DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 have been amended. Claims 9-11 have been cancelled. Claims 1-8 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (Machine Translation of Korean Patent Application KR20190090508A) in view of Satoh (US 2003/0128702) and further in view of Lee (US 2012/0299509).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches an automatic inverter ID generation method for multi-interface operation (Fig. 1, Master inverter 10 automatically assigns inverter IDs to slave inverters 20; Paragraph 0024, communication ID is automatically assigned by the master inverter… allowing the communication ID setting to be performed quickly), the method comprising: receiving a response packet from each inverter in response to a request packet transmitted to request data measurement for all inverters (Fig. 2, Master inverter 10 contains communication unit 11 and control unit 12 that receives response from slave devices 20 when master inverter 10 requests data measurement; Paragraph 0073, master inverter (10) can periodically or in real time transmit status request messages to a plurality of slave inverters (20)… Paragraph 0045, communication unit (11) may receive status data from each of the multiple slave inverters (20) under the control of the control unit (12) and transmit control data to the multiple slave inverters (20)… Paragraph 0046, control unit (12) can check the status of the communication line (A) and, if it is in an idle state, transmit request data requesting a serial number and an inverter name to a slave inverter (20) newly connected to the communication line (A), and the slave inverter (20) can transmit its own serial number and inverter name in response); determining whether a collision state with the same inverter ID through multiple interfaces is detected upon receiving the response packet (Fig. 2, Control unit 12 of master inverter 10 determines if duplicate ID that can cause a collision state is detected; Paragraph 0050, serial number and inverter name of the slave inverter (20) received by the communication unit (11) can be provided to the control unit (12)… Paragraph 0052, At this time, the control unit (12) checks whether there is a duplicate name for the inverter of the slave inverter (20) in the storage unit (13)… Paragraph 0023, has the effect of ensuring the reliability of communication in an inverter system by eliminating the risk of duplicate communication IDs being set); and generating, upon detecting the collision state with the same inverter ID, a new inverter ID (Fig. 2, Control unit 12 of master inverter 10 assigns a new inverter name and communication ID to the slave upon detecting duplicate name; Paragraph 0052, If there is a duplicate name, it may assign a new inverter name or add a number after the duplicate name… Paragraph 0063, Additionally, the control unit (12) of the master inverter (10) can assign a communication ID to the corresponding slave inverter (20)).
Park does not teach the method comprising: generating a new device ID by collecting and distinguishing channel signals based on the physical communication connections and assigning device group information for each channel signal to the device ID.
Satoh teaches the method comprising: generating a new device ID by collecting and distinguishing channel signals (Fig. 1, Device IDs are assigned based on daisy chained slave device groups SDG1-SDGN; Paragraph 0054, commands or other control signals and data are transmitted via bus 5 between master device 1 and each slave device 30 in slave device groups SDG1.about.N… device identifier (device ID) of each of slave devices 30-1-1.about.30-1-N in slave device group SDG1 is assigned by daisy chain DC1 by transmitting device ID assigning token or resource allocation token (to be described later) between the slave devices) based on the physical communication connections (Fig. 1, Each slave device group SDG1-SDGN is a physical daisy chain connection of multiple slaves; Paragraph 0053, in slave device group 3-1, daisy chain DC1 is formed by connecting multiple slave devices in the form of a daisy chain using daisy chain connection line 7-1) and assigning device group information for each channel signal to the device ID (Fig. 1, Each slave device 30-1-1 to 30-1-N of slave device group SDG1 has an assigned identifier based on the device group information for each channel and the device ID; Paragraph 0023, device group identifiers are assigned to the multiple groups of slave devices connected in the multiple daisy chains… each slave device in the multiple groups of slave devices can be identified by combining the device group identifier and the device identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park’s method to incorporate the teachings of Satoh and include multiple groups of daisy chained slave inverters that can be identified by the master device via the daisy chained slave group identifiers and inverter identifiers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to efficiently identify and communicate with devices of the same type within a group while increasing the number of devices that can be supported by the master without increasing the number of available terminals on a master device (See Satoh: Paragraph 0070).
Neither Park nor Satoh teaches the method comprising wherein the inverter group information is assigned to the response packet based on turning on of a status indicator lamp of a terminal device.
Lee teaches the method comprising wherein the inverter group information is assigned to the response packet (Fig. 8, Slave device 840 (i.e. inverter) transmits response packet S804 which is used to assign a group identifier in Figure 17, 1710; Paragraph 0110, The slave device 840 may transmit a response packet corresponding to the second control packet, in step S804… Paragraph 0081, master device can control the slave devices having addresses set based on the transmitted address packet by a group unit and/or an independent unit. For example, the address packet may include at least one of channel information for communication with the slave devices, a node identifier (ID) to which the slave devices belong) based on turning on of a status indicator lamp of a terminal device (Fig. 6, Lighting devices 631-63N have status indicator LEDs (i.e. an LED is a lamp) that turn on based on sending a response packet; Paragraph 0105, The corresponding slave device having finished the address setting transmits a packet notifying the completion… At this time, the corresponding slave device may blink an alarm light to provide a visual notification of the completion of the address setting process).
Park, Satoh, and Lee are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor of addressing between master and slave devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh’s method to incorporate the teachings of Lee and include have the group identification of the inverters of Park be used to control status indicator LEDs and lighting.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to expand the functionality of the method to commonly used and well-known industrial/commercial/home lighting systems while providing efficient utilization and conservation of energy resources (See Lee: Paragraphs 0003 and 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park/Satoh/Lee teaches the method of claim 1.
Satoh teaches the method comprising wherein the new inverter ID is allocated as an 8-bit data value, with the first 2 bits assigned for the inverter group information as a group number and the remaining 6 bits assigned for the inverter ID (Fig. 5(a), Group ID DCS field and device id field can be any bit lengths based on number of groups and devices in each group; Paragraph 0096, embodiment, however, can be modified in various ways. First, the number of daisy chains can be selected as desired as two or more corresponding to the number of device groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh’s method to further incorporate the teachings of Satoh and enable the use of a 2-bit group identifier and a 6-bit device identifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to increase the number of devices that can be supported by the master without increasing the number of available terminals on a master device (See Satoh: Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches a distributed power terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory configured to store computer-readable instructions (Fig. 1, Master inverter 10 automatically assigns inverter IDs to slave inverters 20 and contains a processor and memory; Paragraph 0044, a master inverter (10) of an embodiment of the present invention may include a communication unit (11), a control unit (12), and a storage unit (13)), wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor for the distributed terminal device to receive a response packet from each inverter in response to a request packet transmitted to request data measurement for all inverters (Fig. 2, Master inverter 10 contains communication unit 11 and control unit 12 that receives response from slave devices 20 when master inverter 10 requests data measurement; Paragraph 0073, master inverter (10) can periodically or in real time transmit status request messages to a plurality of slave inverters (20)… Paragraph 0045, communication unit (11) may receive status data from each of the multiple slave inverters (20) under the control of the control unit (12) and transmit control data to the multiple slave inverters (20)… Paragraph 0046, control unit (12) can check the status of the communication line (A) and, if it is in an idle state, transmit request data requesting a serial number and an inverter name to a slave inverter (20) newly connected to the communication line (A), and the slave inverter (20) can transmit its own serial number and inverter name in response); determine whether a collision state with the same inverter ID through multiple interfaces is detected upon receiving the response packet (Fig. 2, Control unit 12 of master inverter 10 determines if duplicate ID that can cause a collision state is detected; Paragraph 0050, serial number and inverter name of the slave inverter (20) received by the communication unit (11) can be provided to the control unit (12)… Paragraph 0052, At this time, the control unit (12) checks whether there is a duplicate name for the inverter of the slave inverter (20) in the storage unit (13)… Paragraph 0023, has the effect of ensuring the reliability of communication in an inverter system by eliminating the risk of duplicate communication IDs being set); and generate, upon detecting the collision state with the same inverter ID, a new inverter ID (Fig. 2, Control unit 12 of master inverter 10 assigns a new inverter name and communication ID to the slave upon detecting duplicate name; Paragraph 0052, If there is a duplicate name, it may assign a new inverter name or add a number after the duplicate name… Paragraph 0063, Additionally, the control unit (12) of the master inverter (10) can assign a communication ID to the corresponding slave inverter (20)).
Park does not teach the device comprising: generate a new device ID by collecting and distinguishing channel signals based on the physical communication connections and assigning device group information for each channel signal to the device ID.
Satoh teaches the device comprising: generate a new device ID by collecting and distinguishing channel signals (Fig. 1, Device IDs are assigned based on daisy chained slave device groups SDG1-SDGN; Paragraph 0054, commands or other control signals and data are transmitted via bus 5 between master device 1 and each slave device 30 in slave device groups SDG1.about.N… device identifier (device ID) of each of slave devices 30-1-1.about.30-1-N in slave device group SDG1 is assigned by daisy chain DC1 by transmitting device ID assigning token or resource allocation token (to be described later) between the slave devices) based on the physical communication connections (Fig. 1, Each slave device group SDG1-SDGN is a physical daisy chain connection of multiple slaves; Paragraph 0053, in slave device group 3-1, daisy chain DC1 is formed by connecting multiple slave devices in the form of a daisy chain using daisy chain connection line 7-1) and assigning device group information for each channel signal to the device ID (Fig. 1, Each slave device 30-1-1 to 30-1-N of slave device group SDG1 has an assigned identifier based on the device group information for each channel and the device ID; Paragraph 0023, device group identifiers are assigned to the multiple groups of slave devices connected in the multiple daisy chains… each slave device in the multiple groups of slave devices can be identified by combining the device group identifier and the device identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park’s device to incorporate the teachings of Satoh and include multiple groups of daisy chained slave inverters that can be identified by the master device via the daisy chained slave group identifiers and inverter identifiers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to efficiently identify and communicate with devices of the same type within a group while increasing the number of devices that can be supported by the master without increasing the number of available terminals on a master device (See Satoh: Paragraph 0070).
Neither Park nor Satoh teaches the device comprising wherein the inverter group information is assigned to the response packet based on turning on of a status indicator lamp of a terminal device.
Lee teaches the device comprising wherein the inverter group information is assigned to the response packet (Fig. 8, Slave device 840 (i.e. inverter) transmits response packet S804 which is used to assign a group identifier in Figure 17, 1710; Paragraph 0110, The slave device 840 may transmit a response packet corresponding to the second control packet, in step S804… Paragraph 0081, master device can control the slave devices having addresses set based on the transmitted address packet by a group unit and/or an independent unit. For example, the address packet may include at least one of channel information for communication with the slave devices, a node identifier (ID) to which the slave devices belong) based on turning on of a status indicator lamp of a terminal device (Fig. 6, Lighting devices 631-63N have status indicator LEDs (i.e. lamps) that turn on based on sending a response packet; Paragraph 0105, The corresponding slave device having finished the address setting transmits a packet notifying the completion… At this time, the corresponding slave device may blink an alarm light to provide a visual notification of the completion of the address setting process).
Park, Satoh, and Lee are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor of addressing between master and slave devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh’s device to incorporate the teachings of Lee and include have the group identification of the inverters of Park be used to control status indicator LEDs and lighting.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to expand the functionality of the method to commonly used and well-known industrial/commercial/home lighting systems while providing efficient utilization and conservation of energy resources (See Lee: Paragraphs 0003 and 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park/Satoh/Lee teaches the device of claim 5.
Satoh teaches the device comprising wherein the new inverter ID is allocated as an 8-bit data value, with the first 2 bits assigned for the inverter group information as a group number and the remaining 6 bits assigned for the inverter ID (Fig. 5(a), Group ID DCS field and device id field can be any bit lengths based on number of groups and devices in each group; Paragraph 0096, embodiment, however, can be modified in various ways. First, the number of daisy chains can be selected as desired as two or more corresponding to the number of device groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh/Lee’s device to further incorporate the teachings of Satoh and enable the use of a 2-bit group identifier and a 6-bit device identifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to increase the number of devices that can be supported by the master without increasing the number of available terminals on a master device (See Satoh: Paragraph 0070).
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (Machine Translation of Korean Patent Application KR20190090508A) in view of Satoh (US 2003/0128702) in view of Lee (US 2012/0299509) and further in view of Chan (US 2010/0238003).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park/Satoh/Lee teaches the method of claim 1.
Lee teaches the method comprising a status indicator lamp of a terminal device (Fig. 6, Lighting devices 631-63N have status indicator LEDs (i.e. lamps) that turn on based on sending a response packet; Paragraph 0105, The corresponding slave device having finished the address setting transmits a packet notifying the completion… At this time, the corresponding slave device may blink an alarm light to provide a visual notification of the completion of the address setting process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh’s method to incorporate the teachings of Lee and include have the group identification of the inverters of Park be used to control status indicator LEDs and lighting.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to expand the functionality of the method to commonly used and well-known industrial/commercial/home lighting systems while providing efficient utilization and conservation of energy resources (See Lee: Paragraphs 0003 and 0023-0024).
The combination of Park/Satoh/Lee does not teach the method comprising wherein the channel signals are channel signals per RS485 port, collected by confirming an indication signal information of the inverter communication status on the status indicator lamp of the terminal device.
Chan teaches the method comprising wherein the channel signals are channel signals per RS485 port (Figs. 1 and 7, Serial bridge 115 uses RS485 channels shown in Figure 7, 700 to communicate with inverters 129; Paragraph 0094, RS485 serial bridge 700 may connect a variety of gas, electric or water meters 127, solar power inverters 129), collected by confirming an indication signal information of the inverter communication status on the status indicator lamp of the terminal device (Fig. 1, RS485 serial bridge 115 contains status LED indicators (i.e. status indicator lamp); Paragraph 0096, RS485 serial bridge 700 may preferably by embodied in a small form factor design with a status LED indicator).
Park, Satoh, Lee, and Chan are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor of controlling data communications between a master system and slave systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh/Lee’s method to incorporate the teachings of Chan and include an RS485 channel connection with the inverters of Park and use the status LED indicator to confirm inverter signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to efficiently perform data communications with the widely used and well-known RS485 standard to perform serial transfer while also enabling fault detection (See Chan: Paragraphs 0094 and 0096).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park/Satoh/Lee teaches the device of claim 5.
Lee teaches the device comprising a status indicator lamp of a terminal device (Fig. 6, Lighting devices 631-63N have status indicator LEDs (i.e. lamps) that turn on based on sending a response packet; Paragraph 0105, The corresponding slave device having finished the address setting transmits a packet notifying the completion… At this time, the corresponding slave device may blink an alarm light to provide a visual notification of the completion of the address setting process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh’s device to incorporate the teachings of Lee and include have the group identification of the inverters of Park be used to control status indicator LEDs and lighting.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to expand the functionality of the method to commonly used and well-known industrial/commercial/home lighting systems while providing efficient utilization and conservation of energy resources (See Lee: Paragraphs 0003 and 0023-0024).
The combination of Park/Satoh/Lee does not teach the device comprising wherein the channel signals are channel signals per RS485 port, collected by confirming an indication signal information of the inverter communication status on the status indicator lamp of the terminal device.
Chan teaches the device comprising wherein the channel signals are channel signals per RS485 port (Figs. 1 and 7, Serial bridge 115 uses RS485 channels shown in Figure 7, 700 to communicate with inverters 129; Paragraph 0094, RS485 serial bridge 700 may connect a variety of gas, electric or water meters 127, solar power inverters 129), collected by confirming an indication signal information of the inverter communication status on a status indicator lamp of a terminal device (Fig. 1, RS485 serial bridge 115 contains status LED indicators (i.e. status indicator lamp); Paragraph 0096, RS485 serial bridge 700 may preferably by embodied in a small form factor design with a status LED indicator).
Park, Satoh, Lee, and Chan are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor of controlling data communications between a master system and slave systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh/Lee’s device to incorporate the teachings of Chan and include an RS485 channel connection with the inverters of Park and use the status LED indicator to confirm inverter signals.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to efficiently perform data communications with the widely used and well-known RS485 standard to perform serial transfer while also enabling fault detection (See Chan: Paragraphs 0094 and 0096).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (Machine Translation of Korean Patent Application KR20190090508A) in view of Satoh (US 2003/0128702) in view of Lee (US 2012/0299509) and further in view of Currid (US 2024/0143408).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park/Satoh/Lee teaches the method of claim 3. Park teaches the method comprising the inverter ID (Fig. 3, Inverter IDs).
The combination of Park/Satoh/Lee does not teach the method comprising wherein the new device ID is generated by combining the group number and the device ID using a SUBSTR(||) function.
Currid teaches the method comprising wherein the new device ID is generated by combining the group number and the device ID using a SUBSTR(||) function (Fig. 15A, Substring function is used to identify a device group NLB with a device identifiers G0 and G1 in step 1510; Paragraph 0165, for the group generator 122H may generate the third identifier (e.g., “NLB:”) for the bridged subtype connection BC… Paragraph 0167, block 1510, the group generator 122H may create a substring for each identifier generated in block 1506 by listing those GPUs associated with the identifier after the identifier (e.g., in order according to the device information)… the group generator 122H may construct a substring (e.g., “NLB:G0+G1”) for the third identifier (e.g., “NLB:”) by listing GPUs G0 and G1 after the third identifier).
Park, Satoh, Lee, and Currid are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor of controlling data communications between a master system and slave systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh/Lee’s method to incorporate the teachings of Currid and enable the use of the substring function (SUBSTR(||) to create an identifier with the group ID and device ID of Satoh with the inverters of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to efficiently identify the bus topologies of the system thus allowing for identification of large-scale device networks (See Currid: Paragraphs 0118 and 0119).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Park/Satoh/Lee teaches the device of claim 7. Park teaches the device comprising the inverter ID (Fig. 3, Inverter IDs).
The combination of Park/Satoh/Lee does not teach the device comprising wherein the new device ID is generated by combining the group number and the device ID using a SUBSTR(||) function.
Currid teaches the device comprising wherein the new device ID is generated by combining the group number and the device ID using a SUBSTR(||) function (Fig. 15A, Substring function is used to identify a device group NLB with a device identifiers G0 and G1 in step 1510; Paragraph 0165, for the group generator 122H may generate the third identifier (e.g., “NLB:”) for the bridged subtype connection BC… Paragraph 0167, block 1510, the group generator 122H may create a substring for each identifier generated in block 1506 by listing those GPUs associated with the identifier after the identifier (e.g., in order according to the device information)… the group generator 122H may construct a substring (e.g., “NLB:G0+G1”) for the third identifier (e.g., “NLB:”) by listing GPUs G0 and G1 after the third identifier).
Park, Satoh, Lee, and Currid are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor of controlling data communications between a master system and slave systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park/Satoh/Lee’s device to incorporate the teachings of Currid and enable the use of the substring function (SUBSTR(||) to create an identifier with the group ID and device ID of Satoh with the inverters of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modifications in order to efficiently identify the bus topologies of the system thus allowing for identification of large-scale device networks (See Currid: Paragraphs 0118 and 0119).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Z.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184