DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1 and 2 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's request for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. §119(a)-(d). Certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “High Efficency Generation of Nanomaterials by Pulse-Modulated Inductively Coupled Plasma” to Tanaka (cited and provided by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a composition of only nanowires (as controlling the cooling process per page 1 of the translated document states only nanowires are produced) having a diameter of ~10 nm (Id.).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “High-rate synthesis of Si nanowires using modulated induction thermal plasmas” to Ishisaka et al. (hereinafter, “Ishisaka at __”; cited and provided by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1, Ishisaka discloses a composition of only Si nanowire (with a SiOx coating so it meets “at least one of Si and SiO”) having a diameter of 10-30 nm and a length of 500 nm for an aspect ratio of 500/30-500/10 (Ishisaka at 096201-1 R col).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2017105680 to Tanaka et al. (hereinafter, “Tanaka-2 at __”; cited and provided by Applicants).
As to claims 1 and 2, Tanak-2 discloses only silicon nanowires (Tanaka-2 at [0007]) having a diameter of 20-50 nm which overlaps the range instantly claimed of 1-40 which is prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05) and a length 10x or more larger than the diameter (Id.).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub No. 20080261112 to Nagata et al. (hereinafter, “Nagata at __”).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Nagata discloses only nanowires comprising silicon (Nagata at [0009]) having a diameter of 30-50 nm and a length of 100-10000 nm (Nagata at [0038]) which overlaps that range instantly claimed such that a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub No. 20110121257 to Hanrath et al. (hereinafter, “Hanrath at __”).
As to claim 1, Hanrath discloses a silicon nanowire (while the claim recites that the composition is only of nanowires Hanrath discloses that less than 1% of the composition is non-nanowires and as such it is prima facie obvious ot cover “only” as “only” would be 0% of non-nanowires and thusly the inherent range is overlapped, see MPEP 2144.05) having a diameter of ~10~20 nm and a length of 1000 nm (Hanrath at [0037] & [0042]).
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected.
RICHARD M. RUMP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/RICHARD M RUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759