DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendments
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 2/10/2026. Claims 1, 2, and 4-20 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 12, 14, and 18-20 have been amended.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-6, and 10-20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of copending Application No 18/714,819 is withdrawn in response to the Terminal Disclaimer filed 2/10/2026.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-2, 14, 16, and 18 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No 18/714,828 is withdrawn in response to the Terminal Disclaimer filed 2/10/2026.
The rejections of claims 5-9, 11, 12, and 18-21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite are withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 14-21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (KR 2020-0058772; cited by Applicant). Claim(s) 13 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 2020-0058772; cited by Applicant). Claim 1 has been amended, and Applicant argues that Seo does not disclose, or make obvious, “wherein the clothes hanger includes: a hook unit seated on the holder, and a main body provided below the hook unit and on which the clothes are hung, wherein the holder includes: a hanger unit on which the hook unit is seated; and a hanger support provided to support the main body.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Seo is considered to meet the claims because: “the hook unit seated on the holder” is broadly and reasonably met by the groove of the second connection part (252); “the main body provided below the hook unit and on which the clothes are hung” is broadly and reasonably met by the portion of the hanger body below the groove of the second connection part (see 110, 110a/110b), “the hanger unit on which the hook unit is seated” is broadly and reasonably met by the protrusion forming the first connection part (251); and “the hanger support provided to support the main body” is broadly and reasonably met by the surface of the bottom of the nozzle 220 that corresponds in shape to the neck portion (Figure 9: bottom portion of 220 below 251 that contacts the hanger 100 and neck portion 110a).
In response to Applicant’s amendments, new/modified ground(s) of rejection are applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 10, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al. (KR 2020-0058772; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a laundry treatment apparatus comprising: a cabinet (10) including an opening formed at a front side thereof (at 20); a chamber provided in the cabinet to accommodate clothes therein (11); a door rotatably coupled to the cabinet to open and close the opening (20); a machine room provided below the chamber to generate hot air or steam supplied to an inside of the chamber (13, 30, 40); a holder (200) exposed to the inside of the chamber and allowing a clothes hanger on which the clothes are hung to be seated thereon (100); and a drive unit fixed to the cabinet or the chamber and provided to shake the holder (300/310), wherein the clothes hanger includes: a hook unit seated on the holder (252); and a main body provided below the hook unit and on which the clothes are hung (see portion of the hanger body below the groove of the second connection part at 110, 110a/110b), and wherein the holder includes: a hanger unit on which the hook unit is seated (the protrusion forming the first connection part 251); and a hanger support provided to support the main body (the surface of the bottom of the nozzle 220 below 251 that corresponds in shape to the neck portion 110a).
Regarding claim 2, Seo further discloses wherein the hanger support is provided to support the main body the surface-contacting at least one surface of the main body (see portion of the hanger body below the groove of the second connection part at 110, 110a/110b, and the bottom of the nozzle 220 below 251 that corresponds in shape to the neck portion 110a).
Regarding claims 4-6, and 10, Seo further discloses wherein the holder includes: a holding plate supported by the drive unit and extending toward a bottom surface of the chamber (221; also consider 321 or 201b), wherein the hanger unit coupled to the holding plate allows the clothes or the clothes hanger to be seated thereon (251), and wherein the hanger support is spaced apart from the hanger unit and provided to support one surface of the main body (Figure 9: bottom portion of 221 below 251 that is contacting the hanger 100); wherein: the hanger unit is coupled to one surface of the holding plate (221, 251); and the hanger support is coupled to another surface of the holding plate (Figure 9: bottom portion of 221 below 251 that is contacting the hanger 100); wherein: the hanger support is coupled to the holding plate (see 221 and the surface of the bottom portion of 220 contacting the hanger 100); wherein: the hanger support is integrally provided with the holding plate, and is disposed below the hanger unit (Figure 9: see 221 and the surface of the bottom of 220 below 251 that is contacting the hanger 100).
Regarding claim 14, Seo discloses a laundry treatment apparatus comprising: a cabinet (10) including an opening formed at a front side thereof (at 20); a chamber provided in the cabinet to accommodate clothes therein (11); a door rotatably coupled to the cabinet to open and close the opening (20); a machine room provided below the chamber to generate hot air or steam supplied to an inside of the chamber (13, 30, 40); a holder (200) exposed to the inside of the chamber and allowing the clothes or a clothes hanger to be seated thereon (100);
and a drive unit fixed to the cabinet or the chamber to support the holder and allowing the holder to perform a pendulum motion or a reciprocating motion (300/310; note the tilting motion broadly and reasonably includes a reciprocating motion), wherein the clothes hanger includes: a hook unit seated on the holder (252); and a main body provided below the hook unit and allowing the clothes to be hung thereon (see portion of the hanger body below the groove of the second connection part at 110, 110a/110b), and wherein the holder includes: a hanger unit on which the hook unit is seated (the protrusion forming the first connection part 251); and a hanger support provided to support the main body (the surface of the bottom of the nozzle 220 below 251 that corresponds in shape to the neck portion 110a), and wherein the hanger support (251) is configured to guide the clothes hanger to move integrally with the holder (Figure 5: 250).
Regarding claims 15-18, Seo further discloses wherein: the hanger support supports the clothes hanger to push the clothes hanger in a moving direction of the holder (250/251, see motor 310); wherein: the hanger support supports the clothes hanger so as to be temporarily spaced apart from the clothes hanger (250/251; the limitation is considered to be met since the hanger 100 may be temporarily removed by a user); wherein: the hanger support is provided to restrict the clothes hanger from moving independently within the holder (see corresponding shapes of 251 and 252, which is considered to restrict the independent movement when connected); wherein: the hanger support supports at least one surface of the clothes hanger (see adjacent elements 251 contacting 252).
Regarding claims 19-20, Seo discloses a laundry treatment apparatus comprising: a cabinet (10) including an opening formed at a front side thereof (at 20); a chamber provided in the cabinet to accommodate clothes therein (11); a door rotatably coupled to the cabinet to open and close the opening (20); a machine room provided below the chamber to generate hot air or steam supplied to an inside of the chamber (13, 30, 40); a motor fixed to the cabinet or the chamber (310); a rotary shaft provided to rotate by the motor (311); a holder exposed to the inside of the chamber and configured to allow the clothes or a clothes hanger to be seated thereon and configured to perform a reciprocating motion or a pendulum motion by the rotary shaft (200; note the tilting motion broadly and reasonably includes a reciprocating motion),
wherein the clothes hanger includes: a hook unit seated on the holder (252); and a main body provided below the hook unit and allowing the clothes to be hung thereon (see portion of the hanger body below the groove of the second connection part at 110, 110a/110b), wherein the holder includes: a hanger unit on which the hook unit is seated (the protrusion forming the first connection part 251); and a hanger support provided to support the main body (the surface of the bottom of the nozzle 220 below 251 that corresponds in shape to the neck portion 110a), and, wherein the hanger unit is upwardly spaced apart a predetermined distance from a lower end of the holder (251 is higher than a bottom of 220); wherein the hanger support is disposed lower than the hanger unit (Figure 9: portion of 220 below 251 that is contacting the hanger 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (KR 2020-0058772; cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 13, Seo is relied upon as above and further discloses wherein the hanger support includes: a hanger support member (Figures 5 and 9: bottom portion of 220 below 251) and a holding plate (Figures 4, 5: 321), but does not appear to expressly disclose the width limitation. It is established that a mere change in size or proportion is obvious to a PHOSITA. MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A) – Changes in Size/Proportion. The Figures of Seo depict the width of the bottom portion of 220, in a direction extending into the page, as being larger than the width of the plate 321, when viewed in the same direction. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, who views the figures of Seo, to use dimensions such as depicted in the figures, and to have wherein the hanger support member has a larger width than the holding plate, and the results would be predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 11, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, a laundry treatment apparatus as defined by the combination of claims 1, 4, 6, and 7; or the combination of claims 1, 4, 10, and 11. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Seo et al. (KR 2020-0058772), to further include wherein the hanger support includes: a support body coupled to the holding plate and having (i) an upper portion facing the hanger unit and (ii) a lower portion disposed below the hanger unit; and a support member coupled to the support body to support a side surface of the clothes hanger. There is no apparent teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, Seo et al. (KR 2020-0058772), to further include wherein the hanger support includes: a support extension unit integrally formed with the holding plate by bending a lower portion of the holding plate, the support extension unit being configured to support a side surface of the clothes hanger.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711