DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The preliminary amendment filed May 31, 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-23 are pending and under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. It is noted that Example 3 with tables 7-8 of the Specification are not present in the certified copy of the PCT/CN2021/135465 application, to which the instant application claims priority. Examples 3, tables 7-8 and paragraphs descriping 5’ phosphate modifications are not in the priority document. Therefore, the effectively filing date of claims 2-3 is December 12, 2022. All other claims are fully supported in the PCT/CN2021/135465 application. The effective filing date of claims 1 and 4-23 is December 3, 2021.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines, shadings, numbers and letters of FIG. 1 and 2A are not sufficient to provide satisfactory reproduction characteristics. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states that “all drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.” In the instant case, the letters over shading in FIG 1 are not sufficiently dark for reproduction and generally the text in FIG. 1 and 2A is very small and of poor resolution.
Specification
The use of the terms SYBR®, Opti-MEM®, RNeasy®, RNAiMax®, LightCycler®, NucleoSpin®, and MAXIMA®, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites an siRNA “comprising a sense strand having 19 nucleotides and an antisense strand having 21 nucleotides”. Claim 1 also recites “wherein (a) the antisense strand contains (i) 7 to 9 2’-fluoro…” and (b) the sense strand contains (i) 2 to 5 2’-fluoro…” MPEP 2111.01.IV states “transitional phrases such as ‘having’ must be interpreted in light of the specification to determine whether open or closed claim language is intended”. The Specification provides that the siRNAs comprise a sequence of 19/21 nucleotides (page 1) and that antisense strands can have “2’-fluoro-modified nucleotides at 7 or more positions”. The Specification does not provide a special definition of “having” or “containing”. Therefore, the claimed siRNAs are interpreted as a double stranded RNA, wherein (a) the antisense strand comprises at least 21 nucleotides, with (i) at least 7 2’-fluoro nucleotides and (ii) at least 12 2’-O-methyl nucleotides, and (b) the sense strand comprises at least 19 nucleotides with (i) at least 2 2’-fluoro nucleotides and (ii) at least 11 2’-O-methyl nucleotides.
If Applicant intends for the claimed siRNA to only include a 19/21 nucleotide architecture with the number of modified nucleotides only in the recited range, it is suggested that each “having” and “containing” be changed to “consisting of” or “consists of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 15-17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu (Hu et al., Signal Transduction and Targeted Therapy (2020), 5:101).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches the architecture of the Full Modification (ESC) siRNA (Fig 3, 3rd diagram from the top). Hu teaches the ESC siRNA comprises 21 nucleotides on the sense strand (SS) and 23 nucleotides on the antisense strand (AS) (i.e., comprising a sense strand [comprising] 19 nucleotides and an antisense strand [comprising] 21 nucleotides) (Fig 3). Hu teaches the SS of the ESC siRNA has 5 2’-fluoro-modified nucleotides (green circles) and 16 2’-O-methyl-modified nucleotides (blue circles) (Fig 3). Hu teaches the AS of the ESC siRNA has 11 2’-O-fluoro-modified nucleotides (i.e., contains 9 2’-F nucleotides) and 12 2’-O-methyl-modified nucleotides (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Hu teaches the 2’-F-modified nucleotides are at positions 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18 (i.e., 7 or more at the recited positions) of the antisense strand (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches the 2’-F-modified nucleotides are at positions 7, 9, and 11 (i.e., at two or more of positions 5, and 7-11) of the sense strand (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches the 2’-O-methyl-modified nucleotides are at positions 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18-19 (i.e., at 11 or more of positions 1-6, 8 and 10-19) of the sense strand (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 15, “a 2’-deoxynucleotide” is interpreted as any nucleotide that does not contain an oxygen atom bonded to the 2’ carbon of the sugar”. A 2’-fluoro-modified nucleotide has a fluorine atom in place of the -OH group on the 2’ carbon, and is therefore, a 2’ deoxynucleotide. Hu teaches the ESC siRNA comprising a 2’-F sugar at position 9 of the sense strand (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 16, Hu teaches the ESC siRNA AS comprises phosphorothioate (PS) bonds between atoms 1-2 and 2-3 on the antisense strand (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches the ESC siRNA SS comprises PS bonds between atoms 1-2 and 2-3 on the antisense strand (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 20, Hu teaches the SS is conjugated to a GalNAc targeting moiety (Fig 3).
Regarding claims 21-23, Hu teaches the ESC siRNA is also called givosiran (Fig 3). Hu teaches givosiran has been in phase 3 clinical trials (i.e., in a pharmaceutical composition and used in a method comprising contacting cells) for treatment of acute hepatic porphyrias to reduce levels of ALAS1 mRNA (i.e., modulating gene expression in a subject with a disease associated with the gene of interest) (page 19, ¶1; Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9, 11-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (Hu et al., Signal Transduction and Targeted Therapy (2020), 5:101) as applied to claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 15-17 and 20-23 above, and further in view of Pei (Pei and Tuschl, Nature Methods (2006), 3: 670-676), Zhang (US 20200338201 A1, published October 29, 2020) and Foster (Foster et al., Molecular Therapy (2018), 26: 708-717).
The teachings of Hu are recited above as for claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 15-17 and 20-23 and are incorporated here. Hu also teaches “To enhance the potency and reduce the potential toxicity of siRNA, numerous chemical modification geometries have been established and tested.” (page 2, ¶5). Hu also teaches shorter siRNA geometries with a 19-mer sense strand and a 21-mer sense strand have been developed (Fig 3). Hu teaches most geometries have a 2-nt 3’ overhang of the antisense strand (Fig 3).
Hu does not teach a 19/21 siRNA geometry with the claimed number and positions of 2’-F and 2’-OMe modified nucleotides.
Pei teaches the state of the art of designing siRNAs as of 2006, approximately 15 years before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Pei teaches 21-29 nt RNA duplexes with blunt, symmetric and asymmetric 2-nt overhangs silence target gene with similar efficiency to conventional siRNA duplexes (page 673, ¶7). Pei teaches that while longer dsRNAs appear to have the advantage that they can be transfected at lower concentrations without loss of gene silencing, they also appear to be more likely to induce nonspecific responses (page 673, ¶7). Pei teaches 19/21 RNA duplexes have also been shown to silence mRNAs effectively (page 673, ¶8). Pei teaches the 2-nt asymmetric 3’ overhang on the antisense/guide strand contributes to RISC assembly to mediate mRNA target knockdown (¶ spanning pages 673-674).
Zhang teaches 19/21 architecture siRNAs having fully modified strands with a combination of 2’-F and 2’-OMe nucleotides (Tables 1A-1F). Zhang teaches a variety of patterns including sense strand 2’-F nucleotides at positions 5 and 7-9 and antisense strands having up to 6 2’-F nucleotides, including at positions 2, 6, 8, 9, 14 and 16 (Table 1A-F).
Foster teaches a method of optimizing the position of the 2'-deoxy-2'fluoror and 2'-O-methyl ribosugar modification across both strands of the siRNA duplex to enhance stability without comprising intrinsic RNAi activity (Abstract). Foster teaches varying the 2' -modification patterns on the sense and antisense strand separately to determine the most robust pattern for target-specific knockdown (Fig 2A-B). Foster teaches one of the best designs for a 21/23-mer siRNA was DV18, which has four 2’-F nucleotides in the sense strand at positions 7 and 9-11 with the remaining positions having 2’-OMe nucleotides (Fig 2; page 709, ¶4). Foster teaches the DV18 geometry had an antisense strand with six 2’-F nucleotides at positions 2, 6, 8, 9, 14 and 16 (Fig 2; page 709, ¶4). Foster teaches that the siRNA performance ultimately depends on the specific combination of sense and antisense strand designs (page 713, ¶5). Foster teaches that the screening paradigm for the optimization of siRNA designs based on position model for chemical modifications can be applied to improve the metabolic stability of siRNA conjugates (page 714, ¶4).
Regarding claims 5-7, 9, 11-13 and 18-19, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have shortened the GalNAc-derivatized siRNA taught in Hu to the known 19/21 architecture taught in Pei and Zhang and then applied the 2'-sugar modification pattern optimization method of Foster to optimized the 2’-F and 2’-OMe pattern of the 19/21 siRNA to have arrived at the claimed siRNAs. It would have amounted to the simple combination of known siRNA design elements and then obvious to try the specific 2'-sugar modification pattern of the claimed siRNA. The skilled artisan would have predicted that Hu’s siRNA could be shortened by 2-nt on each strand because Pei teaches the 19/21 siRNAs have been designed and tested previously and Zhang provides a plethora of examples of 19/21 siRNAs with 2’-F and 2’-OMe nucleotides. One would have been motivated to do so to reduce any off-target and nonspecific responses that are known for longer siRNAs. Regarding the 2'-sugar modification pattern, it would have been obvious to optimize the 2'-OMe and 2'-F pattern to arrive at the claimed siRNAs. Foster teaches using a screening paradigm to alter the modification pattern on the antisense strand to arrive at the optimum modification pattern for each siRNA duplex. Altering each 2' sugar in the antisense strand with either OMe or F would require screening ~ 8 million variations, a large but finite number. However, Foster and Zhang teach the antisense fluoro-substituted pattern having most of the claimed positions, including 2’-F substitutions at position 2, 6, 8, 9, 14 and 16 and the sense strand comprising 2'F sugars at positions 7 and 9-11, which if shortened to a 19/21 architecture would be analogous to positions 5 and 7-9 as shown in Zhang. As such, starting with the 2’F positions in Foster and Zhang, the skilled artisan would only need to screen 5 additional 2’F positions to arrive at claimed pattern (iv) in claims 18 and 19, which would amount to screening approximately 1000 siRNA architectures. Foster also indicates that it is routine and conventional in the art of siRNA design to change the proportion of 2'-F and 2'-OMe modifications in the strands of a siRNA to find the proportion that works best for a chosen purpose. As such, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success to identify modifications patterns to arrive at the claimed proportions and pattern of claims 5-7, 9, 11-13 and 18-19.
Regarding claims 2-3, Hu teaches 5’ vinyl phosphonate (VP) moieties at the 5’ end of the sense strand reduces dephosphorylation in cells resulting in a “most potent and metabolically stable mechanism” (page 4, ¶5). Zhang teaches additions of VP on the 5’ end of the siRNAs (Formula 203).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the 5’ end of the sense strand in the siRNAs having the number of 2’-F and 2’-OMe nucleotides above. It would have amounted to a simple combination of known nucleotide modifications by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that a 5’-VP could be included in the 19/21 architecture because Hu teaches adding the 5’-VP has been tested by several groups and is therefore considered routine in the art. One would have been motivated to have added the 5’-VP group because Hu teaches that such an addition increases siRNA potency and reduced dephosphorylation in tissues.
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches additional siRNA designs include an unmodified ribonucleotide at position 2 of the sense strand (Fig 3). As such, including an unmodified RNA nucleotide would have been considered routine in the art and a result of optimization of the modification pattern as taught by Foster.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 16-26 of copending Application No. 18/255690.
Copending claim 1 recites “A method for inhibiting a severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus (SARS-CoV), the method comprising: contacting an effective amount of a small interfering RNA (siRNA) with a cell infected with a SARS-CoV virus, wherein the siRNAis a double-strand molecule comprising a sense chain and an antisense chain, which comprise the following nucleotide sequences, respectively: (i) SEQ ID NO: 68 and SEQ ID NO: 69… or (iii) SEQ ID NO: 72 and SEQ ID NO: 73”. SEQ ID NOs 68 and 69 are 19 and 21 nucleotides in length, respectively, and have the following respecting 2’-F and 2’-OMe and phosphorothioate(*) modifications: Sense: 5’-*m*m*mmfmffffmmmmmmmmm and antisense 5’-*m*f*mffmmffmmmmfmfmf*m*m*m. SEQ ID NOs 72 and 73 are 19 and 21 nucleotides in length, respectively, and have the following respecting 2’-F and 2’-OMe and phosphorothioate(*) modifications: Sense: 5’-rrr*m*f*mfmfmfmmmmm*m*m*m and antisense 5’-*m*f*mffmmffmmmmfmfmf*m*m*m. Thus, the copending method with the siRNA anticipates examined claims 1-23.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635