DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 07/09/2026 to the specification and claims have overcome specification objection, claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, and prior art rejections as preciously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection Office Action mailed on 04/09/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7 and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji et al (WO 2019171803 A1), hereinafter Tsuji in view of Li et al (US 20190286892 A1), hereinafter Li, and further in view of Watanabe et al (JP 2019091138 A), hereinafter Watanabe.
-Regarding claim 1, Tsuji discloses an image processing system comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-8): at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions stored in the at least one memory to (FIGS. 1-2; Page 4, 4th paragraph, ”CPU (processor), memory …”; Page 5, 3rd paragraph); acquire an estimation result of estimating a posture of a person (a posture of a person has to be estimated in order to perform comparison of subject posture and posing in Tsuji’s FIG. 3 and FIG. 5 (see also page 7, 3rd paragraph and page 9, 2nd paragraph)) included in a first image and a person included in a second image (FIG. 3; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “recognizes elements appearing in the image”, 5th paragraph, “recognize elements such as a person, an object, …”; Page 6, 1st paragraph, “… human recognition … determines the category of the image based on the element of the image … Subject (person) attributes: "Female", "Couple", "Baby", "Businessman" … may be classified into a plurality of categories …”; Page 7, 3rd paragraph, “comparison of subject posture and posing”; FIG. 5, step 521; Page 8, “performs various analysis processes such as human recognition, general object recognition”; Page 9, 2nd paragraph, “similar person's posture and posing”); acquire a recognition result of recognizing an object, other than the persons (FIG. 3; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “recognizes elements appearing in the image”, 5th paragraph, “recognize elements such as a person, an object, …”; Page 6, 1st paragraph, “… object recognition … Subject (general object) ... "car", "mountain", "cherry blossom", "viewer", "temple"…”; FIG. 5, step 521; Page 8, “performs various analysis processes such as human recognition, general object recognition”), included in the first image and an object included in the second image (FIGS 1-2); and perform a similarity determination of the similarity of the first image to the second image based on the estimation results of the postures of the persons and the recognition results of the objects (Abstract; FIG. 1; FIG. 2, units 101-106; FIGS. 5-8; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “Using these recognition results, … selects an image matching the search condition from the image database 100 (first selection) and then selects an SNS from the selected image group (first image group)… are highly evaluated in the above and have a low similarity to other images in the same category are selected (second selection) …”; Page 4, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs; Page 7, 1st -4th paragraphs, “… similarity … comparison of feature amounts (color, brightness, etc.), scene comparison, comparison of subject posture and posing”).
Tsuji does not disclose performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values related to relationships between the persons and the objects.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to identify human-object interactions in an image content (Li: Abstract; FIGS. 1-7). Li further teaches performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values related to relationships between the persons and the objects (Li: FIGS. 1-3, 6-7; [0003], “person is riding a bicycle … most common relationship between the two objects … identify interactions based on the person and object identified … compare the current image to other images of the same action … a person is next to a bicycle, riding a bicycle and washing a bicycle may both be possible interactions between the two objects … evaluate the image for similarities to other images involving riding and washing”; [0026], “… human-object interaction metadata …”; [0048]; [0050], “joint-location heat map … determine whether the joint location and the object contact point are in sufficiently similar locations”; [0051]; [0053], “… match score based on the degree of match between the search terms and the information contained in searchable fields and the human object interaction metadata …”; [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tsuji with the teaching of Li by using the relationship between the subjects in order to achieve robust and accurate similarity determination.
Tsuji in view of Li does not teach performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity. However, this is a common practice in the field (See Zhang (CN 109858308 A)).
Watanabe is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches an image retrieving method using pose information of a person itself as an image retrieval query (Watanabe: FIGS. 1-20). Watanabe further teaches performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity (Watanabe: Page 11, 5th paragraph, “weighting may be performed according to the degree of similarity”; Page 12, 5th paragraph, “searches for a similar image … image feature amount distance and the posture feature amount distance are integrated … normalize or weight the distances”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji in view of Li with the teaching of Watanabe by performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity in order to achieve higher reliability of similarity determination.
-Regarding claim 2, Tsuji in view of Li, and further in view of Watanabe teaches the image processing system of claim 1. Tsuji further discloses performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between posture feature values that are based on the estimation results of the postures of the persons and a degree of similarity between object feature values that are based on the recognition results of the objects (Tsuji: Abstract; FIG. 1; FIG. 2, units 101-106; FIGS. 5-8; Page 3, 4th paragraph; Page 4, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs, “having a high score … calculated by a predetermined evaluation formula”; Page 6, last paragraph – Page 7, 4th paragraph).
-Regarding claim 4, Tsuji in view of Li, and further in view of Watanabe teaches the image processing system of claim 1.
Tsuji in view of Li does not teaches performing the similarity determination based on reliabilities of the subject estimation.
However, Watanabe is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches an image retrieving method using pose information of a person itself as an image retrieval query (Watanabe: FIGS. 1-20). Watanabe further teaches performing the similarity determination based on reliabilities of the subject estimation (Watanabe: Page 3, 2nd paragraph, The feature points are detected … and have information on coordinates in the image and reliability … a value indicating the probability that the corresponding feature point exists in the detected coordinates”; Page 4, 3rd paragraph, “The posture information … represented by coordinates in the image and a numerical value of reliability”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji in view of Li with the teaching of Watanabe by performing the similarity determination based on reliabilities of the subject estimation in order to achieve robust similarity determination.
-Regarding claim 5, Tsuji in view of Li, and further in view of Watanabe teaches the image processing system of claim 1.
Tsuji in view of Li does not teaches performing similarity determination based on a change in the subjects.
However, Watanabe is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches an image retrieving method using pose information of a person itself as an image retrieval query (Watanabe: FIGS. 1-20). Watanabe further teaches performing similarity determination based on a change in the subjects (Watanabe: Page 4, 3rd paragraph, “extracted from … the moving image data …”; Page 17, last paragraph, “extracts the coordinates of the corresponding feature point from the plurality of pieces of posture information arranged in time series, and generates a flow line …”; FIG. 18). Watanabe also teaches the images including plurality of images in a chronologically consecutive order (Watanabe: Page 3, 1st paragraph, “surveillance video analysis application: … search for images and videos of people who are taking a specific pose”; Page 17, 4th paragraph, “consecutive frames”, last paragraph, “time series”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji in view of Li with the teaching of Watanabe by performing the similarity determination based on a change in the subjects in order to achieve robust similarity determination.
-Regarding claim 6, Tsuji in view of Li, and further in view of Watanabe teaches the image processing system of claim 1.
Tsuji does not disclose performing the similarity determination based on relationships between the persons and the objects, the relationships being based on the estimation results of the postures of the persons and the recognition results of the objects.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to identify human-object interactions in an image content (Li: Abstract; FIGS. 1-7). Li further teaches performing the similarity determination based on relationships between the persons and the objects, the relationships being based on the estimation results of the postures of the persons and the recognition results of the objects (Li: FIGS. 1, network 106, subnets 108, 110, 112, metadata 114; FIG. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tsuji with the teaching of Li by using the relationship between the subjects in order to achieve robust and accurate similarity determination.
-Regarding claim 7, Tsuji in view of Li, and further in view of Watanabe teaches the image processing system of claim 6.
Tsuji does not disclose performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values that are based on the relationships between the persons and the objects.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to identify human-object interactions in an image content (Li: Abstract; FIGS. 1-7). Li further teaches performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values that are based on the relationships between the persons and the objects (Li: FIGS. 1-3, 6-7; [0003], “person is riding a bicycle … most common relationship between the two objects … identify interactions based on the person and object identified … compare the current image to other images of the same action … a person is next to a bicycle, riding a bicycle and washing a bicycle may both be possible interactions between the two objects … evaluate the image for similarities to other images involving riding and washing”; [0026], “… human-object interaction metadata …”; [0048]; [0050], “joint-location heat map … determine whether the joint location and the object contact point are in sufficiently similar locations”; [0051]; [0053], “… match score based on the degree of match between the search terms and the information contained in searchable fields and the human object interaction metadata …”; [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tsuji with the teaching of Li by using the relationship between the subjects in order to achieve robust and accurate similarity determination.
-Regarding claim 34, Tsuji discloses an image processing method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-8): acquiring an estimation result of estimating a posture of a person included in a first image and a person included in a second image (FIG. 3; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “recognizes elements appearing in the image”, 5th paragraph, “recognize elements such as a person, an object, …”; Page 6, 1st paragraph, “… human recognition … determines the category of the image based on the element of the image … Subject (person) attributes: "Female", "Couple", "Baby", "Businessman" … may be classified into a plurality of categories …”; Page 7, 3rd paragraph, “comparison of subject posture and posing”; FIG. 5, step 521; Page 8, “performs various analysis processes such as human recognition, general object recognition”; Page 9, 2nd paragraph, “similar person's posture and posing”); acquiring a recognition result of recognizing an object, other than the persons (FIG. 3; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “recognizes elements appearing in the image”, 5th paragraph, “recognize elements such as a person, an object, …”; Page 6, 1st paragraph, “… object recognition … Subject (general object) ... "car", "mountain", "cherry blossom", "viewer", "temple"…”; FIG. 5, step 521; Page 8, “performs various analysis processes such as human recognition, general object recognition”), included in the first image and an object included in the second image (FIGS 1-2); and performing a similarity determination of the similarity of the first image to the second image based on the estimation results of the postures of the persons and the recognition results of the objects (Abstract; FIG. 1; FIG. 2, units 101-106; FIGS. 5-8; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “Using these recognition results, … selects an image matching the search condition from the image database 100 (first selection) and then selects an SNS from the selected image group (first image group)… are highly evaluated in the above and have a low similarity to other images in the same category are selected (second selection) …”; Page 4, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs; Page 7, 1st -4th paragraphs, “… similarity … comparison of feature amounts (color, brightness, etc.), scene comparison, comparison of subject posture and posing”).
Tsuji does not disclose performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values related to relationships between the persons and the objects.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to identify human-object interactions in an image content (Li: Abstract; FIGS. 1-7). Li further teaches performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values related to relationships between the persons and the objects (Li: FIGS. 1-3, 6-7; [0003], “person is riding a bicycle … most common relationship between the two objects … identify interactions based on the person and object identified … compare the current image to other images of the same action … a person is next to a bicycle, riding a bicycle and washing a bicycle may both be possible interactions between the two objects … evaluate the image for similarities to other images involving riding and washing”; [0026], “… human-object interaction metadata …”; [0048]; [0050], “joint-location heat map … determine whether the joint location and the object contact point are in sufficiently similar locations”; [0051]; [0053], “… match score based on the degree of match between the search terms and the information contained in searchable fields and the human object interaction metadata …”; [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tsuji with the teaching of Li by using the relationship between the subjects in order to achieve robust and accurate similarity determination.
Tsuji in view of Li does not teach performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity. However, this is a common practice in the field (See Zhang (CN 109858308 A)).
Watanabe is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches an image retrieving method using pose information of a person itself as an image retrieval query (Watanabe: FIGS. 1-20). Watanabe further teaches performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity (Watanabe: Page 11, 5th paragraph, “weighting may be performed according to the degree of similarity”; Page 12, 5th paragraph, “searches for a similar image … image feature amount distance and the posture feature amount distance are integrated … normalize or weight the distances”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji in view of Li with the teaching of Watanabe by performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity in order to achieve higher reliability of similarity determination.
-Regarding claim 35, Tsuji discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing an image processing program (FIGS. 1-2; Page 4, 4th paragraph, ”CPU (processor), memory …”; Page 5, 3rd paragraph) that causes a computer to execute the processes of (Abstract; FIGS. 1-8): acquiring an estimation result of estimating a posture of a person included in a first image and a person included in a second image (FIG. 3; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “recognizes elements appearing in the image”, 5th paragraph, “recognize elements such as a person, an object, …”; Page 6, 1st paragraph, “… human recognition … determines the category of the image based on the element of the image … Subject (person) attributes: "Female", "Couple", "Baby", "Businessman" … may be classified into a plurality of categories …”; Page 7, 3rd paragraph, “comparison of subject posture and posing”; FIG. 5, step 521; Page 8, “performs various analysis processes such as human recognition, general object recognition”; Page 9, 2nd paragraph, “similar person's posture and posing”); acquiring a recognition result of recognizing an object, other than the persons (FIG. 3; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “recognizes elements appearing in the image”, 5th paragraph, “recognize elements such as a person, an object, …”; Page 6, 1st paragraph, “… object recognition … Subject (general object) ... "car", "mountain", "cherry blossom", "viewer", "temple"…”; FIG. 5, step 521; Page 8, “performs various analysis processes such as human recognition, general object recognition”), included in the first image and an object included in the second image (FIGS 1-2); and performing a similarity determination of the similarity of the first image to the second image based on the estimation results of the postures of the persons and the recognition results of the objects (Abstract; FIG. 1; FIG. 2, units 101-106; FIGS. 5-8; Page 3, 4th paragraph, “Using these recognition results, … selects an image matching the search condition from the image database 100 (first selection) and then selects an SNS from the selected image group (first image group)… are highly evaluated in the above and have a low similarity to other images in the same category are selected (second selection) …”; Page 4, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs; Page 7, 1st -4th paragraphs, “… similarity … comparison of feature amounts (color, brightness, etc.), scene comparison, comparison of subject posture and posing”).
Tsuji does not disclose performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values related to relationships between the persons and the objects.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches a method to identify human-object interactions in an image content (Li: Abstract; FIGS. 1-7). Li further teaches performing the similarity determination based on a degree of similarity between relationship feature values related to relationships between the persons and the objects (Li: FIGS. 1-3, 6-7; [0003], “person is riding a bicycle … most common relationship between the two objects … identify interactions based on the person and object identified … compare the current image to other images of the same action … a person is next to a bicycle, riding a bicycle and washing a bicycle may both be possible interactions between the two objects … evaluate the image for similarities to other images involving riding and washing”; [0026], “… human-object interaction metadata …”; [0048]; [0050], “joint-location heat map … determine whether the joint location and the object contact point are in sufficiently similar locations”; [0051]; [0053], “… match score based on the degree of match between the search terms and the information contained in searchable fields and the human object interaction metadata …”; [0056]-[0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tsuji with the teaching of Li by using the relationship between the subjects in order to achieve robust and accurate similarity determination.
Tsuji in view of Li does not teach performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity. However, this is a common practice in the field (See Zhang (CN 109858308 A)).
Watanabe is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches an image retrieving method using pose information of a person itself as an image retrieval query (Watanabe: FIGS. 1-20). Watanabe further teaches performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity (Watanabe: Page 11, 5th paragraph, “weighting may be performed according to the degree of similarity”; Page 12, 5th paragraph, “searches for a similar image … image feature amount distance and the posture feature amount distance are integrated … normalize or weight the distances”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Tsuji in view of Li with the teaching of Watanabe by performing the similarity determination based on weights of the degrees of similarity in order to achieve higher reliability of similarity determination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcome claim rejections in above section of “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 34-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664