Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is unclear what the "(1)" recited in the second to last line is referring to. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites steps that should be followed by semicolons. It shout read “followed by;” and “one protein;”.
Claim 17 recites “said a complex”, however, it should read “said complex mixture”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 recites the steps for assessing the risk of a neurodevelopmental disorder. Thus, the claim is a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. Claim 2-22 also are dependent on Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong One: Claim 2 recite a judicial exception and identify the abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon. Claim 2 recites “the determination of the conformational state of the at least one protein is based on a quantitative comparison of the analytical analysis of the enriched fragment sample with the analytical analysis of the enriched fragment control sample”. The "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions (See MPEP 2106(a)(2)(III)). Comparing a sample with a control sample is a mental evaluation. Thus, the comparing steps would fall under the abstract idea groups of mental processes. (Step 2A -Prong 1: Yes)
Step 2A Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. There appears to be no additional steps which are significantly more than the abstract idea. Claim 1 appears to include data gathering steps and generally links the abstract idea to the field of endeavor. Claim 2 describes “quantitative comparison” on the test sample with control sample. Accordingly, there is no additional element that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because nothing imposes any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A -Prong 2: No)
Step 2B: Claims 1 does not have any steps or feature which are significantly more, and the steps are well known in the art as taught in the prior art taught by Picotti in view of Thomas. Claim 2 depends on Claim 1. Claim 2 does not have steps or features which are significant more than the abstract idea. Since it is claimed at a high level of generality, there are no meaningful limitation claimed, such as a particular or unconventional machine or transformation of a particular article. (Step 2B: No)
Thus, claim 2 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the original complex mixture". There is no mention of the recited limitation in previous dependent upon claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the proteolytic system". There is no mention of the recited limitation in previous dependent upon claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 18, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the proteolytic system". There is no mention of the recited limitation in previous dependent upon claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the meets and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim 21 recites the broad recitation "2-30 minutes", and the claim also recites "2 - 10 minutes" and "2 - 5 minutes" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picotti et al. (US 20150309045 A1), and further in view of non-patent literature "Sample preparation and fractionation techniques for intact proteins for mass spectrometric analysis" by Thomas et al.
Regarding claim 1, Picotti teaches a method for detection of a conformational state of at least one protein (Abstract), said at least one protein being contained in a complex mixture (Abstract), from a biological probe (para 0002), of further proteins and/or other biomolecules (Abstract), wherein said at least one protein in said complex mixture has been subjected to a condition inducing a structural change in said at least one protein, comprising, if needed after at least one of an extraction and lysis step (Abstract), the following sequence of steps:
1. limited proteolysis of the complex mixture under a native condition in which the at least one protein is in the original conformational state to be detected leading to a first fragment sample (Abstract); directly followed by
3. analytical analysis of the enriched fragment sample by quantitative mass spectrometry for the determination of fragments characteristic of having been the result of the limited proteolysis of step 1. as well as remaining after the removal step 2. for the determination of the conformational state of said at least one protein (Abstract).
Picotti does not teach step 2. removal of large peptides and proteins or other biomolecules from said first fragment sample to form an enriched fragment sample; and wherein in step 2. peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules having a molar weight larger than 20 kDa are removed from the first fragment sample wherein the method omits a full trypsinization step under denaturing conditions after the limited proteolysis step 1.
However, Thomas teaches the analysis of proteins in biological sample and development of protein-based pharmaceuticals (pg 211, Abstract). Thomas further teaches sample preparation and fractionation of protein for mass spectrometric analysis using proteomic approaches (pg 211, Abstract). Thomas further teaches removing large peptides and proteins or other biomolecules from said first fragment sample to form an enriched fragment sample using separation based on size and density prior to mass spectrometry for the benefit of enhanced reproducibility and sensitivity for MS-analysis (pg 231, Section: Separations based on size and density). Furthermore, Thomas teaches multiple methods separating peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules having a molar weight larger than 20 kDa that can be removed (pg 228-229, Section: Separations based on size and density). Thomas teaches size exclusion separation are useful in conjugation with immunoaffinity method because they can be performed in non-denaturing solution conditions (pg 213, Section: Introduction). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Picotti with step 2. removal of large peptides and proteins or other biomolecules from said first fragment sample to form an enriched fragment sample; and wherein in step 2. peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules having a molar weight larger than 20 kDa are removed from the first fragment sample wherein the method omits a full trypsinization step under denaturing conditions after the limited proteolysis step 1 as taught by Thomas for the benefit of enhanced reproducibility and sensitivity for MS-analysis (pg 231, Section: Separations based on size and density).
Regarding claim 2, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches for the detection of the conformational state as such in parallel to steps 1-3 the original complex mixture with said at least one protein and without being subjected to said condition inducing a structural change is subjected to steps 1-3 for the generation of an enriched fragment control sample, and wherein the determination of the conformational state of the at least one protein is based on a quantitative comparison of the analytical analysis of the enriched fragment sample with the analytical analysis of the enriched fragment control sample (para 0019).
Regarding claim 3, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches the condition inducing a structural change in said at least one protein in said complex mixture is selected from the group consisting of: temperature change, phosphorylation, or pH change (para 0003).
Regarding claim 4, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1.
Picotti does not teach in step 2. peptides and proteins are removed in a filtration, separation or another enrichment step, including size filtering; chromatography including size exclusion, hydrophobic or anion exchange chromatography; physical removal including phase separation, absorption, precipitation; filtration, separation or enrichment based on hydrophilic/hydrophobic properties; filtration, separation or enrichment based on electric/magnetic field; or a combination thereof.
Thomas teaches multiple methods separating peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules (pg 228-229, Section: Separations based on size and density). Thomas teaches size filtration (pg 229, Section 6.2.2 Molecular weight cut off filters) and size exclusion chromatography (pg 228, Section 6.2.1 Size exclusion chromatography). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Picotti with in step 2. peptides and proteins are removed in a filtration, separation or another enrichment step, including size filtering; chromatography including size exclusion, hydrophobic or anion exchange chromatography; physical removal including phase separation, absorption, precipitation; filtration, separation or enrichment based on hydrophilic/hydrophobic properties; filtration, separation or enrichment based on electric/magnetic field; or a combination thereof as taught by Thomas for the benefit of using non-destructive separation method for accurate analysis (pg 228, Section Separation based on size and density).
Regarding claim 6, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein step 3 includes, before actual analysis, a proteomics workflow (para 0007).
Regarding claim 7, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein in the step 1. a proteolytic system selected from the group consisting of protease K, Thermolysin, Subtilisin, Pepsin, Papain, a-Chymotrypsin, Elastase, and mixtures thereof is used (para 0020).
Regarding claim 8, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein in the step 1 the proteolytic system is used at a concentration, with respect to the total biomolecular content in the sample, given as the ratio of enzyme to biomolecular content, in the range of 1/50-1/10000 by weight (para 0020).
Regarding claim 9, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein the step 1. is carried out over a time span of 1-60 minutes, or at a temperature in the range of 20-40°C (para 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 10, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches for quantitative determination heavy labelled fragments characteristic of being the result of the limited proteolysis of step 1. as well as remaining after the removal step 2., are spiked into the original complex mixture and/or into the first fragment sample and/or into the enriched fragment sample (para 0026).
Regarding claim 11, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein for the analytical analysis in step 3 specific, quantitative mass spectrometry-based assays in the form of selected reaction monitoring (SRM) and/or data-independent acquisition of product ion spectra is used (para 0006).
Regarding claim 12, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein the complex mixture of further proteins and/or other biomolecules is a complex native biological matrix (para 0016).
Regarding claim 13, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein the at least one protein is a protein based exclusively on proteinogenic amino acids, or is based on proteinogenic amino acids and carries post-translational modifications (para 0017).
Regarding claim 14, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches for the determination, in a hypothesis-free manner, of a conformation of said at least one protein, said at least one protein having undergone conformational changes after perturbation induced in the investigated complex mixture (para 0002), or of a medically relevant conformation of the protein, for the determination of protein- based drugs, for the influence of drugs or other ligands on proteins, or for quality control of protein- based pharmaceutical preparations (para 0027).
Regarding claim 15, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches in combination with peptide fragment enrichment techniques for the peptides generated by the step 1 (para 0035).
Regarding claim 17, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein said a complex is a complex cell extract mixture (para 0007).
Regarding claim 18, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1.
Picotti does not teach step 2. peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules having a molar weight larger than 20 kDa, preferably having a molar weight larger than 10 kDa are removed from the first fragment sample.
Thomas further teaches removing large peptides and proteins or other biomolecules from said first fragment sample to form an enriched fragment sample using separation based on size and density prior to mass spectrometry for the benefit of enhanced reproducibility and sensitivity for MS-analysis (pg 231, Section: Separations based on size and density). Furthermore, Thomas teaches multiple methods separating peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules having a molar weight larger than 10 kDa that can be removed (pg 228-229, Section: Separations based on size and density). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Picotti with step 2. peptides, proteins and/or other biomolecules having a molar weight larger than 20 kDa, preferably having a molar weight larger than 10 kDa are removed from the first fragment sample as taught by Thomas for the benefit of enhanced reproducibility and sensitivity for MS-analysis (pg 231, Section: Separations based on size and density).
Regarding claim 19, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein step 3 includes, before actual analysis, a proteomics workflow, involving denaturation, C18 cleanup, or a combination thereof (para 0007, 0008, and 0075).
Regarding claim 20, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein in the step 1 the proteolytic system is used at a concentration, with respect to the total biomolecular content in the sample, given as the ratio of enzyme to biomolecular content, in the range of 1/100-1/1000 by weight (para 0020).
Regarding claim 21, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches wherein the step 1 is carried out over a time span of 2-30 minutes, or 2-10 minutes or 2-5 minutes, at a temperature in the range of 20-40°C (para 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 22, Picotti in view of Thomas teaches the invention of claim 1. Picotti further teaches in combination with peptide fragment enrichment technique TAILS for the peptides generated by the step 1 (para 0026).
Conclusion
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798