DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final First Office Action on the Merits in application 18/714,800, filed 10/22/2024.
The amendments to claims 2-7, the specification and the abstract in the preliminary amendment filed 5/30/2024 have been entered. The preliminary amendment filed 10/22/2024 has not been entered because the submission does not correspond to the amendments previously filed. The amendments made with the filing of the application are considered to meet the “Notification of Missing Requirements” form mailed 10/17/2024.
Claims 1-7 are pending and examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/23/2024 and 8/8/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1A and 1B have not been shown in Fig. 1(see para. [0018], and Figs. 3A and 3B as examples).
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 4A and 4B and 4C have not been discussed in the specification(see para. [0018] and Fig. 4A-C).
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 6A, 6B, 6C and 6D have not been discussed in the specification(see para. [0018] and Fig. 6A-D).
The drawings are objected to because 1a in Figs. 1 and 2 appears to be directed to side wall parts 1b and not to a top of the body and should be changed to 1B, and 1a added to denote the top of the body.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 35t(see Fig. 4A).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 100(see pars. [0028] and [0030]).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “31” has been used to designate both the coupling body and rod(see Figs. 4A, and 4B-C with 31 denoting the coupling body).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in at least para. [0021] “arrow ab” and “arrow ef” should be changed to “arrows a and b” and “arrows e and f”, respectively(and throughout the remained of the specification).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, line 4, “the engaged portions” has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ri(JP2002159395; cited on IDS filed 8/23/2024).
Ri discloses a curtain hanging device(see Fig. 1a), comprising:
a plurality of runners(2) each provided with a hanging ring(3) to be engaged with a curtain hook provided on a curtain(see para. [0008]); and
a coupling body(13, see Figs. 3a-c and 4a-d) having a tape shape, capable of being accommodated in an inner space of a curtain rail body(13 is attached to an upper end of 2 which is within body 1 meeting the claim limitation, see para. [0014] and Figs. 1 and 4) that holds the plurality of runners in a travelable state(see Fig. 4a-d), and detachably attached to the plurality of runners via a plurality of engagement bodies(2, see Fig. 2) provided at predetermined intervals(see Figs. 4a-d and 5a-b).
Regarding claim 2, Ri discloses the curtain hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the curtain rail body is a cylindrical body(1), has a groove portion(opening receiving 2, see Fig. 1a) provided in a bottom wall part(considered wall with groove portion, see Fig. 1a) forming the cylindrical body along a longitudinal direction with respect to the bottom wall part, and a width in a short-side direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the coupling body(13) is longer than a width of the groove portion(the coupling body 13 is held in place via 5 and the width of the coupling body is greater than a width of the portion of the runner denoted as 2 in Fig. 1b and therefore the claim limitation is considered met).
Regarding claim 4, Ri discloses the curtain hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the runners(2) each have a wheel(4) rotatably supported, and a cover(considered lower portions of 1 because the wheel is covered thereby, see Fig. 1a) with which the wheel is covered(see Fig. 1a).
Claims 1, 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silent Glass International Ltd(GB2435410; cited on IDS filed 8/23/2024).
Silent Glass International discloses a curtain hanging device, comprising:
a plurality of runners(6) each provided with a hanging ring(12) to be engaged with a curtain hook provided on a curtain(see page 4, lines 12-19); and
a coupling body(40) having a tape shape, capable of being accommodated in an inner space of a curtain rail body(2, see Figs. 1A and 1B) that holds the plurality of runners in a travelable state(see Fig. 1A), and detachably attached to the plurality of runners via a plurality of engagement bodies(34, see Figs. 1A, 3 and 4) provided at predetermined intervals.
Regarding claim 3, Silent GIass International discloses the curtain hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the engagement bodies(34) each have a C-shaped engagement portion(bottom of upper semi circular portion, top of lower semi circular portion and portion therebetween), and detachably engage with engaged portions(8) of the runners(see Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Silent GIass International discloses the curtain hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the engagement bodies(34) are rotatable in a state in which the engagement bodies(34, member 34 can be rotated meeting the claim limitation) are engaged with engaged portions(8) of the runners(see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Silent GIass International discloses the curtain hanging device according to claim 1, wherein the coupling body, a folded portion is formed by pleating(the curtain is considered folded and pleated when the runners are moved to one of the ends of the rail body meeting the claim limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silent GIass International in view of Lopez(WO2020/099694; cited on IDS filed 8/23/2024).
Silent GIass International discloses the curtain hanging device of claim 1 but lacks the width of the coupling body greater than a width of the groove portion.
Lopez discloses a curtain hanging device(see Fig. 1), comprising: a plurality of runners(1) each provided with a hanging ring(see Fig. 3a) to be engaged with a curtain hook provided on a curtain(see para. [0031] and Fig. 4); and a coupling body(6) having a tape shape(see para. [0036] and Fig. 2) capable of being accommodated in an inner space of a curtain rail body(2, see Fig. 2) that holds the plurality of runners in a travelable state(see para. [0037]), and attached to the plurality of runners via a plurality of engagement bodies(34, see Figs. 1A, 3 and 4) provided at predetermined intervals, the curtain rail body(2) is a cylindrical body(see Figs. 1A and 1B), has a groove portion(4) provided in a bottom wall part forming the cylindrical body along a longitudinal direction with respect to the bottom wall part(see page 4, lines 3-5 and Fig. 3), and a width in a short-side direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the coupling body(6) is longer than a width of the groove portion(see para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the width of the coupling body greater than a width of the groove portion, such as disclosed by Lopez, with a reasonable degree of success, in order to have prevented the coupling body from falling into the groove portion and hiding the body from exterior view given the intended use of the device and specific design requirements thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
No prior art of record shows a hanging device having runner and a coupling body detachably attached to the runners and having bars as claimed, nr any motivation to do so.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/