DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 111963651A; hereinafter “Li”).
Claim 1
Li discloses a spline connecting structure having a locking function, the spline connecting structure comprising:
a first spline component (1) having a plurality of first teeth (1011);
a second spline component (2) having a plurality of second teeth (2011), wherein the plurality of second teeth are in clearance fit with the plurality of first teeth (since the teeth must be able to slide in the slanted pattern so these must necessarily have some amount of clearance); and
a locking member (3) threadedly connected to the first spline component (at 102), wherein the locking member (3) abuts against the second spline component (2) in a circumferential direction of the second spline component, to prevent the second spline component (2) from rotating relative to the locking member (the rough troughs and ridges of 601 engaged with the frictional surface of 2 and its troughs and ridges).
It is noted that the two frictional surfaces (6 and 601) engage with one another to prevent relative rotation thereby creating a circumferential/rotational force against one another.
Claim 7
Li discloses a retainer (4), wherein the retainer (4) is sleeved on the first spline component (1) (see e.g. FIGS. 1 and 2 and claim 3 describing this sleeve being welded to 1) and abuts against an end surface (at 501) on a second side (side on which 501 is located) of the second spline component (2) to axially stop the second spline component.
Claim 11
Li discloses a spline connecting structure having a locking function, the spline connecting structure comprising:
a first spline component (1) having a plurality of first teeth (1011);
a second spline component (2) having a plurality of second teeth (2011), wherein the plurality of second teeth engage with the plurality of first teeth with a clearance fit (since the teeth must be able to slide in the slanted pattern so these must necessarily have some amount of clearance); and
a locking member (3) threadedly connected to the first spline component (at 102) to hold the second spline component axially in engagement with the spring spline component (1), the locking member (3) abuts against a portion of the second spline component (2) in a circumferential direction, to prevent the second spline component (2) from rotating relative to the locking member (the rough troughs and ridges of 601 engaged with the frictional surface of 2 and its troughs and ridges).
It is noted that the two frictional surfaces (6 and 601) engage with one another to prevent relative rotation thereby creating a circumferential/rotational force against one another.
Claim 17
Li discloses a retainer (4), wherein the retainer (4) is sleeved on the first spline component (1) (see e.g. FIGS. 1 and 2 and claim 3 describing this sleeve being welded to 1) and abuts against an end surface (at 501) on a second side (side on which 501 is located) of the second spline component (2) to axially stop the second spline component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With reference to each of claims 2 and 12, the prior art does not disclose the combination as recited wherein the second spline component comprises at least one accommodating portion recessed away from the locking member in an axial direction of the second spline component, the locking member comprises at least one abutment portion, and a part of the at least one abutment portion reaches into the at least one accommodating portion in the axial direction and abuts against a side wall of the accommodating portion.
US 5,533,863 discloses a locking member (30) that includes protrusion however the protrusions on are the side away from abutment. US 4,929,118 includes a locking member (4) however the second spline member does not include an accommodation portion distinct from the splines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lindemann et al. (US 2016/0252170; hereinafter “Lindemann”) discloses a locking member (136) with threads and face teeth on two members (126, 128). US 5,836,713 includes two splined members and a threaded locking member.
/STACEY A FLUHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655