Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 06/24/2026. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5-7,11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZhangUS20220353914A1
-Claims 2-4, 8-10 and 13 are Canceled.
Regarding claim 1,7 and 14, ZhangUS20220353914A1 discloses
-1 A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: -7. A user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver ; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed)( fig.2, and [0034]-[0039] discloses UE comprising transceiver 230, processor 236 couple to the memory 234, the memory include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor),cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising
-14. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing at least one computer program comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for a user equipment (UE)( fig.2, and [0034]-[0039] discloses UE comprising transceiver 230, processor 236 couple to the memory 234, the memory include a cache memory for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor), the operations comprising:
receiving first information related to a plurality of beam groups for a serving cell, wherein each beam group includes one or more beams [0077] the wireless communication node may use a RRC message (or other messages) to indicate/specify one or more transmission beams. The wireless communication device may receive/obtain the indication of the one or more transmissions beams via the RRC message), and
receiving second information related to listen-before-talk (LBT) failure recovery, wherein the second information includes a detection timer for consistent LBT failure detection, and a count value related to a number of LBT failure indications for triggering an LBT failure recovery[0005] A wireless communication device may perform one or more listen-before-talk (LBT) attempts on each of a plurality of beams. Each of the plurality of beams may have a respective beam direction. The wireless communication device may determine a count (e.g., a number or other statistics) of failed LBT attempts for at least one of the plurality of beams, wherein [0144] the wireless communication device determines a count of failed LBT attempts (e.g., DL LBT statistics) for each of a plurality of beams. A count of failed LBT attempts for a first beam may comprise a maximum value of a counter prior to a timer expiring or restarting wherein [0067] discloses the wireless communication device may count/determine/calculate the number of UL LBT failures (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts) using a counter and a timer. The wireless communication device may count the number of UL LBT failures per beam (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts for each SSB corresponding to at least one beam), wherein [0023] number of downlink LBT failures reaching or exceeding a threshold may trigger/cause/initiate beam failure recovery (BFR),
performing LBT for a first beam group among the plurality of beam groups prior to a data transmission; [0129]-[0130] FIG. 7 discloses a method 750 for direction-based listen before talk (LBT),where the method 750 may include performing LBT on each of a plurality of beams (752). The method 750 may include determining a count of failed LBT attempts for at least one of the beams (754) , a wireless communication device may perform LBT on each of a plurality of beams. The wireless communication device may perform/conduct/execute one or more LBT attempts on each of a plurality of beams. Each of the respective beams may have or correspond to at least one beam direction,
based on the LBT being successful for at least one beam included in the first beam group, performing the data transmission via the at least one beam for which the LBT is successful in the first beam group[0022]A wireless communication device (e.g., a UE, a terminal, or a served node) may count/calculate a number of LBT failures (e.g., failed LBT attempts) for each beam when directional LBT is used. The wireless communication device may perform/execute LBT in the one or more beams prior to performing/initiating a transmission. If at least one of the beams results in a successful LBT attempt, the wireless communication device may perform/complete the corresponding transmission. wherein the wireless communication device may select/identify/determine at least one beam with a light load based on one or more uplink LBT failure statistics (e.g., a count of failed LBT attempts), where [0019] a wireless communication device reports a consistent LBT failure (i.e. data) to a wireless communication node),
based on the LBT failure recovery being triggered for the first beam group [0067] discloses the wireless communication device may count/determine/calculate the number of UL LBT failures (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts) using a counter and a timer. The wireless communication device may count the number of UL LBT failures per beam (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts for each SSB corresponding to at least one beam), wherein [0023] number of downlink LBT failures reaching or exceeding a threshold may trigger/cause/initiate beam failure recovery (BFR),, performing the data transmission with an LBT failure report related to the first beam group via a second beam group having a beam for which the LBT is successful among the plurality of beam groups[0022]A wireless communication device (e.g., a UE, a terminal, or a served node) may count/calculate a number of LBT failures (e.g., failed LBT attempts) for each beam when directional LBT is used. The wireless communication device may perform/execute LBT in the one or more beams prior to performing/initiating a transmission. If at least one of the beams results in a successful LBT attempt, the wireless communication device may perform/complete the corresponding transmission. wherein the wireless communication device may select/identify/determine at least one beam with a light load based on one or more uplink LBT failure statistics (e.g., a count of failed LBT attempts), wherein [0019] a wireless communication device reports a consistent LBT failure (i.e. data) to a wireless communication node),
wherein the LBT failure recovery is triggered for the first beam group based on an LBT counter for the first beam group becoming larger than or equal to the count value [0067] discloses the wireless communication device may count/determine/calculate the number of UL LBT failures (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts) using a counter and a timer. The wireless communication device may count the number of UL LBT failures per beam (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts for each SSB corresponding to at least one beam), wherein [0023] number of downlink LBT failures reaching or exceeding a threshold may trigger/cause/initiate beam failure recovery (BFR)) (see also [0144] – [0146] the wireless communication device may determine a count of failed LBT attempts (e.g., DL LBT statistics) for each of a plurality of beams. A count of failed LBT attempts for a first beam may comprise a maximum value of a counter prior to a timer expiring or restarting. Responsive to a failed LBT attempt, the counter may increment/increase in value (e.g., by a value of 1). Responsive to a failed LBT attempt, the timer may start or restart, when the value of the counter meets or exceeds the threshold, beam failure recovery may be triggered/initiated,
wherein, based on an occurrence of an LBT failure indication for the first beam group, i) the detection timer starts or restarts and ii) the LBT counter for the first beam group, which is initially set to 0, is incremented by 1, and wherein the LBT counter for the first beam group is set to 0 based on expiry of the detection timer [0067] discloses The wireless communication device may count/determine/calculate the number of UL LBT failures (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts) using a counter and a timer. The wireless communication device may count the number of UL LBT failures per beam (e.g., a number of failed LBT attempts for each SSB corresponding to at least one beam). At least one of the following two approaches may be considered/used/implemented:
-Approach 1: For each beam, the wireless communication device may receive/obtain a LBT failure indication (e.g., failed LBT attempt) from one or more lower layers. If the LBT failure indication is received, the counter may increase/increment (e.g., by a value of 1) and/or the timer may start/restart. The counter may reset (e.g., set to 0 or other initial/default/defined value) once the timer expires. In this approach, the timer may start/restart with each failed LBT attempt. The timer may run its full course/duration (e.g., until expiration) unless another failed LBT attempt occurs (e.g., prior to expiration).
-Approach 2: For each beam, the wireless communication device may receive/obtain a LBT failure indication from one or more lower layers. If the LBT failure indication is received, the counter may increase/increment (e.g., by a value of 1 or other default/defined value). If the counter is equal to zero and a LBT failure indication is received, the timer may start/initiate. The counter may reset (e.g., set to 0 or other initial/default/defined value) once the timer expires. In this approach, the timer may run its full course/duration (e.g., until expiration) prior to restarting the timer (e.g., run its full course/duration again).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, ZhangUS20220353914A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 7, respectively
Zhang further discloses wherein, based on the LBT being successful for two or more beams in the first beam group, performing the data transmission via the at least one beam for which the LBT is successful in the first beam group comprises: selecting one of the two or more beams based on reference signal received powers (RSRPs) related to the two or more beams; and performing the data transmission via the selected beam. 0130] a wireless communication device may perform LBT on each of a plurality of beams. The wireless communication device may perform/conduct/execute one or more LBT attempts on each of a plurality of beams. Each of the respective beams may have or correspond to at least one beam direction. In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may identify/specify one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and/or channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs). Measurements or other aspects (e.g., RSRP, RSSI) of the identified SSBs and/or CSI-RSs may be compared to a first threshold. The identified SSBs and/or CSI-RSs may meet/reach or exceed the first threshold, wherein [0133] In some embodiments, one or more SSBs and/or CSI-RSs may have a corresponding reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or received signal strength indicator (RSSI). The wireless communication device may determine that each of the one or more SSBs and/or CSI-RSs has a RSRP that meets or exceeds (e.g., equal to and/or higher than) a first threshold. The wireless communication device may determine that each of the one or more SSBs and/or CSI-RSs has a RSSI that is below (e.g., less than and/or equal to) a second threshold. The wireless communication device may configure the first threshold (e.g., rsrp-thresholdSSB) and/or the second threshold (e.g., rssi-thresholdSSB) using system information and/or the RRC message (or other messages). The wireless communication device may select/identify at least one of the one or more SSBs and/or CSI-RS (e.g., with a RSRP greater or equal to the first threshold and/or a RSSI that is below the second threshold). In some embodiments, the wireless communication device may select the at least one SSB and/or CSI-RS in a random/arbitrary manner. The wireless communication device may perform/conduct one or more LBT attempts on the selected SSB(s) and/or CSI-RS(s). Responsive to performing the LBT attempts, the wireless communication device may identify at least one of the plurality of beams corresponding to a successful LBT attempt. The wireless communication device may send/transmit/broadcast a (random access) preamble using the identified beam(s) (e.g., corresponding to a successful LBT attempt).
Regarding claim 6 and 12, ZhangUS20220353914A1 discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 7, respectively
Zhang further discloses wherein, based on the first beam group including a beam for which LBT failure is detected, performing the data transmission via the at least one beam for which the LBT is successful in the first beam group comprises: transmitting information related to the beam for which the LBT failure is detected in the first beam group[0022]A wireless communication device (e.g., a UE, a terminal, or a served node) may count/calculate a number of LBT failures (e.g., failed LBT attempts) for each beam when directional LBT is used. The wireless communication device may perform/execute LBT in the one or more beams prior to performing/initiating a transmission. If at least one of the beams results in a successful LBT attempt, the wireless communication device may perform/complete the corresponding transmission. wherein the wireless communication device may select/identify/determine at least one beam with a light load based on one or more uplink LBT failure statistics (e.g., a count of failed LBT attempts), wherein [0019] a wireless communication device reports a consistent LBT failure (i.e. data) to a wireless communication node).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s amendment to claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELTIF AJID whose telephone number is (571)272-7749. The examiner can normally be reached 9 am -5 pm.
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478