DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 30, 2024 and February 25, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Chinese Application No. PCTCN2022075756 filed on February 10, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 21-23, 34, 39 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250234384 A1 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a user equipment (e.g., FIG. 5B, apparatus 20), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (e.g., FIG. 5B, memory 24, processor 22), configured to: receive a UE-specific configured grant (CG) small data transmission (SDT) configuration (e.g., ¶ [0006] transmit a command to a user equipment (UE) to switch to a dedicated bandwidth part (BWP) configured with configured grant (CG)-small data transmission (SDT)) with parameters specific to CG-SDT (e.g., ¶ [0030] It is expected that at least the following parameters may be included in the CG-SDT configuration: the new TA timer in RRC_INACTIVE, the RSRP change threshold for TA validation mechanism in SDT, and/or the SSB RSRP threshold for beam selection (i.e., UE selects the beam and associated CG resource for data transmission). These parameters may or may not be common for multiple CG-SDT configurations or may be per CG-SDT configuration) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (e.g., FIG. 5A, apparatus 10, communicating with apparatus 20 [i.e., UE] may be a satellite [i.e., non-terrestrial network]); receive system information associated with validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN (e.g., ¶ [0030] …parameters may be included in the CG-SDT configuration…the RSRP change threshold for TA validation mechanism in SDT [Examiner notes that validation of CG-SDT parameters is implied in this citation and validation of the parameters for CG-SDT would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as seen in example of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #113-e, R2-2101466, “CG resource release for SDT”: e.g., Section 2, Discussion, Agreements, 5: The UE can use configured grant based small data transfer if at least the following criteria is fulfilled (1) user data is smaller than the data volume threshold; (2) configured grant resource is configured and valid; (3) UE has valid TA]); and transmit an SDT to a network entity of the NTN using one or more of the parameters (e.g., FIG. 3, step 310, ¶ [0048] , the method of FIG. 3 may also include, at 310, indicating to a network, for example via MAC or RRC signaling in the initial BWP, that the UE is switching back to the dedicated BWP in case the CG-SDT condition is valid again [Examiner notes that transmitting an SDT to a network entity of the NTN using one or more of the parameters would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as evidenced again by example 3GPP reference “R2-2101466”: e.g., Section 2, Discussion: According to the above agreements, the UE can use configured grant based small data transfer when some conditions are met such as data volume, TA validation, CG-SDT resource validation including SS-RSRP threshold]).
Regarding Claim 21, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses wherein the system information includes timing advance (TA) validation information specific to CG-SDT, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate a TA for CG-SDT on the NTN using the TA validation information (e.g., ¶ [0030] at least the following parameters may be included in the CG-SDT configuration: the new TA timer in RRC_INACTIVE, the RSRP change threshold for TA validation mechanism in SDT, and/or the SSB RSRP threshold for beam selection (i.e., UE selects the beam and associated CG resource for data transmission). These parameters may or may not be common for multiple CG-SDT configurations or may be per CG-SDT configuration [the network device sending the signal may be a satellite node (e.g., FIG. 5A, ¶ [0056])]).
Regarding Claim 22, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses wherein the UE uses CG-SDT based at least in part on expiration of a timer associated with a timing advance (e.g., ¶ [0038] In one embodiment, when timing advance timer (TAT) for CG-SDT expires while the CG-SDT resources are configured on dedicated BWP, the UE may trigger RA procedure immediately).
Regarding Claim 23, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses wherein the system information includes link quality validation information for validating a link quality for CG-SDT on the NTN, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the link quality for CG-SDT on the NTN using the link quality validation information (e.g., ¶ [0030] at least the following parameters may be included in the CG-SDT configuration: the new TA timer in RRC_INACTIVE, the RSRP change threshold for TA validation mechanism in SDT, and/or the SSB RSRP threshold for beam selection (i.e., UE selects the beam and associated CG resource for data transmission). These parameters may or may not be common for multiple CG-SDT configurations or may be per CG-SDT configuration [the network device sending the signal may be a satellite node (e.g., FIG. 5A, ¶ [0056])]).
Regarding Claim 34, Wu discloses a network entity in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) for wireless communication (e.g., FIG. 5A, apparatus 10), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (e.g., FIG. 5A, memory 14, processor 12), configured to transmit information to a UE that is functionally similar to the information received by the UE of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 34.
Regarding Claim 39, Wu discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 34.
Wu discloses wherein the system information includes one or more of timing advance (TA) validation information specific to CG-SDT, link quality validation information for validating a link quality for CG-SDT on the NTN, or cell or satellite validation information for validating a cell or satellite for CG-SDT, or cell or satellite validation information for validating a cell or satellite for CG-SDT (e.g., ¶ [0030] at least the following parameters may be included in the CG-SDT configuration: the new TA timer in RRC_INACTIVE, the RSRP change threshold for TA validation mechanism in SDT, and/or the SSB RSRP threshold for beam selection (i.e., UE selects the beam and associated CG resource for data transmission). These parameters may or may not be common for multiple CG-SDT configurations or may be per CG-SDT configuration [the network device sending the signal may be a satellite node (e.g., FIG. 5A, ¶ [0056])]).
Regarding Claim 42, the claim is directed to a method of wireless communication performed by a UE, comprising operations that are functionally similar to those performed by the UE of claim 1. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 1 shall be applied to claim 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #107-e R1-2111606 (e-Meeting, November 11th - 19th, 2021), “Enhancements on UL time and frequency synchronization for NTN” (hereinafter R1-2111606, included in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding Claim 2, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to receive the system information associated with CG-SDT validation, are configured to receive the system information associated with CG-SDT validation periodically.
R1-2111606 discloses wherein the one or more processors, to receive the system information associated with CG-SDT validation, are configured to receive the system information associated with CG-SDT validation periodically (e.g., Page 3-4, Section 2.3: Two approaches can be considered to update the assistance information (i.e. serving satellite ephemeris data or common TA parameters. - Approach 1: The update period (e.g., 160ms) as well as the validity duration (e.g., 10-30s) for the assistance information are much smaller than SI modification period (e.g., 1~3 hours) [i.e., this citation at least indicates that system information is sent periodically and validity information associated with CG-SDT configuration is sent periodically… Approach 2: Set the SI modification period = The update period for the assistance information = the validity duration for the assistance information (about 10~30s)]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of periodic system information communication associated with CG-SDT validation, as disclosed by R1-2111606. The motivation to combine would have been to enhance UL time and frequency synchronization for NTN (R1-2111606: page 1, Section 1).
Claims 3-6, 11, 12, 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ye at al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240162976 A1 (hereinafter Ye).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include a medium access control (MAC) application timing advance (TA) Kmac for delaying an application of a downlink configuration indicated by a MAC control element (MAC CE).
Ye discloses wherein the parameters include a medium access control (MAC) application timing advance (TA) Kmac for delaying an application of a downlink configuration indicated by a MAC control element (MAC CE) (e.g., ¶ [0109] In an aspect, the BFR activation time offset (e.g., 642 or 644) can be configured as a K offset that comprises a UE specific offset or a beam specific offset, a K mac, or a function of both (K offset plus K mac) based on whether a timing reference point is located at a base station of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a PCell or a PSCell. As a beam specific offset, the time offset 642 or 644 can correspond to a current beam or new beam with a different beam index as indicated in the BFRQ. The K mac can be another time offset corresponding to a MAC CE activation time for a downlink configuration. The K offset and the K mac can be broadcast, or otherwise provided via the gNB, a higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or predefined for a given beam or UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of timing advance for delaying an application of a downlink configuration indicated by a MAC control element, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 3.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include a time offset Koffset for delaying a random access procedure initiated by a physical downlink control channel communication and delaying uplink transmission scheduled by CG, and wherein the time offset Koffset is specific to CG-SDT on the NTN.
Ye discloses wherein the parameters include a time offset Koffset for delaying a random access procedure initiated by a physical downlink control channel communication and delaying uplink transmission scheduled by CG, and wherein the time offset Koffset is specific to CG-SDT on the NTN (e.g., ¶ [0025] The K mac can correspond to a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) activation time for a downlink configuration; e.g., ¶ [0110] If a timing reference point is at the gNB 120, then just the K offset can be configured for the BFR activation time offset 642, 644. Additionally, or alternatively, if the timing reference point is not at the gNB 120, but another time reference point in an RTT, the time offset can be the K offset+the K mac, or only the K mac; e.g., ¶ [0197] A thirty-eighth example can include any one or more of the thirty-fifth through thirty-seventh examples, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) in an uplink (UL) transmission slot on a non-terrestrial network (NTN); and monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a search space set for a beam forming recovery response (BFRR) based on at least four slots after the UL transmission slot and a time offset, wherein the time offset comprises at least one of: a K offset, a K mac, or a random access response (RAR) window offset configured by a beam failure recovery configuration, based on a location of a timing reference point between a base station or other timing reference point of the NTN in a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of time offset for delaying an application of a uplink configuration, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 5, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 4.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is cell common.
Ye discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is cell common (e.g., ¶ [0122] In another aspect, the RAR window time offset can depend on the maximum RTT between the UE and gNB and this TA is its own TA, but this K offset could be a common K offset in comparison or cell specific. The TA from above can thus be replaced by this K offset and this K offset can be common among all the UEs of a cell and used in this initial access for the RAR window time offset. Thus, the RAR window time offset can be K offset+Kmac, in which the K mac can be derived as discussed above based on K mac=Kmac,b+(Kmac drifting rate_b)*delta t (Δt)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of time offset being cell common, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 4.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is UE-specific.
Ye discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is UE-specific (e.g., ¶ [0025] The time offset can be a function of a K offset, a K mac, or both. The K offset can comprise a UE specific offset, a beam specific offset, or a cell specific offset based on whether a timing reference point is located at a base station of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell). The K mac can correspond to a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) activation time for a downlink configuration; e.g., ¶ [0090] The K offset can be a UE specific offset or a beam specific offset after an initial access in the NTN; e.g., ¶ [0092] the time offset can be the K offset with the four or more slots. Here, the K offset can be a cell specific or a beam specific offset, in which different cells of the NTN can comprise different K offset values that are derived based on the minimum or maximum RTT of any one or more UE/device component in the cell or different K offset values for different beams on the cell, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of time offset being UE specific, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 11, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 3.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the MAC TA Kmac is received in a separate message in a CG-SDT search space.
Ye discloses wherein the MAC TA Kmac is received in a separate message in a CG-SDT search space (e.g., ¶ [0117] The UE 110 should start to reset the CORESET #0 beam after transmitting the PRACH for random access procedure that is not initiated by a PDCCH ordered contention-free random access procedure. This CORSET #0 beam offset can be configured as a K offset that comprises a UE specific offset, a beam specific offset or a Cell specific offset. It can optionally comprise K mac, or be a function of both (K offset+K mac) based on whether a timing reference point is located at a base station of a non-terrestrial network (NTN). As a beam specific offset, the time offset for the CORESET #0 can correspond to a current beam or new beam with a different beam index as indicated in the BFRQ. The K mac can be another time offset corresponding to a MAC CE activation time for a downlink configuration. The K offset and the K mac can be broadcast, or otherwise provided via the gNB 120, a higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or predefined for a given beam or UE; e.g., ¶ [0188] transmit the PDCCH for a Type-1-PDCCH common search space (CSS) at least the time offset after a last symbol of a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion corresponding to a PRACH transmission, wherein the time offset comprises at least one of: a K mac derived from a drifting rate in the NTN and at least one of: a timing advance (TA) or a K offset that is broadcasted for an initial access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of wherein the MAC TA Kmac is received in a separate message in a CG-SDT search space, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 12, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 3.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include ephemeris information and a common timing advance (TA).
Ye discloses wherein the parameters include ephemeris information and a common timing advance (TA) (e.g., ¶ [0120] The UE specific TA component can be the TA between the UE and the satellite, measured by the UE 110 based on the UE 110 and the satellite's location, so is calculated by UE's global navigation satellite system (GNSS) location and a satellite ephemeris of satellite 160. The common TA_b can be broadcast by the network, which indicates the TA between the satellite 160 and the timing reference point that can be between the satellite 160 and the gNB 120. The common TA drifting rate_b can also be broadcast by network, which indicates the changing of this common TA. In NTN the satellite 160 can be moving and the TA between the satellite 160 and the gNB 120 could also be changing from time to time; this can be accounted for in the TA for the RAR window offset by this common TA drifting rate component based on these moving factors. The delta t (At) can be the time gap between the last (common TA drifting rate_b) reception or transmission time and the current time. As such, the TA could be based on or derived to account any one or all of these components or effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of parameters including ephemeris information and a common timing advance, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Regarding Claim 35, Wu discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 34.
The functional limitations of Claim 35 are similar to claim 3. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 3 shall be applied to claim 35.
Regarding Claim 36, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 35.
The functional limitations of Claim 36 are similar to claim 4. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 4 shall be applied to claim 36.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ye in further view of Sun et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20240057002 A1 (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 6.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode.
Ye discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is configured via RRC signaling (e.g., ¶ [0109] In an aspect, the BFR activation time offset (e.g., 642 or 644) can be configured as a K offset that comprises a UE specific offset or a beam specific offset, a K mac, or a function of both (K offset plus K mac) based on whether a timing reference point is located at a base station of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a PCell or a PSCell. As a beam specific offset, the time offset 642 or 644 can correspond to a current beam or new beam with a different beam index as indicated in the BFRQ. The K mac can be another time offset corresponding to a MAC CE activation time for a downlink configuration. The K offset and the K mac can be broadcast, or otherwise provided via the gNB, a higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or predefined for a given beam or UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of the time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control mode, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Wu in view of Ye does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode
Sun discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode (e.g., ¶ [0072] A cell-specific time offset Koffset and/or other time offset parameters are also acquired by the UE. Koffset may represent the amount of subframe offset between DCI and the uplink transmission. Koffset may or may not be updated by a UE-specific Koffset during RRC connected mode. In some aspect, the time offset Koffset is equal to TA or two times propagation delay (i.e., round-trip propagation delay). In other aspects, the time offset Koffset is greater than TA. In some aspects, the TA and Koffset are used jointly by the UE. For example, while Koffset may be used to determine which UL subframe for its uplink transmission, TA is used to determine when to send a UL subframe. In NR system, the uplink transmission timing may only be determined based on the Koffset, but not the TA, since TA is almost negligible comparing to Koffset. In contrast, in NTN for LTE, TA is of significance to be considered when determining the uplink transmission timing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network and time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of the time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode, as disclosed by Sun. The motivation to combine would have been to enhance machine type communications for NTN (Sun: ¶ [0001]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ye, in further view of Lee et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220330317 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 6.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is configured while the UE is in a radio resource control release mode.
Ye discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is configured via RRC signaling (e.g., ¶ [0109] In an aspect, the BFR activation time offset (e.g., 642 or 644) can be configured as a K offset that comprises a UE specific offset or a beam specific offset, a K mac, or a function of both (K offset plus K mac) based on whether a timing reference point is located at a base station of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a PCell or a PSCell. As a beam specific offset, the time offset 642 or 644 can correspond to a current beam or new beam with a different beam index as indicated in the BFRQ. The K mac can be another time offset corresponding to a MAC CE activation time for a downlink configuration. The K offset and the K mac can be broadcast, or otherwise provided via the gNB, a higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or predefined for a given beam or UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of the time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control mode, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Wu in view of Ye does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is a separate UE-specific Koffset for CG-SDT that is configured in a radio resource control release message.
Lee discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is a separate UE-specific Koffset for CG-SDT that is configured in a radio resource control release message (e.g., ¶ [0219] (2). Upon receiving the RRC Release message, the UE may perform cell selection or cell reselection after entering the RRC_INACTIVE mode. In this case, the UE may preferentially select a cell in which SDT configuration information in the RRC Release message is supported. For example, the priority of the frequency of a cell indicated by a cell index may be set to the highest, and an offset may be added to the quality of the cell indicated by the cell index, whereby the corresponding cell may be preferentially selected. In this case, the offset may be configured by the BS in a UE-dedicated message such as the RRC Release message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network and time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of the time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control release mode, as disclosed by Lee. The motivation to combine would have been to efficiently perform wireless signal transmission/reception (Lee: ¶ [0003]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ye, in further view of Liang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240365309 A1 (hereinafter Liang).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 6.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is configured while the UE is in a radio resource control release mode.
Ye discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is configured via RRC signaling (e.g., ¶ [0109] In an aspect, the BFR activation time offset (e.g., 642 or 644) can be configured as a K offset that comprises a UE specific offset or a beam specific offset, a K mac, or a function of both (K offset plus K mac) based on whether a timing reference point is located at a base station of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) in a PCell or a PSCell. As a beam specific offset, the time offset 642 or 644 can correspond to a current beam or new beam with a different beam index as indicated in the BFRQ. The K mac can be another time offset corresponding to a MAC CE activation time for a downlink configuration. The K offset and the K mac can be broadcast, or otherwise provided via the gNB, a higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC) or predefined for a given beam or UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of the time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control mode, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Wu in view of Ye does not expressly disclose wherein the time offset Koffset is reconfigured in a radio resource control inactive mode.
Liang discloses wherein the time offset Koffset is reconfigured in a radio resource control inactive mode (e.g., ¶ [0096] terminal device comprises circuitry configured to receive, from a network device, a configuration indicating a configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource and a search space which is specific to the terminal device; receive, from the network device, a configuration of a timer; and during the timer being running, monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on the search space for a dynamic retransmission indication of the CG PUSCH; e.g., ¶ [0099] receive, from a network device, a number of preambles for data transmission in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; receive an offset from the network device; and perform the data transmission using a start index of preamble which is determined based on the offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network and time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of the time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control inactive mode, as disclosed by Liang. The motivation to combine would have been to enable multiple devices to share the periodic resources allocated with a configured grant mechanism (Liang: ¶ [0002]).
Claims 10 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ye, in further view of Cozzo et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220232504 A1 (hereinafter Cozzo).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 4.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the system information includes timing relation validation information for validating the MAC TA Kmac and the time offset Koffset, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the MAC TA Kmac and the time offset Koffset using the timing relation validation information.
Cozzo discloses wherein the system information includes timing relation validation information for validating the MAC TA Kmac and the time offset Koffset, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the MAC TA Kmac and the time offset Koffset using the timing relation validation information (e.g., ¶ [0067] Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to a determination of the timing offset for transmission of uplink channels in a NTN. The present disclosure also relates to requesting a timing offset by a UE for timing advance (TA) validation for transmission in preconfigured uplink resources. The present disclosure further relates to a transmission with preconfigured uplink resources and the transmission of uplink resources scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format in multi-beam NTNs. Additionally, the present disclosure relates a determination of the timing offset for transmission of an uplink data channel and physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble transmission initiated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order in NTNs. Embodiments of the present disclosure also relate to a reporting of a timing offset during initial access. Embodiments of the present disclosure further relate to determining a timing offset by a higher layer configuration and a medium access control coverage enhancement (MAC-CE) indication in connected mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network and time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of system information including timing relation validation information for validating Kmac and Koffset, as disclosed by Cozzo. The motivation to combine would have been to support uplink transmission timing in non-terrestrial networks (Cozzo: ¶ [0002]).
Regarding Claim 37, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 36.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the system information includes timing relation validation information for validating the MAC TA Kmac and the time offset Koffset.
Cozzo discloses wherein the system information includes timing relation validation information for validating the MAC TA Kmac and the time offset Koffset (e.g., ¶ [0067] Embodiments of the present disclosure relate to a determination of the timing offset for transmission of uplink channels in a NTN. The present disclosure also relates to requesting a timing offset by a UE for timing advance (TA) validation for transmission in preconfigured uplink resources. The present disclosure further relates to a transmission with preconfigured uplink resources and the transmission of uplink resources scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) format in multi-beam NTNs. Additionally, the present disclosure relates a determination of the timing offset for transmission of an uplink data channel and physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble transmission initiated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) order in NTNs. Embodiments of the present disclosure also relate to a reporting of a timing offset during initial access. Embodiments of the present disclosure further relate to determining a timing offset by a higher layer configuration and a medium access control coverage enhancement (MAC-CE) indication in connected mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network and time offset Koffset being configured while the UE is in a radio resource control connected mode, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of system information including timing relation validation information for validating Kmac and Koffset, as disclosed by Cozzo. The motivation to combine would have been to support uplink transmission timing in non-terrestrial networks (Cozzo: ¶ [0002]).
Claims 13, 14 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Ye in further view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230099762 A1 (hereinafter K. Dashtaki).
Regarding Claim 13, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 12.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the system information includes TA validation information for validating the ephemeris information or the common TA, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the ephemeris information or the common TA using the TA validation information.
Ye discloses wherein the parameters include ephemeris information and a common timing advance (TA) (e.g., ¶ [0120] The UE specific TA component can be the TA between the UE and the satellite, measured by the UE 110 based on the UE 110 and the satellite's location, so is calculated by UE's global navigation satellite system (GNSS) location and a satellite ephemeris of satellite 160. The common TA_b can be broadcast by the network, which indicates the TA between the satellite 160 and the timing reference point that can be between the satellite 160 and the gNB 120. The common TA drifting rate_b can also be broadcast by network, which indicates the changing of this common TA. In NTN the satellite 160 can be moving and the TA between the satellite 160 and the gNB 120 could also be changing from time to time; this can be accounted for in the TA for the RAR window offset by this common TA drifting rate component based on these moving factors. The delta t (At) can be the time gap between the last (common TA drifting rate_b) reception or transmission time and the current time. As such, the TA could be based on or derived to account any one or all of these components or effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of parameters including ephemeris information and a common timing advance, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the system information includes TA validation information for validating the ephemeris information or the common TA, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the ephemeris information or the common TA using the TA validation information (e.g., FIG. 24, ¶ [0304] At step 2410, a wireless device may receive (e.g., at or after time TO) one or more configuration messages from the base station… The one or more first configuration messages may comprise/indicate configuration parameters of one or more of: PUCCH resources, RACH configurations one or more BSR configurations, a plurality of SRs configurations, and/or a plurality of configured grant configurations. The second configuration messages may comprise/indicate one or more configuration parameters facilitating and/or managing determination (e.g., calculation) of propagation delay and/or TA (e.g., at the wireless device). The second configuration messages may comprise: one or more satellite ephemeris parameters, one or more common delay (e.g., network-controlled common delay) parameters, one or more TA parameters, one or more reference points, one or more validity periods (also referred to as validity windows, validation periods, and/or validation windows), one or more timing offset parameters, and/or one or more TA margins. The one or more third configuration messages may comprise one or more TA reporting configuration parameters; e.g., ¶ [0315] The wireless device may start (e.g., restart) the second validity period, for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving/reading new satellite ephemeris parameters. The wireless device may start (e.g., restart) the third validity period, for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) reading/receiving new common TA parameters and/or a new common TA. The wireless device may start (e.g., restart) the first validity period, for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) acquiring a new location information of the wireless device using GNSS data; e.g. ¶ [0316] The wireless device may acquire updated satellite ephemeris information based on (e.g., in response to or after) determining that the second validity period is expired. The wireless device may acquire an updated common TA, for example, based on (e.g., in response to or after) determining that the third validity period is expired. The wireless device may acquire an updated GNSS location information, for example, based on (e.g., in response to or after) determining that the first validity period/window is expired).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, parameters including ephemeris information and a common timing advance, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of TA validation information for validating the ephemeris information or the common TA, using the TA validation information, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 14, Wu in view of Ye in further view of K. Dashtaki discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 13.
Wu in view of Ye does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to validate the ephemeris information or the common TA, are configured to use the TA validation information includes using the TA validation information to validate an epoch time or a validity duration of the ephemeris information or the common TA for CG-SDT based at least in part on one or more of a location of the UE or a timer.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the one or more processors, to validate the ephemeris information or the common TA, are configured to use the TA validation information includes using the TA validation information to validate an epoch time or a validity duration of the ephemeris information or the common TA for CG-SDT based at least in part on one or more of a location of the UE or a timer (e.g., ¶ [0312] The satellite ephemeris parameters may comprise the satellite ephemeris information (e.g., data), an epoch time for the satellite ephemeris information, a second validity period, and/or one or more drift rates corresponding to the satellite ephemeris information… The wireless device may use the satellite ephemeris parameters to determine (e.g., measure/calculate/maintain) movement pattern of the satellite, determine (e.g., estimate/measure) the service link delay, and/or to adjust the current TA value (e.g., via the open-loop TA procedure/control)… The satellite ephemeris information may be configured in one or more satellite ephemeris formats; e.g., ¶ [0313] The wireless device may determine (e.g., maintain/calculate/update) the propagation delay (e.g., the service link delay or the open-loop TA value). The determination may be based on the one or more satellite ephemeris parameters (e.g., the one or more drift rates). The second validity period may indicate the validity time of the ephemeris (e.g., satellite ephemeris) parameters; e.g., ¶ [0360] The current TA value may be determined as invalid, for example, based on determining that the second validity period is configured, the second validity period has expired, and new satellite ephemeris parameters is not available (e.g., has not been acquired). The current TA value may be determined as invalid, for example, based on determining that the third validity period is configured, the third validity period has expired, and new common TA parameters is not available. The current TA value may be determined as invalid, for example, based on determining that the first validity period is being configured, the first validity period has expired, and new GNSS-acquired position is not available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, parameters including ephemeris information and a common timing advance, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of validating the ephemeris information or the common TA, using the TA validation information to validate an epoch time or a validity duration of the ephemeris information or the common TA for CG-SDT based at least in part on one or more of a location of the UE or a timer, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 38, Wu in view of Ye discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 34.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include ephemeris information and a common timing advance (TA), and wherein the system information includes TA validation information for validating a validity duration of the ephemeris information or the common TA.
Ye discloses wherein the parameters include ephemeris information and a common timing advance (TA) (e.g., ¶ [0120] The UE specific TA component can be the TA between the UE and the satellite, measured by the UE 110 based on the UE 110 and the satellite's location, so is calculated by UE's global navigation satellite system (GNSS) location and a satellite ephemeris of satellite 160. The common TA_b can be broadcast by the network, which indicates the TA between the satellite 160 and the timing reference point that can be between the satellite 160 and the gNB 120. The common TA drifting rate_b can also be broadcast by network, which indicates the changing of this common TA. In NTN the satellite 160 can be moving and the TA between the satellite 160 and the gNB 120 could also be changing from time to time; this can be accounted for in the TA for the RAR window offset by this common TA drifting rate component based on these moving factors. The delta t (At) can be the time gap between the last (common TA drifting rate_b) reception or transmission time and the current time. As such, the TA could be based on or derived to account any one or all of these components or effects).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of parameters including ephemeris information and a common timing advance, as disclosed by Ye. The motivation to combine would have been to support beam failure recovery timing in a non-terrestrial network (Ye: ¶ [0001]).
Wu in view of Ye does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the ephemeris information or the common TA using the TA validation information.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the ephemeris information or the common TA using the TA validation information (e.g., FIG. 24, ¶ [0304] At step 2410, a wireless device may receive (e.g., at or after time TO) one or more configuration messages from the base station… The one or more first configuration messages may comprise/indicate configuration parameters of one or more of: PUCCH resources, RACH configurations one or more BSR configurations, a plurality of SRs configurations, and/or a plurality of configured grant configurations. The second configuration messages may comprise/indicate one or more configuration parameters facilitating and/or managing determination (e.g., calculation) of propagation delay and/or TA (e.g., at the wireless device). The second configuration messages may comprise: one or more satellite ephemeris parameters, one or more common delay (e.g., network-controlled common delay) parameters, one or more TA parameters, one or more reference points, one or more validity periods (also referred to as validity windows, validation periods, and/or validation windows), one or more timing offset parameters, and/or one or more TA margins. The one or more third configuration messages may comprise one or more TA reporting configuration parameters; e.g., ¶ [0315] The wireless device may start (e.g., restart) the second validity period, for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) receiving/reading new satellite ephemeris parameters. The wireless device may start (e.g., restart) the third validity period, for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) reading/receiving new common TA parameters and/or a new common TA. The wireless device may start (e.g., restart) the first validity period, for example, based on (e.g., after or in response to) acquiring a new location information of the wireless device using GNSS data; e.g. ¶ [0316] The wireless device may acquire updated satellite ephemeris information based on (e.g., in response to or after) determining that the second validity period is expired. The wireless device may acquire an updated common TA, for example, based on (e.g., in response to or after) determining that the third validity period is expired. The wireless device may acquire an updated GNSS location information, for example, based on (e.g., in response to or after) determining that the first validity period/window is expired).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, parameters including ephemeris information and a common timing advance, as disclosed by Wu in view of Ye, with the disclosure of TA validation information for validating the ephemeris information or the common TA, using the TA validation information, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Jiang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240205722 A1 (hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding Claim 15, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include a parameter to disable a hybrid automatic repeat request CG-SDT process on the NTN.
Jiang discloses wherein the parameters include a parameter to disable a hybrid automatic repeat request CG-SDT process on the NTN (e.g., ¶ [0095] If the HARQ feedback function is disabled, the receiving side does not provide HARQ feedback in response to the sending side completing data transmission. Also, for NTN, people are further researching the blind retransmission function for HARQ with the feedback function disabled. If the blind retransmission function is enabled, the sending side automatically performs one or more blind retransmissions of the data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of a parameter to disable a hybrid automatic repeat request CG-SDT process on the NTN, as disclosed by Jiang. The motivation to combine would have been to support SDT in NTN (Jiang: ¶ [0003]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Xu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250081063 A1 (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 17, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose receiving an indication of a time offset that is cell-specific or UE-specific, and wherein the parameters include a cell stop time during which a serving cell is valid for CG-SDT on the NTN, and the UE is restricted from transmitting a CG-SDT on the NTN after an end of the cell stop time minus the time offset.
Xu discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive an indication of a time offset that is cell-specific or UE-specific, and wherein the parameters include a cell stop time during which a serving cell is valid for CG-SDT on the NTN, and the UE is restricted from transmitting a CG-SDT on the NTN after an end of the cell stop time minus the time offset (e.g., ¶ [0015] In some embodiments, determining the second network coverage interruption prediction includes: determining a start time of network coverage interruption based on at least one of: a cell-specific stop serving time of the serving access node; a UE-specific stop serving time of a possible serving access node; an ephemeris of a cell-specific serving access node and a cell edge of a cell managed by the cell-specific serving access node; or an ephemeris of a UE-specific possible serving access node and a UE-specific cell edge a cell managed by the UE-specific possible serving access node; and/or determining an end time of network coverage interruption based on at least one of: a cell-specific start serving time of an upcoming access node; a UE-specific start serving time of the upcoming access node; an ephemeris of a cell-specific serving access node and a cell edge of a cell managed by the cell-specific serving access node; or an ephemeris of a UE-specific possible serving access node and a UE-specific cell edge of a cell managed by the UE-specific possible serving access node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of receiving an indication of a time offset that is cell-specific or UE-specific, and a cell stop time during which a serving cell is valid for CG-SDT on the NTN, and the UE is restricted from transmitting a CG-SDT on the NTN during a period, as disclosed by Xu. The motivation to combine would have been determining network coverage interruption prediction (Xu: ¶ [0001]).
Claims 18, 19, 31, 33, 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of K. Dashtaki.
Regarding Claim 18, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses parameters included in the CG-SDT configuration, common to multiple configurations or per configuration, and the parameters may be related to timing and/or associated with beam/signal quality (e.g., ¶ [0030] at least the following parameters may be included in the CG-SDT configuration: the new TA timer in RRC_INACTIVE, the RSRP change threshold for TA validation mechanism in SDT, and/or the SSB RSRP threshold for beam selection (i.e., UE selects the beam and associated CG resource for data transmission). These parameters may or may not be common for multiple CG-SDT configurations or may be per CG-SDT configuration [the network device sending the signal may be a satellite node (e.g., FIG. 5A, ¶ [0056])]).
Explicit disclosure of parameters that include a cell parameter configured for CG-SDT on the NTN or a satellite parameter configured for CG-SDT on the NTN may be seen in K. Dashtaki.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the parameters include a cell parameter configured for CG-SDT on the NTN or a satellite parameter configured for CG-SDT on the NTN (e.g., FIG. 24, ¶ [0304] [0312] wireless device may receive (e.g., at or after time TO) one or more configuration messages from the base station… comprising one or more satellite (ephemeris) parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of a satellite parameter configured for CG-SDT on the NTN, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 19, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include a set of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of cells.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the parameters include a set of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of cells (e.g., ¶ [0096] the wireless device may be assigned/provided/configured with a RAN notification area. A RAN notification area may comprise one or more cell identities (e.g., a list of RAIs and/or a list of TAIs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of cells, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 31, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN within one or more time windows.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN within one or more time windows (e.g., ¶ [0304] At step 2410, a wireless device may receive (e.g., at or after time TO) one or more configuration messages from the base station. The one or more configuration messages may comprise: one or more first configuration messages, one or more second configuration messages, and/or one or more third configuration messages… n delay (e.g., network-controlled common delay) parameters, one or more TA parameters, one or more reference points, one or more validity periods (also referred to as validity windows, validation periods, and/or validation windows).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN within one or more time windows, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 33, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose receive a timing advance command (TAC); maintain a TAC-based closed-loop timing advance during subsequent uplink transmissions; and reset the closed-loop timing advance in a next transmission occasion of CG-SDT on the NTN.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive a timing advance command (TAC); maintain a TAC-based closed-loop timing advance during subsequent uplink transmissions; and reset the closed-loop timing advance in a next transmission occasion of CG-SDT on the NTN (e.g., ¶ [0310] Transmissions from different wireless devices in a cell/beam may be time-aligned at the base station and/or the NTN node (e.g., satellite) to maintain uplink orthogonality. Time alignment/synchronization may be achieved by using different TA values at different wireless devices to compensate for their different propagation delays (e.g. RTDs). The wireless device may determine (e.g., calculate/measure/maintain) a current TA value (and/or a round trip transmission delay (RTT) between the wireless device and base station), for example, based on a combination of a closed-loop TA procedure/control and an open-loop TA procedure/control. The closed-loop TA procedure/control may be based on receiving a TA (e.g., an absolute TA) command. The TA command may be received from the base station. The TA command may be received from a MAC CE or a Msg2 1312 (or MsgB 1332). The wireless device may determine (e.g., maintain/calculate) a closed-loop TA value based on (e.g., in response to or after) receiving each TA command MAC CE. The open-loop TA procedure/control may be based on GNSS-acquired position of the wireless device and/or the second configuration messages. Combining of the closed-loop TA control/procedure and the open-loop TA procedure/control may comprise resetting the closed-loop TA value (e.g., accumulative closed-loop TA value) to a predefined value (e.g., 0), for example, if a new GNSS-acquired position becomes available and/or if the wireless device acquires (e.g., reads) the second configuration messages. Combining of the closed-loop TA control and the open-loop TA control may comprise adding the open-loop TA value (e.g., derived/calculated based on the open-loop TA procedure/control) to the closed-loop TA value (or a portion of the closed-loop TA procedure/control)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of uplink transmission with a timing advance adjustment, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 40, Wu discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 34.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include a set of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of cells.
K. Dashtaki discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to, after reception of the SDT, receive a subsequent uplink transmission with a timing advance adjustment (e.g., ¶ [0227] Adjustment of the current TA value by a positive amount (e.g., received via the TAC MAC CE) may indicate advancing the uplink transmission timing for the TAG by a corresponding amount. Adjustment of the current TA value by a negative amount (received via the TAC MAC CE) may indicate delaying the uplink transmission timing for the TAG by a corresponding amount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of uplink transmission with a timing advance adjustment, as disclosed by K. Dashtaki. The motivation to combine would have been to reduce overhead and/or reduced delay in TA reporting information transmission (K. Dashtaki: ¶ [0004]).
Regarding Claim 41, Wu discloses all the limitations of the network entity of claim 34.
The functional limitations of Claim 41 are similar to claim 33. Therefore, the reasoning used in the examination of claim 33 shall be applied to claim 41.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Cheng et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 20220046498 A1 (hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the parameters include a set of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of satellites.
Cheng discloses wherein the parameters include a set of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of satellites (e.g., ¶ [0173] In some implementations, the NTN-SMTC3 field may include NTN related information, such as satellite IDs (e.g., a satellite ID may contain a list of cell IDs to imply these cells are provided via the same satellite), cell-specific UL or DL Doppler shift information (e.g., a satellite may pre-compensate DL Doppler shift and post-compensate UL Doppler shift based on satellite ephemeris and the service area; this information may broadcast to UE to facilitate cell searching or random access procedures), cell-specific propagation delay or cell-specific timing advanced value, satellite elevation angles, satellite ephemeris, gateway location, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of CG-SDT parameters associated with a configured list of satellites, as disclosed by Cheng. The motivation to combine would have been to enhance measurement timing configuration for performing measurements in NTN (Cheng: ¶ [0002]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Lin, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220124520 A1.
Regarding Claim 25, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses TA validation mechanism in SDT (e.g., ¶ [0030]), but does not expressly disclose wherein the system information includes cell or satellite validation information for validating a cell or satellite for CG-SDT, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the cell or satellite for CG-SDT using the cell or satellite validation information.
Lin discloses wherein the system information includes cell or satellite validation information for validating a cell or satellite for CG-SDT, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to validate the cell or satellite for CG-SDT using the cell or satellite validation information (e.g., ¶ [0010] determining whether the camping cell satisfies a validation condition before triggering a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, wherein the CG configuration comprises a list of CG configurations associated with a list of cells; and utilizing the CG resource for the SDT procedure when the validation condition has been determined as being satisfied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of cell or satellite validation information for validating a cell or satellite for CG-SDT, as disclosed by Lin. The motivation to combine would have been to preconfigure a resource for small data transmission in an inactive state (Lin: ¶ [0002]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Jia et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240284371 A1 (hereinafter Jia).
Regarding Claim 32, Wu discloses all the limitations of the UE of claim 1.
Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to, after transmission of the SDT, apply a timing advance adjustment to a subsequent uplink transmission.
Jia discloses wherein the one or more processors are configured to, after transmission of the SDT, apply a timing advance adjustment to a subsequent uplink transmission (e.g., ¶ [0260] FIG. 22 is a schematic diagram of the apparatus for adjusting uplink timing of the embodiment of this disclosure. As shown in FIG. 22, the apparatus 2200 for adjusting uplink timing includes: [0261] a transmitting unit 2201 configured to transmit first information including a first TA value and/or a fourth TA value, the first information enabling a terminal equipment to, by using the first TA value, adjust timing of first uplink transmission transmitted by the terminal equipment to the network device via an intermediate device, and/or enabling the intermediate device to, by using the fourth TA value, adjust timing of uplink transmission transmitted by the terminal equipment to the network device via the intermediate device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to combine the disclosure of UE-specific CG-SDT configuration with parameters specific to CG-SDT in a non-terrestrial network, as disclosed by Wu, with the disclosure of applying a timing advance adjustment to a uplink transmission, as disclosed by Jia. The motivation to combine would have been to enhance uplink coverage (Jia: ¶ [0043]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 24, 26-29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 16, dependent from claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation wherein the parameters include a polarization parameter for CG-SDT on the NTN.
Regarding Claim 24, dependent from claim 23, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitations to validate the link quality for CG-SDT on the NTN using a measurement threshold for CG-SDT that has a measurement duration that is different than a measurement duration for a measurement threshold for CG-SDT on a terrestrial network or a power class threshold for CG-SDT on the NTN that is different than a power class threshold for CG-SDT on the terrestrial network.
Regarding Claim 26, dependent from claim 25, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation validate a cell stop time during which a serving cell is valid for CG-SDT on the NTN using the cell or satellite validation information.
Claim 27, dependent from claim 26, is also objected.
Regarding Claim 28, dependent from claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation skip validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN based at least in part on the CG-SDT configuration.
Regarding Claim 29, dependent from claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation skip validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN based at least in part on a newly reselected cell belonging to a same satellite as a previous cell and having common criteria with the previous cell.
Regarding Claim 30, dependent from claim 25, the prior art of record fails to disclose individually or in combination or render obvious the limitation skip validation of the parameters for CG-SDT on the NTN based at least in part on a satellite type associated with a cell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached "Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/VLADISLAV Y AGUREYEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2471