DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks , filed 04/17/26, with respect to claims 1, 5,6, 9 and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-8,10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marelli (JP2020159305) in view of Case (US3429397).
With respect to claim 1 Marelli discloses a muffler, wherein the muffler is formed by an exhaust pipe (14 in figure 2) for discharging an exhaust gas, The exhaust pipe having an extension direction and a radial direction, at least a partial region of an interior of the exhaust pipe being divided into a muffling chamber and an exhaust passage portion by a partition plate arranged along the extension direction (plate 15 in figure 3), At a downstream end portion of the muffling chamber in a flow direction of the exhaust gas, a peripheral wall off the exhaust chamber side being deformed toward the partition plate to engage with the partition plate, thereby closing a downstream opening of the muffling chamber in the flow direction of the exhaust gas (see bends of member as shown in figures 2 and 3).
Marelli does not expressly disclose a crimped closure means which forms a protruding part or that the crimping of the muffler wall is deformed toward the partition plate.
Case discloses (33 in figure 4 and 23 in figure 2) a crimped closure of a muffling chamber which the crimped portion forms a protruding part.
It would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing to use crimping as a means of closure as such ap recess is known and requires no additional materials.
The reversal of the arrangement of which element is deformed towards which would have been an obvious matter as there would not be a change in the function of the elements and the connection. Further it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
With respect to claim 2 Marelli as modified further discloses (Marelli embodiment of figure 1) wherein the exhaust pipe is a straight pipe.
With respect to claim 3 Marelli as modified (embodiment of Marelli figures 6 and 9) further discloses wherein the exhaust pipe is a bent pipe with at least one bent portion. With respect to claim 4 Marelli as modified (see embodiment of figure 9 of Marelli) further discloses wherein the muffling chamber is located at least at the bent portion.
With respect to claim 6 Marelli as modified discloses the use of welding (see Case which discloses spot welding) but does not expressly disclose an inert gas welding means. Such welding is well known in the art of automotive exhaust fabrication and would have been obvious to use in the manufacture of the muffler as claimed.
Inert gas welding is known to allow full weld beads rather than just spot connections, these weld beads are both strong and sealing in nature as would be understood to be of benefit to a space that is intended to be sealed. This would constitute only the use of a known process in a known way.
The use of such known processes to attach any of the members of the muffler structure including the peripheral wall of the exhaust pipe and the partition pate would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art so as to provide a positive engagement of the permanent connection.
With respect to claims 7 and 8 Marelli as modified discloses the structure as being crimped at the connection (see case figure 2 the crimp is directed toward a wall) the use of the crimp being known it would have been obvious to direct the crimp in any desirable direction as this would allow the taught structure to retain its function and allow for the best use of available space. It is further considered that such an application would be applicable to any of the taught connections including at the downstream end portion of the muffler chamber, the peripheral wall of the exhaust pipe on the muffling chamber side being crimped inward in the radial direct5ion to engage with the partition plate.
With respect to claim 10 Marinelli as modified further discloses wherein the partition plate has bent portions at both end sides in a width direction perpendicular to the extension direction (see 15a), wherein the bent portions are welded (see again Case which discloses welding to attach with a muffler) to the exhaust pipe. While not expressly disclosing laser welding per se as laser welding is a another known form of welding the sue thereof would have been obvious as laser welding required no additional material and allows for a sealed connection.
With respect to claim 12 Marelli further discloses wherein a cross sectional area of the exhaust passage portion is larger than a cross sectional area of the muffling chamber (see both figures of Case and Marelli).
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2020159305 (hereinafter Marelli) in view of Case (US3429397) as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Powers (US3402785).
With respect to claim 5 Marelli as modified by Case discloses the invention as claimed except expressly wherein the engagement portion is T-shaped. Powers discloses (figure 3) wherein the engagement portion of the crimped portion is formed as a T-shape (which is to say that just as in the instant application there is a narrow leg which contacts while surrounded by flanged outward portion. Powers discloses 4 such structures, but the teachings of the metal being crimpled in a way to act as a spacer, a supporter and a diameter reducer is disclosed. The application to a single T shape rather than the 4 shown by Powers would have been an obvious matter to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing as one could through routine testing arrive at the minimum number of such flange and leg structures, with one being an obvious number to try.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to disclose or to fairly suggest in combination the cover as claimed. Applicant’s remarks in the matter are considered persuasive.
Conclusion
/FORREST M PHILLIPS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837