DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2026, 07/28/2025, 04/11/2025, 12/06/2024, 08/16/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 05/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergona (WO 2009/148636).
Regarding claim 1, Vergona teaches
“a body portion formed of fabric (Fig. 1), wherein the fabric is elastomer or elastomer-based (p.[0075] " For example, in one embodiment, the first surface 120 may be formed from one or more polypropylene (PP) materials, spunbond (SB) materials, spunbond/melt blown/spunbond (SMS) materials, spunbond/melt blown/melt blown/spunbond (SMMS) materials, low density polyethylene (LDPE) materials, cotton, rayon, synthetics, one or more breathable materials, one or more non- woven materials, one or more natural materials, one or more recycled or reworked materials, and/or one or more manmade or artificial materials.")”,
“and a first pocket within the body portion and surrounded by the fabric wherein the first pocket is an enclosed area filled with an insulative material, (p.[0083] " Additionally, in various embodiments of the invention, one or more insulation layers and/or insulating materials may be situated between the first surface 120 and the second surface 130")”,
“wherein the blanket is configured to be placed on at least a first thermal pad of a targeted temperature management (TTM) system wherein the first pocket is configured to provide a weight on top of the first thermal pad (Fig. 1, thermal pads 110)”.
Note that while Vergona does teach each of these limitations, the limitations are taught across varying embodiments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a combination of embodiments to arrive at the claimed invention. As stated in Vergona p.[0159], "Many modifications and other embodiments of the inventions set forth herein will come to mind to one skilled in the art to which these inventions pertain having the benefit of the teachings presented in the foregoing descriptions and the associated drawings. Therefore, it is to be understood that the inventions are not to be limited to the specific embodiments disclosed and that modifications and other embodiments are intended to be included within the scope of the appended claims. Although specific terms are employed herein, they are used in a generic and descriptive sense only and not for purposes of limitation."
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Vergona teaches “wherein a length of the first pocket is substantially an entirety of a length of the blanket (Fig. 1, 2 with the pockets along the length of the blanket, and therefore substantially the entirety of a length of the blanket)”. Further note that Vergona states in p.[0154] that "Similarly, the placement of heat pads illustrated therein provides for heat distribution that will provide the suitable thermal comfort yet simultaneously allow for surgical access to a user or patient. Other shapes and sizes are contemplated as within the scope of the invention", suggesting that it would be known to one in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pockets of varying length and width, and is therefore taught by Vergona.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Vergona teaches “wherein a width of the first pocket is substantially an entirety of a width of the blanket (Fig. 1, 2 with the pockets along the width of the blanket, and therefore substantially the entirety of a width of the blanket)”. Further note that Vergona states in p.[0154] that "Similarly, the placement of heat pads illustrated therein provides for heat distribution that will provide the suitable thermal comfort yet simultaneously allow for surgical access to a user or patient. Other shapes and sizes are contemplated as within the scope of the invention", suggesting that it would be known to one in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pockets of varying length and width, and is therefore taught by Vergona.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Vergona teaches “further comprising:a plurality of pockets within the body portion, wherein the plurality of pockets includes the first pocket and wherein each of the plurality of pockets is surrounded by the fabric, and is an enclosed area filled with the insulative material (Fig. 1, 2, p.[0083])”.
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of claim 5 are taught as described above. Vergona teaches “wherein each of the plurality of pockets has a length that is substantially an entirety of a length of the blanket, and the plurality of pockets are aligned in a side-by-side configuration. (Fig. 1, 2, and with the pockets along the length of the blanket, and therefore substantially the entirety of a length of the blanket)”. Further note that Vergona states in p.[0154] that "Similarly, the placement of heat pads illustrated therein provides for heat distribution that will provide the suitable thermal comfort yet simultaneously allow for surgical access to a user or patient. Other shapes and sizes are contemplated as within the scope of the invention", suggesting that it would be known to one in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pockets of varying length and width, and is therefore taught by Vergona.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 5 are taught as described above. Vergona teaches “wherein each of the plurality of pockets has a width that is substantially an entirety of a width of the blanket, and the plurality of pockets are aligned in a side-by-side configuration. (Fig. 1, 2 with the pockets along the width of the blanket, and therefore substantially the entirety of a width of the blanket)”. Further note that Vergona states in p.[0154] that "Similarly, the placement of heat pads illustrated therein provides for heat distribution that will provide the suitable thermal comfort yet simultaneously allow for surgical access to a user or patient. Other shapes and sizes are contemplated as within the scope of the invention", suggesting that it would be known to one in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pockets of varying length and width, and is therefore taught by Vergona.
Regarding claims 8-10, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Vergona teaches the limitations “wherein the blanket includes a coupling component configured to couple with the first thermal pad” , “wherein the coupling component is one of an adhesive patch, a snap fastener component, a hook and loop fastener component, or a magnetic component”, and “wherein when the coupling component is any of the snap fastener component, the hook and loop fastener component, or the magnetic component, the coupling component is configured to couple with a reciprocal coupling component of the first thermal pad” in p.[0097] "Each of the one or more pockets 110 may be fixedly or removably connected and/or attached to the body 105 of the warming blanket 100 via any suitable connectors, connecting techniques, and/or connection means. For example, a pocket 110 may be connected to the body 105 of the warming blanket 100 via sewing, stitching, bonding, application of an adhesive, threads, ties, use of snaps, use of ultrasonic welding, use of Velcro, use of one or more zippers" and p.[0082] "the components may be fixedly or removably connected and/or attached to one another via any suitable connectors, connecting techniques, and/or connection means. For example, the first surface 120 and the second surface 130 of the body 105 may be connected to one another via sewing, stitching, bonding, application of an adhesive, threads, ties, use of snaps, use of ultrasonic welding, use of Velcro, use of one or more zippers, etc.".
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergona (WO 2009/148636) in view of Stefan (US 2017/0135855).
Regarding claim 2, the limitations of claim 1 are taught as described above. Vergona does not teach that the insulative material is made of an insulative gel, however, Stefan does in an analogous blanket cooling device. Stefan teaches in p.[0030] which states "The insulating pad (255) may, in some embodiments, comprise foam and/or gel." It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use insulative gel, as taught in Stefan, in Vergona. It is known in the art to use insulative gels as an insulative material in order to perform a flexible, conforming insulative layer against the body (p.[0026]), but further, a gel is one of a finite number of suitable materials available that is known in the art and produces predictable results.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL BOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794