DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation “air discharge pip” in line 3. Please amend to --- air discharge pipe ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavarretta et al. (US 2022/0056630; hereinafter Cavarretta).
Regarding claim 1, Cavarretta shows a laundry treatment apparatus (1, figs. 1, 2) comprising:
a cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2) defining an appearance of the laundry treatment apparatus (1, figs. 1, 2);
an inner case (3, fig. 1) provided in the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2), the inner case (3, fig. 1) defining a laundry treatment space (interior space of item 3, fig. 1) configured to receive laundry therein and having an opening (opening of item 3 at item 4a, figs. 1, 2) through which the laundry is introduced and taken out;
a machine compartment (compartment below item 3, fig. 1) positioned at a lower portion of the inner case (3, fig. 1) in the cabinet (2, figs. 1, 2);
a heat supply (30, ANNOTATED fig. 1, [0113]) comprising an evaporator (32, fig. 1, [0113]), which is provided in the machine compartment (compartment below item 3, fig. 1) so as to remove moisture from air introduced from the laundry treatment space (interior space of item 3, fig. 1), a condenser (31, fig. 1, [0113]) configured to heat the air introduced from the laundry treatment space (interior space of item 3, fig. 1), and a compressor (33, fig. 1, [0113]) configured to supply compressed refrigerant to the condenser (31, fig. 1, [0113]);
a circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]) provided in the machine compartment (compartment below item 3, fig. 1) and defining a flow channel in which the air in the laundry treatment space (interior space of item 3, fig. 1) is circulated; and
a base (24, figs. 1, 2, ANNOTATED figs. 3, 4) provided in the machine compartment (compartment below item 3, fig. 1) so as to support a lower portion of the circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]),
wherein the circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]) comprises:
a duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) configured to receive the evaporator (32, fig. 1, [0113]) and the condenser (31, fig. 1, [0113]) therein; and
an air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) which extends backwards from the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) to guide air introduced into the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) to an outside of the circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]), and
wherein a diameter of the air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) is smaller than (as shown in figs. 3-5) a width of the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 2, Cavarretta shows wherein the air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) comprises:
an air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) which extends backwards from the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) to guide air in the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4); and
an air discharge pipe (ANNOTATED, fig. 4) which extends backwards to discharge the air in the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) to an outside of the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 4, Cavarretta shows wherein an inside diameter of the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) decreases in a direction in which the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) extends, and an extent (an extent adjacent to air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3232, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) to which the inside diameter of the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) decreases decreases in the direction in which the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) extends.
Regarding claim 5, Cavarretta shows wherein a gradient of an inner surface of the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) relative to a direction in which the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) extends is different (as shown in fig. 4) from a gradient of an inner surface of the air discharge pipe (ANNOTATED, fig. 4) relative to a direction in which the air discharge pipe (ANNOTATED, fig. 4) extends.
Regarding claim 7, Cavarretta shows wherein the circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]) further comprises a heat exchanger installation portion (installation portion of item 28 where item 31 and item 32 dispose, fig. 3) which is provided in the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) and in which the evaporator (32, fig. 1, [0113]) and the condenser (31, fig. 1, [0113]) are installed, and
wherein a length of the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) in a forward/backward direction is less than (ANNOTATED figs. 3, 4) a length of the heat exchanger installation portion (installation portion of item 28 where item 31 and item 32 dispose, fig. 3) in the forward/backward direction.
Regarding claim 10, Cavarretta shows further comprising a fan installation portion (installation portion where item 13 disposes, fig. 3) which is coupled to the air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) so as to allow the inner case (3, fig. 1) to communicate with the circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]) and to circulate air in the laundry treatment space (interior space of item 3, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Cavarretta shows wherein the air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) comprises:
an air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) which extends backwards from the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) to guide air in the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4); and
an air discharge pipe (ANNOTATED, fig. 4) which extends backwards from the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) to discharge the air in the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) to an outside of the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4), and
wherein the fan installation portion (installation portion where item 13 disposes, fig. 3) is coupled to the air discharge pipe (ANNOTATED, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Cavarretta shows wherein the base (24, figs. 1, 2, ANNOTATED figs. 3, 4) comprises a compressor installation portion (installation portion of item 24 where item 33 disposes, fig. 1) configured to provide a space in which the compressor (33, fig. 1, [0113]) is installed, and
wherein the compressor (33, fig. 1, [0113]) is installed to the compressor installation portion (installation portion of item 24 where item 33 disposes, fig. 1) and is disposed so as to overlap the air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) in a width direction (as shown in fig. 4) of the base (24, figs. 1, 2, ANNOTATED figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 14, Cavarretta shows wherein the circulation duct (18, figs. 1, 3, [0111]) and the base (24, figs. 1, 2, ANNOTATED figs. 3, 4) are integrally formed (Cavarretta recites “Preferably, said basement is realized in plastic material and said basement air duct is formed integrally to said basement.”, [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Cavarretta shows wherein the duct body (28, figs. 3, 4) and the air discharge portion (29, figs. 3, 4) are integrally formed (as shown in figs. 3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavarretta as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0191211; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Cavarretta discloses wherein an interior cross-sectional area of the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) decreases (as shown in figs. 3, 4) in a direction in which the air extension pipe (air extension pipe at Q1 and Q2, ANNOTATED fig. 4, fig. 5, which is the same as item 3231, figs. 8, 7, of the instant application) extends.
Cavarretta does not disclose an interior cross-sectional area of the air discharge pip (pipe) increases in a direction in which the air discharge pipe extends.
Kim teaches an interior cross-sectional area of the air discharge pipe (Kim, ANNOTATED figs. 5, 6A) increases (Kim, as shown in figs. 5, 6A) in a direction in which the air discharge pipe (Kim, ANNOTATED figs. 5, 6A) extends.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus of Cavarretta with the interior cross-sectional area of the air discharge pip (pipe) increases in a direction in which the air discharge pipe extends, as taught by Kim, for providing an ease of installing a fan or blower to the air discharge pipe which would result in reducing an installation time. Consequently, manufacturing costs are reduced and thus benefit the consumer.
Regarding claim 6, Cavarretta discloses the limitations of the laundry treatment apparatus of claim 2 above, but does not disclose wherein an inside diameter of a portion at which the air extension pipe and the air discharge pipe are connected to each other is smallest among inside diameters of other portions of the air extension pipe and the air discharge pipe.
Kim teaches wherein an inside diameter of a portion at which the air extension pipe (Kim, 1213, figs. 5, 6A) and the air discharge pipe (Kim, ANNOTATED figs. 5, 6A) are connected to each other is smallest (Kim, ANNOTATED figs. 5, 6A) among inside diameters of other portions of the air extension pipe (Kim, 1213, figs. 5, 6A) and the air discharge pipe (Kim, ANNOTATED figs. 5, 6A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus of Cavarretta with wherein an inside diameter of a portion at which the air extension pipe and the air discharge pipe are connected to each other is smallest among inside diameters of other portions of the air extension pipe and the air discharge pipe, as taught by Kim, for allowing the air discharge pipe to adapt or couple to a smaller fan or blower with a small inlet diameter which would result in reducing component’s cost. Consequently, manufacturing costs are reduced and thus benefit the consumer.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavarretta as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Kang et al. (US 2020/0141048; hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claims 8 & 9, Cavarretta discloses the limitations of the laundry treatment apparatus of claim 2 above, but does not disclose wherein the circulation duct further comprises an installation partition wall which projects from an inner lateral surface of the duct body and is disposed in front of the evaporator, and
wherein a length of the air extension pipe in a forward/backward direction is less than a distance between the installation partition wall and the air extension pipe; (Application claim 8) and
wherein the installation partition wall partially supports a front surface of the evaporator. (Application claim 9)
Kang teaches wherein the circulation duct further comprises an installation partition wall (Kang, partition wall at item 30, fig. 2) which projects from an inner lateral surface of the duct body (Kang, body of item 30, fig. 2) and is disposed in front (Kang, right front of item 34, fig. 2) of the evaporator (Kang, 34, fig. 2), and
wherein a length of the air extension pipe (Kang, extension pipe between item 32 and item 140, fig. 2) in a forward/backward direction is less than (Kang, as shown in ANNOTATED fig. 2) a distance between the installation partition wall (Kang, partition wall at item 30, fig. 2) and the air extension pipe (Kang, extension pipe between item 32 and item 140, fig. 2); (Application claim 8) and
wherein the installation partition wall (Kang, partition wall at item 30, fig. 2) partially supports a front surface (Kang, right front surface of item 34, fig. 2) of the evaporator (Kang 34, fig. 2). (Application claim 9)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus of Cavarretta with wherein the circulation duct further comprises an installation partition wall which projects from an inner lateral surface of the duct body and is disposed in front of the evaporator, and wherein a length of the air extension pipe in a forward/backward direction is less than a distance between the installation partition wall and the air extension pipe; (Application claim 8) and wherein the installation partition wall partially supports a front surface of the evaporator (Application claim 9), as taught by Kang, for preventing the evaporator from moving during a drying process which would result in preventing the evaporator from getting damage(s). Thus, the lifespan of the evaporator is longer and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavarretta as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Ahn et al. (US 2015/0197882; hereinafter Ahn).
Regarding claim 13, Cavarretta discloses further comprises a controller (Cavarretta recites “Further, laundry dryer 1 may include an electronic central control unit (not shown) which controls both the electrical motor assembly 50 and other components of the dryer 1 to perform, on command, one of the user-selectable drying cycles preferably stored in the same central control unit. …”, UNDERLINE emphasis added, [0107]; thus, the “other components” include the compressor 33) which is provided so as to control the compressor (33, fig. 1, [0113]).
Noh does not disclose a controller which is provided in the machine compartment so as to control the compressor, and
wherein the air discharge portion is disposed so as to overlap the controller in a height direction of the cabinet.
Ahn teaches a controller (Ahn, 160, figs. 3, 5, 6) which is provided in the machine compartment (Ahn, 230, fig. 2) so as to control the compressor (Ahn, 145, figs. 3, 5, 6), and
wherein the air discharge portion (Ahn, 135, fig. 5) is disposed so as to overlap the controller (Ahn, 160, figs. 3, 5, 6) in a height direction of the cabinet (Ahn, 200, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus of Cavarretta with the controller which is provided in the machine compartment so as to control the compressor, and wherein the air discharge portion is disposed so as to overlap the controller in a height direction of the cabinet, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Shifting the location of the controller does not modify the operation of the laundry treatment apparatus because the laundry treatment apparatus would still control the compressor. Please note, Specification of the instant application does not disclose any criticality of the claim invention.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762