Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/23/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I and II have a unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because the amendments fail to establish there is a same special technical feature. As set out below, the claimed features are not special.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the smaller radius of claim 5; the suction buckets of claim 9, and both iterations of claim 10 (only part A being a opening/part B being a pin is shown) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duncan et al. (US 20210172139) in view of Henderson (US 7707797).
CLAIM 1: Duncan discloses a support structure for an offshore platform (the preamble citation of “wind turbine” does not offer any structural limitation to the claim and thus is not given patentable weight). The support structure (Fig. 2) comprises a first structure part (210) configured to be fixed to the seabed (120), said first structure part comprising at least three dummy legs (215) distributed regularly on a first circle having as a center a longitudinal axis of the support structure and extending along said longitudinal axis of the support structure (see Fig. 2). Said dummy legs comprising a lower extremity (bottoms of 215) designed to face the seabed and an upper extremity (tops of 215) opposed to the lower extremity. The first circle being defined by the lower extremity of the dummy legs (Fig. 2). The first structure part also comprising at least three anchor devices (205) to the seabed linked to the at least three dummy legs. A second structure part (300) comprising a lower extremity (base of 300, such as frame 315), attached to the upper extremity of the at least three dummy legs of the first structure part (as shown in Fig. 1).
Duncan fails to disclose wherein at least one anchor device of the first structure part is positioned angularly between two adjacent dummy legs on a second circle having as a center the longitudinal axis of the support structure, and wherein the first structure part comprises only one anchor device to the seabed between two adjacent dummy legs and wherein an angle between a radius of the second circle joining the one anchor device and radii of the first circle joining the two dummy legs surrounding said anchor device, is the same.
Henderson discloses a subsea foundation.
Henderson discloses a subsea base (52). The base has legs (5) to support an upper structure. The base is anchored via piles (47). The anchors and legs are arranged such that each makes a circle with the center being the longitudinal axis of the support structure. The anchors are between the legs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Duncan to have the concentric circle anchors and legs with a reasonable expectation of success as the substitution of one base geometry for another in which the base would continue to serve the same function of securing the supports to the seabed.
Henderson teaches the number of piles and supports can vary. One of ordinary skill in the art would arrange them in an alternating, equal distance pattern as described to space out the forces equally in the circle pattern.
CLAIM 4: The second circle comprising the anchor devices to the seabed of the first structure part has a larger radius than the first circle comprising the dummy legs (see Henderson, Fig. 1).
CLAIM 5: Duncan-Henderson fails to disclose wherein the second circle comprising the anchor devices to the seabed of the first structure part has a smaller radius than the first circle comprising the dummy legs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative diameters of the circles as a rearrangement of parts. Each part would still perform the same anchor or support function as it does in the disclosed embodiment. Applicant has not offered any unexpected difference between the two relative circle dimension choices.
CLAIM 6: Duncan-Henderson fails to disclose wherein the second circle comprising the anchor devices to the seabed of the first structure part and the first circle comprising the dummy legs have the same radius.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the relative diameters of the circles as a rearrangement of parts. Each part would still perform the same anchor or support function as it does in the disclosed embodiment. Applicant has not offered any unexpected difference between the two relative circle dimension choices.
CLAIM 7: The anchor devices to the seabed are sleeves configured to receive and to be fixed to piles designed to be driven or drilled into the seabed (see Henderson, Fig. 2).
CLAIM 8: Henderson fails to disclose wherein at least one extremity of the sleeves comprises a guiding portion for the pile.
Examiner takes official notice that guides are well known in the art as a manner of simplifying installation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of Henderson to have a known guide with a reasonable expectation of success to simplify the process of installing the pile into the sleeve.
CLAIM 9: The anchor devices to the seabed are suction buckets (Duncan, suction cans 205).
CLAIM 10: The upper extremity of the dummy legs of the first structure part comprises a pin and the lower extremity of the second structure part comprises a receiving opening, wherein the pin and the receiving opening are configured to fit together (see Duncan, Figs. 1, 2 showing male/female connection).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art shows similar structures anchoring a base to a seabed and allowing for connections to a further support.
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676