DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Alexander (US Pub. No. 2019/0291511).
Regarding claim 1, Alexander teaches a sealant layer/barrier layer combination (taken to be the claimed repair sheet to be attached to a tire part) (paragraph [0075]), the sealant layer (taken to be the claimed retaining layer) which can be attached to a tire part (paragraphs [0081]-[0083]), the sealant layer comprising at least one tackifier, optionally one or more extenders, and a cure package (any one or more of these being taken to be the claimed additive) (paragraph [0025]) the sealant layer having an elongation at break of 400 to 1200%, such a range being completely encompassed by the claimed range, and an optional breaking strength range of 0.01 to 5 MPa (paragraph [0080]), such a range close but not overlapping the claimed range, but the claimed range and the prior art range are close enough that one would have expected them to have the same properties (see Applicant’s published application at paragraph [0027]). “A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.” MPEP at 2144.05 citing Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use breaking strengths within the claimed range because Alexander teaches a close but not overlapping range of breaking strength, where one of ordinary skill in the art would expect values within the claimed range to have the same properties.
Regarding claim 2, Alexander teaches the use of rubber and a cure package (taken to bread on the claimed crosslinked rubber) (paragraph [0025) and the use of a resin (paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Alexander teaches that the thickness of the sealant layer is 2 to 8 mm (paragraph [0023]), such a range being completely encompassed by the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4, Alexander teaches a barrier layer (paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Alexander teaches the use of liquid polybutadiene (paragraphs [0040] and [0044]) and/or oils (paragraph [0068]) (taken to be the claimed plasticizing agent), antioxidants (paragraph [0068]), and vulcanization accelerators (paragraphs [0060]-[0062]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed invention is a repair sheet, which is different from the invention of Alexander, which is a tire in which a sealant layer is disposed. However, as is set forth above, the sealant/barrier layer combo taught by Alexander can reasonably be considered “a repair sheet to be attached to a tire part”, as such a sheet allows for the repair of a tire.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 July 22, 2026
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749