DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claims 8 and 40 are dependent claims refer to claims 7 and 38. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17, 38-40, and 51-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sabapathy et al. (US 20240053615 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sabapathy teaches a method of generating a first cat state embedded in a one-dimensional (1D) canonical cluster state ([0050], wherein the 1D canonical cluster state is a continuous variable (CV) quantum cluster state ([0005]-[0007]), the method comprising:
receiving a pair of entangled modes from a source of entangled cluster state modes comprising a first mode having a first initial state and a second mode having a second initial state, wherein the pair of entangled modes is associated with the 1D canonical cluster state (fig. 1, [0005]-[0007], and [0079], [0073] and [0084]);
selecting the first mode of the pair of entangled modes in the 1D canonical cluster state, wherein the first mode comprises a first optical field ([0005]-[0007], and [0034]);
performing photon subtraction on the first mode by at least splitting the first optical field into a first portion and a second portion of the first optical field ([0083] and [0100]);
performing a photon-number-resolving detection on the first portion to transform the first initial state of the first mode to a non-Gaussian state ([0005], [0031], and [0039]);
performing a first homodyne detection on the second portion to teleport the non- Gaussian state of the first mode to the second mode and transform the second initial state of the second mode to a teleported non-Gaussian state ([0120], [0125], and [0126]); and
performing a feed-forward Gaussian operation on the second mode to transform the teleported non-Gaussian state of the second mode to the first cat state embedded in the 1D canonical cluster state ([0120] and [0126]).
Regarding claim 2, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the non-Gaussian state is a cat-like state ([0050], [0083], [0111]).
Regarding claim 3, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first initial state and the second initial state comprise squeezed states ([0034] and [0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pair of entangled modes are generated by applying a CZ gate to two squeezed vacuum states ([0036], [0105], and [0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the teleported non-Gaussian state is a displaced cat state ([0033] and [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1 any of claims 1-5, wherein the feed- forward Gaussian operation is a displacement operation ([0120] and [0126].
Regarding claim 11, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the 1D canonical cluster state is separated from an N-dimensional canonical cluster state, and wherein the first cat state is entangled to the N-dimensional canonical cluster state ([0050], [0083], [0109]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 12, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising performing homodyne detection in momentum basis to entangle the first cat state to a second cat state generated by transforming a second 1D canonical cluster state separated from the N-dimensional canonical cluster state to the second cat state ([0120], [0125], and [0126]).
Regarding claim 13, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the 1D canonical cluster state is separated from the N-dimensional canonical cluster state by performing homodyne detection in position basis on selected modes of the N-dimensional canonical cluster state ([0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing photon subtraction on the first mode comprises subtracting n photons from the first optical field such that a mathematical operator representing the transformation of the first initial state of the first mode to the teleported non-Gaussian state of the second mode comprises applying an nthdegree polynomial in Q ([0083] and [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the nth degree polynomial in Q comprises a Hermite polynomial of degree n ([0051] and [0073], and [0095]).
Regarding claim 16, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting a reflectivity of a beam splitter used to perform the photon subtraction on the first mode to reduce a probability of coupling more than one photon to the first portion such that a mathematical operator representing the transformation of the first initial state of the first mode to the teleported non-Gaussian state of the second mode comprises applying a polynomial comprising a single factor of a quadrature operator Q on the first initial state (150 of fig. 1B and fig. 5; [0046], [0048]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 17, Sabapathy further discloses a method for generating a squeezed cat state embedded in a one dimensional (1D) canonical cluster state, the method comprising:
receiving a pair of entangled modes from a source of entangled cluster state modes, wherein the pair of entangled modes is associated with the 1D canonical cluster state (figure 1, [0005]-[0007], [0079]);
selecting a first mode of the pair of entangled modes in the 1D canonical cluster state (figure 1, [0005]-[0007], [0079]);
performing a squeezing operation on the first mode of the pair of entangled modes in the 1D canonical cluster state to squeeze an initial state of the first mode ([0033]-[0034], and [0042], and [0064]); and
performing a photon-number-resolving detection on the first mode to transform an initial state of a second mode of the pair of the entangled modes to the squeezed cat state, wherein the second mode is an unmeasured mode (figures 1 and 16, [0005]-[0007], [0031], [0031], [0039] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 38, Sabapathy further discloses a quantum system (figs. 1-5) for generating a first cat state embedded in a one-dimensional (1D) canonical cluster state, wherein the 1D canonical cluster state is a continuous variable (CV) quantum cluster state of a plurality of modes, and wherein each individual mode of the plurality of modes comprises an optical field, the quantum system comprising:
a quantum apparatus configured to generate the plurality of modes forming the 1D canonical cluster state, the plurality of modes comprising at least one pair of entangled modes comprising a first mode having a first initial state and a second mode having a second initial state (fig. 1); and
a measurement system (figs. 1-5) configured to control and perform measurement on optical fields of the individual modes of the plurality of modes, the measurement system comprising: a beam splitter configured to split the optical fields;
a homodyne measurement device; a photon counter; and a controller comprising:
a non-transitory memory configured to store specific computer- executable instructions for controlling and measuring the optical fields; and an electronic processor in communication with the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the specific computer-executable instructions ([0040]) to at least:
select the first mode of the pair of entangled modes in the 1D canonical cluster state, wherein the first mode comprises a first optical field ([0005]-[0007], and [0034]);
perform photon subtraction on the first mode by at least splitting the first optical field into a first portion and a second portion of the first optical field ([0083] and [0100]);
perform a photon-number-resolving detection on the first portion to transform the first initial state of the first mode to a non-Gaussian state ([0005], [0031], and [0039]);
perform a first homodyne detection on the second portion to teleport the non- Gaussian state of the first mode to the second mode and transform the second initial state of the second mode to a teleported non-Gaussian state ([0120], [0125], and [0126]); and
perform a feed-forward Gaussian operation on the second mode to transform the teleported non-Gaussian state of the second mode to the first cat state embedded in the 1D canonical cluster state ([0120] and [0126]).
Regarding claim 39, Sabapathy teaches the quantum system of claim 0, wherein the first and [[the]] second initial states comprise encoded states ([0112]).
Regarding claim 40. (Currently amended) The system of claim 0, wherein the electronic processor is configured to perform the feed-forward Gaussian operation by at least:directing a second optical field associated with the second mode to a first port of a second beam splitter and providing a coherent laser beam to a second port of the second beam splitter (150 of figs. 1A and 1B); and controlling an amplitude and/or a phase of the coherent laser beam to displace the teleported non-Gaussian state of the second mode (160 of fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 51, Sabapathy teaches a method of generating a first non-Gaussian state embedded in a cluster state ([0050]), wherein the cluster state is a continuous variable (CV) quantum cluster state ([0005] to [0007]), the method comprising:
performing photon subtraction on a first mode of the cluster state to transform a first initial state of the first mode to a first initial non-Gaussian state, wherein the first mode is entangled to a second mode of the cluster state ([0004], [0084], and [0100]); and teleporting the first initial non-Gaussian state of the first mode to the second mode to transform a second initial state of the second mode to the first non-Gaussian state of the second mode, embedded in the cluster state ([0005]-[0007], [0079]).
Regarding claim 52, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 51, further comprising performing a feed-forward Gaussian operation on the second mode to transform the first non-Gaussian state of the second mode to a first cat state embedded in the cluster state ([0120] and [0126]).
Regarding claim 53, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 51, wherein the CV quantum cluster state comprises a one-dimensional cluster state ([0050] cluster states encompass one-dimensional cluster state).
Regarding claim 54, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 51, wherein performing photon subtraction on the first mode comprises performing a Photon-Number-Resolved detection on a portion of [[the]] an optical field associated with the first mode ([0005], [0031], [0039]).
Regarding claim 55, Sabapathy teaches the method of claim 54, further comprising generating the portion of the optical field associated with the first mode using a beam splitter (150 of fig. 1B, [0005]).
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by S. WANG, et al., "Continuous- variable quantum teleportation with non- Gaussian entangled states generated via multiple-photon subtraction and addition", June 2015, Phys. Rev. A 91, 063832, doi:10.1103/PhysRevA.91.063832 (hereafter “Wang”)
Regarding claim 55, Wang discloses a method of generating a first non-Gaussian state embedded in a cluster state, wherein the cluster state is a continuous variable (CV) quantum cluster state, the method comprising: performing photon subtraction on a first mode of the cluster state to transform a first initial state of the first mode to a first initial non-Gaussian state, wherein the first mode is entangled to a second mode of the cluster state [ see Dl: Page 1-2];
and teleporting the first initial non-Gaussian state of the first mode to the second mode to transform a second initial state of the second mode to the first non-Gaussian state of the second mode, embedded in the cluster state. [ see Dl: Page 1-2, 8-9].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neergaard-Nielsen et al. (US 20260046024 A1) discloses a method for performing Gaussian boson sampling, the method comprising the steps of [0015] a) generating a set of pulsed pairs of squeezed vacuum states, [0016] b) performing time multiplexed correlation of multiple of such pairs of squeezed vacuum states, [0017] c) measuring, via a homodyne detection, a state from the pairs of generated squeezed vacuum states.
Eaton et al. (US 20240167871 A1) discloses methods are disclosed for performing projective measurements combining continuous-variable quadrature and discrete photon-number-basis detections on bosonic quantum modes. Some embodiments use single-photon detectors to perform photon subtraction on a bosonic mode propagating along a waveguide prior to field measurements with homodyne detection. Methods of implementation and specific applications for quantum computation, Gaussian boson sampling, and full quantum state tomography are also disclosed.
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425