DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui CN_112976704_A (see machine English translation) in view of Yan WO_2020131985_A1 and Evans WO_2021142169_A1.
Regarding Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, Cui discloses: an article (e.g. battery module) comprising a multilayer laminate (surface layer / insulating layer / core layer) (corresponds to claimed limitation of instant Claim 10) that comprises:
(a) a first surface layer comprising a crosslinked polysiloxane matrix (e.g. vinyl polydimethylsiloxane reacted with methyl phenyl silicone etc.);
(b) a central layer selected from aerogel sheet; wherein said central layer defines one or more than one void such that the total volume of voids defined in the central layer is in a range of 5 to 95 volume- percent of volume defined by the central layer (aerogel foam layer), and
(c) a second surface layer.
(para. [0020] - para. [0022]; examples 1-2; claims 1; 5-7).
However, Cui does not disclose the claimed use of flame retardant additives in its surface layers nor does it disclose the use of endothermic agents occupying said voids of said central layer.
Yan discloses a bonded multilayer article comprising a polydiorganosiloxane layer (Page 6, Lines 29-34; Page 12, Lines 1-6) that can comprise flame retardant additives in an amount ranging from 0.1 to 30 wt% (Page 13, Lines 20-33).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the polydimethylsiloxane layer, of Cui, by using flame retardants, as disclosed by Yan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to obtain flame retardancy in its polydimethylsiloxane layer.
Evans discloses a battery thermal management member comprising an aerogel layer having voids (Page 19, Lines 13-27) with endothermic fire-class additives (Page 68, Lines 23-25), such as sodium bicarbonate (corresponds to limitation of instant Claim 7) (Page 69, Line 31 – Page 70, Lines 14) in a percent that would overlap with Applicants’ claimed range of instant Claim 6 (Page 70, Line 29 – Page 72, Line 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the aerogel layer, of Cui, by using endothermic agents, as disclosed by Evans so as to manage battery thermal and heat control (Page 44, Lines 14-19).
Regarding Claim 2, Cui in view of Yan and Evans doesn’t suggest the modulus but it would be expected for it to inherently possess the same physical properties on account of teaching the claimed composition and structure.
Regarding Claim 3, Cui in view of Yan and Evans suggests a total batter module thickness ranging from 2mm to 10 mm (Evans), which would be expected to meet the wide range for its surface layers.
Regarding Claim 4, Cui in view of Yan and Evans suggests a central aerogel layer thickness ranging from 0.3 mm to 15 mm (Evans Page 65, Lines 5-8).
Regarding Claim 5, although Cui in view of Yan and Evans only discloses using up to 30 wt% as mentioned above, it would nevertheless be expected for one of ordinary skill in the art to know how to vary the flame retardant concentration based on desired flame retardancy.
Regarding Claims 8, 9, Cui in view of Yan and Evans suggests using an adhesive (Cui paragraph 0006) such as those made of silicone (Evans: Page 48, Lines 19-23).
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 September 7, 2026