DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Claims 1 and 3-12 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitations “a first door that divides the first space from the second space and is configured to be opened and closed” and “a second door that divides the second space from a third space which is external to the pool, and is configured to be opened and closed” do not link the “configured to be opened and closed” phrases to the structure they modify. Appropriate correction is required. The following is suggested: a first door configured to be opened and closed, the first door dividing the first space from the second space…a second door configured to the opened and closed, the second door dividing the second space from a third space, which is external to the pool.”
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/26 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive in view of the claim amendments. The claim amendments have rectified the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
4. Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the examiner does not agree that the combination of Martin and Kleimola as applied to previously presented claim 2 fails to make obvious present claim 1, as amended. Martin discloses a nuclear power plant comprising the three spaces as recited and further includes the first door. Martin lacks a clear disclosure of the claimed second door. Kleimola teaches such a door and provides motivation for its combination with martin. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. For applicant's benefit, the portions of the reference(s) relied upon in the below rejections have been cited to aid in the review of the rejections. While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
8. Claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al., US 2015/0194226 in view of Kleimola, US 3,865,688.
9. Regarding claim 1, Martin discloses a nuclear power plant (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising a pool, the pool comprising a first pool filled with cooling water and forming a first space (50) where spent nuclear fuel (52) is placed [0024]) and a second pool forming a second space (40a) divided from the first space and including a small modular reactor (10a) therein, wherein the pool further comprises a first door (54a) that divides the first space from the second space and is configured to be opened and closed ([0025]) and a third space (70a), which is external to the pool (see Fig. 3). Martin is silent as to how the “storage area” (70a) is connected to the second space (40a). Kleimola teaches a nuclear power plant having a door (311) dividing a third space (“equipment shaft” 306) from a second pool (reactor cavity 202), the door configured to be opened and closed to “provid[e] access to the reactor building (see Fig. 4 and column 13, lines 21-26). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention/filing would have fond it obvious to employ such a door in the nuclear power plant of Martin to mitigate the risk of radiation leaking from the reactor cavity.
10. Regarding claim 3, Martin as modified by Kleimola makes claim 1 obvious. Martin further discloses a nuclear power plant wherein the second space comprises a plurality of second spaces (40a, 40b; [0023]), and the second spaces are arranged along a perimeter of the first space at regular intervals and spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 3). Although Martin does not disclose that the first space is circular or elliptical, such a change in shape is an obvious matter of design choice. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the claimed shape, because applicant has not disclosed that having such a shape itself solves any stated problem, the claimed shape does not provide any unexpected result, and it appears that the invention would perform equally well where the spent fuel pool is polygonal as in Martin or circular, as claimed. Overall, applicant has not established any criticality of the claimed shape, and thus selecting the claimed shape would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
11. Regarding claim 6, Martin as modified by Kleimola makes claim 1 obvious. Martin further discloses a nuclear power plant further comprising a crane installed outside the pool, wherein the crane is configured to introduce equipment necessary for maintenance of the small modular reactor into the second space ([0025], [0034]).
12. Regarding claims 7-10, the nuclear power plant of Martin as modified by Kleimola as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious a method comprising steps of:
closing the first door to divide the first space from the second space (see Martin at [0025]: during refueling operations 54a is opened, which means that prior to such operations it is closed);
discharging and replenishing cooling water from the second space using a cooling water controller (see Martin at [0025])
opening and closing the second door and introducing equipment necessary for maintenance of the small modular reactor by crane from the outside of the pool into the second space (see Martin at [0025] and [0034); and
performing the maintenance of the small modular reactor by the equipment ([0025]).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 4, 5, 11, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
14. Should applicant amend claim 1 with any of the allowable limitations from claims 4, 5, 11, and 12, claim 7 could be placed in condition for allowance by amending its preamble to “ A maintenance method of the nuclear power plant according to claim 1, the method comprising:”
Finality
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Interviews
Additional References
The attached Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892) cites additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/SHARON M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646