Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 8-14, in the reply filed on 09/15/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/15/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an excitation element for driving the first microfluidic channel” (claim 8), “a sensor associated with the first microfluidic channel configured to sense a resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel (claim 8), “a processor for determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel” (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig. 1, reference character 130. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “…based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel” in the last two lines. It is unclear if “the electromagnetic radiation signal” is referring to the “electromagnetic radiation signal” of the second microfluidic channel of lines 9-10 or if “the electromagnetic radiation signal” is of the first microfluidic channel. Claims 9-14 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 8. For examination purposes, “the electromagnetic radiation signal” is interpreted as of the second microfluidic channel. It is suggested to recite “the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel” as “the electromagnetic radiation signal of the second microfluidic channel and the resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel”.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites “within at least 0.001 g/mL”. The phrase “within at least” renders the claim indefinite, since it is unclear if “within” is referring to a range with a lower and upper limit, while only one value is given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel.”
In accordance with MPEP 2106, the claims are found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1: YES) and are analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A: Prong 1).
In the instant application, the limitations of “determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel” covers performance of a limitation in the mind, i.e. mental process, or mathematical calculation. Other than a processor, if the claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. processor), then the claim limitations fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the claims recite abstract ideas (Step 2A: Prong 1: Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite any additional elements that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way (Step 2A, Prong 2: No). In claim 8, once the processor performs “determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel”, no further action is performed. Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The processor limitations are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as generic computer) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Additionally, the preceding limitations these limitations generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are used for data gathering, wherein data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is an insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, the claimed limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea that is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
The claims 8-14 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Regarding the abstract idea, claim 8 merely recites a processor, wherein the claimed limitations of the processor amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component; wherein a general purpose computer is not a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Claim 8 and dependent claims 9-14 further recite limitations, however these limitations generally link the judicial exception to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are used for data gathering, wherein data gathering to be used in the abstract idea is an insignificant extra-solution activity, and not a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), which alone or in combination do not amount to significantly more. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: No). The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manalis et al. (US 20100297747 A1; cited in the IDS filed 10/24/2025) in view of Miettinen et al. (MIETTINEN et al., Unravelling the secrets of the cell with suspended microchannel resonators. Research Outreach. 2019 Nov 16;110:2 pages; cited in the IDS filed 05/30/2025).
Regarding claim 8, Manalis teaches a microfluidic system (abstract; Figs. 1-2) for determining a density of a particle suspected of having been exposed to a therapeutic agent (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; abstract teaches the microfluidic structure allows for monitoring density of a cell; therefore, the microfluidic system is capable of determining density of a particle as claimed; note that “particle” and “therapeutic agent” are not positively recited structurally), comprising:
a first microfluidic channel (Figs. 1-2, interpreted as the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at mass detector 20) associated with an inlet (Fig. 2, interpreted as an inlet portion to the microchannel of the mass detector 20);
an excitation element for driving the first microfluidic channel ([0015] teaches a mass detector 20 is a suspended microchannel resonator, which inherently comprises an excitation element for driving the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at mass detector 20; [0015] incorporates by reference a suspended microchannel resonator of reference [1] in [0022], i.e. Burg 2007 which has been cited in the instant applicant IDS filed 05/30/2025, which details at least an electrostatic drive electrode to drive the microfluidic channel of the suspended microchannel resonator);
a second microfluidic channel (Fig. 1, interpreted as the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at the fluorescence detection module 24) in fluidic communication with the first microfluidic channel (Fig. 1 teaches the microchannel at fluorescence detection module 24 is in fluid communication with the microchannel at the mass detector 20);
a source of electromagnetic radiation associated with the second microfluidic channel (Fig. 1 and [0016] teaches a fluorescence detection module which includes excitation with an excitation beam, which implies a source of electromagnetic radiation associated with the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at the fluorescence detection module 24);
a sensor associated with the first microfluidic channel configured to sense a resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel ([0015] teaches a mass detector 20 is a suspended microchannel resonator which measures resonance frequency; therefore, the mass detector includes a sensor associated with the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at mass detector 20 for sensing or measuring resonance frequency);
a detector configured to detect an electromagnetic radiation signal and associated with the second microfluidic channel (Fig. 1 and [0016] teaches a fluorescence detection module for collecting and detection of fluorescence, which implies a detector associated with the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at the fluorescence detection module 24 to detect an electromagnetic radiation signal, e.g. fluorescence light); and
Manalis fails to explicitly teach: a processor for determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel.
Manalis teaches those of skill in the art will recognize that cell density can also be calculated from a measurement of cell mass if cell volume can be determined ([0018]). Manalis teaches fluorescence dye is measured ([0119]). Manalis teaches a suspended microchannel resonator is highly sensitive to presence of cells whose mass density differs from that of the solution ([0015]). Manalis teaches density offers a means to identify specific cell types in order to count, and ultimately sort, by cell type and state ([0005]).
Miettinen teaches combining suspended microchannel resonators with microscopes to study cell cycle and metabolism (page 1, column 3, section “Combining SMRS with…” – column 4, first paragraph). Miettinen teaches cells dyed with light-emitting or fluorescent molecules, where coupling the SMR with microscope allows one to couple various fluorescent measurements which can report the metabolic state of the cell as well as its cell cycle state, to the cell mass measurement (page 1, column 1, first paragraph). Miettinen teaches an advantage of SMRs to accurately calculate volume, masses, and densities of cells (page 1, columns 4-5, section “Measuring density…”). Miettinen teaches SMR can be used to reveal detailed growth dynamics of healthy and cancerous cells (page 2, column 1, last paragraph) and SMR can be used for probing properties of cells and to help improve cancer treatments (page 2, column 3). Miettinen teaches identifying a biomarker related to cancer treatment (page 2 columns 2-3). Miettinen teaches a suspended microchannel resonator in combination with microscopy measurements which optically measures a channel portion other than the suspended microchannel resonator (page 1, top right figure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Manalis to incorporate Manalis’ teachings of calculating cell density and presence of cells ([0018],[0015]), measuring fluorescence dye ([0119]) and density as a means for identifying specific cell types for counting and sorting ([0005]) and Miettinen’s teachings of combining suspended microchannel resonators with microscopy (page 1, column 3, section “Combining SMRS with…” – column 4, first paragraph; page 1, top right figure) and coupling SMR with microscopy allows for coupling various measurements to report on cell properties (page 1, column 1, first paragraph) to provide: a processor for determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving automated determination of densities of particles, such as cells, to improve identification and characterization of the particles. Additionally, doing so would have a reasonable expectation of improving studying of particles over time to help improve cancer treatments as discussed by Miettinen.
Note that “particle”, “therapeutic agent”, and “biomarker” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“particle”, “therapeutic agent”, and “biomarker”) worked upon by a structure (microfluidic system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The apparatus of modified Manalis is identical to the presently claimed structure. Modified Manalis discloses the claimed microfluidic system as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 9, Manalis further teaches wherein the particle is a single cell (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; abstract teaches the microfluidic structure allows for monitoring density of a cell, i.e. single cell).
Note that “particle”, and “single cell” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“particle”, and “single cell”) worked upon by a structure (microfluidic system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 10, Manalis further teaches wherein the electromagnetic radiation is light (Fig. 1 and [0016] teaches a fluorescence detection module for collecting and detection of fluorescence, which implies the detector to detect light, e.g. fluorescence light).
Regarding claim 11, modified Manalis further teaches wherein the density is resolved within at least 0.001 g/mL (interpreted as an intended use of the microfluidic system, see MPEP 2114; see above claim 8; modified Manalis teaches all of the structures of the claimed microfluidic system, i.e. is identical to the presently claimed system, and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim; See MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Regarding claim 13, Manalis further teaches wherein the particle is suspended in a fluid (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0015] teaches cells in solution flow through the system).
Note that “particle”, and “fluid” are not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“particle”, and “fluid”) worked upon by a structure (microfluidic system) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 14, Manalis further teaches wherein the first microfluidic channel has a throughput of greater than or equal to 6,800 particles/min and less than or equal to 100,000 particles/min (interpreted as a functional limitation of the first microfluidic channel, see MPEP 2114; see above claim 8; modified Manalis teaches all of the structures of the claimed first microfluidic channel, i.e. is identical to the presently claimed first microfluidic channel, and therefore, would have the ability to perform the function recited in the claim; See MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Note that “particle” is not positively recited structurally and is interpreted as a functional limitation of the claimed system. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements; thus, inclusion of the material or article (“particle”) worked upon by a structure (microfluidic system including the first microfluidic channel) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115).
Note that a functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitations, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. The microfluidic system of modified Manalis is identical to the presently claimed microfluidic system. Modified Manalis discloses the claimed first microfluidic channel as claimed and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I). Moreover, Manalis teaches a first microfluidic channel (Figs. 1-2, interpreted as the channel portion of the microfluidic rotary structure 12 at mass detector 20). Thus, the first microfluidic channel is structurally capable of having a throughput within the claimed range in use.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manalis in view of Miettinen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Manalis et al. (US 20100154535 A1; cited in the IDS filed 05/30/2025; herein, “US ‘535”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Manalis fails to teach wherein the first microfluidic channel has a cross-sectional dimension of greater than or equal to 10 um and/or less than or equal to 1 mm.
US ‘535 teaches an apparatus for improving measurement of particles or cell characteristics in suspended microchannel resonators (abstract). US ‘535 teaches channel dimensions range in 10-20 microns in cross section ([0009]). US ‘535 teaches measuring density of the particle flowing through the resonators ([0011]). US ‘535 dimensions of the channels may vary as needed within the microfabrication process design rules; and channel cross section dimensions are on the order of 10-20 microns ([0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first microfluidic channel of modified Manalis to incorporate US ‘535’s teachings of suspended microchannel resonators with cross-sectional dimensions in the range of 10-20 microns ([0009],[0026]) to provide: wherein the first microfluidic channel has a cross-sectional dimension of greater than or equal to 10 um and/or less than or equal to 1 mm. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully fabricating the first microfluidic channel within design rules to improve measurement of particle or cells as taught by US ‘535.
Additionally, since US ‘535 teaches suspended microchannel resonators have cross-sectional dimensions in the range of 10-20 microns ([0009],[0026]), wherein the range of 10-20 microns overlaps with the claimed range of greater than or equal to 10 um and/or less than or equal to 1 mm, i.e. 10-20 um, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first microfluidic channel of modified Manalis to provide wherein the first microfluidic channel has a cross-sectional dimension of greater than or equal to 10 um and/or less than or equal to 1 mm. I.e., it would have been prima facia obvious to have selected the overlapping portion of the range (i.e. 10-20 um) from the taught range of 10-20 microns (US ‘535, [0009],[0026]) (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Double Patenting
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 of copending Application No. 18/715,053 (herein, “App ‘053”) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim.
Regarding claim 8, App ‘053 recites a microfluidic system (claim 6) for determining a density of a particle suspected of having been exposed to a therapeutic agent (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; claim 6 recites “determining a density of a particle”; therefore, the system is capable of determining a density as claimed), comprising:
a first microfluidic channel associated with an inlet (claim 6);
an excitation element for driving the first microfluidic channel (claim 6);
a second microfluidic channel in fluidic communication with the first microfluidic channel (claim 6);
a source of electromagnetic radiation associated with the second microfluidic channel (claim 6);
a sensor associated with the first microfluidic channel configured to sense a resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel (claim 6);
a detector configured to detect an electromagnetic radiation signal and associated with the second microfluidic channel (claim 6); and
a processor for determining the density of a particle and/or the presence of a biomarker related to the therapeutic agent based upon the electromagnetic radiation signal and resonance frequency of the first microfluidic channel (claim 6).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Solomon et al. (US 20210405007 A1) teaches a fractionator for a mass sensor (abstract). Solomon teaches an optical particle collector and/or sensing element to serve as a particle repository and is capable of measuring various attributes of the collected particles using a resonator or other sensing element, such as a light scattering sensing element, to determine particle mass, density, chemical composition, etc. ([0031]).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758