Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-14, 16-19, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20240008061; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1, 19, Kim discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: ([0218] Based on an embodiment of the present disclosure, an apparatus adapted to control a first user equipment (UE) may be provided. For example, the apparatus may comprise: one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions. For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to)
receive, from a base station, control signaling comprising an indication of a configuration for a coexistence of resources used for a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology, wherein the UE operates in accordance with the first radio access technology; ([0153] the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and the NR SL ONLY resource may be configured for a first UE and a second UE. [0153] For example, a base station or a network may transmit information related to the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and information related to the NR SL ONLY resource to the first UE and the second UE. In distinguishing/defining the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and the NR SL ONLY resource, the following examples may be considered. [0156] [CASE #C]: The case where LTE SL and NR SL coexist on the same resource, e.g., the case where LTE SL and NR SL coexist within a single resource (e.g., a resource pool))
perform, during a measurement period, a measurement of a control channel of the second radio access technology in response to the receiving; ([0186] the UE may be allowed to transmit (and/or receive) an NR SL channel/signal on the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) only if (some or all of) COEX_CON below is satisfied. Herein, for example, if the rule is applied, the UE may transmit (and/or receive) an NR SL channel/signal using only the NR SL ONLY resource (or falling back to the NR SL ONLY resource) if COEX_CON is not satisfied. ... [0188] (Rule #2) If LTE SL channel/signal transmission with a PSSCH DMRS RSRP measurement value (and/or NR SL channel/signal transmission with a PSSCH (and/or PSCCH) DMRS RSRP measurement value) (based on PSCCH decoding) higher than a pre-configured threshold is not detected (within a pre-configured (separate) time window/number of slots))
and determine an initial partition of the resources based at least in part on the configuration and the measurement, wherein a first group of the initial partition of the resources is associated with the second radio access technology. ([0182] Based on an embodiment of the present disclosure, when the UE performs an NR SL channel/signal transmission operation (and/or a sensing operation) on the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource), if the UE detects LTE SL channel/signal transmission (satisfying condition(s) described below (e.g., COEX_CON)), the UE may be configured to … [0185] For example, the UE may exclude a time resource domain (e.g., subframe) (and/or only time and frequency resource domain) in which LTE SL channel/signal transmission exists, from candidate resources available for selection for NR SL channel/signal transmission.)
Regarding claims 8, 16, 26, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive the control signaling indicating at least one criterion for determining the initial partition of the resources by the UE. ([0153] a base station or a network may transmit information related to the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and information related to the NR SL ONLY resource to the first UE and the second UE.)
Regarding claims 9, 27, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine at least one criterion for determining the initial partition of the resources based at least in part on a signaling traffic pattern, a transmission statistic, or any combination thereof. ([0182] Based on an embodiment of the present disclosure, when the UE performs an NR SL channel/signal transmission operation (and/or a sensing operation) on the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource), if the UE detects LTE SL channel/signal transmission (satisfying condition(s) described below (e.g., COEX_CON)), the UE may be configured to … [0185] For example, the UE may exclude a time resource domain (e.g., subframe) (and/or only time and frequency resource domain) in which LTE SL channel/signal transmission exists, from candidate resources available for selection for NR SL channel/signal transmission.)
Regarding claims 10, 28, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine a second group of the initial partition of the resources that is associated with the first radio access technology based at least in part on receiving the control signaling. ([0153] a base station or a network may transmit information related to the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and information related to the NR SL ONLY resource to the first UE and the second UE.); [0185] For example, the UE may exclude a time resource domain (e.g., subframe) (and/or only time and frequency resource domain) in which LTE SL channel/signal transmission exists, from candidate resources available for selection for NR SL channel/signal transmission.)
Regarding claims 11,29, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive the control signaling comprising an indication of the second group of the initial partition of the resources that is associated with the first radio access technology. ([0153] a base station or a network may transmit information related to the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and information related to the NR SL ONLY resource to the first UE and the second UE.); [0185] For example, the UE may exclude a time resource domain (e.g., subframe) (and/or only time and frequency resource domain) in which LTE SL channel/signal transmission exists, from candidate resources available for selection for NR SL channel/signal transmission.)
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses:
wherein the control channel of the second radio access technology comprises a sidelink control channel. ([0200] For example, if the UE transmits (and/or receives) NR SL channels/signals on the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource), the UE may perform LTE-based sensing operations (on the resource as opposed to sensing operations on the NR ONLY resource) (e.g., RSRP measurement operations based on DM-RS on a PSSCH (scheduled by a PSCCH that has successfully decoded) and/or S-RSSI measurement operations (based on V2X resource pool-related subchannels)), and/or the UE may only perform some of the LTE SL sensing operations (e.g., S-RSSI measurement operations (based on V2X resource pool-related subchannels) and/or RSRP measurement operations based on DM-RS on a PSSCH (scheduled by a PSCCH that has successfully decoded))
Regarding claims 13, 18, Kim discloses:
wherein the first radio access technology comprises fifth generation New Radio and the second radio access technology comprises Long-Term Evolution. ([0200] According to the operations described above, due to different sensing operations between NR SL and LTE SL, when an (advanced and/or legacy) NR UE is transmitting (and/or receiving) NR SL channels/signals on the LTE/NR SL shared resource, the UE may be configured to perform the LTE sensing operations. This may be for the purpose of coexisting with LTE UEs transmitting/receiving on LTE SL channels/signals on the corresponding resource.)
Regarding claims 14, 30, Kim discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: ([0224] Based on an embodiment of the present disclosure, an apparatus adapted to control a base station may be provided. For example, the apparatus may comprise: one or more processors; and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors and storing instructions. For example, the one or more processors may execute the instructions to)
establish communications with a user equipment (UE) using a first radio access technology; ([0237] Wireless communication/connections 150a, 150b, or 150c may be established between the wireless devices 100a to 100f/BS 200, or BS 200/BS 200. Herein, the wireless communication/connections may be established through various RATs (e.g., 5G NR))
and transmit, to the UE, control signaling comprising an indication of a configuration for a coexistence of resources used for the first radio access technology and a second radio access technology, wherein the UE operates in accordance with the first radio access technology. ([0153] the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and the NR SL ONLY resource may be configured for a first UE and a second UE. [0153] For example, a base station or a network may transmit information related to the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and information related to the NR SL ONLY resource to the first UE and the second UE. In distinguishing/defining the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and the NR SL ONLY resource, the following examples may be considered. [0156] [CASE #C]: The case where LTE SL and NR SL coexist on the same resource, e.g., the case where LTE SL and NR SL coexist within a single resource (e.g., a resource pool); [0158] For example, in the present disclosure, the term “configured/configuration” may be interpreted as (extended to) a form in which a base station transmits information related to the “configuration” to a UE through a pre-configured signal (e.g., SIB, RRC))
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions to transmit the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the control signaling comprising ([0153] For example, a base station or a network may transmit information related to the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource) and information related to the NR SL ONLY resource to the first UE and the second UE.) an indication of a first group of an initial partition of the resources associated with the second radio access technology ([0154] [CASE #A]: The case where the LTE SL ONLY resource and the NR SL ONLY resource are configured independently and a resource shared by LTE SL and NR SL exists, e.g., the case where, among frequency resources with 30 MHz, the lower resource with 10 MHz is used as the LTE SL ONLY resource) and a second group of the initial partition of the resources associated with the first radio access technology. ([0154] [CASE #A]: … the upper resource with 10 MHz is used as the NR SL ONLY resource)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7,15,20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over.
Kim et al. (US 20240008061; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Baltar et al. (US 20220287083; hereinafter “Baltar”).
Regarding claims 2,20, Kim does not disclose:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
decode a plurality of sidelink scheduling assignments associated with the second radio access technology during the measurement period; and determine an updated partition of the resources based at least in part on the decoding.
Baltar discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
decode a plurality of sidelink scheduling assignments associated with the second radio access technology during the measurement period; ([0030] Sidelink Control Information (SCI) messages are transmitted over Physical Sidelink Control Channels (PSCCH) … A node intending to transmit a TB also transmits an associated SCI (also referred to as a scheduling assignment). The SCI includes information used by a receiving (Rx) node to decode the received data packet; [0064] For C-V2X, the ITS-S may determine the C-V2X CBR in the channel by multiplying the number of correctly received PSCCH SCIs (having a CRC pass) in a given interval)
and determine an updated partition of the resources based at least in part on the decoding. ( [0037] A Semi-static implementation of approach 200 involves the slot boundary between the two RATs being periodically updated based on some mechanism such as using configuration updates or energy detection mechanism. The update could be triggered based on different conditions (e.g., traffic conditions in a specific area) and with a different periodicity; [0039] A semi-static update of the TDM configuration may be used, where the TDM pattern is periodically updated to match the RATs traffic load over a certain geographical area.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of
Baltar, to include decode a plurality of sidelink scheduling assignments associated with the second radio access technology during the measurement period; and determine an updated partition of the resources based at least in part on the decoding. The motivation would have been to coexist and interoperable between RATs to enable an increase in traffic safety and efficiency, and to reduce emissions and fuel consumption (Baltar ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 3, 21, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine a first quantity of resources reserved for a first transmission of a plurality of transmissions [0182] Based on an embodiment of the present disclosure, when the UE performs an NR SL channel/signal transmission operation (and/or a sensing operation) on the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource), if the UE detects LTE SL channel/signal transmission (satisfying condition(s) described below (e.g., COEX_CON)), the UE may be configured to … [0185] For example, the UE may exclude a time resource domain (e.g., subframe) (and/or only time and frequency resource domain) in which LTE SL channel/signal transmission exists, from candidate resources available for selection for NR SL channel/signal transmission.), a priority of the plurality of transmissions ([0139] Each packer may be related to a specific priority … Accordingly, the LTE module and the NR module may know a priority of a packet related to LTE SL transmission and a packet related to NR SL transmission. In addition, if the LTE SL transmission and NR SL transmission overlap, the UE may compare a priority of a packet related to LTE SL transmission and a priority of a packet related to NR SL transmission, and may perform only SL transmission related to a high priority. For example, an NR V2X priority field and a PPPP may be directly compared with each other.) , a reference signal received power associated with the control channel of the second radio access technology, or any combination thereof; ([0200] For example, if the UE transmits (and/or receives) NR SL channels/signals on the LTE/NR SL shared resource (and/or the LTE SL ONLY resource), the UE may perform LTE-based sensing operations (on the resource as opposed to sensing operations on the NR ONLY resource) (e.g., RSRP measurement operations based on DM-RS on a PSSCH (scheduled by a PSCCH that has successfully decoded) and/or S-RSSI measurement operations (based on V2X resource pool-related subchannels)), and/or the UE may only perform some of the LTE SL sensing operations (e.g., S-RSSI measurement operations (based on V2X resource pool-related subchannels) and/or RSRP measurement operations based on DM-RS on a PSSCH (scheduled by a PSCCH that has successfully decoded))
However, Kim does not disclose:
a second quantity of resources reserved for a future transmission of the plurality of transmissions and determine the updated partition of the resources based at least in part on the determining.
Baltar discloses:
a second quantity of resources reserved for a future transmission of the plurality of transmissions ([0037] A Semi-static implementation of approach 200 involves the slot boundary between the two RATs being periodically updated based on some mechanism such as using configuration updates or energy detection mechanism. The update could be triggered based on different conditions (e.g., traffic conditions in a specific area) and with a different periodicity; [0039] A semi-static update of the TDM configuration may be used, where the TDM pattern is periodically updated to match the RATs traffic load over a certain geographical area.)
and determine the updated partition of the resources based at least in part on the determining. ([0064] The ITS-S can then calculate the percentage of ITS-Ss belonging to C-V2X by dividing the number of C-V2X messages by the total amount of traffic in the channel. The total amount of traffic in the channel may be determined by calculating the CBR and/or CR for the entire shared channel, [0065] The ITS-Ss may also assess the level of occupancy by individual V2X RATs indirectly after measuring the occupancy (e.g., CBR, CR, or the like) from only one of the V2X RATs.; [0037] A Semi-static implementation of approach 200 involves the slot boundary between the two RATs being periodically updated based on some mechanism such as using configuration updates or energy detection mechanism. The update could be triggered based on different conditions (e.g., traffic conditions in a specific area) and with a different periodicity; [0039] A semi-static update of the TDM configuration may be used, where the TDM pattern is periodically updated to match the RATs traffic load over a certain geographical area.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of
Baltar, to include a second quantity of resources reserved for a future transmission of the plurality of transmissions and determine the updated partition of the resources based at least in part on the determining. The motivation would have been to coexist and interoperable between RATs to enable an increase in traffic safety and efficiency, and to reduce emissions and fuel consumption (Baltar ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 4, 22, Kim discloses:
wherein the future transmission comprises a retransmission of the first transmission of the plurality of transmissions ([0175] For example, both NR TB-related initial transmission and retransmission may be performed on the LTE/NR SL shared resource.)
However, Kim does not disclose:
or semi-persistent scheduling resource signaling.
Baltar discloses:
or semi-persistent scheduling resource signaling. ([0030] A node intending to transmit a TB also transmits an associated SCI (also referred to as a scheduling assignment). The SCI includes information used by a receiving (Rx) node to decode the received data packet, such as the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) used for transmitting the TB, the RBs it uses, and the resource reservation interval for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS).)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of
Baltar, to include semi-persistent scheduling resource signaling. The motivation would have been to coexist and interoperable between RATs to enable an increase in traffic safety and efficiency, and to reduce emissions and fuel consumption (Baltar ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 5,23, Kim does not disclose:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: filter the plurality of sidelink scheduling assignments based at least in part on the reference signal received power associated with the control channel of the second radio access technology, the priority of the plurality of transmissions, or any combination thereof.
Baltar discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: filter the plurality of sidelink scheduling assignments based at least in part on the reference signal received power associated with the control channel of the second radio access technology, the priority of the plurality of transmissions, or any combination thereof. ([0030] The SCI includes information used by a receiving (Rx) node to decode the received data packet; [0064] For C-V2X, the ITS-S may determine the C-V2X CBR in the channel by multiplying the number of correctly received PSCCH SCIs (having a CRC pass) in a given interval; the ITS-S 1101 (or the underlying V2X RAT circuitry on which the ITS-S 1101 operates) is capable of measuring various signals or determining/identifying various signal/channel characteristics. Signal measurement may be performed for cell selection, handover, network attachment, testing, and/or other purposes. The measurements/characteristics collected by the ITS-S 1101 (or V2X RAT circuitry) may include one or more of the following: Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of
Baltar, to include filter the plurality of sidelink scheduling assignments based at least in part on the reference signal received power associated with the control channel of the second radio access technology, the priority of the plurality of transmissions, or any combination thereof. The motivation would have been to coexist and interoperable between RATs to enable an increase in traffic safety and efficiency, and to reduce emissions and fuel consumption (Baltar ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 24, Kim discloses:
wherein the instructions to receive the control signaling are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the control signaling comprising an indication of the measurement period ([0201] the above operation may mean that the TB arrival time (or a later time) should be set as a start time of a sensing window defined in the mode 2 resource allocation operation. Alternatively, for example, the operation may be interpreted to mean that the sensing operation defined in the mode 2 resource allocation operation is started after a predefined minimum processing time after the TB arrival.)
However, Kim does not disclose:
a plurality of update periods after the measurement period, or a combination thereof.
Baltar discloses:
a plurality of update periods after the measurement period, or a combination thereof. ([0037] A Semi-static implementation of approach 200 involves the slot boundary between the two RATs being periodically updated based on some mechanism such as using configuration updates or energy detection mechanism. The update could be triggered based on different conditions (e.g., traffic conditions in a specific area) and with a different periodicity. [0039] A semi-static update of the TDM configuration may be used, where the TDM pattern is periodically updated to match the RATs traffic load; [0068] The ITS-S may measure or observe the amount of traffic in the channel on a periodic basis, or in response to detecting some trigger condition, and adjusts the timeslots accordingly; [0096] In some embodiments, operation 1001 comprises … determining a channel occupancy of the shared channel for each of the one or more V2X RATs based on the channel sensing operation … operation 1002 comprises adjusting the allocation of the shared channel according to a percentage that each of the one or more V2X RATs uses the shared channel)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of
Baltar, to include a plurality of update periods after the measurement period. The motivation would have been to coexist and interoperable between RATs to enable an increase in traffic safety and efficiency, and to reduce emissions and fuel consumption (Baltar ¶[0003]).
Regarding claims 7,25, Kim does not disclose:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine an updated partition of the resources according to a first update period of the plurality of update periods after the measurement period, wherein the updated partition of the resources is different from the initial partition of the resources.
However, Baltar discloses:
wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine an updated partition of the resources according to a first update period of the plurality of update periods after the measurement period, wherein the updated partition of the resources is different from the initial partition of the resources. ([0037] A Semi-static implementation of approach 200 involves the slot boundary between the two RATs being periodically updated based on some mechanism such as using configuration updates or energy detection mechanism. The update could be triggered based on different conditions (e.g., traffic conditions in a specific area) and with a different periodicity. [0039] A semi-static update of the TDM configuration may be used, where the TDM pattern is periodically updated to match the RATs traffic load; [0068] The ITS-S may measure or observe the amount of traffic in the channel on a periodic basis, or in response to detecting some trigger condition, and adjusts the timeslots accordingly; [0096] In some embodiments, operation 1001 comprises … determining a channel occupancy of the shared channel for each of the one or more V2X RATs based on the channel sensing operation … operation 1002 comprises adjusting the allocation of the shared channel according to a percentage that each of the one or more V2X RATs uses the shared channel)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Kim with the teachings of
Baltar, to include determine an updated partition of the resources according to a first update period of the plurality of update periods after the measurement period, wherein the updated partition of the resources is different from the initial partition of the resources. The motivation would have been to coexist and interoperable between RATs to enable an increase in traffic safety and efficiency, and to reduce emissions and fuel consumption (Baltar ¶[0003]).
Conclusion
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479