DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claim
Claims 1-15 are pending in this application. Claims 1-10 are under examination. Claims 11-15 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 09/18/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/18/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 1 discusses step a) and steps c)-e) but does not state step b) providing ingredients, see specification pg. 9 lines 4-8. It appears this step may have been inadvertently omitted in Fig. 1 method configuration. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purpose of examination, the limitation, “preferably water is added in a preconditioner” will be viewed as an optional limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manchuliantsau et al., US 20200060308.
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 9, Manchuliantsau teaches a method for producing a high moisture texturized plant protein (a method to produce high moisture meat analog (HMMA) product, [0011-0012], [0027], [0055]) as required by claim 1.
Manchuliantsau discloses a water content (moisture content) between 5-80% based on total weight of the product and a narrower range of between 60-70% [0065]. This is within the claim 1 range of 40-70% water content and overlaps the claim 9 range of 55-65% water content by weight. Thus, the product of Manchuliantsau is considered a high moisture texturized plant protein, as required by claim 9 (HMMA can have a high final moisture content, such as for example, 50-80% moisture by total weight of the HMMA, [0027]).
Manchuliantsau teaches a) grinding of a brewer’s spent grain (BSG) (the raw material can also comprise at least one of a distiller grain that was used in a fermentation process, [0036]; the raw material can be pre-processed, where pre-processing can comprise at least one of grinding, [0044]), as required by claim 1.
Manchuliantsau discloses b) providing ingredients for obtaining a mixture (mixed with supplemental ingredients prior to extrusion or during extrusion, [0070]), as required by claim 1.
Manchuliantsau states that the ingredients comprise at least a plant protein (oilcake), as required by claim 1, which is in the raw material from at least 5-100% [0039]. It is noted that the oilcake is viewed as a plant protein since it comprises protein and is from a plant (Table 1, [0038]). As stated above, the raw material can also comprise at least one of a brewer’s spent grain (distiller grain; [0036]), which may provide the remaining portion of the raw material, or in other words would have been in the raw material from at least 0-95%. Additionally, a supplemental ingredient may or may not be provided and can comprise at least 16% of the product if provided [0071]. Thus, it would have been obvious to have provided the BSG in amounts as claimed in claims 1 and 2, as the claimed amounts fall within ranges taught by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Manchuliantsau teaches c) processing the mixture in an extruder (processing into a product can comprise extruding; [0055]), wherein a homogenous fibrous structure is generated in the extruder (the processing extrusion step can texturize the protein fraction to achieve a desired texture property, where the tertiary structure of the proteins can be unfolded and re-associated into larger and fibrous protein chains; [0043], [0059-0060]) to obtain a texturized plant protein (the protein fraction can be processed directly into a high moisture meat analog (HMMA) product; [0055]), as required by claim 1.
Manchuliantsau teaches d) a first cooling of the texturized plant protein (cooling section; [0060]), as required by claim 1.
Manchuliantsau discloses e) cutting the texturized plant protein (product can be post-processed by various processing techniques, comprising at least one of cutting; [0069]), as required by claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Manchuliantsau teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above. Manchuliantsau discloses the ingredients are mixed to a pre-mixture in step b) and the pre-mixture is provided to the extruder, or wherein the mixing step b) is performed in the extruder (mixed with supplemental ingredients prior to extrusion or during extrusion, [0070]).
Regarding claims 5, Manchuliantsau discloses the method according to claim 1, as discussed above. Manchuliantsau teaches adding water to the mixture during step c) (extruding the protein fraction, such as, wet extruding, for example wet extruding the protein fraction which can comprise adding moisture, [0055]; moisture may be added during extrusion, [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Manchuliantsau discloses the method according to claim 1, as discussed above. Manchuliantsau teaches pre-hydration of the BSG after step a) (moisture can be added after step 106, which is after any pre-processing steps, i.e. step a)); [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Manchuliantsau discloses the method according to claim 5, as discussed above, where claim 5 is met with the teaching of “adding water to the mixture during step c).” Therefore, claims that further limit the dehydrated BSG step of claim 5 are considered to be met. It is noted that claim 7 does not positively recite that the “dehydrated BSG” is part of the method and only recites additional steps that can be done to the “dehydrated BSG,” specifically the step of rehydrating the dehydrated BSG. Thus, claim 7 is rejected based on its dependence on claim 5.
Regardless, Manchuliantsau does teach rehydrating the dehydrated BSG as a pre-processing step (raw material can be pre-processed, preprocessing can comprise moisturizing); [0044]). It is noted that the raw material includes distillers grains, which includes distiller dried grains, as stated in [0036]. Since Manchuliantsau teaches distiller dried grains, then Manchuliantsau necessarily teaches the distiller grains, or brewer’s spent grains, have been dehydrated, since they are “dried.” Thus, Manchuliantsau teaches “dehydrated BSG” as claimed. See MPEP 2112.
While Manchuliantsau teaches that rehydrating (moisturizing) and grinding, i.e. step a), are both pre-processing steps [0044], Manchuliantsau does not specify the order for the processing steps. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have done these steps in any order, including the order as claimed, as long as they are part of the pre-processing because Manchuliantsau recognizes that the steps of rehydrating (moisturizing) and griding are pre-processing steps and only need to be performed before other subsequent processing (pre-processing prior to other processing steps, i.e. step 102; [0044]). Additionally, selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Regarding claim 8, Manchuliantsau discloses the method according to claim 1, as discussed above. Manchuliantsau teaches the ingredients comprise a component selected from the group consisting of oilseeds (the present disclosure can utilize a raw material comprising oilcake, the oilcake may be produced from oilseeds; [0031-0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Manchuliantsau discloses the method according to claim 1, as discussed above. Manchuliantsau teaches wherein the extruder is at least partially heated, and the extrusion can be performed in a temperature range of 70-200°C [0056]. Since the extruder is heated between 70-200°C, then the material being extruded or the texturized plant protein would necessarily be heated to a temperature within the claimed range, between 120-220°C, because the extruder is heated to a range overlapping the claimed range for the texturized plant protein temperature. See MPEP 2112.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manchuliantsau et al., US 20200060308 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Howsam, AU 773170 (cited on IDS dated 07/08/2024).
Regarding claim 3, Manchuliantsau teaches the method according to claim 1, as discussed above. Manchuliantsau is silent as to a second cooling of the texturized plant protein after step d).
Howsam teaches a method of manufacturing a texturized proteinaceous meat analogue product, including subjecting in a food extruder a proteinaceous material (Abstract). Howsam teaches the extruded product goes from the cooling die outlet directly to a cutting shredding device (pg. 16 L 25-30). Howsam discloses that the method further comprises a step of second cooling of the texturized plant protein after step d) (after exiting the cooling die and after shredding, the product may be frozen), allowing for use at a later stage (pg. 16 L25-30 and pg. 17 L3-10).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Manchuliantsau to incorporate the teachings of Howsam by having a second cooling step of the texturized plant protein as claimed because freezing the texturized plant protein allows for use at a later stage, as recognized by Howsam (pg. 17 L3-10).
Conclusion
/S.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1791 /Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791