DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/715,029 filed on 05/30/2024 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, 12, 16-23 and 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muruganathan et al. (WO 2021/198988 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 26, Muruganathan teaches a user equipment and method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] multi-TRP scheduling), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling identifying two or
more transmission configuration indicator states that are to be applied to
communications of one or more channels subsequent to a determined time (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] UE configured with TCI states; TCI states mapped to transmission occasions);
receiving, from the network entity, control information associated with
one or more resource allocations for communications after the determined time (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6, TCI states mapped to transmission occasions; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI); and
communicating via the one or more channels according to a first
transmission configuration indicator state of the two or more transmission configuration
indicator states based at least in part on a parameter associated with the control
information and the two or more transmission configuration indicator states (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] TCI states mapped to transmission occasions; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI).
2. Regarding claims 2 and 27, Muruganathan teaches wherein the two or more transmission
configuration indicator states provide for multi-transmission reception point
communications with two or more transmission reception points associated with the
network entity (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
3. Regarding claim 3, Muruganathan teaches, wherein the receiving the control
information comprises:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) having a first DCI format
that indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first
communication via the one or more channels, and wherein a second DCI format is
associated with both the first transmission configuration indicator state and a second
transmission configuration indicator state for communications via the one or more
channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
4. Regarding claim 4, Muruganathan teaches, wherein the first DCI format is associated with a first subset of DCI formats that schedule single transmission reception point communications using the first transmission configuration indicator state, and the
second DCI format is associated with a second subset of DCI formats that schedule
multi-transmission reception point communications using both the first transmission
configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
5. Regarding claim 5, Muruganathan teaches, further comprising:
receiving configuration information that maps the first DCI format to the
first transmission configuration indicator state, and that maps the second DCI format to
both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission
configuration indicator state (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
6. Regarding claim 6, Muruganathan teaches, wherein:
the first transmission configuration indicator state applies to physical
downlink shared channel (PDSCH) communications, physical uplink control channel
(PUCCH) communications, physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communications,
or any combinations thereof, that are scheduled by the first DCI format, and
both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second
transmission configuration indicator state apply to PDSCH communications, PUCCH
communications, PUSCH communications, or any combinations thereof, that are
scheduled by the second DCI format (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
7. Regarding claim 7, Muruganathan teaches, wherein the receiving the control
information comprises:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) having a DCI payload that
indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first
communication via the one or more channels, or that indicates both the first
transmission configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration
indicator state for communications via the one or more channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
8. Regarding claim 8, Muruganathan teaches, wherein the DCI payload is a one-bit
field that indicates to use the first transmission configuration indicator state or to use
both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission
configuration indicator state (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
9. Regarding claim 11, Muruganathan teaches, wherein the receiving the control
information comprises:
receiving an indication of a number of repetitions of each communication
are to be provided in the one or more resource allocations, and wherein first number of
repetitions indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first
communication via the one or more channels, and a second number of repetitions
indicates both the first transmission configuration indicator state and a second
transmission configuration indicator state for communications via the one or more
channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] redundancy versions applied).
10. Regarding claim 12, Muruganathan teaches wherein the first transmission
configuration indicator state used when the number of repetitions is a single repetition,
and both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission
configuration indicator state are used when the number of repetitions is two or more
repetitions (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] redundancy versions applied).
11. Regarding claim 16, Muruganathan teaches wherein the receiving the control
information comprises:
receiving, with the control information, an indication of a priority of one
or more associated communications, and wherein first priority indicates the first
transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first communication with a first
transmission reception point, and a second priority indicates both the first transmission
configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration indicator state for
communications with two or more transmission reception points (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
12. Regarding claim 17, Muruganathan teaches wherein the control information is a
scheduling downlink control indication (DCI) that indicates allocated resources for
communications, or is an activation DCI that activates communication using previously
configured resources (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
13. Regarding claim 18, Muruganathan teaches wherein the two or more transmission
configuration indicator states are associated with multi-transmission reception point
communications with two or more transmission reception points according to a time
division multiplexing communications scheme, a frequency division multiplexing
communications scheme, a spatial division multiplexing communications scheme, or a
single frequency network communications scheme (Paragraph [0127] multiplexed in time domain or frequency domain).
14. Regarding claim 19, Muruganathan teaches wherein:
the one or more channels include a downlink shared channel, uplink
shared channel, uplink control channel, or any combinations thereof, and wherein
the control signaling includes one or more of downlink control
information having a first format with a transmission configuration indicator state field,
or a medium access control (MAC) control element that indicates a single transmission
configuration indicator codepoint that is mapped to the two or more transmission
configuration indicator states (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
15. Regarding claims 20 and 29, Muruganathan teaches a network entity and method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling identifying two
or more transmission configuration indicator states that are to be applied to
communications of one or more channels subsequent to a determined time (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] UE configured with TCI states; TCI states mapped to transmission occasions);
transmitting, to the UE, control information associated with one or more
resource allocations for communications after the determined time (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6, TCI states mapped to transmission occasions; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI); and
communicating with the UE via the one or more channels according to a
first transmission configuration indicator state of the two or more transmission
configuration indicator states based at least in part on a parameter associated with the
control information and the two or more transmission configuration indicator states (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] TCI states mapped to transmission occasions; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI).
16. Regarding claims 21 and 30, Muruganathan teaches wherein the transmitting the control
information comprises:
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) having a first DCI
format that indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first
communication via the one or more channels, and wherein a second DCI format is
associated with both the first transmission configuration indicator state and a second
transmission configuration indicator state for communications via the one or more
channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
17. Regarding claim 22, Muruganathan teaches wherein the transmitting the control
information comprises:
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) having a DCI payload
that indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first
communication via the one or more channels, or that indicates both the first
transmission configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration
indicator state for communications via the one or more channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
18. Regarding claim 23, Muruganathan teaches wherein the transmitting the control
information comprises:
transmitting an indication of a number of repetitions of each
communication are to be provided in the one or more resource allocations, and wherein
first number of repetitions indicates the first transmission configuration indicator state
for at least a first communication via the one or more channels, and a second number of
repetitions indicates both the first transmission configuration indicator state and a
second transmission configuration indicator state for communications via the one or
more channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] redundancy versions applied).
19. Regarding claim 25, Muruganathan teaches, wherein the transmitting the control
information comprises:
transmitting, with the control information, an indication of a priority of
one or more associated communications, and wherein first priority indicates the first
transmission configuration indicator state for at least a first communication via the one
or more channels, and a second priority indicates both the first transmission
configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration indicator state for
communications via the one or more channels (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
20. Regarding claim 28, Muruganathan teaches wherein the control information is a
scheduling downlink control indication (DCI) that indicates allocated resources for
communications, or is an activation DCI that activates communication using previously
configured resources (Paragraph [0097] to [0108] Table 6; map activated TCI states to the codepoints of a bit field in UL DCI; multiple TCI of multiple TRPs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (WO 2021/198988 A1) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2022/0191892 A1) hereby referred to as Muruganathan892.
21. Regarding claim 9, Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI payload is a two-bit field that indicates to use the first transmission configuration indicator state, to use the second transmission configuration indicator state for communications with a second transmission reception point, or to use both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state.
Muruganathan892 teaches wherein the DCI payload is a two-bit field that indicates to use the first transmission configuration indicator state, to use the second transmission configuration indicator state for communications with a second transmission reception point, or to use both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (Paragraph [0173] two bits).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the DCI payload is a two-bit field that indicates to use the first transmission configuration indicator state, to use the second transmission configuration indicator state for communications with a second transmission reception point, or to use both the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state as taught by Muruganathan892 in the system of Muruganathan for MAC CE message for a plurality of TCI states see abstract of Muruganathan.
22. Regarding claim 10, Muruganathan in view of Muruganathan892 teaches wherein the two-bit field further indicates an order for applying the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state to a first resource allocation of a first channel of the one or more channels and a second resource allocation of the first channel or a second channel of the one or more channels (Muruganathan892, Paragraph [0173] two bits).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Yuk et al. (US 2022/0337300 A1) Paragraph [0063] and [0130]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466