DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on August 11th 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-4,7-8 and 10-19 are currently pending. Applicants’ amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on May 28th 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzell et al. (US 20190252734 A1) in view of Soma et al. (US 20210036430 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Razzell et al. discloses a high voltage (HV) installation (Energy storage system 100 with battery pack 102 serves as a High voltage installation as seen in figures 1-3 and 10 of Razzell et al.) comprising:
a plurality of power electronic switching cells, each power electronic switching cell comprising a cell-side transceiver with an antenna for receiving and/or transmitting high-frequency(HF) communication signals (Battery pack 102 comprises multiple battery modules 108 with integrated nodes 112 thus serving as a plurality of electronic switching cells wherein nodes 112 may have a cell-side transceiver 702 and a an antenna 116 which can transmit/receive in Bluetooth low energy and Zigbee protocols thus operating at a HF signal of 2.4ghz; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.); and
a waveguide configured to carry and shield HF communication signals of the plurality of power electronic switching cells (Distributed antenna 110 may take the form of a coaxial waveguide that is designed to carry and shield HF communications signals like the first/second electrical communication signals that are sent to or received from the plurality of cells; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.);
wherein the waveguide has a plurality of sections configured to leak HF communication signals present in the waveguide into a corresponding plurality of adjoining areas, by radiating electromagnetic radio frequency waves that propagate through an air gap, and vice versa (Waveguide 110 may comprise a plurality of slots in the form of gaps 210 that are configured to leak HF communication signals like 212 into a plurality of adjoining areas to be received by the antennas 116 wherein signals 212 may be radiated electromagnetic waves form the waveguide that propagate through an air gap to the antennas; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.) and
each power electronic switching cell of the plurality of power electronic switching cells is arranged physically separated and in proximity to the waveguide, such that the respective power electronic switching cell is electrically insulated from the waveguide and the antenna of the respective cell-side transceiver is arranged in the respective adjoining area (Each of the cells formed by modules 108 with integrated nodes 112 have the cells and antennas 116 be physically separated from the waveguide but close enough to receive signals from leakage such that the cells would be insulated from the waveguide while the antenna is in the adjoining area wherein the embodiment of figure 6 may further have the cells separated from waveguide by an insulator; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Razzell et al. fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of power electronic switching cells configured to operate at different electrical potentials and insulated from one another. Razzell et al. does suggest a plurality of power electronic switching cells insulated from one another (The embodiment of figure 6 has the cells located in their own individual housing sections wherein an insulating material disposed in the waveguide 604 can insulate them form the waveguide and from each other; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
However, Soma et al. does disclose a plurality of power electronic switching cells configured to operate at different electrical potentials and insulated from one another and radiating electromagnetic radio frequency waves that propagate through an air gap (Devices 4 comprising transceiver circuity as well as chargeable batteries thus serving as power electronic switching cells wherein transceiver circuity employes antennas 400 which are arranged in respective adjoining areas of the leaking parts 30 of a leaky cable wherein said cells are in a first shielding area 2A that can be physically separated from a second shielding section 2b comprising its own cell devices such that the cell devices 4 would be insulated from each other and only perform two-way wireless communication through the leaky cable by use of a gap between the holes of the cable and antennas 400, wherein each of these separate sections 2a/2b can be made from metal and provide separate grounds for the antennas thus allowing operation at different electrical potentials; Paragraph 28-46 and figure 1 of Soma et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. to have a plurality of power electronic switching cells configured to operate at different electrical potentials and insulated from one another as taught by Soma et al. so two way wireless communication may be performed between devices place in separate unintegrated spaces through the use of antennas (Paragraph 44-45 of Soma et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Razzell et al. further discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a carrier frequency in excess of 1 GHz, preferably in excess of 10 GHz, and/or below 300 GHz and/or having a bandwidth in excess of 20 MHz or in excess of 2 GHz (Waveguide carries HF radio signals for Bluetooth low energy and Zigbee protocols which operate in 2.4ghz which is an excess of 20Mhz and 2Ghz; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Razzell et al. further discloses comprising at least one control hub and at least one hub-side transceiver connected to the control hub, wherein the at least one control hub is configured to generate HF control signals, comprising one of firing signals and/or synchronization signals, and/or receive HF operating status signals, comprising logging signals, fault recording signals and/or health monitoring signals, for all or at least a subgroup of the plurality of power electronic switching cells (RF gateway 114/1014 and controller 106/1006 serve as a control hub wherein a hub side transceiver like 1026 is connected to a terminal side of the leaky waveguide 110 wherein nodes 112 with antennas 116 send signals that comprise health signals of the cells 108 like battery information, voltage, temperature, etc. to the control hub and the control hub can be used to fire HF Control signals that go to through the waveguide and are received by antennas 116 to tell the cells what to do or what information to send back; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Razzell et al. further discloses comprising a redundant communication channel between the plurality of power electronic switching cells and the at least one control hub, wherein the redundant communication channel comprises at least one of the following: at least two parallel waveguides, each one of the at least two parallel waveguides having a plurality of corresponding sections configured to leak the HF communication signals into the corresponding plurality of adjoining areas (Multipoint communication system 100 may comprise a configuration 1000 with a control hub and two parallel waveguides 110 that are configured to leak HF communications signals into a plurality of adjoining zones of the respective antennas 116; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.); at least two cell-side transceivers, each one of the at least two cell- side transceivers being part of the same power electronic switching cell; at least two hub-side transceivers, each one of the at least two hub- side transceivers connected to a different terminal section of the waveguide; and/or at least two control hubs, each control hub being configured to provide the HF communication signals for the plurality of power electronic switching cells.
Regarding Claim 8, Razzell et al. further discloses comprising a plurality of N waveguides, each one of the N waveguides having a plurality of sections configured to leak HF communication signals into a corresponding plurality of adjoining areas, wherein the plurality of power electronic switching cells is arranged in N subgroups, each subgroup corresponding to one of the N waveguides, and each power electronic switching cell of one of the subgroups is arranged physically separated and in proximity to the corresponding waveguide (Multi point system 1000 comprises two waveguides 110 designed to leak HF communications signals into a plurality of adjoining areas of antennas 116 wherein said antennas are part of power cells 108 arranged in two subgroups according to the two waveguides and each subgroup is arranged in proximately and physically separated from the waveguide 110; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Examiner’s note – Regarding claim 8, recitations of “a plurality of N waveguides… and N subgroup”, the examiner notes that N is never defined in the claim or the specifications. However, based on the claim language its seems to be implied that N must be a number equal to or greater than 2 and so “N” will be interpreted as such for claim 8 and all dependent claims stemming from claim 8.
Regarding Claim 13, Razzell et al. further discloses wherein each section of the plurality of sections of the waveguide comprises at least one opening, in particular one of a slit, a single hole, a row of holes or an array of holes, the at least one opening configured to leak the HF communication signals into the corresponding plurality of adjoining areas (Distributed antenna 110 may coaxial cable and a waveguide comprising a plurality of sections which are openings like gaps 210 designed to leak RF signals 212 to the adjoining areas to be received by antennas 116 located in said areas; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Razzell et al. further discloses wherein the waveguide comprises at least one of a hollow metallic waveguide, a dielectric waveguide, a coaxial cable, or a stripline waveguide (Distributed antenna 110 may be a coaxial cable and a waveguide comprising a plurality of sections which are openings like gaps 210 designed to leak RF signals 212 to the adjoining areas to be received by antennas 116 located in said areas; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Regarding Claim 19, Razzell et al. further discloses wherein each one of the N waveguides is configured to operate at electrical ground, and is connected to a common control hub via an optical fiber network or a wired HF network (Multi point system 1000 comprises two waveguides 110 designed to leak HF communications signals wherein said waveguides 110 are connected to the same RF gateway 1014 serving as a hub and thus would share the same ground and electrical potential wherein said waveguides would be connected to the hub wires to carry the HF signals; Paragraph 15 and 19-37 as well as figure 1 and 10 of Razzell et al.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzell et al. (US 20190252734 A1) in view of Soma et al. (US 20210036430 A1) and Lehmann et al. (EP 1239600 B1).
Regarding Claim 3, Razzell et al. further discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to carry multiple HF communication signals having different carrier frequencies in parallel, each one of the multiple HF communication signals being received by the cell-side transceivers of at least a subgroup of the plurality of power electronic switching cells (Waveguide is configured to carry multiple HF communication signals like the first communication signal and the second communications signal wherein said signal may be for multiple different protocols and thus be in multiple different frequencies; Paragraph 15-39 as well as figures 1-3 and 7-10 of Razzell et al.).
Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to explicitly disclose communication signals being received to increase at least one of a communication signal transmission redundancy and/or to reduce a communication signal transmission delay.
However, Lehmann et al. does disclose communication signals being received to increase at least one of a communication signal transmission redundancy and/or to reduce a communication signal transmission delay (Waveguide 5 with multiple cell unit 2 employes using multiple frequencies at the same time to achieve high redundancy; Paragraph 32-40 and figure 1 of Lehmann et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. to have communication signals being received to increase at least one of a communication signal transmission redundancy and/or to reduce a communication signal transmission delay as taught by Lehmann et al. to obtain good time synchronization and high redundancy (Paragraph 35 of Lehmann et al.).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzell et al. (US 20190252734 A1) in view of Soma et al. (US 20210036430 A1) and Duerksen et al. (US 20150099459 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the antennas of the cell-side transceivers is configured as a first directional antenna; and/or at least one of the plurality of sections of the waveguide comprises a second directional antenna.
However, Duerksen et al. does disclose wherein at least one of the antennas of the cell-side transceivers is configured as a first directional antenna; and/or at least one of the plurality of sections of the waveguide comprises a second directional antenna (First directional antenna 245/614 may be part of a cellular repeater 620 serving as a transceiver wherein directional antenna 245/614 is configured to wirelessly receive signals from a leaky wave coaxial cable 226 wherein direction antenna 245/614 may be a patch antenna array; Paragraph 31-47 and 84 as well as figure 2 and 6-7 of Duerksen et al).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. to have wherein at least one of the antennas of the cell-side transceivers is configured as a first directional antenna; and/or at least one of the plurality of sections of the waveguide comprises a second directional antenna as taught by Duerksen et al. so signals may be directed in certain direction to reach receiving elements and enable wireless speed commutation (Paragraph 5-7 and 31-32 of Duerksen et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first directional antenna and/or the second directional antenna comprises one of a patch antenna, an array antenna, a leaky array antenna, and/or a horn antenna.
However, Duerksen et al. does disclose wherein the first directional antenna and/or the second directional antenna comprises one of a patch antenna, an array antenna, a leaky array antenna, and/or a horn antenna (First directional antenna 245/614/714 may be part of a cellular repeater 620 serving as a transceiver wherein directional antenna 245/614/714 is configured to wirelessly receive signals from a leaky wave coaxial cable 226/718 wherein direction antenna 245/614/714 may be a patch antenna array; Paragraph 31-47 and 84 as well as figure 2 and 6-7 of Duerksen et al).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. to have wherein the first directional antenna and/or the second directional antenna comprises one of a patch antenna, an array antenna, a leaky array antenna, and/or a horn antenna as taught by Duerksen et al. so signals may be directed in certain direction to reach receiving elements and enable wireless speed commutation (Paragraph 5-7 and 31-32 of Duerksen et al.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzell et al. (US 20190252734 A1) in view of Soma et al. (US 20210036430 A1), Duerksen et al. (US 20150099459 A1), and Kono et al. (JP 2007240534 A).
Regarding Claim 12, Razzell et al., Soma et al., and Duerksen et al. fail to explicitly disclose further comprising a radome covering the first directional antenna or the second directional antenna.
However, Kono et al. does disclose further comprising a radome covering the first directional antenna or the second directional antenna (Transmitter 1 may be a leaky waveguide that leaks and transmits to receiving antennas 21a-b which may be directional antennas wherein said directional antennas 21a-b can comprise a radome 301 that may cover and house the directional antenna 21a-b; Pg. 7-10 and 13 as well as figure 1 and 7 of Kono et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al., Soma et al., Duerksen et al. to have a radome covering the first directional antenna or the second directional antenna as taught by Kono et al. so directional antennas may be housed in a radome (Pg. 7 of Kono et al.) which would protect them.
Claim 14 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzell et al. (US 20190252734 A1) in view of Soma et al. (US 20210036430 A1) and Oyama et al. (JP 2018170893 A).
Regarding Claim 14, Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to disclose further comprising at least one dielectric lens covering the at least one opening of at least one of the plurality of sections.
However, Oyama et al. does disclose comprising at least one dielectric lens covering the at least one opening of at least one of the plurality of sections (Dielectric lens 100 may be placed over the openings 83 of a leaky wave cable 80 to prevent foreign matter form entering and improve directivity of radiation; Pg. 5 and 9 as well as figure 3-8 of Oyama et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. to have at least one dielectric lens covering the at least one opening of at least one of the plurality of sections as taught by Oyama et al. to prevent foreign matter form entering the sections and improve the directivity of radiation (Pg. 9 of Oyama et al.).
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzell et al. (US 20190252734 A1) in view of Soma et al. (US 20210036430 A1) and Scordilis et al. (IDS Reference US 20200099107 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a carrier frequency in excess of 10GHz.
Although, Scordilis et al. fails to explicitly discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a carrier frequency in excess of 10GHz. Scordilis et al. does suggest wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a carrier frequency in excess of 10GHz (Carrier frequency of the waveguide may be greater than 1 GHZ which would also mean frequencies greater than 10ghz; Paragraph 36 of Scordilis et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. with the teachings of Scordilis et al. to have the waveguide be configured to carry HF communication signals having a carrier frequency in excess of 10GHz since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from the fact that the carrier frequency affects the data transmission rate (Paragraph 14 of Scordilis et al.) and to expand the range of operation.
Regarding Claim 17, Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 50 MHz.
Although, Scordilis et al. fails to explicitly discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 50 MHz. Scordilis et al. does suggest wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 50 MHz (Carrier frequency can operate between 2.4hz to 5.7ghz with a throughput of several tens of megabytes per second which would be done through a significant bandwidth like 50mhz or higher; Paragraph 14 of Scordilis et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. with the teachings of Scordilis et al. to have wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 50 MHz since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from wanting a significant bandwidth to optimize the transmission and monitoring rates (Paragraph 14 of Scordilis et al.) and to expand the range of operation.
Regarding Claim 18, Razzell et al. and Soma et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 50 MHz.
Although, Scordilis et al. fails to explicitly discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 2 GHz. Scordilis et al. does suggest wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 2 GHz (Carrier frequency can operate between 2.4hz to 5.7ghz with a throughput of several tens of megabytes per second which would be done through a significant bandwidth like 50mhz or higher; Paragraph 14 of Scordilis et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Razzell et al. and Soma et al. with the teachings of Scordilis et al. to have wherein the waveguide is configured to carry HF communication signals having a bandwidth in excess of 2 GHz since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The motivation stems from wanting a significant bandwidth to optimize the transmission and monitoring rates (Paragraph 14 of Scordilis et al.) and to expand the range of operation.
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 1-3, 7-10, 13, and 16-19, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-6 and 9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “at least one hub-side transceiver is attached to a first terminal section of the waveguide and is connected to the at least one control hub using an optical fiber network, such that the waveguide is electrically insulated from the at least one control hub”.
Regarding claim 6, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein at least one of the plurality of sections comprises a directional coupler for coupling HF communication signals transmitted to or received from the respective adjoining area with the at least one hub-side transceiver”.
Regarding claim 9, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein each one of the N waveguides is configured to operate at a different electrical potential, and is connected to a common control hub via an optical fiber network”.
Soma et al., and Razzell et al. are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an high voltage installation comprising a plurality of power electronic cells, cell-side transceivers, antennas, a waveguide with leaky sections, a plurality of adjoining sections, a control hub, a hub-side transceiver, N waveguides, and N subgroups of switching cells. Soma et al., and Razzell et al. fail to explicitly disclose an optical fiber network connected to the control hub/Hub-side transceiver and leaking sections of a leaky waveguide being directional couplers.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The rejection of claim 1 no longer relies upon Scordilis and as such applicants arguments in regards to Scordilis are not relevant. Furthermore examiner respectfully disagrees that Razzell and Soma fail to remedy the deficiencies. Both Razzell and Soma teach a High voltage systems that comprises a coaxial waveguide line with a plurality of openings that would leak radio frequency signals into an adjoining area. Furthermore antennas of the cell would then receive these leaked signals wherein these leaked signals would be electromagnetic waves that propagate through an air gap of the adjoining area and the antennas are placed proximity near to pick them up. This is the same waveguide structure as described in applicants own specifications and thus reads on the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20140002211 A1 (BECKER; Charles D.) discloses a leaky waveguide comprising multiple leakage sections that can comprise direction antennas in the form of horn antennas that radiate wirelessly to receiving directional antennas.
US 5809429 A (Knop; Charles M. et al.) discloses a coaxial cable waveguide comprising a plurality of slots that leak HF signals that radiate outward from the slot to a receiving antenna unit placed some distance away by a gap.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845