Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 7 of Remarks, applicant argues Wang does not teach “periodically determining, by the cell, a position of the user equipment inside a coverage area of the cell based on angel of arrival of a signal received from the user equipment” because Wang’s network device operates by pre-computing a future measurement moment from known cell geometry, distance threshold, and satellite or terminal motion parameter. Wang discloses a network device calculates a measurement time based on measurement event. Measuring events refer to the positional relationship between a terminal and network device.
Applicant argues because Wang never performs “periodically determining, by the cell, a position of the user inside a coverage area of the cell based on the angle of arrival signal received from the user,” Wang does not teach conditioning the transmission of enablement information on a change of the periodically determined position.
Furthermore, applicant argues that Subramanian does not cure the deficiencies of Wang because Subramanian’s use of angel of arrival solely for beam path tracking is a different problem than the claimed invention.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In light of broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 consistent with the specification, Wang in view of S teaches the limitation of claim 1. First, the broad language of claim 1 does not exclude the possibility of the “pre-computing a future measurement.” Second, Wang teaches “periodically determining a position of the UE inside a coverage area” because the network sends measurement indication periodically and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal ( See Wang [0083]). Further, to determine the motion state of the terminal, Wang teaches that when handover occurs the terminal moves to the point A which is overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and cell 2, which can be the position of the user inside coverage area during handover (See Wang, Fig. 1, [0061]). Also, Wang teaches the determining the UE’s position based on the first event and the second event, where the first even applies to cell handover (See Wang [0069]).
Additionally, Wang and Subramanian are analogues art to the claimed invention because they both solve the same problem, determining and switching path between UE and base station to improve the signal quality. In Wang the base station calculated the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position corresponding to the cell for a better signal quality (See Wang [0061] and [0070]). Similarly, Subramanian teaches determining the position and switching the path between the users and base station for a better signal quality (See Wang [0061] and Subramanian [0057]). Thus, both references solve the same problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16- 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2020211687 A1) in view of Subramanian (WO 2016010686 A1).
Regarding claim 16, A method for improving a handover of a user equipment in a cell of a mobile communication system, comprising: periodically determining, by the cell, a position of the user equipment inside a coverage area of the cell;
Wang [0083]; Optionally, the network device can send measurement indications via but not limited to wireless resource control messages or downlink control information; It should be noted that the measurement indication may be periodically sent according to a certain period, and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal and the terminal service type, and is not limited herein.
[0014]; Optionally, in base station scenarios, cells can correspond to the same base station or different base stations (base station= cell).
Wang [0070]; Optionally, the base station may calculate the switching point position corresponding to the cell based on the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell, and finally, the base station calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position corresponding to the cell.
Wang [0069]; Specifically, in the mobile satellite communication system, the first measurement event may specifically be that a distance between the terminal and the beam center point is greater than a first threshold, and the second measurement event may specifically be that a distance between the terminal and a ground mapping point of the communication satellite is greater than a second threshold ( determining the position of user). Optionally, the communication satellite calculates the switching point position corresponding to the cell according to the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell; and the communication satellite calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position and the communication satellite moving speed. It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in a coverage range of a same communication satellite, or may be referred to as an intra-satellite handover;
FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A in FIG. 1 (position of the user equipment inside a coverage area) the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
and transmitting information to the user equipment to enable neighbor cell measurements if a change of the periodically determined position indicates that the user equipment is exiting and/or entering the coverage area the cell to improve a handover process to another cell.
Wang [0081]; 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
[0061]; In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A( entering the coverage area) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Wang [0083]; It should be noted that the measurement indication may be periodically sent according to a certain period, and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal and the terminal service type, and is not limited herein.
Wang does not teach an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user equipment.
Subramanian teaches an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user equipment.
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system. For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802). Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link.
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user
equipment.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, The method of claim 16, further comprising transmitting information to disable neighbor cell measurements of the user equipment inside the coverage area of the cell.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang [0070]; It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells under the coverage of the same base station;
Wang [0061]; FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 1, the region of the coarse color black line is a signal coverage range of the first network device and a signal coverage range of the second network device, respectively, and the signal coverage range of the first network device includes the cell 1,the cell 2, and the cell 3. Assume that the terminal moves along the path shown by the dashed arrow in FIG. 1. In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A ( user equipment inside the coverage area of the cell ) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Regarding claim 18, The method of claim 16, further comprising: wherein the information to enable the neighbor cell measurements is transmitted.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang does not teach a predefined antenna system parameter is selected by the antenna system, forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment; adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian teaches a predefined antenna system parameter is selected by the antenna system.
Subramanian [0060]; In one aspect, if compared with the second mmW-BS, the first mmW-BS provides beam-forming high quality signal quality and/or a higher, then the UE can to be associated with the first mmW-BS (e.g., by establishing a communication link with the first mmW-BS), and may not be associated with the second mmW-BS. for example, the UE can identify the main path of different mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS1802, mmW-BS2804), and it is possible to select and provide mmW-BS of the main path of the signal quality with the highest signal quality or with exceeding a threshold for association.
[0062] In one scenario, the UE (e.g., UE 906) may perform the coarse angle sweep 904 and may identify the presence of multiple mmW-BSs (e.g., mmW-BSi 802 and mmW-BS2 804). The UE may choose to associate or select a subset of the mmW- BSs for establishing a communication link or for further tracking. In an aspect, the selection may be performed based on the coarse angle sweep 904. The mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BSi and/or mmW-BS2) and/or UE may identify the dominant paths between a given mmW-BS and UE pair (predefined antenna system).
forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment )corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802 (cell). Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0028]; The term "cell" can refer to the smallest coverage area of an eNB and/or an eNB subsystem serving are particular coverage area. Further, the terms "eNB," "base station," and "cell" may be used interchangeably herein.
adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE may request a fine search 910 for a subset of paths close to the path of the communication link. For example, the UE may make the request by transmitting a signal to the first mmW-BS. The UE and the first mmW-BS may exchange signals 912 specific to tracking the path of the communication link. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link. If the beamformed training signals are not received by either the UE or first mmW-BS within a threshold period of time, hysteresis 914 may return to the signaling 912 by requesting retransmission of the beamformed training signals. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may perform a fine adjustment 910 by performing a fine search for a subset of paths or perform either a path switch or an mmW-BS switch depending on the measured channel quality.
Subramanian [0055]; Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0056] The angles and the gains (magnitude and phase) of the paths between devices in the mmW system (e.g., mmW system 800) may change over time due to the relative mobility between the mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS 802), the scatterers, and/or the UE (e.g., UE 806).
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that the beam is formed with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, The method of claim 16, further comprising: wherein the information to enable the neighbor cell measurements is transmitted if the user equipment is positioned in a predefined area.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang [0061]; In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A ( predefined area) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Wang does not teach forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment; adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian teaches forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment )corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802 (cell).
Subramanian [0028]; The term "cell" can refer to the smallest coverage area of an eNB and/or an eNB subsystem serving are particular coverage area. Further, the terms "eNB," "base station," and "cell" may be used interchangeably herein.
adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE may request a fine search 910 for a subset of paths close to the path of the communication link. For example, the UE may make the request by transmitting a signal to the first mmW-BS. The UE and the first mmW-BS may exchange signals 912 specific to tracking the path of the communication link. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link. If the beamformed training signals are not received by either the UE or first mmW-BS within a threshold period of time, hysteresis 914 may return to the signaling 912 by requesting retransmission of the beamformed training signals. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may perform a fine adjustment 910 by performing a fine search for a subset of paths or perform either a path switch or an mmW-BS switch depending on the measured channel quality.
Subramanian [0055]; Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0056] The angles and the gains (magnitude and phase) of the paths between devices in the mmW system (e.g., mmW system 800) may change over time due to the relative mobility between the mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS 802), the scatterers, and/or the UE (e.g., UE 806).
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that the beam is formed with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, The method of claim 17, wherein an entering area of the coverage area of the cell such that when the user equipment enters the entering area, a first determination of the position of the user equipment is performed inside the entering area.
Wang [0061]; It is assumed that a terminal moves along a path shown by a dashed line arrow in FIG. 1. In a moving process of the terminal, to ensure signal quality of the terminal, the terminal needs to be continuously handed over between various cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 1 and the cell 2, namely, a point A in FIG. 1 (user enters the entering are), the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2.
Wang [0058]; It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in a coverage area of a same base station, and the second measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in coverage areas of different communication satellites.
Wang does not teach an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter,
Subramanian teaches an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter,
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is)corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming (beam towards an area) scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802).
Subramanian [0058] FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating a procedure for a UE (e.g., UE 806) for selecting between different mmW-BSs (e.g., mmW-BSs 802, 804) and tracking the paths between various mmW-BSs over the duration of the mmW activity at a UE. In an aspect, a UE may perform an initial search (also referred to as a primary search) for determining angles of beams and to associate with an mmW-BS (e.g., "mmW-BSi 802") with L dominant paths, where each of the L dominant paths is defined by a set of angles of arrival and departure ( initial antenna system parameter) . For example, the set of angles of arrival and departure for a path i between the UE 806 and the mmW-BS 802 may be denoted as {θ^, φ^, θ^, <¾}. For each path (initial path= initial antenna system parameter) the corresponding index i in the set of angles of arrival and departure may be an integer from 1 to L in the decreasing order of dominance and typically, L = 2 paths would trade off between path/angular diversity and complexity of beamformer design. For example, the set of angles of arrival and departure for a most dominant path (e.g., i = 1) may be denoted as {θ^,
Φ , Θ¾, Φ¾}.
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 21, The method of claim 16, wherein the exiting of the user equipment is indicated when the user equipment is positioned in or is approaching a predefined exit area of the coverage area of the cell.
Wang [0067] 201: The network device calculates a measurement moment of cell handover according to the measurement event.
Optionally, the communication satellite calculates the switching point position corresponding to the cell according to the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell; and the communication satellite calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position and the communication satellite moving speed.
Wang [0050]; FIG. 1 shows a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. In a moving process of the terminal, to ensure signal quality of the terminal, the terminal needs to be continuously handed over between various cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 1 and the cell 2, namely, a point A in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2. Because the cell 1 and the cell 2 both belong to the signal coverage area of the first network device, handover from the cell 1 to the cell 2 is cell handover in a same network device. When the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 3 and the cell 2, namely, a point B in FIG. 1 (approaching a predefined exit area of the coverage area of the cell= indication of switching point position), the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 3 covered by the first network device to the cell 5 in the signal coverage area of the second network device.
Regarding claim 22, The method of claim 16, wherein the information to enable neighbor cell measurements comprises information about a handover list.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement.
Wang [0082]; The measurement moment of cell handover includes, but is not limited to, at least one of a measurement start moment, a measurement end moment, or a time offset, where the time offset is a time difference value between the measurement start moment and the measurement end moment. Specifically, the measurement moment maybe composed of a measurement start moment and a measurement end moment, or may be composed of a measurement start moment and a time offset (handover list).
Regarding claim 23, An apparatus for improving a handover of a user equipment in a cell of a mobile communication system, comprising: one or more interfaces configured to communicate with the user equipment;
Wang [0045]; According to a fifteenth aspect, this application provides a chip system, where the chip system includes a processor, configured to support a network device to implement functions involved in the first aspect or the third aspect, or configured to support a terminal to implement functions involved in the second aspect, the fourth aspect, or the fifth aspect, for example, sending or processing data and/or information involved in the foregoing method. The chip system may further include an interface, configured to receive and receive data.
a controller (Wang, Fig. 9, Ref. 903) configured to:
periodically determining a position of the user equipment inside a coverage area of the cell;
Wang [0083]; Optionally, the network device can send measurement indications via but not limited to wireless resource control messages or downlink control information; It should be noted that the measurement indication may be periodically sent according to a certain period, and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal and the terminal service type, and is not limited herein.
[0014]; Optionally, in base station scenarios, cells can correspond to the same base station or different base stations (base station= cell).
Wang [0070]; Optionally, the base station may calculate the switching point position corresponding to the cell based on the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell, and finally, the base station calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position corresponding to the cell.
Wang [0069]; Specifically, in the mobile satellite communication system, the first measurement event may specifically be that a distance between the terminal and the beam center point is greater than a first threshold, and the second measurement event may specifically be that a distance between the terminal and a ground mapping point of the communication satellite is greater than a second threshold ( determining the position of user). Optionally, the communication satellite calculates the switching point position corresponding to the cell according to the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell; and the communication satellite calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position and the communication satellite moving speed. It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in a coverage range of a same communication satellite, or may be referred to as an intra-satellite handover;
FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A in FIG. 1 (position of the user equipment inside a coverage area) the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
and transmitting information to the user equipment to enable neighbor cell measurements if a change of the periodically determined position indicates that the user equipment is exiting and/or entering the coverage area of the cell to improve a handover process to another cell.
Wang [0081]; 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
[0061]; In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A( entering the coverage area) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Wang [0083]; It should be noted that the measurement indication may be periodically sent according to a certain period, and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal and the terminal service type, and is not limited herein.
Wang does not teach an angle of arrival of a signal received by the apparatus from the user equipment.
Subramanian teaches an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user equipment.
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system. For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802). Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link.
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user
equipment.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 24, The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the controller is further configured to disable neighbor cell measurements of the user equipment inside the coverage area of the cell.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang [0070]; It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells under the coverage of the same base station;
Wang [0061]; FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 1, the region of the coarse color black line is a signal coverage range of the first network device and a signal coverage range of the second network device, respectively, and the signal coverage range of the first network device includes the cell 1,the cell 2, and the cell 3. Assume that the terminal moves along the path shown by the dashed arrow in FIG. 1. In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A ( user equipment inside the coverage area of the cell ) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Regarding claim 25, The apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: further comprising: wherein the information to enable the neighbor cell measurements is transmitted.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang does not teach a predefined antenna system parameter is selected by the antenna system, forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment; adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian teaches a predefined antenna system parameter is selected by the antenna system.
Subramanian [0060]; In one aspect, if compared with the second mmW-BS, the first mmW-BS provides beam-forming high quality signal quality and/or a higher, then the UE can to be associated with the first mmW-BS (e.g., by establishing a communication link with the first mmW-BS), and may not be associated with the second mmW-BS. for example, the UE can identify the main path of different mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS1802, mmW-BS2804), and it is possible to select and provide mmW-BS of the main path of the signal quality with the highest signal quality or with exceeding a threshold for association.
[0062] In one scenario, the UE (e.g., UE 906) may perform the coarse angle sweep 904 and may identify the presence of multiple mmW-BSs (e.g., mmW-BSi 802 and mmW-BS2 804). The UE may choose to associate or select a subset of the mmW- BSs for establishing a communication link or for further tracking. In an aspect, the selection may be performed based on the coarse angle sweep 904. The mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BSi and/or mmW-BS2) and/or UE may identify the dominant paths between a given mmW-BS and UE pair (predefined antenna system).
forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment )corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802 (cell).
Subramanian [0028]; The term "cell" can refer to the smallest coverage area of an eNB and/or an eNB subsystem serving are particular coverage area. Further, the terms "eNB," "base station," and "cell" may be used interchangeably herein.
adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE may request a fine search 910 for a subset of paths close to the path of the communication link. For example, the UE may make the request by transmitting a signal to the first mmW-BS. The UE and the first mmW-BS may exchange signals 912 specific to tracking the path of the communication link. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link. If the beamformed training signals are not received by either the UE or first mmW-BS within a threshold period of time, hysteresis 914 may return to the signaling 912 by requesting retransmission of the beamformed training signals. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may perform a fine adjustment 910 by performing a fine search for a subset of paths or perform either a path switch or an mmW-BS switch depending on the measured channel quality.
Subramanian [0055]; Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0056] The angles and the gains (magnitude and phase) of the paths between devices in the mmW system (e.g., mmW system 800) may change over time due to the relative mobility between the mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS 802), the scatterers, and/or the UE (e.g., UE 806).
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that the beam is formed with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 26, The apparatus of claim 23, further comprising: wherein the information to enable the neighbor cell measurements is transmitted if the user equipment is positioned in a predefined area.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang [0061]; In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A ( predefined area) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Wang does not teach forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment; adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian teaches forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment )corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802 (cell).
Subramanian [0028]; The term "cell" can refer to the smallest coverage area of an eNB and/or an eNB subsystem serving are particular coverage area. Further, the terms "eNB," "base station," and "cell" may be used interchangeably herein.
adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE may request a fine search 910 for a subset of paths close to the path of the communication link. For example, the UE may make the request by transmitting a signal to the first mmW-BS. The UE and the first mmW-BS may exchange signals 912 specific to tracking the path of the communication link. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link. If the beamformed training signals are not received by either the UE or first mmW-BS within a threshold period of time, hysteresis 914 may return to the signaling 912 by requesting retransmission of the beamformed training signals. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may perform a fine adjustment 910 by performing a fine search for a subset of paths or perform either a path switch or an mmW-BS switch depending on the measured channel quality.
Subramanian [0055]; Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0056] The angles and the gains (magnitude and phase) of the paths between devices in the mmW system (e.g., mmW system 800) may change over time due to the relative mobility between the mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS 802), the scatterers, and/or the UE (e.g., UE 806).
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that the beam is formed with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 27, The apparatus of claim 24, wherein an entering area of the coverage area of the cell such that when the user equipment enters the entering area, a first determination of the position of the user equipment is performed inside the entering area.
Wang [0061]; It is assumed that a terminal moves along a path shown by a dashed line arrow in FIG. 1. In a moving process of the terminal, to ensure signal quality of the terminal, the terminal needs to be continuously handed over between various cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 1 and the cell 2, namely, a point A in FIG. 1 (user enters the entering are), the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2.
Wang [0058]; It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in a coverage area of a same base station, and the second measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in coverage areas of different communication satellites.
Wang does not teach an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter,
Subramanian teaches an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter,
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is)corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming (beam towards an area) scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802).
[0058] FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating a procedure for a UE (e.g., UE 806) for selecting between different mmW-BSs (e.g., mmW-BSs 802, 804) and tracking the paths between various mmW-BSs over the duration of the mmW activity at a UE. In an aspect, a UE may perform an initial search (also referred to as a primary search) for determining angles of beams and to associate with an mmW-BS (e.g., "mmW-BSi 802") with L dominant paths, where each of the L dominant paths is defined by a set of angles of arrival and departure (initial antenna system parameter). For example, the set of angles of arrival and departure for a path i between the UE 806 and the mmW-BS 802 may be denoted as {θ^, φ^, θ^, <¾}. For each path the corresponding index i in the set of angles of arrival and departure may be an integer from 1 to L in the decreasing order of dominance and typically, L = 2 paths would trade off between path/angular diversity and complexity of beamformer design. For example, the set of angles of arrival and departure for a most dominant path (e.g., i = 1) may be denoted as {θ^, Φ , Θ¾, Φ¾}.
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 28, The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the controller is further configured to indicate the exiting of the user equipment when the user equipment is positioned in or is approaching a predefined exit area of the coverage area of the cell.
Wang [0067] 201: The network device calculates a measurement moment of cell handover according to the measurement event.
Optionally, the communication satellite calculates the switching point position corresponding to the cell according to the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell; and the communication satellite calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position and the communication satellite moving speed.
Wang [0050]; FIG. 1 shows a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. In a moving process of the terminal, to ensure signal quality of the terminal, the terminal needs to be continuously handed over between various cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 1 and the cell 2, namely, a point A in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2. Because the cell 1 and the cell 2 both belong to the signal coverage area of the first network device, handover from the cell 1 to the cell 2 is cell handover in a same network device. When the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 3 and the cell 2, namely, a point B in FIG. 1 (approaching a predefined exit area of the coverage area of the cell= indication of switching point position), the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 3 covered by the first network device to the cell 5 in the signal coverage area of the second network device.
Regarding claim 29, The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the information to enable neighbor cell comprises information about a handover list.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement.
Wang [0082]; The measurement moment of cell handover includes, but is not limited to, at least one of a measurement start moment, a measurement end moment, or a time offset, where the time offset is a time difference value between the measurement start moment and the measurement end moment. Specifically, the measurement moment maybe composed of a measurement start moment and a measurement end moment, or may be composed of a measurement start moment and a time offset (handover list).
Regarding claim 30, A non-transitory computer-readable medium (Wang, Fig. 9, Ref. 904) storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (Wang. Fig. 9, Ref. 903) , cause the processor to perform a method for improving a handover of a user equipment in a cell of a mobile communication system, the method comprising:
periodically determining a position of the user equipment inside a coverage area of the cell;
Wang [0083]; It should be noted that the measurement indication may be periodically sent according to a certain period, and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal and the terminal service type, and is not limited herein.
Wang [0070]; Optionally, the base station may calculate the switching point position corresponding to the cell based on the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell, and finally, the base station calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position corresponding to the cell.
Wang [0069]; Specifically, in the mobile satellite communication system, the first measurement event may specifically be that a distance between the terminal and the beam center point is greater than a first threshold, and the second measurement event may specifically be that a distance between the terminal and a ground mapping point of the communication satellite is greater than a second threshold ( determining the position of user). Optionally, the communication satellite calculates the switching point position corresponding to the cell according to the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell; and the communication satellite calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position and the communication satellite moving speed. It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in a coverage range of a same communication satellite, or may be referred to as an intra-satellite handover;
FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A in FIG. 1 (position of the user equipment inside a coverage area) the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
and transmitting information to the user equipment to enable neighbor cell measurements if a change of the periodically determined position indicates an exiting and/or entering of the coverage area of the cell by the user equipment to improve a handover process to another cell.
Wang [0081]; 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
[0061]; In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A( entering the coverage area) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Wang [0083]; It should be noted that the measurement indication may be periodically sent according to a certain period, and when the measurement moment is updated, the period size may be determined based on the motion state of the terminal and the terminal service type, and is not limited herein.
Wang does not teach an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user equipment.
Subramanian teaches an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user equipment.
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system. For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802). Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link.
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that an angle of arrival of a signal received from the user
equipment.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 31, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 30, wherein the stored instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor(Wang. Fig. 9, Ref. 903) to transmit information to disable neighbor cell measurements of the user equipment inside the coverage area of the cell.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang [0070]; It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells under the coverage of the same base station;
Wang [0061]; FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 1, the region of the coarse color black line is a signal coverage range of the first network device and a signal coverage range of the second network device, respectively, and the signal coverage range of the first network device includes the cell 1,the cell 2, and the cell 3. Assume that the terminal moves along the path shown by the dashed arrow in FIG. 1. In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A ( user equipment inside the coverage area of the cell ) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Regarding claim 32, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 30, wherein the stored instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
wherein the information to enable the neighbor cell measurements is transmitted.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang does not teach a predefined antenna system parameter is selected by the antenna system, forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment; adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian teaches a predefined antenna system parameter is selected by the antenna system.
Subramanian [0060]; In one aspect, if compared with the second mmW-BS, the first mmW-BS provides beam-forming high quality signal quality and/or a higher, then the UE can to be associated with the first mmW-BS (e.g., by establishing a communication link with the first mmW-BS), and may not be associated with the second mmW-BS. for example, the UE can identify the main path of different mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS1802, mmW-BS2804), and it is possible to select and provide mmW-BS of the main path of the signal quality with the highest signal quality or with exceeding a threshold for association.
[0062] In one scenario, the UE (e.g., UE 906) may perform the coarse angle sweep 904 and may identify the presence of multiple mmW-BSs (e.g., mmW-BSi 802 and mmW-BS2 804). The UE may choose to associate or select a subset of the mmW- BSs for establishing a communication link or for further tracking. In an aspect, the selection may be performed based on the coarse angle sweep 904. The mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BSi and/or mmW-BS2) and/or UE may identify the dominant paths between a given mmW-BS and UE pair (predefined antenna system).
form a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment )corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802 (cell).
Subramanian [0028]; The term "cell" can refer to the smallest coverage area of an eNB and/or an eNB subsystem serving are particular coverage area. Further, the terms "eNB," "base station," and "cell" may be used interchangeably herein.
adjust an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE may request a fine search 910 for a subset of paths close to the path of the communication link. For example, the UE may make the request by transmitting a signal to the first mmW-BS. The UE and the first mmW-BS may exchange signals 912 specific to tracking the path of the communication link. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link. If the beamformed training signals are not received by either the UE or first mmW-BS within a threshold period of time, hysteresis 914 may return to the signaling 912 by requesting retransmission of the beamformed training signals. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may perform a fine adjustment 910 by performing a fine search for a subset of paths or perform either a path switch or an mmW-BS switch depending on the measured channel quality.
Subramanian [0055]; Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0056] The angles and the gains (magnitude and phase) of the paths between devices in the mmW system (e.g., mmW system 800) may change over time due to the relative mobility between the mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS 802), the scatterers, and/or the UE (e.g., UE 806).
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that the beam is formed with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 33, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 30, wherein the stored instructions, when executed by the processor(Wang. Fig. 9, Ref. 903), further cause the processor to:
wherein the information to enable the neighbor cell measurements is transmitted if the user equipment is positioned in a predefined area.
Wang [0081] 202: The network device sends a measurement indication, where the measurement indication carries a measurement moment of cell handover.
Wang [0086]; Optionally, the measurement indication may further include indication information indicating that the terminal turns on (enable neighbor cell measurement) or turns off the measurement. Indication information indicating that the terminal turns on or turns off the measurement may also be separately sent, which is not limited in this application.
Wang [0061]; In order to ensure the signal quality of the terminal during the movement of the terminal, the terminal needs to not stop switching between the cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to the overlapping signal coverage range of the cell 1 and the cell 2, that is, at the point A ( predefined area) in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2, and since the cell 1 and the cell 2 belong to the signal coverage range of the first network device, cell 1 switches to cell handover in the same network device as cell 2;
Wang does not teach forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment; adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian teaches forming a beam with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment )corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802 (cell).
Subramanian [0028]; The term "cell" can refer to the smallest coverage area of an eNB and/or an eNB subsystem serving are particular coverage area. Further, the terms "eNB," "base station," and "cell" may be used interchangeably herein.
adjusting an antenna system parameter to follow a movement of the user equipment with the beam in the coverage area of the cell;
Subramanian [0061]; In an aspect, the UE may request a fine search 910 for a subset of paths close to the path of the communication link. For example, the UE may make the request by transmitting a signal to the first mmW-BS. The UE and the first mmW-BS may exchange signals 912 specific to tracking the path of the communication link. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may send and receive beamformed training signals and update their beams/steering angles to track the path of the communication link. If the beamformed training signals are not received by either the UE or first mmW-BS within a threshold period of time, hysteresis 914 may return to the signaling 912 by requesting retransmission of the beamformed training signals. In an aspect, the UE and the first mmW-BS may perform a fine adjustment 910 by performing a fine search for a subset of paths or perform either a path switch or an mmW-BS switch depending on the measured channel quality.
Subramanian [0055]; Accordingly, an mmW-BS and/or UE may transmit training symbols over training beamforming vectors with array properties and may sweep over the angular space. In an aspect, the mmW-BS and/or UE may sweep over a subset of the angular space.
Subramanian [0056] The angles and the gains (magnitude and phase) of the paths between devices in the mmW system (e.g., mmW system 800) may change over time due to the relative mobility between the mmW-BS (e.g., mmW-BS 802), the scatterers, and/or the UE (e.g., UE 806).
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that the beam is formed with an antenna system in the cell such that an angle of departure of the beam is directed towards the position of the user equipment;
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 34, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein the stored instructions, when executed by the processor(Wang. Fig. 9, Ref. 903), further cause the processor to configure wherein an entering area of the coverage area of the cell such that when the user equipment enters the entering area, a first determination of the position of the user equipment is performed inside the entering area.
Wang [0061]; It is assumed that a terminal moves along a path shown by a dashed line arrow in FIG. 1. In a moving process of the terminal, to ensure signal quality of the terminal, the terminal needs to be continuously handed over between various cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 1 and the cell 2, namely, a point A in FIG. 1 (user enters the entering are), the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2.
Wang [0058]; It should be understood that the first measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in a coverage area of a same base station, and the second measurement event is applicable to cell handover between cells in coverage areas of different communication satellites.
Wang does not teach an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter,
Subramanian teaches an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter,
Subramanian [0055] In an aspect, an antenna array of a device (e.g., a UE) in an mmW system may be steered by directing beams towards angles of arrival and/or angles of departure ( angle of departure of the beam is)corresponding to paths between devices in the mmW system(forming the beam). For example, an angle of departure in the azimuth may be denoted as "φτ" and an angle of arrival in the azimuth may be denoted as "φβ", and an angle of departure in the elevation may be denoted as "θτ" and an angle of arrival in the elevation may be denoted as "ΘΛ". A beamforming (beam towards an area) scheme may correspond to steering an antenna array to a subset of the dominant scattering paths between a device (e.g., UE 806) and another device (e.g., mmW-BS 802).
[0058] FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating a procedure for a UE (e.g., UE 806) for selecting between different mmW-BSs (e.g., mmW-BSs 802, 804) and tracking the paths between various mmW-BSs over the duration of the mmW activity at a UE. In an aspect, a UE may perform an initial search (also referred to as a primary search) for determining angles of beams and to associate with an mmW-BS (e.g., "mmW-BSi 802") with L dominant paths, where each of the L dominant paths is defined by a set of angles of arrival and departure ( initial antenna system parameter) . For example, the set of angles of arrival and departure for a path i between the UE 806 and the mmW-BS 802 may be denoted as {θ^, φ^, θ^, <¾}. For each path (initial path= initial antenna system parameter) the corresponding index i in the set of angles of arrival and departure may be an integer from 1 to L in the decreasing order of dominance and typically, L = 2 paths would trade off between path/angular diversity and complexity of beamformer design. For example, the set of angles of arrival and departure for a most dominant path (e.g., i = 1) may be denoted as {θ^,
Φ , Θ¾, Φ¾}.
In view of Subramanian, Wang is modified such that an initial antenna system parameter is configured to form a beam towards an area; beam formed with the initial antenna system parameter.
Wang and Subramanian are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the communication between the multiple cells.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Wang in the manner described above to modify Wang in the manner describe above to determine the position of the UE based on the angle of arrival of beams as the characteristic of beamforming to focus the energy transmission in one direction (Subramanian [0032]).
Regarding claim 35, The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 30, wherein the stored instructions, when executed by the processor(Wang. Fig. 9, Ref. 903), further cause the processor to indicate the exiting of the user equipment when the user equipment is positioned in or is approaching a predefined exit area of the coverage area of the cell.
Wang [0067] 201: The network device calculates a measurement moment of cell handover according to the measurement event.
Optionally, the communication satellite calculates the switching point position corresponding to the cell according to the first threshold, the position information of the central point of the serving cell, and the signal coverage range of the serving cell; and the communication satellite calculates the measurement moment of the cell switching according to the switching point position and the communication satellite moving speed.
Wang [0050]; FIG. 1 shows a schematic structural diagram of a communication system to which a cell handover measurement indication method is applicable according to an embodiment of this application. In a moving process of the terminal, to ensure signal quality of the terminal, the terminal needs to be continuously handed over between various cells. Specifically, when the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 1 and the cell 2, namely, a point A in FIG. 1, the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 1 to the cell 2. Because the cell 1 and the cell 2 both belong to the signal coverage area of the first network device, handover from the cell 1 to the cell 2 is cell handover in a same network device. When the terminal moves to an overlapping signal coverage area of the cell 3 and the cell 2, namely, a point B in FIG. 1 (approaching a predefined exit area of the coverage area of the cell= indication of switching point position), the terminal needs to be handed over from the cell 3 covered by the first network device to the cell 5 in the signal coverage area of the second network device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478