DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on May 30th, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 is i. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pellegrino et al. (US 20170021947 A1), herein referred to as Pellegrino.
Regarding claim 1, Pellegrino discloses an apparatus, comprising: a structural element (112) having a first side and a second side opposite the first side (fig. 4a), wherein the first side comprises: a carrier layer (114); an electrode (117), formed on the carrier layer (114), wherein the electrode (117) functions as an antenna element (para. 0127); and wherein the second side comprises: a solar panel (113); and a support substrate (121) that is configured to support the solar panel (fig. 4c), wherein the support substrate is separable from the electrode by a specific separation distance (para. 0127) and serves as a ground plane for the antenna element (para. 0128, aluminum substrate at a distance).
Regarding claim 2, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the solar panel and the electrode are flexible, and wherein the structural element is in a folded or rolled configuration prior to deployment (See figs 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 6, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein support substrate comprises: a supporting layer (113’, 122), wherein the solar panel overlies one surface of the supporting layer (para. 0128, fig. 4c); and a thin conductive layer (back contact, para. 0128) that overlies another surface of the supporting layer, wherein the thin conductive layer serves as the ground plane of the antenna element (para. 0128).
Regarding claim 7, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 6.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the thin conductive layer comprises: a metalized layer (para. 0128), and wherein the supporting layer and the carrier layer each comprise one or more of: polyethylene terephthalate (PET) film, a nylon film, a mylar film, a polyamide film, and a polyimide film (para. 0181).
Regarding claim 9, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the apparatus is a spacecraft (para. 0003), and wherein the structural element is a wing of the spacecraft (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Pellegrino discloses an apparatus, comprising: a structural element (112) comprising: a first side (see fig. 4a) comprising a thin film (para. 0160) antenna (117, 114); and a second side (fig. 4a) opposite the first side, wherein the second side comprises: a thin film (para. 0160) solar panel (113).
Regarding claim 11, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 10.
Pellegrino wherein the first side comprises a plurality of thin film antennas configured as a phased antenna array (para. 0037), and wherein the second side comprises a plurality of thin film solar panels, wherein each thin film solar panel comprises a plurality of thin film solar cells (para. 0127).
Regarding claim 12, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 10.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the first side is spaced apart from the second side by one or more support members (118).
Regarding claim 16, Pellegrino discloses a satellite (para. 0003), comprising: a wing (See fig. 3) having a first thin film (para. 0160) structure and a second thin film structure (para. 0160) opposite the first thin film structure, wherein the first thin film structure comprises: a carrier layer (114); an electrode (117), formed on the carrier layer, wherein the electrode functions as an antenna element (para 0127); and wherein the second thin film structure comprises: a solar panel (113); and a support substrate (121) that is configured to support the solar panel (fig. 4c), wherein the support substrate is separable from the electrode by a specific separation distance (para. 0127) and serves as a ground plane for the antenna element (para. 0128, aluminum substrate at a distance), wherein support substrate comprises: a supporting layer, wherein the solar panel overlies one surface of the supporting layer (para. 0128, fig. 4c); and a thin conductive layer that overlies another surface of the supporting layer (back contact, para 0128), wherein the thin conductive layer serves as the ground plane of the antenna element (para. 0128).
Regarding claim 17, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the solar panel and the electrode are flexible, and wherein the wing is in a folded or rolled configuration prior to deployment (figs. 11 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino and further in view of Cohee et al. (US 6647668 B1), herein referred to as Cohee.
Regarding claim 3, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the structural element further comprises: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation, wherein the one or more inflatable elements cause the support substrate to be spaced apart from the electrode by the specific separation distance upon being inflated.
However, Cohee discloses a space based satellite system wherein the structural element further comprises: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation (col. 3 lines 14-18), wherein the one or more inflatable elements cause the support substrate to be spaced apart from the electrode by the specific separation distance upon being inflated (Cohee does not specifically disclose the electrode as described, however, the function is described in col. 3 line 58-col. 4 line 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the structural element further comprises: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation, wherein the one or more inflatable elements cause the support substrate to be spaced apart from the electrode by the specific separation distance upon being inflated, as taught by Cohee, to deploy the structure to a specific size/shape (col. 3, lines 58-65).
Regarding claim 8, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the structural element comprises: one or more structural members disposed along a surface of the structural element, wherein the one or more structural members comprise: a curable material that hardens upon being exposed to ultraviolet radiation to cause the one or more structural members to become rigid.
However, Cohee discloses a similar apparatus wherein the structural element comprises: one or more structural members disposed along a surface of the structural element, wherein the one or more structural members comprise: a curable material that hardens upon being exposed to ultraviolet radiation to cause the one or more structural members to become rigid (col 3 line 58 – col. 4 line 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino, wherein the structural element comprises: one or more structural members disposed along a surface of the structural element, wherein the one or more structural members comprise: a curable material that hardens upon being exposed to ultraviolet radiation to cause the one or more structural members to become rigid, as taught by Cohee, in order to inflate the apparatus to a precise shape (col. 4 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 13, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 12.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the thin film solar panel and the thin film antenna are flexible, wherein the structural element is in a folded or rolled configuration prior to deployment (see figs. 11 and 12).
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the one or more support members comprise: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation.
However, Cohee discloses wherein the one or more support members comprise: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation (col. 3 lines 14-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the one or more support members comprise: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation, as taught by Cohee, to expand the apparatus to a specific shape (col 3 lines 58-65).
Regarding claim 15, Pellegrino discloses an apparatus, comprising: a structural element that is in a folded or rolled configuration prior to deployment (see figs. 11 and 12), the structural element comprising: a first side (See fig. 4a) comprising a thin film (para. 0160) antenna (117,114); a second side (see fig. 4a) opposite the first side, wherein the second side comprises: a thin film (para. 0160) solar panel (113), wherein the thin film antenna and the thin film solar panel are flexible (See fig. 11 and 12).
Pellegrino does not disclose one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation.
However, Cohee discloses one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation (col 3 lines 14-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino with one or more inflatable elements for deploying the structural element upon inflation, as taught by Cohee, to expand the apparatus to a specific shape (col 3 lines 58-65).
Regarding claim 18, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the wing further comprises: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the wing upon inflation, wherein the one or more inflatable elements cause the support substrate to be spaced apart from the electrode by the specific separation distance upon being inflated.
However, Cohee discloses wherein the wing further comprises: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the wing upon inflation, wherein the one or more inflatable elements cause the support substrate to be spaced apart from the electrode by the specific separation distance upon being inflated (col 3 lines 14-18, col 3 line 58-col 4 line 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the wing further comprises: one or more inflatable elements for deploying the wing upon inflation, wherein the one or more inflatable elements cause the support substrate to be spaced apart from the electrode by the specific separation distance upon being inflated, as taught by Cohee, in order to expand the apparatus to a specific shape (col 3 lines 58-65).
Claims 4-5, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino and further in view of Mantrawadi et al. (US 20220329271 A1), herein referred to as Mantrawadi.
Regarding claim 4, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the electrode is printed on the carrier layer.
However, Mantrawadi discloses an antenna wherein the electrode (504) is printed on the carrier layer (506) (para 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the electrode is printed on the carrier layer, as taught by Mantrawadi, for ease of manufacturing and durability.
Regarding claim 5, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the electrode is a conductive spiral.
However, Mantrawadi discloses an antenna wherein the electrode (504) is a conductive spiral (fig. 5a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the electrode is a conductive spiral, as taught by Mantrawadi, for compact design and circular polarization (para. 0098).
Regarding claim 14, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 10.
Pellegrino also discloses wherein the second side further comprises: a support substrate (121) that is configured to support the thin film solar panel (fig. 4c), wherein the support substrate is separable from the electrode by a specific separation distance (para 0127) and serves as a ground plane for the antenna element (para 0128).
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the thin film antenna comprises an electrode printed on a carrier layer, wherein the electrode that functions as an antenna element is a conductive spiral.
However, Mantrawadi discloses wherein the thin film antenna comprises an electrode (504) printed on a carrier layer (506), wherein the electrode that functions as an antenna element is a conductive spiral (fig. 5a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the thin film antenna comprises an electrode printed on a carrier layer, wherein the electrode that functions as an antenna element is a conductive spiral, as taught by Mantrawadi, for compact design, ease of manufacturing, and circular polarization (para. 0098).
Regarding claim 19, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the electrode is printed on the carrier layer.
However, Mantrawadi discloses an antenna wherein the electrode (504) is printed on the carrier layer (506) (para 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the electrode is printed on the carrier layer, as taught by Mantrawadi, for ease of manufacturing and durability.
Regarding claim 20, Pellegrino anticipates all limitations of base claim 16.
Pellegrino does not disclose wherein the electrode is a conductive spiral.
However, Mantrawadi discloses an antenna wherein the electrode (504) is a conductive spiral (fig. 5a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the apparatus of Pellegrino wherein the electrode is a conductive spiral, as taught by Mantrawadi, for compact design and circular polarization (para. 0098).
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845