DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-3, 9-12 and 17-18 in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search and/examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-12, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US2018/0341863) in view of Boghossian et al. (US2013/0208124).
To claim 1, Li teach an entity image clustering processing method, comprising:
configuring an entity relationship between any two entity images (Fig. 1, paragraphs 0029-0032), which are suspected to have a same entity, in an entity image sequence to obtain an entity triple (paragraphs 0040-0043, 0092-0095, 0104, image information related to the same entity; paragraphs 0003, 0101-0102, 0109, triple in knowledge graph);
topologically connecting any two entity triples, which share a same entity relationship, through an entity relationship between two entity images in each of the two entity triples to construct at least one entity relationship graph (paragraphs 0011, 0026, 0033, 0061, 0097, 0107, 0114, relations are topologically connected, paragraphs 0040-0043, 0093-0095, 0103-0104, obtain information of the same entity).
But, Ding do not expressly disclose topologically connecting any two entity triples, which share a same entity relationship, through an entity relationship between two entity images in each of the two entity triples to construct at least one entity relationship graph; segmenting at least one relationship sub-graph from the at least one entity relationship graph according to an affinity between entity images in the at least one entity relationship graph; wherein entity images in each of the at least one relationship sub-graph correspond to a same entity.
Boghossian teach analyzing a sequence of video frames of a camera view field to track an object in said view field and determine start and end points of said track in said view field (abstract), wherein spatial relationship and temporal relationship are determined to track tagged object through said sequence of video frames (paragraphs 0012-0026, 104, 0106, 0110, images/frames from tagged cameras provide tracking), topologically connecting any two entity triples, which share a same entity relationship, through an entity relationship between two entity images in each of the two entity triples to construct at least one entity relationship graph (Figs. 13, 16-18, paragraphs 0023, 0083, 0135); segmenting at least one relationship sub-graph from the at least one entity relationship graph according to an affinity between entity images in the at least one entity relationship graph; wherein entity images in each of the at least one relationship sub-graph correspond to a same entity (Figs. 16-18, paragraphs 0009, 0014, 0122, 0065, tracking termination would segment/separate relationship between nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Boghossian into the method of Ding, in order to apply relation graph in tracking application.
To claim 9, Ding and Boghossian teach an electronic device, comprising:
at least one processor; and a storage apparatus, configured to store at least one program; wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 10, Ding and Boghossian teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claims 2, 11 and 17, Ding and Boghossian teach claims 1, 9 and 10
Ding and Boghossian teach wherein the configuring an entity relationship between any two entity images, which are suspected to have a same entity, in an entity image sequence to obtain an entity triple comprises:
determining an inter-image similarity between any two entity images in the entity image sequence (Boghossian, abstract, analyze a sequence of video frames to track an object/entity, paragraphs 0023, 0083, 0135, compare to check if the same object); and
taking two entity images whose inter-image similarity meets a first similarity condition as the two entity images suspected to have the same entity, and configuring one entity relationship between the two entity images suspected to have the same entity to obtain an entity triple of the two entity images (Boghossian, paragraphs 0103-0107, 0132-0135, link tracklets belonging to an individual object, tagged tracklet);
wherein the first similarity condition is used for screening out any two entity images that do not contain a same entity (Boghossian, paragraphs 0008-0009, a track exists for an object until it disappears from the scene completely or satisfies a condition set for the termination of tracks).
.
To claims 3, 12 and 18, Ding and Boghossian teach claims 2, 11 and 17.
Ding and Boghossian teach wherein the determining an inter-image similarity between any two entity images in the entity image sequence comprises:
extracting a feature vector of each entity image of a plurality of entity images in the entity image sequence (Ding, abstract, image information vector on entity; Boghossian, abstract, analyze a sequence of video frames to track an object/entity); and
performing a pairwise cross-comparison on feature vectors of the plurality of entity images, and calculating an image feature similarity between feature vectors of any two entity images of the plurality of entity images to obtain a feature similarity matrix; wherein each element in the feature similarity matrix is a similarity between two entity images (Boghossian, paragraphs 0017, 0023, 0103, making comparison on similarity of appearance through video frames to track tagged object, feature similarity matrix is a well-known technique in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate for implementation, hence Official Notice is taken).
Conclusion
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 June 20, 2026