DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “a collection module”, “a determination module”, “a recognition module”, “an acquisition module”, “a detection module” in claim 9.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 2014/0319351 to Yamada et al., in view of US Publication 2002/0109835 to Goetz.
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-13 and 15-17, Yamada discloses and shows in Figures 1-7, a processing system and method comprising:
a light source (10) assembly configured to illuminate a to-be-collected object, wherein the to-be-collected object includes a detection object (3) and a background object (2) (par.5, 18-20, 22);
a spectral image collection assembly (20) configured to collect a first spectral image of the to- be-collected object (par. 5, 20, 26-29); and
a processing device (30) (par. 20, 32-33) configured to:
perform spectral image collection (S01) on a to-be-collected target to obtain a first spectral image (par. 5-6, 26-29, 34-35; wherein a hyper-spectral image is obtained for an imaging area of a conveyor belt with various objects thereon) (Figure 2-3);
determine spectral characteristics (S02) corresponding to different image regions in the first spectral image (par. 5-6, 32, 35; wherein spectral data is obtained for each pixel of the detection unit; wherein object change characteristics may be determined from the obtained spectral data and reference spectral data) (Figures 2-6);
recognize attribute parameters of to-be-collected objects (S03) corresponding to the different image regions (A, B, C, D, E) according to the spectral characteristics corresponding to the different image regions (par. 32, 36-41; wherein target pixels are identified through various analysis methods and algorithms), the attribute parameters being related to a material of the to-be-collected object, and the to-be-collected object including a detection object and a background object (par. 18-19, 28, 32) (Figures 2-6);
determine a target region (S04) corresponding to the detection object in the first spectral image according to the attribute parameters corresponding to the different image regions in the first spectral image (par. 42-47; wherein the target pixels can be grouped together according to various desired ranges), and obtaining a second spectral image formed by the target region (par. 32, 35, 39, 42-44; wherein the image-capturing is done continuously, and “spectral data regarding inspection objects, the belt conveyor and the carrying container are acquired beforehand”); and
perform abnormality detection on the detection object based on region characteristics of different image regions of in the second spectral image (par. 5-6, 18-19, 32; wherein different kind or defective quality of various objects may be determined; wherein object change characteristics may be determined from the obtained spectral data and reference spectral data);
wherein the processing device is further configured to: extract visual characteristics of the different image regions in the second spectral image (par. 18-19, 32, 59-60, 71; wherein intensity values for a plurality of wavelengths are determined for each pixel; and wherein changes in object characteristics may be determined); and
perform abnormal type recognition on detection object regions corresponding to the different image regions in the second spectral image according to the extracted visual characteristics (par. 18-19, 59-60, 71);
[claims 2, 11] wherein the processing device is further configured to:
extract spectral information of sampling points of the different image regions in the first spectral image (par 5-6, 26-29); and
determine reflectance of the sampling points for different wavelengths of light based on the spectral information to obtain spectral distribution characteristics of the sampling points (par. 26-29, 34-35) (Figures 2-3);
wherein the spectral distribution characteristics of the sampling points corresponding to the different image regions in the first spectral image are used as the spectral characteristics of the different image regions (par. 26-29, 43-47) (Figures 2-6);
[claims 3, 12] wherein the processing device is further configured to:
recognize the attribute parameters of the to-be-collected objects corresponding to the different image regions according to the spectral distribution characteristics of the sampling points corresponding to the different image regions and a first recognition rule, wherein the first recognition rule includes reflectance ranges for each wavelength of light of different wavelengths of the light corresponding to the different attribute parameters (par. 26-29, 31-32, 37, 41; wherein various wavelength threshold values and comparisons may be utilized); or
process the spectral distribution characteristics of the sampling points corresponding to the different image regions using a pre-trained first recognition model to obtain the attribute parameters of the to-be-collected objects corresponding to the different image regions (par. 40; wherein various pre-trained support vector machines may be utilized);
[claims 4, 13] wherein the processing device is further configured to: segment an image of the target region from the first spectral image to obtain the second spectral image (par. 42-47; wherein the target pixels can be grouped together according to various desired ranges (3x3, 5x5 pixels), columns (A, B, C, D, E) and rows (1, 2, 3, 4, 5));
[claims 6, 15] wherein the processing device is further configured to: recognize whether the detection object regions corresponding to the different image regions in the second spectral image are abnormal and an abnormal type corresponding to an abnormal situation according to the extracted visual characteristics and a second recognition rule, wherein the second recognition rule includes reference visual characteristics corresponding to different abnormal types of the detection object (par. 26-29, 31-32, 37, 41; wherein various wavelength threshold values and comparisons may be utilized); (par. 35, 39, 42-44; wherein the image-capturing is done continuously, and “spectral data regarding inspection objects, the belt conveyor and the carrying container are acquired beforehand”); (par. 5-6, 18-19; wherein different kind or defective quality of various objects may be determined); or
process the extracted visual characteristics using a pre-trained second recognition model to obtain an abnormality recognition result, wherein the abnormality recognition result at least includes the abnormal type when the detection object regions corresponding to the different image regions are abnormal in the second spectral image (par. 40; wherein various pre-trained support vector machines may be utilized);
[claims 7, 16] wherein the processing device is further configured to: extract the spectral characteristics of the different image regions in the second spectral image (par. 18-19, 32, 59-60, 71; wherein intensity values for a plurality of wavelengths are determined for each pixel; and wherein changes in object characteristics may be determined); and
perform the abnormal type recognition on the detection object regions corresponding to the different image regions in the second spectral image according to the extracted spectral characteristics (par. 18-19, 59-60, 71);
[claims 8, 17] wherein the processing device is further configured to: identify whether the detection object regions corresponding to the different image regions in the second spectral image are abnormal and the abnormal type corresponding to an abnormal situation according to the extracted spectral characteristics and a third recognition rule, wherein the third recognition rule includes reference spectral characteristics corresponding to different abnormal types of the detection object (par. 35, 39, 42-44; wherein the image-capturing is done continuously, and “spectral data regarding inspection objects, the belt conveyor and the carrying container are acquired beforehand”); or
process the extracted spectral characteristics using a pre-trained third recognition model to obtain an abnormal recognition result, wherein the abnormal recognition result at least includes an abnormal type when the detection object regions corresponding to the different image regions in the second spectral image (par. 40; wherein various pre-trained support vector machines may be utilized).
Yamada differs from the limitations in that it is silent to the system and method further comprising: wherein the visual characteristics which are extracted, include the shape of the detection object. Yamada discloses the inspection system as investigating the “physical properties” of inspection objects, and wherein the investigation is not “in terms of shape”. However, Yamada does not explicitly teach away from or prohibit shape determination by the system. It merely discloses that the inspection system is specifically directed to the physical properties of the object under inspection. Further, one of ordinary skill would recognize that Yamada does in fact establish that the “shape” of the object is a well-known parameter of interest by inspection systems.
Goetz teaches and shows in Figure 1, a spectral imaging system and method comprising: an imaging spectrometer system (100) having an inspection head (110) and a conveyor belt (120) for inspecting a plurality of item packages (125) (par. 31-32); wherein the system obtains a plurality of spectral images to “determine specific properties of each” of the objects and determine if the objects “conform with a predetermined quality criteria”; and wherein “standard image analysis routines” are used to provide “the shape of the items under inspection” (par. 81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Yamada to include shape determination in the inspection system discussed above, for the advantage of completely characterizing any potential defects of an object under test, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JONATHAN M. HANSEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2877
/JONATHAN M HANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877