DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15 to recite a method for treating dysregulation of gastric acid secretion. Applicant canceled claims 3 and 11-14.
The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C.§ 112 is withdrawn in view of the biological deposit statement filed on 05/12/2026.
The rejection of claims 1-10 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejection of claims 1-15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
New Rejection Necessitated by the Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is used in the form of a solid or liquid bacterial”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how a bacterial cell can be in liquid form. Applicant may consider amending the claim to recite “wherein the composition is in the form of a solid or a liquid bacterial preparation”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (CN 110964655 A, of record in IDS) as evidenced by McColl (British Medical Bulletin 54.1 (1998): 121-138).
Regarding claims 1-2, Hong teaches the administration of Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 with a deposit number of CGMCC No. 15650 to a subject to inhibit the growth of Helicobacter pylori (Title, Example 3, Table 13, Summary of the Invention paragraph 2, page 3). Evidentiary reference McColl reports that H. pylori gastritis alters gastric acid secretion (abstract). It is thus understood that the subject taught in Hong have a dysregulation of gastric acid secretion.
Hong does not teach measuring the gastric acid secretion. However, since Hong teaches the claimed composition and the same population, then the limitations of treating dysregulation of gastric acid secretion and bidirectionally regulating the amount of gastric acid secretion will also be present when the teachings of Hong are practiced. Regarding claims 4, 7, and 9-10, Hong teaches administering the strain Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 CGMCC 15650 as a food or feed "fermented milk, cheese, milk-containing beverage, solid beverage, milk and other common food or healthcare food" (Example 4) and as a pharmaceutical comprising excipients, diluents, fillers, and absorption enhancers (Summary of the Invention paragraph 13, page 3).
Regarding claims 5-6, Hong teaches that Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 is either a solid powder in live or inactivated form, or a liquid bacterial formulation in either live or inactivated form (page 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Hong teaches a dose of 2.5x109 CFU/ml (Example 3).
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (CN 110964655 A, of record in IDS) in view of Barbuti (Gastroenterology (New York, N.Y. 1943), 2014-05, Vol.146 (5), p.S-854-S-854).
The limitation of a subject in need of treating dysregulation of gastric acid secretion is interpreted as comprising subject with functional dyspepsia as disclosed by Applicant in Figures 1-5.
Regrading claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15, Hong teaches the administration of Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 with a deposit number of CGMCC No. 15650 in order to promote the growth of intestinal bifidobacteria and lactobacilli, inhibiting the growth of Vibrio desulfides and/or Enterobacteria in the intestines, and to regulate effect the gastrointestinal flora. Hong teaches that this bacterium has good resistance to stomach acid and intestinal juice. Hong does not teach administering the bacterium to a subject with functional dyspepsia.
However, Barbuti teaches administering a composition comprising Bifidobacterium lactis B420 to treat dyspepsia with significant clinical improvement and without side effects (para. Tu1846).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer the composition taught by Hong to a subject with dyspepsia, as suggested by Barbuti. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to treat dyspepsia. MPEP 2144.06 II states it is obvious to substitute equivalents know for the same purpose. Since Hong teaches Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 is a probiotic with effect on gastrointestinal flora and has good resistance to stomach acid and intestinal juice, and since Barbuti teaches a correlation between administering a probiotic Bifidobacterium lactis B420 and treating dyspepsia, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/714852 in view of Hong as evidenced by McColl.
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15, copending claim 1 recites a method for protecting cartilage, comprising administering an effective amount of Bifidobacterium lactis having the deposit number of CGMCC No. 15650 to a subject in need thereof.
copending claim 4 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is used in the form of a composition comprises a food composition, a feed composition or a pharmaceutical composition. Copending claim 5 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is used in the form of a solid or liquid bacterial composition and/or the Bifidobacterium lactis is used in the form of live bacteria or inactivated bacteria. Copending claim 6 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is combined with one or more of prebiotics. Copending claim 7 recites wherein the composition is a food composition. Copending claim 8 recites wherein the food is a fermented dairy product, cheese, a dairy beverage, a solid beverage, or milk powder. Copending claim 9 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is taken in an amount of 1.0 x 103 CFU/day to 1.0 x 1012 CFU/day. Copending claim 16 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is taken in an amount of 1.0 x 107 CFU/day to 1.0 x 1011 CFU/day. Copending claims 1, 4-9, and 16 do not recite administering the composition to a subject with dysregulation of gastric acid secretion.
However, Hong teaches the administration of Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 with a deposit number of CGMCC No. 15650 to a subject to inhibit the growth of Helicobacter pylori (Title, Example 3, Table 13, Summary of the Invention paragraph 2, page 3). Evidentiary reference McColl reports that H. pylori gastritis alters gastric acid secretion (abstract). It is thus understood that the subject taught in Hong have a dysregulation of gastric acid secretion. Hong teaches the composition is a pharmaceutical composition comprising excipients, diluents, fillers, and absorption enhancers (Summary of the Invention paragraph 13, page 3). Hong does not teach measuring the gastric acid secretion. However, since Hong teaches the claimed composition and the same population, then the limitations of treating dysregulation of gastric acid secretion and bidirectionally regulating the amount of gastric acid secretion will also be present when the teachings of Hong are practiced.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method recited in copending claims 1, 4-9, and 16 by administering the composition to a subject with H. pylori, as suggested by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to treat H. pylori infection and its related diseases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 13 of copending Application No. 17/778587 in view of Hong as evidenced by McColl.
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15, copending claim 1 recites a method for suppressing bloody stools caused by intestinal inflammation, comprising administering to a subject having bloody stools caused by intestinal inflammation, an effective amount of Bifidobacterium lactis to suppress the bloody stools, wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis has the deposit number CGMCC 15650. Copending claim 2 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium lactis is in a form of solid or liquid bacterial preparation of viable bacteria. Copending claim 13 recites wherein the Bifidobacterium
lactis is in a form of solid or liquid bacterial preparation of dead bacteria. Copending claims 1-2 and 13 do not recite administering the composition to a subject with dysregulation of gastric acid secretion.
However, Hong teaches the administration of Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 with a deposit number of CGMCC No. 15650 to a subject to inhibit the growth of Helicobacter pylori (Title, Example 3, Table 13, Summary of the Invention paragraph 2, page 3). Evidentiary reference McColl reports that H. pylori gastritis alters gastric acid secretion (abstract). It is thus understood that the subject taught by Hong have a dysregulation of gastric acid secretion. Hong teaches the composition is a pharmaceutical composition comprising excipients, diluents, fillers, and absorption enhancers (Summary of the Invention paragraph 13, page 3). Hong teaches administering the strain Bifidobacterium lactis BL-99 CGMCC 15650 as a food or feed "fermented milk, cheese, milk-containing beverage, solid beverage, milk and other common food or healthcare food" (Example 4) and as a pharmaceutical comprising excipients, diluents, fillers, and absorption enhancers (Summary of the Invention paragraph 13, page 3). Hong teaches a dose of 2.5x109 CFU/ml (Example 3). Hong does not teach measuring the gastric acid secretion. However, since Hong teaches the claimed composition and the same population, then the limitations of treating dysregulation of gastric acid secretion and bidirectionally regulating the amount of gastric acid secretion will also be present when the teachings of Hong as practiced.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method recited in copending claims 1-2 and 13 by administering the composition to a subject with H. pylori, as suggested by Hong. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to treat H. pylori infection and its related diseases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699