DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etiene Queiroz et al. (Publication: US 2018/0031720 A1) in view of Klinger et al. (Publication: US 2015/0066460 A1) and Li et al. (Publication: US 2019/0302309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 2, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses wherein two of the cut cells are formed by cutting at least one of the plurality of hexahedral cells by the object, and wherein the constructing the topological three- dimensional hexahedral grid comprises associating one of the spatially overlapping hexahedral cells to one of the two cut cells and another one of the spatially overlapping hexahedral cells to another one of the two cut cells ([0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].
[0040] - As the structural framework may include one or more horizons and/or one or more faults, gaps or voids as well as overlaps may be present between objects, “overlapping”.
[0032] As used herein, “watertight” means that a containing specific volume can be divided into one or more volume compartments with no overlapping volume compartments and with boundaries that have no holes. A watertight framework of faults and horizons divides a containing specified volume of interest into one or more volume compartments that have boundaries completely enclosing the compartments, “cut”. Each fault and horizon is either a boundary of or contained within a volume compartment without any piece outside of a compartment. For example, in a watertight triangular mesh framework, every triangle face on the boundary of a compartment shares each of its edges with one other triangle to completely enclose the compartment. No two triangles may overlap partially. In some embodiments, no two triangles may overlap in their entirety thus “the overlapping volume are divided into two cut compartments”.).
Regarding claim 3, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses comprises constructing the associated cut_cell-face links according to _cell-face connections ( [0035] - The subsurface model may include a structural framework of objects, such as faults and horizons, and may include a mesh or grid of nodes to divide the structural framework and/or subsurface model into blocks, which may include cells in voxels in three dimensions. Divided the model into two blocks, thus two blocks are linked to each other. ).
Regarding claim 4, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses wherein the discontinuity is a fault ([0034] As used herein, “surface” refers to geologic features such as horizon and fault as well as technical features, such as model boundary, concession boundary, or artificial compartment boundary.).
Regarding claim 5, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses wherein the object comprises a surface mesh ([0042] The mesh repair method provides interactive editing functionality for the watertight model. For example, the objects, such as surfaces, may be decomposed and converted into parametric patches that have no intersections other than their boundaries
[0069] Once the listing of intersecting lines and the listing of constrained vertices are created, the smoothing of surfaces may be performed, as shown in blocks 210 to 220. In block 210, a determination is made whether one or more surfaces are to be smoothed. Determination may be based on mesh quality attributes, such as dihedral angles or mesh invalidity due to intersecting triangles and/or may be based on an instruction or indication from a user. If no surfaces are to be smoothed, the process may output the watertight model in block 212.).
Regarding claim 6, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 5.
Etiene discloses wherein the surface mesh comprises a triangle mesh ([0006] - a meshed or gridded representation may include a large number of triangles to represent the subsurface region.).
Regarding claim 7, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Klinger discloses wherein the system of equations comprise implicit function equations and wherein the results comprise stratigraphy ([0160] - an iso-value of an implicit function may represent a conformable depositional event that takes into account tectonic stages. (e.g., context), one may consider implicit function and stratigraphic function to be synonymous..
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Etiene in view of Klinger, Li with wherein the system of equations comprise implicit function equations and wherein the results comprise stratigraphy as taught by Klinger. The motivation for doing is to have a better model for solving the system of equations.
Regarding claim 8, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses comprise fluid dynamics equations and wherein the results comprise fluid flow velocities ([0063] - The performing the simulation may include modeling fluid flow based on the reservoir model and the associated properties stored within the blocks of the reservoir model. The simulation results may include the computation of time-varying fluid pressure and fluid compositions (oil, water, and gas saturation) and the prediction of fluid volumes produced or injected at wells. The performing the simulation may include modeling structural changes based on the geologic model and the associated properties stored within the blocks of the geologic model, computation is the equations.).
Regarding claim 9, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses wherein the object is a sheet that intersects multiple layers of material in the geologic environment and wherein the multiple layers are spatially offset from one side of the sheet to another, opposite side of the sheet ( [0034] “surface” refers to geologic features such as horizon and fault .
[0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and/or voids within the specific volume. [0040] - As the structural framework may include one or more horizons and/or one or more faults, gaps or voids as well as overlaps may be present between objects.
“opposite side of the sheet” reads on because there couple be a multiple faults , gaps, or voids in between the surface. ).
Regarding claim 10, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses comprising refining the topological three-dimensional hexahedral grid utilizing [[octrees]] ([0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and voids within the specific volume, “discontinuities”.
[0074] - At block 312, a determination is made whether one or more blocks are to be removed. If one or more blocks are to be removed, the process may remove one or more blocks, as shown in block 314. Then, the process may include determine whether one or more additional blocks are to be removed in block 312. If no blocks are to be removed, the watertight model is outputted, as shown in block 316, “refining the region”.
[0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].).
Klinger discloses refining the octree ([0090] As to interpolation, may be interpolated on nodes of a background mesh octrees, etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Etiene in view of Klinger, Li with refining the octree as taught by Klinger. The motivation for doing is to have a better model for solving the system of equations.
Regarding claim 11, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses comprising repositioning the object in the three- dimensional hexahedral grid, wherein the repositioning does not re-grid the three- dimensional hexahedral grid ([0040] - The discrete volumetric representation includes a volumetric grid of the subsurface region. From the volumetric grid, the present techniques removes or carves away blocks until the topology is not preserved, “reposition”. Accordingly, a priority field (e.g., an unsigned distance field) is computed or determined, which may be constrained by surfaces (e.g., fault and/or horizon), and may be used to control the carving order.
[0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints.).
Regarding claim 12, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses comprising embedding at least one additional discontinuity as at least one additional object in the topological three-dimensional hexahedral grid ( [0034] “surface” refers to geologic features such as horizon and fault .
[0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and voids within the specific volume, “discontinue”. [0040] - As the structural framework may include one or more horizons and/or one or more faults, gaps or voids as well as overlaps may be present between objects.
“one additional ” reads on because could be a multiple faults , surfaces.
[0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].
[0035] - The subsurface model may include a structural framework of objects, such as faults and horizons, and may include a mesh or grid of nodes to divide the structural framework).
Regarding claim 13, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 12.
Etiene discloses comprising identifying a region of the topological three- dimensional hexahedral grid that is between two of the discontinuities and refining the region ([0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and voids within the specific volume, “discontinuities”.
[0074] - At block 312, a determination is made whether one or more blocks are to be removed. If one or more blocks are to be removed, the process may remove one or more blocks, as shown in block 314. Then, the process may include determine whether one or more additional blocks are to be removed in block 312. If no blocks are to be removed, the watertight model is outputted, as shown in block 316, “refining the region”.
[0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].).
Regarding claim 14, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 13.
Klinger discloses comprises utilizing octrees ([0090] As to interpolation, may be interpolated on nodes of a background mesh octrees, etc.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Etiene in view of Klinger, Li with comprises utilizing octrees as taught by Klinger. The motivation for doing is to have a better model for solving the system of equations.
Regarding claim 15, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 12.
Etiene discloses wherein the region comprises an interface between two different rock layers of the geologic environment ([0004] - different types of subsurface models may be used to represent the subsurface structure, which may include a description of a subsurface structure and material properties for a subsurface region, the watertight model may be created from a structural framework (e.g., organization of objects) and provide defined compartments or subvolumes. The geologic model may represent measured or interpreted data for the subsurface region, such as seismic data and/or well log data. The geologic model may be within a physical space or domain and may have material properties, such as rock properties, “different rock layers of the geologic environment”.
[0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and voids within the specific volume. [0074] - At block 312, a determination is made whether one or more blocks are to be removed. If one or more blocks are to be removed, the process may remove one or more blocks, as shown in block 314. Then, the process may include determine whether one or more additional blocks are to be removed in block 312. If no blocks are to be removed, the watertight model is outputted, as shown in block 316, “tow different layers”. ).
Regarding claim 16, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Etiene discloses comprising generating the object via seismic data ([0027] – subsurface regions, surface are formed based on the seismic data.) .
Regarding claim 17, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 16.
Etiene discloses interpreting the seismic data to identify the object as a fault ([0004] - The geologic model may represent measured or interpreted data for the subsurface region, such as seismic data . The geologic model may be within a physical space or domain and may have material properties, such as rock properties. the subsurface region model may include objects such as faults).
Regarding claim 18, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 17.
Etiene discloses comprising meshing the object using triangles ([0006] - a meshed or gridded representation may include a large number of triangles to represent the subsurface, surface, region.).
Regarding claim 19, Etiene discloses a system comprising: one or more processors; a memory accessible to at least one of the one or more processors; and processor-executable instructions stored in the memory and executable to instruct the system to ([0111] - Fig. 11, a computer system with instructions stored in the memory and the instructions are executed by the CPU to perform the following: ):
embed a discontinuity as an object in a three-dimensional hexahedral grid that comprises a plurality of hexahedral cells and represents a geologic environment ([0034] “surface” refers to geologic features such as horizon and fault .
[0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and voids within the specific volume, “embed a discontinue”. [0040] - As the structural framework may include one or more horizons and/or one or more faults, gaps or voids as well as overlaps may be present between objects.
[0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].
[0035] - The subsurface model may include a structural framework of objects, such as faults and horizons, and may include a mesh or grid of nodes to divide the structural framework);
cut a number of the a plurality of hexahedral cells by intersecting the object and the three-dimensional hexahedral grid to identify a plurality of cut cells ([0073] - The obtaining the volumetric representation may include creating the volumetric representation. At block 306, the objects are inserted into the volumetric representation. The insertion of the object may include labeling blocks of the volumetric representation by the one or multiple surfaces that pass through the block or splitting blocks that host multiple horizons or multiple faults. If both a first and a second surface pass through a same block, then the second surface is moved to an adjacent block, “splitting, cut cells”.
[0034] “surface” refers to geologic features such as horizon and fault. [0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints.);
Wherein the plurality of cut cells increase a quantity of the plurality of hexahedral cells by the number (
[0073] - The obtaining the volumetric representation may include creating the volumetric representation. At block 306, the objects are inserted into the volumetric representation. The insertion of the object may include labeling blocks of the volumetric representation by the one or multiple surfaces that pass through the block or splitting blocks that host multiple horizons or multiple faults. If both a first and a second surface pass through a same block, then the second surface is moved to an adjacent block, “splitting, cut cells ” therefore reads on “the plurality of cut cells increase a quantity of the plurality of hexahedral cells by the number”. );
construct a topological three-dimensional hexahedral grid using a topology for the plurality of cut cells that comprises spatially overlapping hexahedral cells of the plurality of hexahedral cells and associated cut cell-face links ([0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. [0047] – removal of polygon overlaps of blocks. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].
[0074] - At block 312, a determination is made whether one or more blocks are to be removed. If one or more blocks are to be removed, the process may remove one or more blocks, as shown in block 314. Then, the process may include determine whether one or more additional blocks are to be removed in block 312. If no blocks are to be removed, the watertight model is outputted, as shown in block 316, construct.
[0034] “surface” refers to geologic features such as horizon and fault.)
such that the plurality of cut cells occupy the same space as the spatially overlapping hexahedral cells ([0047] , [0007] – removal of overlaps, blocks, thus blocks that are overlapped are in the “same space”.);
and
generate results that characterize the geologic environment with the discontinuity that represent the geologic environment and using the topological three-dimensional hexahedral grid ([0062] Once the watertight model is created, the watertight model may be modified to create one or more subsurface models, a geologic model may optionally be created from the watertight model. The creation of the geologic model may include populating the blocks and/or objects within the watertight model with properties. The geologic model, which represents a specific portion of the subsurface region, may include one or more objects (e.g., horizons, faults, volumes, and the like) and may have material properties associated with the various objects. The material properties may include one or more of surface transmissibility, permeability, rock type, facies, porosity, fluid saturation, pressure and any combination thereof, “generate result”.
[0031] - The organization may include horizon order, the organized assembly of objects may include gaps between surfaces and voids within the specific volume, “discontinuities”.
[0074] - a determination is made whether one or more blocks are to be removed. If one or more blocks are to be removed, the process may remove one or more blocks. Then, the process may include determine whether one or more additional blocks are to be removed in block 312. If no blocks are to be removed, the watertight model is outputted, as shown in block 316.
[0061] - For hexahedral blocks, blocks within the discrete volumetric representation may be removed based on constraints, such as maintaining the topology. Hexahedral is three-dimensional, [0035].).
Etiene does not Klinger discloses
discontinuity using a system of equations ([0160] a workflow may provide for building an implicit function based on structural interpretation and properties, indicating sequences, type of layer boundaries (e.g. erosion, conformable, discontinuous, etc.), to generate a continuous three-dimensional function where, for example, samples in space have relative location in a geological depositional sequence. Functions are equations.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Etiene with discontinuity using a system of equations as taught by Klinger. The motivation for doing is to have a better model for solving the system of equations.
Etiene in view of Klinger do not however Li discloses
wherein the associated cut identify which faces are shared between the plurality of cut cells ([0049] FIG. 3A is a perspective view of an illustrative slip fault 300 causing a discontinuity between a first volumetric model block 301 and a second block 302. Fault 300 forms a first fault face 303 on block 301 and a second fault face 304 on block 302. The formation layers in each block form horizons that may be shown as traces 306 along each fault face. FIG. 3B shows the view with block 301 rendered transparent to reveal fault face 304. When a formation layer pinch-out 307, 308 intersects the fault 300, it is desirable for the pinch out points “cut” on each face of the fault to be aligned thus it is able to identify which “faces are shared” or pinch out.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Etiene in view of Klinger with wherein the associated cut identify which faces are shared between the plurality of cut cells as taught by Li . The motivation for doing is to facilitate efficient.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection on claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, Etiene in view of Klinger, Li disclose all the limitations of claim 5 including surface mesh, three dimensional hexahedral grid, and three-dimensional hexahedral grid as stated above.
Li discloses wherein the surface is different than the grid, and wherein embedding the discontinuity includes aligning the surface with the grid ([0049] FIG. 3A is a perspective view of an illustrative slip fault 300 causing a discontinuity between a first volumetric model block 301 and a second block 302. Fault 300 forms a first fault face 303 on block 301 and a second fault face 304 on block 302. The formation layers in each block form horizons that may be shown as traces 306 along each fault face. FIG. 3B shows the view with block 301 rendered transparent to reveal fault face 304. When a formation layer pinch-out 307, 308 intersects the fault 300 “discontinuity”, it is desirable for the pinch out points on each face of the fault to be aligned “aligning the surface with the grid”.
).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Etiene in view of Klinger, Li with wherein the surface is different than the grid, and wherein embedding the discontinuity includes aligning the surface with the grid. as taught by Li . The motivation for doing is to facilitate efficient.
Response to Arguments
Examiner suggests to amend a specific element in the claim that when reading a claim in light of the invention, it directs to a unique technology. The examiner can be reached at 571-270-0724 for further discussion.
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant asserts “Applicant notes that, by this Response, claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part, that "the plurality of cut cells increase a quantity of the plurality of hexahedral cells by the number" and that "the plurality of cut cells occupy the same space as the spatially overlapping hexahedral cells, wherein the associated cut cell face-links identify which faces are shared between the plurality of cut cells." Applicant respectfully submits that the Office Action has not cited, nor has Applicant found, any portion of Etiene Queiroz or Klinger, either individually or in combination with any other art of record, that discloses, teaches, or fairly suggests this feature.”
The argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li reference.
Regarding claims 2 - 5, 7 – 18, and 21, the Applicant asserts that they are not obvious over based on their dependency from independent claim 1. The examiner cannot concur with the Applicant respectfully from same reason noted in the examiner’s response to argument asserted from claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ming Wu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618