DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the column section, separation section, engagement protrusion, and reinforcement plate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Regards to claim 1, recites “the reinforcement plate” –a reinforcement plate--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (JP 2006066080 A) (English Translated).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Seo teaches an FPC connector (20) comprising:
(a) a housing (24) enabling attaching of a FPC (10) with a bifurcated tip, wherein (b) the housing (24) includes:
a column section (244) that engages a separation section (244) formed in the center of the FPC (10) in the width direction, and engagement protrusions (17) that enter into and engage with engaging openings formed at both ends of the FPC (10) in the width direction;
(c) the engagement protrusions (17) are formed protruding from the side of the FPC (10) opposite the reinforcement plate (15) toward the reinforcement plate (15) side; and(d)
the housing (24) further includes a recessed section (241) formed in the center thereof in the width direction and a slit formed in the recessed section (241) that an internal end part of the FPC (10) separation section (244) fits into.
In Regards to Claim 2:
Seo teaches the FPC connector according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the column section (244) deviates to one side or the other of the center of the recessed section (241) in the width direction.
In Regards to Claim 3:
Seo teaches the FPC connector according to claim 1, wherein a viewing window enabling viewing the engagement state of the engaging opening and the engagement protrusion (17) is formed in the outer wall surface of the housing (24).
In Regards to Claim 4:
Seo teaches the FPC connector according to claim 1, wherein the housing (24) includes a press protrusion section (245) formed to the outside of the engagement protrusion (17) in the width direction that protrudes in the opposite direction as that of the engagement protrusion (17) and contacts a portion on the reinforcement plate (15) side surface of the FPC (10) that is closer to the front than the engaging opening.
In Regards to Claim 5:
Seo teaches the FPC connector according to claim 1, wherein the housing (24) includes a releasing space formed closer to the front than the engagement protrusion (17).
In Regards to Claim 6:
Seo teaches a connector pair (20), comprising:
the FPC connector according to claim 1 and a counterpart connector that mates with the FPC connector (20).
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831