DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1–9 in the reply filed on 09/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Kim et al. (WO 2015/156608 A1) in view of Woodings (US 5,671,757).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a cigarette filter (cigarette filter 20; p. 4) comprising:
lyocell tow made of a plurality of lyocell fibers (lyocell tow comprising multiple lyocell fibers; p. 4); and
a binder configured to bond the lyocell fibers to each other (a curing agent contacting the surfaces of respective lyocell fibers and bonding the fibers together; p. 4).
Kim does not expressly teach wherein tar and nicotine delivered through cigarette smoke are each reduced by 70 wt% to 95 wt%.
Woodings is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it concerns cigarette filters and teaches wherein tar and nicotine delivered through cigarette smoke are each reduced by 70 wt% to 95 wt% (a lyocell-paper filter tip having 82.3% tar retention and 87.1% nicotine retention; col. 5, Table 3). These retention values represent the proportions removed by the filter and fall within the respective claimed ranges.
Woodings further teaches fibrillating lyocell fibers to increase their surface area and improve filtration efficiency (mechanical abrasion of wet lyocell fibers partially detaches fibrils from the fiber bodies, increasing their surface area; col. 2, lines 20–29). Woodings also teaches achieving low tar delivery at acceptable draw resistance to improve consumer acceptability (col. 3, lines 10–26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fibrillated lyocell fibers, as taught by Woodings, in Kim’s binder-bonded lyocell tow and to select the fiber loading and filter dimensions to obtain the claimed tar and nicotine reductions, to improve filtration through increased exposed fiber surface area while providing acceptable draw resistance.
One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success because Woodings attributes improved filtration to increased lyocell-fiber surface area and demonstrates both reductions within the claimed range, while Kim provides a binder suitable for bonding the lyocell fibers into a filter.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim teaches the cigarette filter of claim 1, as discussed above. Kim does not expressly teach wherein the cigarette filter has a resistance to draw of 80 mmWG to 200 mmWG.
Woodings teaches wherein the cigarette filter has a resistance to draw of 80 mmWG to 200 mmWG (a lyocell-paper filter tip having a pressure drop of 118 mmWG; col. 5, Table 3).
Woodings further teaches that acceptable draw resistance contributes to improved consumer acceptability while providing low tar delivery (col. 3, lines 10–26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the dimensions and tow loading of Kim’s filter, modified with Woodings’s fibrillated fibers as discussed above, to provide a resistance to draw within the claimed range, such as 118 mmWG, to obtain acceptable draw resistance while maintaining effective filtration.
One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success because Kim already teaches producing filters with measured pressure drop (Kim, p. 5), and Woodings’s tested filter simultaneously provides a pressure drop within claim 2 and tar and nicotine reductions within claim 1 (Woodings, col. 5, Table 3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim teaches wherein the binder is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, ethylene vinyl acetate, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyester, or a combination thereof (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, ethylene vinyl acetate, or polyvinyl acetate used as the curing agent bonding the lyocell fibers; Kim, p. 4).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teaches wherein the binder is included at 0.1 parts by weight to 5 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the lyocell tow (a curing-agent-to-lyocell-tow weight ratio of approximately 1:20 to 1:500, corresponding to approximately 0.2–5 parts curing agent per 100 parts lyocell tow; Kim, p. 4).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim teaches a binder solvent, wherein the binder solvent is water, a monohydric alcohol, a polyhydric alcohol, or a combination thereof (water used to prepare the curing-agent solution applied to the lyocell tow; Kim, p. 5).
Kim further teaches moisture in the resulting filters following drying and explains that equilibrium moisture is reached after approximately two weeks (p. 7, Tables 2 and 3 and accompanying discussion). Thus, the resulting binder-treated filter contains water, satisfying a recited solvent alternative.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Kim et al. (WO 2015/156608 A1) in view of Woodings (US 5,671,757), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lisan et al. (US 2016/0106147 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim teaches the cigarette filter of claim 1, as discussed above. However, this combination does not expressly teach wherein the cigarette filter is filled with the lyocell tow at a packing density of 0.2 g/mL to 0.6 g/mL.
Lisan is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it concerns cigarette filters and teaches tow packed into a cigarette filter at a density within the claimed range (Trial B contains 0.373 g of cellulose-acetate tow in a filter rod having an outer circumference of 16.5 mm and a length of 84 mm, corresponding to approximately 0.205 g/mL based on the entire cylindrical rod volume; ¶ [0069], Example 1, Trial B).
Specifically, the cylindrical rod volume is calculated as V = C²L/(4π), where C is the outer circumference and L is the rod length. Using C = 1.65 cm and L = 8.4 cm gives approximately 1.820 mL. Dividing the reported tow weight of 0.373 g by this volume gives approximately 0.205 g/mL, within the claimed range.
Lisan further teaches that adequate tow loading provides acceptable filter hardness and shape definition, whereas insufficient tow loading can result in inadequate hardness and difficulty maintaining the desired shape (¶ [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pack Kim’s lyocell tow, modified as discussed above in view of Woodings, at a density within the claimed range, such as approximately 0.205 g/mL taught by Lisan, to improve filter firmness and shape retention while selecting the remaining filter dimensions to provide the filtration performance discussed above.
Although Lisan’s tested filter uses cellulose-acetate tow in a tubular construction, the proposed modification applies its tow-loading teaching to Kim’s bonded lyocell tow. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected increased fiber packing to improve mechanical support because both constructions comprise packed filamentary tow whose fibers are bonded together. The modification retains Kim’s lyocell tow and binder and Woodings’s fibrillation treatment while selecting the amount of tow per unit filter volume.
Claims 7–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the machine translation of Kim et al. (WO 2015/156608 A1) in view of Woodings (US 5,671,757), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Perfetti et al. (US 5,465,739).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches wherein the monohydric alcohol is methanol, ethanol, propanol, or a combination thereof (methanol, ethanol, or propanol used as the solvent in the binder solution; Kim, p. 5).
Although Kim expressly identifies the claimed alcohols as binder solvents, Kim in view of Woodings does not expressly establish a resulting filter containing a monohydric alcohol.
Perfetti is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it concerns cigarette filters and teaches ethanol introduced into a formed cigarette filter (an ethanol-containing solution injected into a formed filter segment comprising a polyester web coated with polyvinyl alcohol; col. 19, lines 27–38).
Perfetti teaches using the ethanol-containing solution to introduce menthol into the filter (col. 19, lines 27–38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce an ethanol-containing flavorant solution into Kim’s formed, bonded lyocell-tow filter, modified as discussed above in view of Woodings, to incorporate a flavorant through a liquid carrier. Kim expressly contemplates flavoring materials in cigarette filters (p. 2).
One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success because Perfetti demonstrates introducing the solution into a polymer-coated fibrous cigarette filter, including a polyvinyl-alcohol-coated filter, while Kim identifies polyvinyl alcohol as a suitable binder and ethanol as a suitable binder solvent. The resulting filter would contain ethanol, satisfying the claimed monohydric-alcohol alternative.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches the cigarette filter of claim 6, as discussed above. However, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the polyhydric alcohol is a diol having a C1–C4 alkylene group.
Perfetti is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it concerns cigarette filters and teaches a polyhydric alcohol that is a diol having a C1–C4 alkylene group (propylene glycol included in the cigarette-filter material; col. 12, lines 9–14). Propylene glycol has two hydroxyl groups connected through a two-carbon alkylene group bearing a methyl substituent.
Perfetti further teaches that the lubricating substance improves tow flexibility, promotes uniform additive distribution, and facilitates shaping without applying heat (col. 12, lines 32–36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate propylene glycol into Kim’s binder-treated lyocell tow, modified as discussed above in view of Woodings, to obtain these benefits. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success because Perfetti’s treatment is applied to fibrous cigarette-filter material and the modification retains the bonded lyocell-tow structure and filtration treatment discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim teaches the cigarette filter of claim 8, as discussed above. Kim in view of Woodings does not expressly teach the claimed amount of polyhydric alcohol.
Perfetti teaches a lubricating-substance loading within the claimed numerical range (approximately 10–20 percent based on the weight of the filter material; col. 13, lines 48–51). Applying that loading to Kim’s lyocell tow corresponds to approximately 10–20 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of lyocell tow.
As discussed above, Perfetti teaches propylene glycol as a lubricating substance and further teaches that the lubricating substance improves tow flexibility, promotes uniform additive distribution, and facilitates shaping without applying heat (col. 12, lines 32–36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate propylene glycol into Kim’s lyocell tow, modified as discussed above in view of Woodings, at Perfetti’s taught loading of approximately 10–20 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of filter material to obtain these benefits.
Using Kim’s lyocell tow as the filter material provides a loading within the claimed range of 0.5–25 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of lyocell tow. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success for the reasons discussed above for claim 8.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747