DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 25-28, 30-34, 37-41 and 43-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (KR 20170111544, hereafter Han) in view of Milton et al. (US 5,903,654, hereafter Milton)
With respect to claim 23, Han teaches an aerological sonde (radiosonde 200) for measuring meteorological conditions in atmosphere, the aerological sonde (radiosonde 200) being configured to travel in the atmosphere and comprising a measurement unit having a navigation satellite system module (satellite navigation receiver 250) arranged to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of a navigation satellite system as measurement data. (Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the navigation satellite system module comprises: a first navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, and a second navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a dual-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency and navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, wherein the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system on at least two different frequencies.
Milton teaches a navigation satellite system module comprising: a first navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency (L1) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, and a second navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency (L2) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a dual-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency (L1) and navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency (L2) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, wherein the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system on at least two different frequencies. (col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Han to include a receiver which can receive first and second frequencies from navigation satellites, as taught by Milton, in order to improve the accuracy of the received data.
With respect to claim 25, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches wherein the navigation satellite system module comprises: a third navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a third frequency (E code) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a multi-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having different frequencies from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system. (Milton, col. 1, lines 42-67)
With respect to claim 26, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches navigation satellite system module is configured to measure carrier phase data based on the first frequency and the second frequency. (Milton, col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
With respect to claim 27, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from two or more navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system (monitors the signals of each satellite); or the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from two or more navigation satellites of two or more different navigation satellite systems. (Milton, col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
With respect to claim 28, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches wherein at least one of: the navigation satellite system is a global navigation satellite system, the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive global navigation satellite system signals; the navigation satellite system is a regional navigation satellite system, the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive regional navigation satellite system signals; or the navigation satellite system is stationary navigation satellite system, the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive stationary navigation satellite system signals. (Han, Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
With respect to claim 30, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches wherein the measurement unit comprises at least one of: a telemetry module (transmitter) configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde; a telemetry module, the telemetry module comprising a wireless transmitter element configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde; a telemetry module, the telemetry module comprising an FM transmitter element configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde; or a telemetry module, the telemetry module comprising a wireless communication network element configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde. (Han, Abstract, trans. pars. 12, 37-38)
With respect to claim 31, Han teaches a system for measuring meteorological conditions in atmosphere, the system comprising: one or more aerological sondes (radiosonde 200), the one or more aerological sondes being configured to travel in the atmosphere and comprising a measurement unit having a navigation satellite system module (satellite navigation receiver 250) arranged to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of a navigation satellite system as measurement data and a telemetry module configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde; and at least one base station, the at least one base station comprising a communication module configured to receive the measurement data from the one or more aerological sondes (data must be inherently be received), wherein the system comprises a processing unit configured to calculate: humidity in the atmosphere by utilizing the received frequencies. (Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the navigation satellite system module comprises: a first navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, and a second navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a dual-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency and navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, wherein the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system on at least two different frequencies, wherein the system comprises a processing unit configured to calculate: humidity in the atmosphere by utilizing the at least two different frequencies of the received navigation satellite system signals of the navigation satellite system, or humidity, temperature and pressure in the atmosphere by utilizing the at least two different frequencies of the received navigation satellite system signals of the navigation satellite system.
Milton teaches a navigation satellite system module comprising: a first navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency (L1) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, and a second navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency (L2) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a dual-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency (L1) and navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency (L2) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, wherein the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system on at least two different frequencies. (col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the structure of Han to include a receiver which can receive first and second frequencies from navigation satellites, as taught by Milton, in order to improve the accuracy of the received and calculated data.
With respect to claim 32, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches the navigation satellite system module comprises: a multi-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having different frequencies from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system. (Milton, col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
With respect to claim 33, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches the telemetry module comprises at least one of: a wireless transmitter element configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde; an FM transmitter element configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde; or a wireless communication network element configured to transmit measurement data from the aerological sonde. (Han, Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
With respect to claim 34, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches that at least one of: the communication module of the base station comprises at least one base station navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, the communication module of the base station comprises an FM receiver configured to receive measurement data from the one or more aerological sondes, and the communication module of the base station comprises a wireless communication network element to receive measurement data of the one or more aerological sondes. (Han, Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
With respect to claim 37, Han teaches a method for measuring meteorological conditions in atmosphere, the method comprising: releasing an aerological sonde (radiosonde 200) to the atmosphere and allowing the aerological sonde to travel in the atmosphere, and receiving in the aerological sonde navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of a navigation satellite system (satellite navigation receiver 250) as measurement data during the travel of the aerological sonde in the atmosphere, wherein the method comprises a processing unit configured to calculate: humidity in the atmosphere by utilizing the received frequencies. (Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the navigation satellite system module comprises: a first navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, and a second navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a dual-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency and navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, wherein the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system on at least two different frequencies, wherein the system comprises a processing unit configured to calculate: humidity in the atmosphere by utilizing the at least two different frequencies of the received navigation satellite system signals of the navigation satellite system, or humidity, temperature and pressure in the atmosphere by utilizing the at least two different frequencies of the received navigation satellite system signals of the navigation satellite system.
Milton teaches a navigation satellite system module comprising: a first navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency (L1) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, and a second navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency (L2) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system; or a dual-frequency navigation satellite system receiver configured to receive navigation satellite system signals having a first frequency (L1) and navigation satellite system signals having a second frequency (L2) from the navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system, wherein the navigation satellite system module is configured to receive navigation satellite system signals from navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system on at least two different frequencies. (col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Han to include a receiver which can receive first and second frequencies from navigation satellites, as taught by Milton, in order to improve the accuracy of the received and calculated data.
With respect to claim 38, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches receiving at least two navigation satellite system signals from two or more navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system simultaneously, respectively, and the at least two navigation satellite system signals having different frequencies (receiving from each satellite); or receiving at least two navigation satellite system signals from two or more navigation satellites of two or more different navigation satellite systems, respectively, and the at least two navigation satellite system signals having different frequencies. (Milton, col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
With respect to claim 39, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches the aerological sonde is a radiosonde comprising an ascent member arranged to lift the radiosonde in the atmosphere, and the method comprises receiving the navigation satellite system signals during ascent of the radiosonde or during descent of the radiosonde or during ascent and descent of the radiosonde in the atmosphere; or the aerological sonde is a dropsonde comprising a parachute member arranged to slow down dropping of the dropsonde in the atmosphere, and the method comprises receiving the navigation satellite system signals during descent of the dropsonde in the atmosphere; or the aerological sonde comprises a sonde casing, the sonde casing is arranged to form a sole drag surface of the aerological sonde such that a self-sustaining aerological sonde is formed, and the method comprises receiving the navigation satellite system signals during the travel of the self-sustaining aerological sonde in the atmosphere. (Han, Abstract, trans. pars. 23-28, 34)
With respect to claim 40, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches calculating the tropospheric delay of the navigation satellite system signals of the navigation satellite system received in the aerological sonde by utilizing the navigation satellite system signals having the at least two different frequencies. (Milton, col. 1, lines 42-67, col. 5, lines 1-45)
With respect to claim 41, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches an inversion calculation of a three-dimensional atmospheric model for navigation satellite signals comprising a tropospheric part with humidity, temperature and pressure fields and an ionospheric part comprising a description of the ionosphere by utilizing the at least two frequencies of the received navigation satellite system signals from the two or more navigation satellites of the navigation satellite system during the travel of the aerological sonde in the atmosphere. (Han, Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
With respect to claim 43, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches the aerological sonde comprises a processing unit configured to determine an ionospheric delay by utilizing carrier phase data associated with the first frequency and the second frequency, to determine a tropospheric delay after accounting for the ionospheric delay, and to determine humidity in the atmosphere based on the tropospheric delay.
With respect to claim 44, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches the processing unit is configured to determine an ionospheric delay by utilizing carrier phase data associated with the first frequency and the second frequency, to determine a tropospheric delay after accounting for the ionospheric delay, and to determine the humidity in the atmosphere based on the tropospheric delay.
With respect to claim 45, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches determining an ionospheric delay by utilizing carrier phase data associated with the first frequency and the second frequency, determining a tropospheric delay after accounting for the ionospheric delay, and determining the humidity in the atmosphere based on the tropospheric delay.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Milton, as in the above rejection, and further in view of Henriksson et al. (WO 2021/099688, hereafter Henriksson)
With respect to claim 29, Han, as modified by Milton, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except wherein at least one of: the measurement unit of the aerological sonde comprises a turbulence sensor arranged to measure turbulence in the atmosphere; the measurement unit of the aerological sonde comprises a turbulence sensor arranged to measure turbulence in the atmosphere, the turbulence sensor comprising a gyroscopic sensor arranged to measure change of orientation of the aerological sonde; the measurement unit of the aerological sonde comprises a turbulence sensor arranged to measure turbulence in the atmosphere, the turbulence sensor comprising an accelerometer arranged to measure change of rate of velocity of the self-sustaining aerological sonde; or the measurement unit of the aerological sonde comprises a turbulence sensor arranged to measure turbulence in the atmosphere, the turbulence sensor comprising a gyroscopic sensor arranged to measure change of orientation of the aerological sonde and an accelerometer arranged to measure change of rate of velocity of the self-sustaining aerological sonde. (Abstract, trans. pars. 9, 14-15, 23-28, 34)
Henriksson teaches an aerological sonde comprising a turbulence sensor arranged to measure turbulence in the atmosphere. (page 2, lines 25 – page 3, line 4, page 26, line 14 – page 28, line 7)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the structure of Han to include a turbulence sensor, as taught by Henriksson, in order to provide information from the radiosonde about severe weather such as a cyclonic storm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that although Han discusses that the standard GPS satellite system transmits signals on first and second frequencies, Han does not teach receiving signals at two frequencies. This argument is not particularly persuasive, as dual-frequency GPS receivers are well-known in the art and therefore it would be understood that the disclosure of Han implies the receipt of both signals.
However, in the interests of supporting the examiner’s position, a secondary reference to Belly has been included for clarity in the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853