DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 08/24/2026. Claims 1-12, 15, 16 and 19-24 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the combination of Zhang (US 2025/0088679), Wang (US 2019/0124400) and Zukerman (US 2018/0190322) does not disclose the newly added claim limitations, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that Zhang teaches fusing the live stream and the target effect information then sending this fused stream to the client. However, Zhang explicitly states that this is not the case. Zhang discloses related art teaches fusing an effect with a live stream resulting in effect information that cannot be completely displayed by the live stream watching user ([0058]). To solve this problem Zhang discloses sending an effect trigger instruction to the client devices separately from the video stream and synthesizing the target effect information on the client device ([0059], [0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 15, 16, 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims have been amended to include the limitation “in response to determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame, sending to a second client different from the first client: a live video stream corresponding to the live stream, wherein the live video stream does not include the sticker image and does not include pixel data of the sticker image.”
Applicant indicates support for this limitation can be found in paragraphs [0032]-[0034], [0041], [0043], [0067] and [0068]. However, these cited paragraphs, as well as the rest of the originally filed disclosure, contain no description of sending a live video stream to a second client in response to determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame. Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For the purposes of examination, it was assumed that the live video stream was not sent in response to determining the display position but rather provided as described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 15, 16, 19, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0088679), herein Zhang, in view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0124400), herein Wang, in view of Zukerman et al. (US 2018/0190322), herein Zukerman.
Consider claim 1, Zhang clearly teaches an image processing method, applied to a first client, (Fig. 1) comprising:
obtaining, in response to an operation of adding a sticker image to a live stream, a locator corresponding to the sticker image, wherein the adding the sticker image to the live stream comprises displaying the sticker image in one or more frames of the live stream; (Fig. 1: In response to an effect trigger instruction during a live stream, first effect information, including effect identification information, is obtained and displayed in frames of the live stream, [0056], [0061], [0077], [0078].)
determining a frame of the one or more frames corresponding to the sticker image in the live stream based on determining that the frame comprises image feature information of the sticker image; (First time information corresponding to the effect trigger is determined and used to determine a frame corresponding to the effect in the live stream, [0074], [0076].)
obtaining a frame identifier of the frame, wherein the frame identifier comprises image feature information of the frame; (Fig. 1: A timestamp comprising the time of the effect trigger is used to identify the frame, [0064], [0074], [0077].)
determining display position information of the sticker image in the frame; (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information of a target object or a preset position for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068].) and
in response to determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame sending to a second client different from the first client:
a live video stream corresponding to the live stream, wherein the live video stream does not include the sticker image and does not include pixel data of the sticker image, (The live video stream sent to the first viewing client does not include the first effect information, [0058], [0059], [0085].) and
sticker addition information that is separate from the live video stream
sending a sticker addition information, wherein the sticker addition information comprises the frame identifier, the locator, and the display position information. (Fig. 1: The first effect information, including the effect identification information, first image frame timestamp, and location information for displaying the effect, is sent to the first viewing client separately from the live video stream, [0069], [0070], [0077].)
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL.
In an analogous art, Wang, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL. (Fig. 13: A URL of an image is generated and sent to the client devices, [0174]-[0185].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang by a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL, as taught by Wang, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the client device to retrieve the effect.
However, Zhang combined with Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame.
In an analogous art, Zukerman, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame. (The video includes metadata identifying the sticker and frames in which the sticker appears, [0054].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang combined with Wang by the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame, as taught by Zukerman, to achieve the predictable result of inserting the sticker into the video.
Consider claim 2, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches the determining a frame corresponding to the sticker image in the live stream comprises: detecting whether each live streaming video frame in the live stream contains the sticker image; and in response to that a live streaming video frame contains the sticker image, determining the live streaming video frame as the frame. (Fig. 1: First time information corresponding to the effect trigger operation is used to determine the first image frame and the client device displays the effect based on the frame information, [0064], [0072], [0074] Zhang.)
Consider claim 4, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame comprises: identifying a reference identifier area in the frame that meets a preset selection condition; and determining relative position information of the sticker image relative to the reference identifier area as the display position information. (Fig. 4: The first effect information may be fused with a target object in the live stream content, [0067], [0071], [0098]-[0104] Zhang.)
Consider claim 6, Zhang clearly teaches an image processing method, (Fig. 1) comprising:
receiving a live video stream corresponding to a live stream, wherein the live video stream does not include a sticker image and does not include pixel data of the sticker image; (The live video stream sent to the first viewing client does not include the first effect information, [0058], [0059], [0085].)
extracting, in response to a sticker addition information sent by a server, a frame identifier comprising image feature information of a frame, a locator, and display position information from the sticker addition message information, and wherein the sticker addition information is separate from the live video stream; (Fig. 1: In response to an effect trigger instruction first effect information, sent separately from the live video stream, including effect identification information, first image frame timestamp, and location information for displaying the effect, is obtained , [0061], [0064], [0067], [0068], [0074], [0078].)
obtaining the sticker image based on the locator, and determining the target in a viewing video stream based on the frame identifier; and
displaying the sticker image in the frame based on the display position information. (Fig. 1: The first effect information, including the effect identification information, first image frame, and location information for displaying the effect, is sent to the first client and the effect is displayed based on the first effect information, [0069]-[0072].)
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach extracting a URL and obtaining an image based on the URL.
In an analogous art, Wang, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches extracting a URL and obtaining an image based on the URL. (Fig. 13: A URL of an image is generated and sent to the client devices, [0174]-[0185].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang by extracting a URL and obtaining an image based on the URL, as taught by Wang, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the client device to retrieve the effect.
However, Zhang combined with Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the image feature information is indicative that a sticker image associated with the sticker addition information is displayed at a video frame of a stream.
In an analogous art, Zukerman, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches wherein the image feature information is indicative that a sticker image associated with the sticker addition information is displayed at a video frame of a stream. (The video includes metadata identifying the sticker and frames in which the sticker appears, [0054].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang combined with Wang by wherein the image feature information is indicative that a sticker image associated with the sticker addition information is displayed at a video frame of a stream, as taught by Zukerman, to achieve the predictable result of inserting the sticker into the video.
Consider claim 7, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches the determining frame based on the frame identifier comprises: obtaining a viewing video frame identifier of each viewing video frame in the viewing video stream; and performing matching between the frame identifier and the viewing video frame identifier, and determining a successfully matched viewing video frame as the frame. (Fig. 1: First time information corresponding to the effect trigger operation is used to determine the first image frame and the client device displays the effect based on the frame information, [0064], [0072], [0074] Zhang.)
Consider claim 10, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches displaying the sticker image in the frame based on the display position information comprises adding the sticker image to the frame based on the display position information by: in response to that the display position information comprises relative position information of the sticker image relative to a reference identifier area in a frame, identifying the reference identifier area in the viewing video frame; and displaying the sticker image in the frame based on the relative position information and the reference identifier area in the viewing video frame. (Fig. 4: The first effect information may be fused with a target object in the live stream content, [0067], [0071], [0098]-[0104] Zhang.)
Consider claim 15, Zhang clearly teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to read the executable instructions from the memory, and execute the executable instructions to implement an image processing method (Fig. 14, [0167]) comprising:
obtaining by a first client, in response to an operation of adding a sticker image to a live stream, a locator corresponding to the sticker image, wherein the adding the sticker image to the live stream comprises displaying the sticker image in one or more frames of the live stream; (Fig. 1: In response to an effect trigger instruction during a live stream, first effect information, including effect identification information, is obtained, [0056], [0061], [0077], [0078].)
determining a frame of the one or more frames corresponding to the sticker image in the live stream based on determining that the frame comprises image feature information of the sticker image; (First time information corresponding to the effect trigger is determined and used to determine a frame corresponding to the effect in the live stream, [0074], [0076].)
obtaining a frame identifier of the frame, wherein the frame identifier comprises image feature information of the frame; (Fig. 1: A timestamp comprising the time of the effect trigger is used to identify the frame, [0064], [0074], [0077].)
determining display position information of the sticker image in the frame; (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information of a target object or a preset position for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068].) and
in response to determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame sending to a second client different from the first client:
a live video stream corresponding to the live stream, wherein the live video stream does not include the sticker image and does not include pixel data of the sticker image, (The live video stream sent to the first viewing client does not include the first effect information, [0058], [0059], [0085].) and
sticker addition information that is separate from the live video stream
sending a sticker addition information, wherein the sticker addition information comprises the frame identifier, the locator, and the display position information. (Fig. 1: The first effect information, including the effect identification information, first image frame timestamp, and location information for displaying the effect, is sent to the first viewing client separately from the live video stream, [0069], [0070], [0077].)
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL.
In an analogous art, Wang, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL. (Fig. 13: A URL of an image is generated and sent to the client devices, [0174]-[0185].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang by a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL, as taught by Wang, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the client device to retrieve the effect.
However, Zhang combined with Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame.
In an analogous art, Zukerman, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame. (The video includes metadata identifying the sticker and frames in which the sticker appears, [0054].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang combined with Wang by the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame, as taught by Zukerman, to achieve the predictable result of inserting the sticker into the video.
Consider claim 16, Zhang clearly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program is configured to perform an image processing method (Fig. 14, [0167]) comprising:
obtaining by a first client, in response to an operation of adding a sticker image to a live stream, a locator corresponding to the sticker image, wherein the adding the sticker image to the live stream comprises displaying the sticker image in one or more frames of the live stream; (Fig. 1: In response to an effect trigger instruction during a live stream, first effect information, including effect identification information, is obtained, [0056], [0061], [0077], [0078].)
determining a frame of the one or more frames corresponding to the sticker image in the live stream based on determining that the frame comprises image feature information of the sticker image; (First time information corresponding to the effect trigger is determined and used to determine a frame corresponding to the effect in the live stream, [0074], [0076].)
obtaining a frame identifier of the frame, wherein the frame identifier comprises image feature information of the frame; (Fig. 1: A timestamp comprising the time of the effect trigger is used to identify the frame, [0064], [0074], [0077].)
determining display position information of the sticker image in the frame; (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information of a target object or a preset position for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068].) and
in response to determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame sending to a second client different from the first client:
a live video stream corresponding to the live stream, wherein the live video stream does not include the sticker image and does not include pixel data of the sticker image, (The live video stream sent to the first viewing client does not include the first effect information, [0058], [0059], [0085].) and
sticker addition information that is separate from the live video stream
sending a sticker addition information, wherein the sticker addition information comprises the frame identifier, the locator, and the display position information. (Fig. 1: The first effect information, including the effect identification information, first image frame timestamp, and location information for displaying the effect, is sent to the first viewing client separately from the live video stream, [0069], [0070], [0077].)
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL.
In an analogous art, Wang, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL. (Fig. 13: A URL of an image is generated and sent to the client devices, [0174]-[0185].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang by a uniform resource locator (URL) corresponding to the sticker image; sending the URL, as taught by Wang, to achieve the predictable result of allowing the client device to retrieve the effect.
However, Zhang combined with Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame.
In an analogous art, Zukerman, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame. (The video includes metadata identifying the sticker and frames in which the sticker appears, [0054].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang combined with Wang by the image feature information is indicative that the sticker image is in the frame, as taught by Zukerman, to achieve the predictable result of inserting the sticker into the video.
Consider claim 19, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches the determining a frame corresponding to the sticker image in the live stream comprises: detecting whether each live streaming video frame in the live stream contains the sticker image; and in response to that a live streaming video frame contains the sticker image, determining the live streaming video frame as the frame. (Fig. 1: First time information corresponding to the effect trigger operation is used to determine the first image frame and the client device displays the effect based on the frame information, [0064], [0072], [0074] Zhang.)
Consider claim 21, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches determining display position information of the sticker image in the frame comprises: identifying a reference identifier area in the frame that meets a preset selection condition; and determining relative position information of the sticker image relative to the reference identifier area as the display position information. (Fig. 4: The first effect information may be fused with a target object in the live stream content, [0067], [0071], [0098]-[0104] Zhang.)
Consider claim 22, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches the determining a frame corresponding to the sticker image in the live stream comprises: detecting whether each live streaming video frame in the live stream contains the sticker image; and in response to that a live streaming video frame contains the sticker image, determining the live streaming video frame as the frame. (Fig. 1: First time information corresponding to the effect trigger operation is used to determine the first image frame and the client device displays the effect based on the frame information, [0064], [0072], [0074] Zhang.)
Consider claim 24, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches the sending a sticker addition information comprises: sending the sticker addition information to a server, which forwards the sticker addition information to the second client for displaying the sticker image. (Fig. 9: First effect information is transmitted to the client via a server, [0133]-[0138] Zhang.)
Claims 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2025/0088679) in view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0124400) in view of Zukerman et al. (US 2018/0190322) in view of Mu (US 2018/0098028).
Consider claim 3, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman clearly teaches determining the display position information of the sticker image in the frame. (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068] Zhang.)
However, Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman does not explicitly teach determining first display coordinate information of the sticker image in a live streaming video display area of the frame; determining first display size information of the live streaming video display area; determining coordinate proportion information based on the first display coordinate information and the first display size information; and determining the display position information based on the coordinate proportion information.
In an analogous art, Mu, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches:
determining first display coordinate information of the sticker image in a live streaming video display area of the frame; (Fig. 2: The first position where the user taps the screen is determined, [0033].)
determining first display size information of the live streaming video display area; (The screen of the first terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid, [0040].)
determining coordinate proportion information based on the first display coordinate information and the first display size information; (When a user performs an operation in a grid whose coordinates are (50, 50), then (50, 50) is determined as the first position, [0040], [0080].) and
determining the display position information based on the coordinate proportion information. (The screen of the second terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid and the second position is determined to be the coordinates (50,50), [0041], [0081].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zhang combined with Wang and Zukerman by determining first display coordinate information of the sticker image in a live streaming video display area of the frame; determining first display size information of the live streaming video display area; determining coordinate proportion information based on the first display coordinate information and the first display size information; and determining the display position information based on the coordinate proportion information, as taught by Mu, for the benefit of adapting to different terminal screen sizes.
Consider claim 5, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches before sending the sticker addition information, obtaining second display size information of the sticker image in the frame; and updating the sticker addition information based on the second display size information. (Fig. 6: The size of the target virtual article is determined to increase based on the user input, [0045], [0047], [0048] Mu.)
Consider claim 8, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches displaying the sticker image in the frame based on the display position information comprises adding the sticker image to the target frame based on the display position information (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068] Zhang.) by: in response to that the display position information comprises coordinate proportion information between coordinates of the sticker image and a size of a corresponding live streaming video display area, (The screen of the first terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid, when a user performs an operation in a grid whose coordinates are (50, 50), then (50, 50) is determined as the first position, [0040], [0080] Mu.) obtaining third display size information of a viewing video display area corresponding to the frame; determining second display coordinate information based on the third display size information and the coordinate proportion information; and displaying the sticker image in the frame based on the second display coordinate information. (The screen of the second terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid and the second position is determined to be the coordinates (50,50), [0041], [0081] Mu.)
Consider claim 9, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches the coordinate proportion information is determined based on first display coordinate information of the sticker image in a live streaming video display area of a frame and first display size information of a live streaming video display area of a live streaming client. (The screen of the first terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid, when a user performs an operation in a grid whose coordinates are (50, 50), then (50, 50) is determined as the first position, [0040], [0080] Mu.)
Consider claim 11, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches in response to that the sticker addition information further comprises fourth display size information of the sticker image, before the displaying the display information of the sticker image in the frame based on the display information, adjusting size information of the sticker image based on the fourth display size information. (Fig. 6: The size of the target virtual article can be increased, [0045], [0047], [0048] Mu.)
Consider claim 12, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches the fourth display size information is display size information of the sticker image in the frame. (Fig. 6: The size of the target virtual article can be increased, [0045], [0047], [0048] Mu.)
Consider claim 20, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches determining display information of the sticker image in the frame (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068] Zhang.) comprises: determining first display coordinate information of the sticker image in a live streaming video display area of the frame; (Fig. 2: The first position where the user taps the screen is determined, [0033] Mu.) determining first display size information of the live streaming video display area; (The screen of the first terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid, [0040] Mu.) determining coordinate proportion information based on the first display coordinate information and the first display size information; (When a user performs an operation in a grid whose coordinates are (50, 50), then (50, 50) is determined as the first position, [0040], [0080] Mu.) and determining the display position information based on the coordinate proportion information. (The screen of the second terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid and the second position is determined to be the coordinates (50,50), [0041], [0081] Mu.)
Consider claim 23, Zhang combined with Wang, Zukerman and Mu clearly teaches determining display position information of the sticker image in the frame (Fig. 1: First effect information includes location information for displaying the effect, [0067], [0068] Zhang.) comprises: determining first display coordinate information of the sticker image in a live streaming video display area of the frame; (Fig. 2: The first position where the user taps the screen is determined, [0033] Mu.) determining first display size information of the live streaming video display area; (The screen of the first terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid, [0040] Mu.) determining coordinate proportion information based on the first display coordinate information and the first display size information; (When a user performs an operation in a grid whose coordinates are (50, 50), then (50, 50) is determined as the first position, [0040], [0080] Mu.) and determining the display position information based on the coordinate proportion information. (The screen of the second terminal is divided into a 100x100 grid and the second position is determined to be the coordinates (50,50), [0041], [0081] Mu.)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425