DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1-14 recites the broad recitations, and the claim also recites the word “preferably” followed by more narrow statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2011/0275874) in view of Sharp (US 3,246,960) and Letzsch (US 2003/0127358).
Regarding claims 1-14, Li teaches a catalytic cracking reactor with catalyst lift zone, with truncated cone reaction zone, and then outlet zone, and having feed and catalyst distributors (see figure).
Li teaches catalytic cracking of naphtha and heavy oils to produce ethylene and propylene products [0001-0020]. Li teaches fluidizing lift steam [0055]. Li teaches selecting appropriate heights and diameters and that the geometry of the reactor is beneficial in providing higher propylene yield and selectivity, shorter residence times, and reduced backmixing [0035-0042], [0063].
While Li does not disclose the ratio of height to diameter as claimed, Li recognizes that the geometry of the reactor results in shorter residence times, reduced backmixing, and higher product yield. Further, Sharp similarly teaches a similar reducing diameter geometry resulting in more uniform velocity and density and decreased backmixing (column 4, lines 1-75 and column 5, lines 30-35). Similarly, Letzsch teaches selection of reactor diameter in order to improve selectivity [0022-0026].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate geometry in order to achieve the desired improvements. Examiner notes that applicant’s instant specification similarly teaches that the claimed ratio is similarly drawn to reducing backmixing and improving selectivity (see pate 8 of instant spec).
Examiner further notes that Sharp teaches conventional FCC catalyst stripper, regenerator, and fractionator (see figure 1), which would be standard equipment connected to the FCC reactor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN216946880U – cited on IDS, teaches tapered catalytic cracking reaction vessel
Owen (US 4,957,617) – teaches contracting diameter in a fcc reactor in order to achieve desired velocity
Wegerer (US 5,451,313) – teaches fcc contacting reactor
Smith (US 2004/0024276) – teaches a tapering reactor to prevent secondary reactions [0118]
Xu (US 2013/0001129) – teaches a catalytic cracking reactor
Mauleon (US 4,832,825) – teaches fcc reactor with multiple reaction zones (see figure 3)
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771