DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mate et al. (WO 2021186104 A1 – Cited IDS – US 20230171557 A1, a family publication is being used for prior art citations).
Regarding claim 1: Mate teaches an apparatus (Fig. 10: apparatus 900) for generating information to assist rendering an audio scene, the apparatus comprising.
at least one processor (Fig. 10: processor 902 and para [0110]); and
at least one memory storing instructions (Fig. 10: Memory 904 and para [0110]) that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain at least one audio signal (Fig. 2: Encoder 202 receiving encoder input format (EIF) 200 together with the audio data (audio signals, SOFA files, etc.) and para [0036]);
obtain at least one scene parameter associated with the at least one audio signal, the at least one scene parameter being configured to define a position within the audio scene, wherein the audio scene is defined with the at least one audio signal and the at least one scene parameter (Fig. 2: Encoder 202 receiving encoder input format (EIF) 200 having positions of audio objects which read on scene parameters together with the audio data (audio signals, SOFA files, etc.) and para [0036]);
obtain at least one anchor parameter associated with the at least one audio signal, wherein the at least one anchor parameter is associated with at least one listening space anchor located within a listening space during rendering and the at least one anchor parameter is configured to assist in mapping the position within the listening space, the listening space being at least one of a virtual and/or or physical space within which the audio scene is rendered, wherein the mapped position is at least one of scaled to fit within the listening space or the mapped position at least in part modifies the listening space (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4: anchor object, anchor parameter, and positioning the anchor object in the listening space; Fig. 5: steps 512 – step 524: positioning and dynamically scaling other audio objects in relation with the anchor object; also see para [0048]-[0054] and para [0058]-[0070]); and
generate a bitstream comprising the at least one audio signal, the at least one scene parameters and at least one anchor parameter (Fig. 2: Encoder 202 generates AR sensing enable bitstream 204).
Regarding claim 2: Mate teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to obtain a scene origin parameter wherein the position within the audio scene is defined relative to the scene origin parameter, and wherein the bitstream further comprises the scene origin parameter (Fig. 5: steps 510, 512, and 514: scene origin parameter being rendered).
Regarding claim 3: Mate teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one anchor parameter defines a geometric shape at least partially defining a boundary of the audio scene wherein the position is within the boundary of the audio scene, and the mapped position maps the boundary of the audio scene within the listening space (para [0048]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 4: Mate teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one process, cause the apparatus to at least one of:
store the generated bitstream; or
transmit the generated bitstream (Fig. 2: bitstream 204 is transmitted to Renderer 206 for rendering audio scene).
Regarding claim 5: the apparatus discussed in claim 1 above also supports this corresponding rendering apparatus which is the decoding and dynamic modification process of the encoding process in encoder 202. Also see Fig. 2: Renderer 206 and para [0058]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 6: Mate teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the at least one anchor parameter at least partially defines a geometric shape defining a boundary of the audio scene (para [0048]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 7: Mate teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the bitstream further comprises a scene origin, and wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to render the at least one spatial audio signal further based on the listening position within the listening space and the scene origin with respect to the geometric shape defining the boundary of the audio scene (para [0002] and Fig. 5: steps 510, 512, and 514: scene origin parameter being rendered).
Regarding claims 11-14: the apparatus discussed in claims 1-4 above also supports this corresponding method claim.
Regarding claims 15-17: the apparatus discussed in claims 5-7 above also supports this corresponding rendering method claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID L TON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695