Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the at least one support part bracket" in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the support part bracket" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the support part bracket" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the support part bracket" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Homier et al. (3,471,198).
Regarding claim 12, Homier et al. disclose a height adjustment mechanism for a movable support part of a seating furniture, the height adjustment mechanism comprising: a guide rod 14 configured to be attached to a back part 12 of the seating furniture; a bracket support 20 displaceably guided on the guide rod in the longitudinal direction of the guide rod; at least one support bracket attached to the bracket support 24; a drive unit 16, attached to the back part of the seating furniture, having an electric motor 36, a drive shaft (58 connected to the shaft) drivable by the electric motor and with which the bracket support is displaceable along the guide rod by the electric motor; and a flexible traction drive 42, coupled to the bracket support and driven by the drive shaft, attached to the guide rod (via 44 and 60).
Regarding claim 13, Homier et al. disclose the flexible traction drive is a cable drive 42, belt drive, or chain drive.
Regarding claim 14, Homier et al. disclose fixing elements 28, which are spaced apart from one another and are arranged on the bracket support for releasably fixing free ends of bracket rods of the at least one support part bracket.
Regarding claim 17, Homier et al. disclose the bracket rods 24 of the support part bracket are guided in sliding guide sleeves that are inserted in receptacles in the back part.
Regarding claim 18, Homier et al. disclose a first driver 38 arranged on a traction means of the traction means drive, which is fixed in a driver mount 16 of the bracket support.
Regarding claim 19, Homier et al. disclose the traction means drive is a cable drive having a cable 42 with cable ends having second drivers fixed to a cable wheel 40 of the cable drive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homier et al. in view of Bartels (US 2003/0107253).
Regarding claim 15, Bartels discloses the fixing elements 5 has a spring housing with a spring element fixed 7 in the spring housing and an insertion funnel through which the respective free end, formed with a radial groove 5a, of one of the bracket rods 4 of the support part bracket is insertable into the spring housing and is latchable with the spring element with a predetermined spring force.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bartels and use the spring bracket to hold the rods of the Homier et al. because it is simple, secure and cost efficient.
Regarding claim 16, Homier et al. disclose each of the spring elements is configured in such a way that when the predetermined spring force is exceeded, the respective bracket rod of the support part bracket is releasable from the latching with the spring element (see para 0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bartels and use the spring bracket to hold the rods of the Homier et al. because it is simple, secure and cost efficient.
Claim(s) 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homier et al. in view of Nemoto (5,131,720).
Regarding claim 20, Nemoto discloses two limit switches 16a, 16b electrically coupled to the electric motor 22 arranged on the guide rod 7 to limit a travel path of the bracket support along the guide rod.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nemoto and use two limit switches in the invention of Homier et al. for the purpose of preventing any damages.
Regarding claim 21, Nemoto discloses a plate 6 to the guide rod and on which the limit switches are arranged in variable positions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nemoto and use a base plate to mount the switches in the invention of Homier et al. in order to prevent any accidental damages.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is rejected as set for in claim 12 above.
However, Homier et al. fail to disclose a seating furniture, comprising: a seat; a backrest arranged at an angle to the seat, having a back part accommodated in the backrest, and having a support part movable relative to the back part.
Instead, Nemoto discloses a seating furniture, comprising: a seat; a backrest arranged at an angle to the seat, having a back part accommodated in the backrest, and having a support part movable relative to the back part (see figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nemoto and use a seat back and seat part in the invention of Homier et al. because it is simple, efficient.
Regarding claim 23, Homier et al. disclose the movable support part is a headrest or an upholstered part arranged on the back part.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636