CTNF 18/715,286 CTNF 78870 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-02 Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9 and 13-20 , in the reply filed on 4/9/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). 08-06 AIA Claim s 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/9/2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3-6, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Jinno et al. (JP2012215293A) [hereinafter Jinno] . Regarding claim 1, Jinno discloses a vacuum adiabatic body comprising a first plate (11), a second plate (15), a vacuum space (19) disposed between the first plate (11) and the second plate (15), and configured to be provided in a vacuum state, and a radiation resistance sheet (21) disposed in the vacuum space (Figs. 1-2; paragraphs [0020-0025]). Regarding claim 3, Jinno discloses the radiation resistance sheet being separated into at least components (Figs. 1-2, sheet 21). Regarding claim 4, Jinno discloses the radiation resistance sheet (21) being thicker than the first plate (Figs. 1A-1C). Regarding claim 5, Jinno discloses the radiation resistance sheet including three types of holes (Figs. 10 and 13; paragraphs [0051] and [0062]). Regarding claim 6, Jinno discloses the three types of holes including a first hole having a largest size of the three types of holes (D1), a second hole (D2) having a medium size of the three types of holes, and a third hole (D3) having a smallest size of the three types of holes (Figs. 10 and 13; paragraphs [0051] and [0062]). Regarding claim 13, Jinno discloses a vacuum adiabatic body (Figs. 1-2) comprising a first plate (11), a second plate (15), a vacuum space (19) disposed between the first plate and the second plate, and configured to be provided in a vacuum state, and a radiation resistance sheet (21) disposed in the vacuum space (paragraphs [0020-0025]) and having at least two types of holes (D2 and D3) configured to receive members (Figs. 10-13; paragraphs [0050-0052] and [0062]). Regarding claim 14, Jinno discloses the two types of holes (D2 and D3) having different sizes from each other (Fig. 13). The limitation “configured to receive a bar” recites a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. It has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As shown above, Jinno clearly teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed vacuum adiabatic body. Accordingly, the vacuum adiabatic body of Jinno is capable of performing the intended use recited in claim 14. Regarding claim 15, Jinno discloses the two types of holes having different shapes from each other (Fig. 13B, D2 and D3). The limitation “configured to receive a bar” recites a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. It has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As shown above, Jinno clearly teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed vacuum adiabatic body. Accordingly, the vacuum adiabatic body of Jinno is capable of performing the intended use recited in claim 15. Regarding claim 16, Jinno discloses the at least two types of holes including a first hole and a second hole (Fig. 13, D2 and D3), wherein a size of the first hole is larger than a size of the second hole (Fig. 13, D2 and D3). The limitation “the first hole is configured to receive a large-diameter portion of a bar inserted into the first hole” recites a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. It has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As shown above, Jinno clearly teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed vacuum adiabatic body. Accordingly, the vacuum adiabatic body of Jinno is capable of performing the intended use recited in claim 16. Regarding claim 17, Jinno discloses the at least two types of holes including a first hole, a second hole, and a third hole (D1, D2 and D3), wherein a size of the first hole (D1) is larger than a size of the second hole (Figs. 10 and 13). The limitation “configured to receive a small-diameter portion of a bar inserted into the at least one of the second hole and the third hole” recites a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. It has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As shown above, Jinno clearly teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed vacuum adiabatic body. Accordingly, the vacuum adiabatic body of Jinno is capable of performing the intended use recited in claim 17. Regarding claim 18, Jinno discloses the at least two types of holes including a first hole (D1), a second hole (D2), and a third hole (D3), wherein a size of the first hole is larger than a size of the second hole (Figs. 10 and 13), wherein the third hole (D3) has a major axis and a minor axis, and the minor axis of the third hole (D3) is smallest among the other holes (D1 and D2) of the radiation resistance sheet, and wherein the major axis of the third hole (D3) is larger than the second hole (Fig. 13B). Regarding claim 20, Jinno discloses the at least two types of holes including a first hole (D1), a second hole (D2) and a third hole (D3), and wherein the third hole (D3) has a major axis and a minor axis (Fig. 13), and the major axis of the third hole is provided in a direction perpendicular to gravity (Fig. 13) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 7-9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CATHERINE A SIMONE whose telephone number is (571)272-1501. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frank Vineis can be reached at 571-270-1547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. CATHERINE A. SIMONE Examiner Art Unit 1781 /Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/715,286 Page 2 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/715,286 Page 3 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/715,286 Page 4 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/715,286 Page 5 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/715,286 Page 6 Art Unit: 1781 Application/Control Number: 18/715,286 Page 7 Art Unit: 1781