([0009] concentration difference is such that the concentration ratio of high to low (CH/CL) is 50 or more and thus CL/CH is 1/50 which is 0.02 and thus the concentration of the ions would also have this ratio).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 3. Choi further discloses wherein a total concentration ratio of the first electrolyte to the second electrolyte is 0.1 to 10 ([0009] concentration difference is such that the concentration ratio of high to low (CH/CL) is 50 or more and thus CL/CH is 1/50 which is 0.02 and thus the second electrolyte can contain the low and the first electrolyte can contain the high concentration).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein the first electrolyte comprises cations and anions, wherein the cations comprise at least one of Na+, K+, Ca2+ ([0014] electrolyte can include at least one of NaCl, KCl,CaCl2, Na2HPO4), and the anion comprises at least one of Cl- ([0014] electrolyte can include at least one of NaCl, KCl,CaCl2, Na2HPO4).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi further discloses wherein an electrode is further comprised in at least one of the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte ([0007-0008] electrodes are laminated with the electrolytes; [0022-0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses an electricity generation device with a laminated structure ([0023] laminated structure), the electricity generation device comprising:
A first electrolyte, selectively permeable membrane, and a second electrolyte are alternately and repeatedly stacking in a laminated structure (Figure 1; electrolyte layer 14, cation exchange polymer electrolyte 12, anion exchange polymer electrolyte 13; [0007-0011] first polymer electrolyte layer, an ion exchange layer and a second polymer electrolyte layer; ion selective films),
each of the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte comprises at least two types of ions, and at least three types of ions are comprised in the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte ([0014] electrolyte may include NaCl, KCl,CaCl2, Na2HPO4 and thus ions of Cl, Na K, HPO4),
The selectively permeable membrane selectively permeates at least one type of ions among the at least three types of ions to cause Donnan effect between the first electrolyte and the second electrolyte ([0007-0013,0024] device may form a Donnan potential across the ion exchange layer by selectively passing ions through the ion exchange layer).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 11. Choi further discloses wherein the selectively permeable membrane is composed of at least two membranes (Figure 1; cation and anion exchange polymer ion exchange membranes; [0007-0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20190082606 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0280901 A1-having prior date of 08/12/2019).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi discloses wherein the membrane can be permeable to select ions, however, is silent with respect to the permeability of other ions to selected ions being 0 to 0.5.
Wang discloses a lithium ion conductor polymer ceramic membrane and is related to the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of membranes for batteries. Wang discloses where an ion permeable membrane is selectively permeable to one or more target ions and exclusion of other non-desirable ions in order to allow for the transfer of preferred ions ([0063-0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the teaching of Wang such that the ion permeable membranes are more permeable to target ions than other ions in order to achieve the desired ionic flow across the membranes. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious that the target ions would have a greater permeability than the non-target ions and thus can have a ratio of other ions to target ions of 0 (100% target ions to 0% other ions) to 1 (50% target ions to 50% other ions). The resulting modification would have the target ion permeability be at least equal to if not more than the permeability of the other ions and thus would overlap and read on the permeability ratio as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20190082606 A) as applied to claim 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Ganzi (EP 0892677 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi discloses wherein the selectively permeable membrane can comprise a first permeable membrane and a second permeable membrane ([0038] anion exchange polymer layer and the cation exchange polymer layer 13 and 12 being ion exchange membranes for a cathode or an anode). Choi is silent with respect to wherein the first and second membranes are combined in parallel.
Ganzi discloses an electro-deionization apparatus and method and is analogous with the instant invention as being related to membranes for electrochemical devices. Ganzi discloses wherein the battery comprises cation exchange resin 28 and anion exchange resins stacked on top of each other in a parallel manner for releasing ions and allowing ions through the electrochemical system ([0017] and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify and rearrange the structure of Choi to incorporate the structure of Ganzi such that the cation exchange membrane and the anion exchange membrane are stacked upon each other and parallel to each other to allow ions of both cathodes and anodes to cross the membrane to create ionic potential as taught Ganzi. The resulting modification would read on the sub-membranes being combined in parallel to allow both cations and anions to cross the membrane. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 12. Choi discloses wherein the selectively permeable membrane can comprise a first permeable membrane and a second permeable membrane ([0038] anion exchange polymer layer and the cation exchange polymer layer 13 and 12 being ion exchange membranes for a cathode or an anode). Choi is silent with respect to wherein the first and second membranes are combined and permeate different types of ions and form electric potential in a same direction.
Ganzi discloses an electro-deionization apparatus and method and is analogous with the instant invention as being related to membranes for electrochemical devices. Ganzi discloses wherein the battery comprises cation exchange resin 28 and anion exchange resins stacked on top of each other in a parallel manner for releasing ions and allowing ions through the electrochemical system ([0017] and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to modify and rearrange the structure of Choi to incorporate the structure of Ganzi such that the cation exchange membrane and the anion exchange membrane are stacked upon each other to each other to allow ions of both cathodes and anodes to cross the membrane to create ionic potential as taught Ganzi. The resulting modification would read on the first and second membranes being selectively permeable to different types of ions and form electric potential and can be formed in a same direction as the flow of both cations and anions to cross the membrane can be formed in a single direction. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20190082606 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bluvstein et al. (US 2007/0212578 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi is silent with respect to a thickness of the first and second electrolyte layers being 0.1-1 mm.
Bluvstein discloses a fuel cell comprising a gel electrolyte and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of electrochemical cells. Bluvstein further discloses wherein a thickness of a gel electrolyte layer can be between 0.2 mm and 2 mm as a simple thickness of an electrolyte layer ([0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the thickness of the first and second electrolyte layers to be between 0.2-2 mm as taught by Bluvstein as a simple change in the size and is expected to function similarly and allow for ions to be present to pass through the membrane of Choi. The resulting modification is a simple change in size of an electrolyte layer and is known in the art for an electrolyte layer to have a size taught by Bluvstein that overlaps with that of the claimed invention. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20190082606 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mills (US 2014/0072836 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Choi is silent with respect to a thickness of the selectively permeable membrane being 0.1 micrometers to 1 mm.
Mills discloses a water based electrochemical power system and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of electrochemical devices. Mills discloses wherein the system comprises a permeable membrane having a thickness of 0.0001 cm to 0.25 cm ([0006] and claim 22 correlating to a thickness of 1 micrometer to 2.5 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the thickness of the permeable membrane of Choi to have the size as taught by Mills of 1 micrometer to 2.5 mm as a simple change in size of the permeable membrane. The resulting modification would overlap with the claimed range as a membrane having a thickness between 0.1 micrometers and 1 mm is known in the art as Mills overlaps with that of the claimed range. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 2022/0119963 A1)-discloses an electrolysis device for producing hydrogen and oxygen having a porous diaphragm that allows for ions to flow across and also can be ion exchange membrane that only allows for specific ions to flow across the membrane.
Seale (US 2006/0263646 A1)- discloses a reverse electrodialysis for generation of hydrogen having selectively permeable membranes used for desalination.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728