Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GERMANY 10 2021 214 880.8, filed on December 22, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 30, 2024, and June 30, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blosser et al. (5,996,337) (herein after Blosser) in view of Schneider et al. (US 2013/0327124 A1) (herein after Schneider).
Regarding Claim 11, Blosser discloses, 11. (New) A method for heating an exhaust gas sensor (Fig. 2. Col. 33. Ln. 29 method for analyzing calorimetric sensor Signals; calorimetric sensor 50; Note: Col. 16. Ln. 36 Calorimetric sensor 50 of a design typical of that used in the preferred embodiment of the invention is generally disclosed in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4), wherein the exhaust gas sensor includes at least one heating element (Fig. 4, resistance heating elements 101a, 101b), wherein the method comprises the following steps: a) providing an energy model (Fig. 2. Col. 33. Ln. 30 a mathematical model is developed) of the exhaust gas sensor, wherein the energy model describes an energy input via an effective heater voltage (Fig. 4. Col. 18. Ln. 34 voltage is applied to primary heating elements 106, 109 and to compensation heaters 101a, 101b) of the heating element and a heater resistance (Fig. 4, resistance heating elements 101a, 101b) of the heating element; —.
Blosser fails to disclose, — b) determining an energy threshold; c) continuously calculating the energy input using the energy model, resulting in a calculated energy input; and d) heating the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold.
In analogous art, Schneider discloses, — b) determining an energy threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 21, 23 introduction of thermal energy into the sensor element, a predefined threshold value; Note: ¶ 51 FIG. 1 shows a first exemplary embodiment of a schematic embodiment of a sensor device 110, FIG. 2 shows another exemplary embodiment. Both exemplary embodiments are essentially described jointly hereafter); c) continuously calculating the energy input using the energy model (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 – 23 in the monitoring step, at least one parameter used to set the temperature is checked, checking of the parameter may include a query of whether the parameter reaches, falls below, or exceeds at least one fixedly or dynamically predefined threshold value), resulting in a calculated energy input (Fig. 1, ¶ 21, 23 thermal energy into the sensor element, a predefined threshold value); and d) heating the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 a sensor element heater, reaches or falls below a critical threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blosser by combining the exhaust gas sensor disclosed by Blosser with an exhaust gas sensor comprising the steps of, determining an energy threshold; continuously calculating the energy input using the energy model, resulting in a calculated energy input; and heating the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold; disclosed by Schneider for the benefit of heating an exhaust gas sensor while preventing overheating of the sensor [Schneider: ¶ 36 it may be possible in particular to predefine, as a function of the operating point, an upper limit and/or a corridor (i.e., defined upper and lower limits) for the manipulated variable, for example, the heater application, in particular the heater voltage, and therefore to reliably prevent overheating of the sensor].
Regarding Claim 12, Blosser in view of Schneider disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Blosser further discloses, 12. (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein the method is a computer-implemented method (Fig. 1. Col. 41. Ln. 22 engine fuel control by placing the sensor into the exhaust of an internal combustion engine to provide a feedback control signal to an electronic control module ECM 34 (controller or computer)).
Regarding Claim 13, Blosser in view of Schneider disclose the limitations of claim 13, which this claim depends on.
Blosser further discloses, 13. (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein steps a) to d) are carried out using a computer program (Fig. 1. Col. 13. Ln. 10 algorithm routines stored in ROM 37) when the computer program is running on a computer or computer network, wherein step c) is started as soon as the computer program is in operation (Fig. 1. Col. 12. Ln. 67 ECM 34 operates in a well-known manner to control engine 10 and process engine control and diagnostic routines, such as stored by step-by-step instructions in ROM 37).
Regarding Claim 14, Blosser in view of Schneider disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Blosser further discloses, 14. (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein the energy model takes into account at least one parameter selected from a group including: (i) a convective energy exchange (Fig. 6. Col. 27. Ln. 36 Changes attributed to system energy flux (i.e., convection, etc.)) between an exhaust gas, and a ceramic element (Fig. 3, Upper and lower ceramic insulators 92, 93) of the exhaust gas sensor, and/or a housing (Fig. 2, threaded housing 63) of the exhaust gas sensor; (ii) a conductive energy exchange (Fig. 6. Col. 27. Ln. 36 Changes attributed to system energy flux (i.e., conduction, etc.)) between the ceramic element of the exhaust gas sensor and the housing of the exhaust gas sensor; (iii) a conductive energy exchange (Fig. 6. Col. 27. Ln. 36 Changes attributed to system energy flux (i.e., conduction, etc.)) between the housing of the exhaust gas sensor and an external environment (Fig. 2, threaded housing 63) of the exhaust gas sensor; (iv) a thermal radiation (Fig. 6. Col. 27. Ln. 36 Changes attributed to system energy flux (i.e., radiation, etc.)) between the ceramic element of the exhaust gas sensor and the housing of the exhaust gas sensor; (v) a thermal radiation (Fig. 6. Col. 27. Ln. 36 Changes attributed to system energy flux (i.e., radiation, etc.)) between the ceramic element of the exhaust gas sensor and a protective tube (Fig. 3, tip end 73) of the exhaust gas sensor.
Regarding Claim 15, Blosser in view of Schneider disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Blosser further discloses, 15. (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein, in step d), the exhaust gas sensor is heated with a maximum permitted effective heater voltage (Fig. 4. Col. 18. Ln. 34 voltage is applied, to a predetermined stable temperature) of the heating element.
Regarding Claim 16, Blosser in view of Schneider disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Blosser further discloses, 16. (New) The method according to claim 11, wherein, after step d), the heating element is operated in a controlled manner (Fig. 4. Col. 22. Ln. 14 Temperature controller 120).
Regarding Claim 17, Blosser discloses, 17. (New) A system, comprising: at least one exhaust gas sensor (Fig. 2. Col. 12. Ln. 42 an
exhaust system; calorimetric sensor 50; Note: Col. 16. Ln. 36 Calorimetric sensor 50 of a design typical of that used in the preferred embodiment of the invention is generally disclosed in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4) including at least one heating element (Fig. 4, resistance heating elements 101a, 101b); and at least one controller (Fig. 1. electronic control module ECM 34. (controller or computer)) including at least one processor (Fig. 1, CPU 35), wherein the controller is configured to: a) provide an energy model (Fig. 2. Col. 33. Ln. 30 a mathematical model is developed) of the exhaust gas sensor, wherein the energy model describes an energy input via an effective heater voltage (Fig. 4. Col. 18. Ln. 34 voltage is applied to primary heating elements 106, 109 and to compensation heaters 101a, 101b) of the heating element and a heater resistance (Fig. 4, resistance heating elements 101a, 101b) of the heating element; —
Blosser fails to disclose, — b) determine an energy threshold; c) continuously calculate the energy input using the energy model, resulting in a calculated energy input; and d) heat the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold.
In analogous art, Schneider discloses, — b) determine an energy threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 21, 23 introduction of thermal energy into the sensor element, a predefined threshold value; Note: ¶ 51 FIG. 1 shows a first exemplary embodiment of a schematic embodiment of a sensor device 110, FIG. 2 shows another exemplary embodiment. Both exemplary embodiments are essentially described jointly hereafter); c) continuously calculate the energy input using the energy model (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 – 23 in the monitoring step, at least one parameter used to set the temperature is checked, checking of the parameter may include a query of whether the parameter reaches, falls below, or exceeds at least one fixedly or dynamically predefined threshold value), resulting in a calculated energy input (Fig. 1, ¶ 21, 23 thermal energy into the sensor element, a predefined threshold value); and d) heat the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 a sensor element heater, reaches or falls below a critical threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blosser by combining the system disclosed by Blosser with a system configured to, determine an energy threshold; continuously calculate the energy input using the energy model, resulting in a calculated energy input; and heat the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold; disclosed by Schneider for the benefit of heating an exhaust gas sensor while preventing overheating of the sensor [Schneider: ¶ 36 it may be possible in particular to predefine, as a function of the operating point, an upper limit and/or a corridor (i.e., defined upper and lower limits) for the manipulated variable, for example, the heater application, in particular the heater voltage, and therefore to reliably prevent overheating of the sensor].
Regarding Claim 18, Blosser in view of Schneider disclose the limitations of claim 17, which this claim depends on.
Blosser further discloses, 18. (New) The system according to claim 17, wherein the exhaust gas sensor is selected from a group including: a nitrogen oxide sensor; a particulate sensor; a lambda probe, a wideband lambda probe; a binary lambda probe (Fig. 1. Col. 11. Ln. 33 – 42 NOx emissions, HC emissions, CO emissions, lambda cyclic signals).
Regarding Claim 19, Blosser discloses, 19. (New) A non-transitory data carrier (Fig. 1. ROM (Read Only Memory) 37, and NVRAM (Non-Volatile Random Access Memory) 38) on which a data structure is stored (Fig. 1. Col. 13. Ln. 10 algorithm routines stored in ROM 37), the data structure being configured for heating an exhaust gas sensor (Fig. 2. Col. 33. Ln. 29 method for analyzing calorimetric sensor Signals; calorimetric sensor 50; Note: Col. 16. Ln. 36 Calorimetric sensor 50 of a design typical of that used in the preferred embodiment of the invention is generally disclosed in FIGS. 2, 3 and 4), wherein the exhaust gas sensor includes at least one heating element (Fig. 4, resistance heating elements 101a, 101b), the data structure, after it is loaded into a working memory and/or main memory of a computer or computer network, causing the computer or computer network to perform the following steps: a) providing an energy model (Fig. 2. Col. 33. Ln. 30 a mathematical model is developed) of the exhaust gas sensor, wherein the energy model describes an energy input via an effective heater voltage (Fig. 4. Col. 18. Ln. 34 voltage is applied to primary heating elements 106, 109 and to compensation heaters 101a, 101b) of the heating element and a heater resistance (Fig. 4, resistance heating elements 101a, 101b) of the heating element;—.
Blosser fails to disclose, — b) determining an energy threshold; c) continuously calculating the energy input using the energy model, resulting in a calculated energy input; and d) heating the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold.
In analogous art, Schneider discloses, — b) determining an energy threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 21, 23 introduction of thermal energy into the sensor element, a predefined threshold value; Note: ¶ 51 FIG. 1 shows a first exemplary embodiment of a schematic embodiment of a sensor device 110, FIG. 2 shows another exemplary embodiment. Both exemplary embodiments are essentially described jointly hereafter); c) continuously calculating the energy input using the energy model (Fig. 1, ¶ 22 – 23 in the monitoring step, at least one parameter used to set the temperature is checked, checking of the parameter may include a query of whether the parameter reaches, falls below, or exceeds at least one fixedly or dynamically predefined threshold value), resulting in a calculated energy input (Fig. 1, ¶ 21, 23 thermal energy into the sensor element, a predefined threshold value); and d) heating the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 a sensor element heater, reaches or falls below a critical threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blosser by combining the non-transitory data carrier disclosed by Blosser with a non-transitory data carrier the at performs the steps of, determining an energy threshold; continuously calculating the energy input using the energy model, resulting in a calculated energy input; and heating the exhaust gas sensor using the heating element until the calculated energy input reaches the energy threshold; disclosed by Schneider for the benefit of heating an exhaust gas sensor while preventing overheating of the sensor [Schneider: ¶ 36 it may be possible in particular to predefine, as a function of the operating point, an upper limit and/or a corridor (i.e., defined upper and lower limits) for the manipulated variable, for example, the heater application, in particular the heater voltage, and therefore to reliably prevent overheating of the sensor].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bevot et al. (US 2010/0073017 A1) discloses, a method for heating an exhaust gas sensor (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 lambda probe 10 additionally comprises a heater, respectively at least one heating element 18 for heating the probe).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858