DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/26 have been fully considered but they are moot as they do not apply to the current grounds of rejection made in view of amendments to the claims.
Response to Amendments
Amendments to the claims overcome the rejection of claim 9 under 35 USC 112(b) set forth in the prior Office action. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
The rejections of claims 1-16 under 35 USC 103 set forth in the prior Office action are withdrawn in order to present new rejections in view of amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 14, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160177489 by Ahn et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200392664 by Choi et al.
As to claim 1, Ahn teaches a laundry treating apparatus comprising a cabinet 11 (fig. 1); an inner casing 11 defining treating space and having an opening in a front surface; a machine room 12 inside the cabinet and below the inner casing; a heat supply unit 110 inside the machine room and including an evaporator, a condenser, and a compressor 160 (fig. 2, para. 36); a circulation duct 111 inside the machine room to accommodate the evaporator and condenser and provide a passage for air to circulate (fig. 3, para. 37); a base 400 inside the machine room and supporting a lower portion of the circulation duct (fig. 3); and a steam supply unit 130 inside the machine room (fig. 3).
Ahn does not explicitly teach that its circulation duct has an open top surface. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Ahn such that its circulation duct has an open top surface. It has been held that making a structure separable would have been obvious if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access (see MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)); here, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have the top of the circulation duct 111 of Ahn to be separable such that the duct has an open top surface so that access for installation and/or service of the evaporator and condenser may be performed. Choi teaches a circulation duct 210 with an open top to accommodate an evaporator and condenser (fig. 5, para. 116), which demonstrates that such configuration was known and would have provided guidance to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an open top to provide access for installation and/or service.
Ahn also does not teach that its steam supply unit is stacked above at least a portion of the compressor – Ahn appears to teach that its steam supply unit is next to and adjacent the compressor (figs. 2 and 3). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized to configure the steam supply unit to be stacked above the compressor. It has been held that a rearrangement of parts would be an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Here, the arrangement and spatial orientation of the components in the machine room would have been an obvious design choice so long as the arrangement would fulfill the intended function of the components. The steam supply unit may be stacked above the compressor and still function as intended, and such modification would not materially change the function of other components arranged to accommodate the steam supply unit’s placement.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 2, Ahn teaches that the base includes a compressor 160 installation portion and that the steam supply unit 130 is disposed upwardly of the base (figs. 2 and 3).
As to claim 14, Ahn teaches a fan installation portion (for fan 140, fig. 3) coupled to the circulation duct 111, wherein the steam supply unit 130 overlaps at least a portion of the fan installation portion in a width direction of the base (figs. 2 and 3).
As to claim 15, Ahn teaches that the fan installation portion includes a blower fan 140 (fig. 3); a fan housing coupled to the circulation duct 111 and accommodating the blower 140; and a discharge duct 150 extending from the fan housing toward the inner casing, wherein the steam supply unit 130 overlaps at least a portion of the discharge duct 150 in a width direction (fig. 2).
As to claim 17, Ahn does not teach that the base is (directly) in contact with a lower portion of the circulation duct – the circulation duct is mounted on a support that extends upward from the base (fig. 3). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to arrange the components in the machine room so that the base is in connect with a portion of the circulation duct. It has been held that a rearrangement of parts would be an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Here, the arrangement and spatial orientation of the components in the machine room would have been an obvious design choice so long as the arrangement would fulfill the intended function of the components. The base may be in contact with a portion of the circulation duct and still function as intended, and such modification would not materially change the function of other components arranged to accommodate the circulation duct’s placement.
As to claim 18, Ahn teaches that the compressor is in contact with a first portion of the base (figs. 2 and 3), but does not teach that the steam supply unit is disposed directly above the first portion of the base. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to arrange the steam supply unit above the first portion. It has been held that a rearrangement of parts would be an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Here, the arrangement and spatial orientation of the components in the machine room would have been an obvious design choice so long as the arrangement would fulfill the intended function of the components. The steam supply unit may be above a first portion of the base of which the compressor is in contact with and the steam supply unit and the compressor would still function as intended, and such modification would not materially change the function of other components arranged to accommodate the placement of the steam supply unit and compressor.
Claims 3, 4, and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160177489 by Ahn et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200392664 by Choi et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160090683 by Lyu.
As to claim 3, Ahn teaches that its steam supply unit 130 has a casing that is positioned upwardly of the compressor (figs. 2 and 3), but does not disclose particular details of how the steam supply unit is fixed within the apparatus, and thus does not teach an installation bracket surrounding at least a portion of the steam supply unit casing. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have the claimed installation bracket. Lyu teaches a laundry treating apparatus having a steam supply unit 7 having a casing 71, and an installation bracket 8 that surrounds at least a portion of the steam supply unit casing (fig. 3). Lyu teaches that the installation bracket serves to secure the steam generator casing to a support, and further teaches that its particular bracket allows the casing to be spaced apart from a support to prevent deformation of the support due to heat and also to prevent an increase in time required to generate steam due to heat loss (paras. 32-33). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include an installation bracket with the apparatus taught by Ahn in order to support the steam supply unit casing and to provide spacing to manage heat loss and transfer, as taught by Lyu. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 4, upon the obvious modification to have an installation bracket, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious that it may be on a side surface facing the compressor. As shown by Ahn, a side piece of the bracket taught by Lyu, upon installation to the steam supply unit casing of Ahn, would face its compressor (figs. 2 and 3). Furthermore, it has been held that a rearrangement of parts that would not have modified the operation of a device would be an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Here, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the arrangement of the steam supply unit and compressor in relation to each other would have been an obvious matter of design choice.
As to claim 7, Lyu teaches that its installation bracket 8 includes a lower panel and side panels (fig. 3). While Lyu depicts a vertical orientation, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious that the bracket would be horizontally oriented to support the steam supply unit of Ahn (see fig. 2), and as such the bracket of Lyu would have a lower panel beneath the steam supply unit casing and side panels positioned on both sides casing.
As to claim 8, Lyu teaches that its bracket includes fixing clips (note attachment structures, fig. 3) extending from the side panels (note attachment portion on 711 to fix to the side panels) coupled to the steam supply unit casing to prevent the casing from being separated from the bracket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have further recognized as obvious to have fixing clips in order to prevent separation, which would have readily been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as undesirable.
As to claim 9, Lyu teaches that the installation bracket includes a bracket recessed portion 81 of the lower panel that is recessed away and spaced apart from the steam supply casing (fig. 3) for the purpose of spacing the casing from a support to prevent deformation or heat loss (paras. 32-33).
As to claim 10, a base cover would be coupled to the circulation duct to shield an open top surface of the duct to define a passage for air to circulate (see Ahn, fig. 3). It has been held that a rearrangement of parts that would not have modified the operation of a device would be an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Here, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having the steam supply unit installed on the base cover would have been an obvious matter of design choice.
As to claim 11, upon the obvious modification to have a base cover, it would include a shielding body for shielding a portion of the open top surface (see Ahn, fig. 2) and an inlet body extending from the shielding body (fig. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have a fixing body on the shielding body in order to fix the steam supply unit.
As to claim 12, Lyu teaches that its installation bracket 8 includes a lower panel and side panels (fig. 3). While Lyu depicts a vertical orientation, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious that the bracket would be horizontally oriented to support the steam supply unit of Ahn (see fig. 2), and as such the bracket of Lyu would have a lower panel beneath the steam supply unit casing and side panels positioned on both sides casing. Lyu further teaches a bracket fixing portion extending from the lower panel away from the steam supply unit casing that would be coupled to a fixing portion (fig. 3).
As to claim 13, Lyu teaches that its installation bracket 8 has a hole that extending through the lower panel and the steam supply unit casing includes a casing body that defines a space for storing water and a protrusion that is inserted into the bracket hole (fig. 3).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160177489 by Ahn et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200392664 by Choi et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160090683 by Lyu as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of KR20130134488A by Doh et al.
As to claims 5 and 6, Lyu is silent as to a material of its installation bracket, and thus does not teach that it is made of a non-combustible material, in particular a metal material. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to make the bracket out of metal. Doh teaches that a bracket for a steam unit ideally is made of metal so that it may withstand heat of the casing (para. 33). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the apparatus taught by Ahn to have an installation bracket made of metal based on the teachings of Doh. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160177489 by Ahn et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200392664 by Choi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN105484000A by Qian et al.
As to claim 16, Ahn does not teach that the circulation duct and base are integrally formed with each other. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that forming components integrally has benefits of reduced cost, a simple and compact structure, and high production efficiency (see Qian, para. 9). Also, making the components would have been an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to form the circulation duct and base integrally in order to realize the advantages taught by Qian. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711